DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The office action is being examined in response to the application filed by the applicant on 10 December 2024.
Claims 1-15 and 17-18 are pending and have been examined.
Claim 16 was cancelled as part of a preliminary amendment.
This action is made NON-FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 7, 11, and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 4 recites a contingency. The claim only performs the contingent limitation of obtaining content function when the first confirmation operation is detected for the first editing information. Since the contingency requirement of detecting the confirmation operation may not occur, the claim performs no steps in a method claim. Since claim 4 performs no steps, it is not in proper dependent form from the claim 1, from which it depends. For the purposes of compact prosecution, the method claim carries no patentable weight. However, for the purposes of prior art, references are provided to disclose the limitations as if the claim were a system claim under the broadest reasonable interpretation.
Claim 7 recites a contingency. The claim only performs the contingent limitation of obtaining content function when the first confirmation operation is detected for the first editing information. Since the contingency requirement of detecting the confirmation operation may not occur, the claim performs no steps in a method claim. Since claim 7 performs no steps, it is not in proper dependent form from the claim 1, from which it depends. For the purposes of compact prosecution, the method claim carries no patentable weight. However, for the purposes of prior art, references are provided to disclose the limitations as if the claim were a system claim.
Claim 11 recites multiple contingencies. The claim only performs the contingent limitation of obtaining first data function in the target document when the first confirmation operation is detected for the first editing information. The claim also only performs the obtaining second data function in the target document when the third confirmation operation is detected for the third editing information. Since the obtaining data functions contingently may not occur, the generating the edited document function is contingent upon the first and second content being obtained. Since claim 11 performs no steps, it is not in proper dependent form from the claim 8, from which it depends. For the purposes of compact prosecution, the method claim carries no patentable weight. However, for the purposes of prior art, references are provided to disclose the limitations as if the claim were a system claim.
Claim 13 recites multiple contingencies. The claim only performs the contingent limitation of displaying target content function when a consulting request is detected and a user initiating a request has read-only permission. The further contingencies bound the target content according to further contingent cases including: when the consulting request indicates consulting content of the document area corresponding to the collaboration space, the target content is the content of the document area corresponding to the collaboration space; when the consulting request indicates consulting content of a sub-area corresponding to the sub-space, the target content is the content of the sub-area corresponding to the sub-space; and third, the consulting request indicates consulting content of a document area corresponding to the parallel space, the target content is the content of the document area corresponding to the parallel space. Since the initial contingency requirement may not occur, and the three following contingency requirements may not occur, the claim performs no steps. Therefore, claim 13 is not in proper dependent form from the claim 1 from which it depends. For the purposes of compact prosecution, the method claim carries no patentable weight. However, for the purposes of prior art, references are provided to disclose the limitations as if the claim were a system claim.
Claim 14 recites a contingency. The claim only performs the contingent limitation of determining historical versions of the document area selected by the selection operation and marking differences between the historical versions, only when the selection operation on the document area in the target document is detected. The claim further defines the historical versions, reciting each of the historical versions comprising first, second, third, and pre-editing data of the document area, requiring all four characterized editing data for each historical version. Since the contingency requirement may not occur, the claim performs no steps. Therefore, claim 14 is not in proper dependent form from the claim 1 from which it depends. For the purposes of compact prosecution, the method claim carries no patentable weight. However, for the purposes of prior art, references are provided to disclose the limitations as if the claim were a system claim.
Claim 15 recites multiple contingencies. The claim only performs the contingent limitation of determining the number of target collaboration spaces where a content segment of the intersection is edited, when there is an intersection area between at least two document areas corresponding to two collaboration spaces. The further contingencies bound the determining content segment function, where a finding of one, results in determining the content segment edited through the target collaboration space as content of the edited document of the target document, and a finding of greater than one, results in determining the content segment selected by a user creating the target collaboration spaces and edited through a single target collaboration space as content of the edited document of the target document. Since the initial contingency requirement may not occur, and the two following contingency requirements may not occur, the claim performs no steps. Therefore, claim 15 is not in proper dependent form from the claim 1 from which it depends. For the purposes of compact prosecution, the method claim carries no patentable weight. However, for the purposes of prior art, references are provided to disclose the limitations as if the claim were a system claim.
Applicant may cancel the claims, amend the claims to place the claims in proper dependent form, rewrite the claims in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claims comply with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Non-Statutory Subject Matter
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
The claim does not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because claim 17 recites a computer readable storage medium, which comprises transitory signals. According to the specification ¶ [0413-0414, and 0457], this storage medium is comprised of both volatile and non-volatile storage, where the volatile storage may be transitory in nature. While the specification also discloses that the storage medium may be hardware that stores data that are non-transitory in nature, and therefore encompass statutorily approved subject matter, the specification does not disclose that the storage mediums are only non-transitory. This means that the storage mediums may be both transitory and non-transitory. The transitory nature of a storage medium is specifically barred from patentability according to 35 U.S.C. § 101. Since this instant invention comprises both transitory and non-transitory storage media, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, claim 17 is directed to a storage medium that comprises non-statutory subject matter, and therefore the claim is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Abstract Ideas
Claims 1-15 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Independent claims
Regarding Claims 1, 17, and 18: These claims recite: creating a collaboration space, generating an edited document based on determining the editing information of a target document in the space, where the determined first editing information is defined as the source of the data, which is not a positively recited function. The creating and the generating functions are abstract ideas in the category of "Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity" in the subcategories of: managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people due to the creation of a space for the document area and generating an edited document based on the determined editing information, both functions historically performed by a human, i.e. human behaviors, thereby managing personal behaviors. Further, creating the collaboration space and generated document each manage the behaviors, relationships, and interactions between users. These limitations are also in the abstract idea category of mental processes, including observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions, such that the functions in claim 1 are merely automations of tasks that were historically performed by a human like creating a collaboration space in response in response to acquiring a document, and generating a new document based on human edits.
The Examiner notes: insofar as the limitation of generating an edited document occurs based on a first editing information, however, the first editing information is required to generate the edited document, but the first editing information is passively recited as being determined through the collaboration space. The specification does not clarify if this is describing the source of the data or if it should be a positively recited feature. Since the editing information is required
Step 2A Prong 2: Insofar as the claims recite acquiring a target document, i.e. receiving data, and determining editing information, i.e. receiving the changed information. The specification does not reveal advances in sending, receiving, formatting, organizing, or displaying data.
There are no additional elements in claim 1. Therefore, claim 1 does not have additional elements that may be indicative of integration of the abstract ideas into a practical application. Further, the lack of additional elements lends no elements to amount to significantly more than the abstract ideas. Therefore, claim 1 recites an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim 17 recites A computer readable storage medium, a computer program, and a processor. Claim 18 recites an electronic device, a memory, a computer program, and a processor. Claims 17 and 18 recite these computing structures, which are general purpose computing structures recited in the claims and disclosed in the specification at a high level of generality. The general-purpose computing structures are recited merely as a means to implement the method of claim 1 using the general-purpose computing structures as a tool for implementing the instructions of the Method, and for the purposes of making claims 17-18 statutorily compliant. The computing structures are, therefore, generally linked to claim 1, adding the words “apply it” with the abstract ideas, mere instructions to implement the abstract ideas on general purpose computing structures. Further, generally linking general-purpose computing structures to a Method claim 1 does not indicate an improvement to the functioning of a computer or to the field of use. Therefore, the general-purpose computing structures are not indicative of integration into a practical application, nor do they amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
Dependent Claims
Regarding Claims 2-15: The claims recite similar functions as independent claim 1, which are either further abstract idea in the same categories of "Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity" for managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people and the category of mental processes, or are in the non-abstract idea categories of sending, receiving, or displaying data.
Claims with Abstract Idea
Claim 5 recites: creating a sub-space for a sub-area which is an abstract idea in the same two categories of the independent claim. Further, the claim determines the first editing data in the space based on a second editing data of the sub-space, which are sending and receiving data, not an abstract idea. The sub-space is defined as the source of the determined second editing information and is not a positively recited function.
Claim 8 recites creating a parallel space, generating the edited document based on a first editing data in the space and third editing data of the parallel space, which are abstract ideas in the same categories as the independent claim. The recitation of the third editing information being determined is not an abstract idea, but a further definition of the location where the data is found, defining the source of the data, which is not a positively recited function.
Claims 5 and 8 recite abstract ideas without additional elements. The specification does not reveal that the core of the invention advances sending, receiving, associating, assigning relationships or permissions, or displaying data. The statute requires the office to view the additional elements as an ordered group alongside the additional elements, i.e. these analyses are based on a finding of an additional element. Claims 5 and 8 are comprised of no additional elements aside from characterized data and data spaces, which are data or software constructs, i.e. software interface that are characterized software display elements and characterized data. Characterizations are non-functional descriptive information elements that are not additional elements. Due to the lack of additional elements in the claims, these claims cannot be indicative of integration of the abstract ideas into a practical application nor amount to significantly more than the abstract ideas, i.e. Claims 5 and 8 cannot be integrated into a practical application or amount to significantly more.
Claims without Abstract Ideas
Claim 2 recites: establish an association relationship. Establishing a relationship during the space creation, is sending a permissive value to attach the relationship and receiving the permissive value data, i.e. sending/receiving data and is not an abstract idea. The specification does not reveal that the core of the invention relates to advances in sending/receiving data. The recitation of “wherein the first user has operation permission on the document area” is an intended result that does not carry patentable weight.
Claim 3 further defines the operation permission from claim 2 as an editing permission and the defines when the editing information as information generated when a user makes an edit. Neither are abstract ideas because they further define the scope of the claim limitations, the operation permission and the editing information. The operation permission is recited as an intended use of the first editing permission, to edit, and in terms of the intended result, the first editing information is generated, adding no active performance of functions. Therefore claim 3 is no an abstract idea.
Claim 4: Since the claim is interpreted as carrying no patentable weight, i.e. the claim performs no steps, there is not an abstract idea.
Claim 6 recites: establishing an association relationship between the second user and the sub-area to create the sub-space for the sub-area, which is sending and receiving data. The recitation of the second user having permissions and the second editing permission being a permission to edit are intended results that further define the scope of the relationship permission and the second editing permission of the relationship, such that they are not abstract ideas. The recitation of the second editing information as information generated by a second user, is adding defining characteristics to the second editing information, adding the who and the conditions of the permissions required for it to be generated, which are not abstract ideas, because they are not positive recitations of performing any functions.
Claim 7: Since the claim is interpreted as carrying no patentable weight, i.e. the claim performs no steps, there is not an abstract idea.
Claim 9 recites: establishing a relationship between the document area and a third user to create the parallel space for the document area, which is sending and receiving data, not an abstract idea. The specification does not reveal that the core of the invention relates to advances in sending/receiving data.
Claim 10 recites: establishing an association relationship for the first user with the document area, which is sending and receiving data. The specification does not reveal that the core of the invention relates to advances in sending/receiving data. The remainder of the claim defines the permission of the third user as being the same as first user, which may be a read-only or a first editing permission. These definitions are not functions performed in the claim.
Claim 11: Since the claim is interpreted as carrying no patentable weight, i.e. the claim performs no steps, there is not an abstract idea.
Claim 12 recites switching displayed data content to obtained content, which is sending, receiving and displaying data and not abstract ideas. The specification does not reveal that the core of the invention relates to advances in sending/receiving or displaying data.
Claim 13: Since the claim is interpreted as carrying no patentable weight, i.e. the claim performs no steps, there is not an abstract idea.
Claim 14: Since the claim is interpreted as carrying no patentable weight, i.e. the claim performs no steps, there is not an abstract idea.
Claim 15: Since the claim is interpreted as carrying no patentable weight, i.e. the claim performs no steps, there is not an abstract idea.
Claims 5 and 8 recite abstract ideas without additional elements. Claims 2-3, 6, 9-10, 12 recite no abstract ideas as they only recite sending, receiving, or displaying data without a disclosure that reveals advances to these features, and recite no additional elements. Claims 4, 7, 11, and 13-15 recite no steps and no additional elements. Since there are no additional elements, the claims that recite abstract ideas cannot be indicative of integration into a practical application nor amount to significantly more than the abstract ideas. The claims with no abstract ideas and no additional elements and claims with no steps, cannot be integrated into a practical application or amount to significantly more. The claim 5 and 8 are directed to abstract ideas without significantly more. The remaining claims, 2-3, 6-7, and 9-15 inherit the 35 U.S.C. § 101 rejections from the independent claims
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-13 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mundy, US20110016387A1.
Regarding Claims 1, 17, and 18: Mundy discloses:
Acquiring a target document, the target document comprising a document area; [0002] (a document is generated and saved to the system, the target document is acquired when shared with other users), [0014] (send and receive data, including documents, where acquiring a document is a send/receive function), [0015] (a central document is stored on the server, i.e. target document is acquired by the system);
creating a collaboration space for the document area; and [0001] (provide document collaboration), [0014] (send and receive data, including content of the document area, where acquiring content and editing information are send/receive functions), [0015] (document areas/spaces are generated, i.e. sections are generated based on the target document, copies of the target document for the plurality of users, i.e. a parallel workspace for each of the plurality of user’s, and occur due to any criteria, like a first editing information as disclosed in [0028-0029]);
generating an edited document of the target document based on first editing information of the collaboration space, the first editing information being determined through the collaboration space. [0014] (send and receive data, including content of the document area, where acquiring content and editing information are send/receive functions), [0015] (document areas/spaces are generated, i.e. sections are generated based on the target document, copies of the target document for the plurality of users, i.e. a parallel workspace for each of the plurality of user’s, and occur due to any criteria, like a first editing information as disclosed in [0028-0029]), [0016] (a document owner is asserted with editing rights to the main document, alternate users are assigned one of a plurality of editing or read-only rights), [0019-0020] (an alternate view of the document is generated for each of the plurality of permitted users), [0021] (the users permitted with editing rights may update their versions of the document), [0028-0029] (one of a plurality of users makes an edit to the document in their section/space and the update may be pushed to all users in their copy of the document, through the collaboration space into their individual areas/spaces, when the plurality of edits are detected or detected and approved, depending on the document rules).
Regarding Claim 2: Mundy discloses: The method according to claim 1, wherein the creating the collaboration space for the document area comprises:
Mundy discloses: establishing an association relationship between the document area and a first user to create the collaboration space for the document area, wherein the first user has operation permission on the document area. [0014] (send and receive data, including content of the document area, where acquiring content and editing information are send/receive functions), [0015] (document areas/spaces are generated, i.e. sections are generated based on the target document, copies of the target document for the plurality of users, i.e. a parallel workspace for each of the plurality of user’s, and occur due to any criteria, like a first editing information as disclosed in [0028-0029]), [0016] (a document owner is asserted with operation and editing rights to the main document, i.e. a first user is established as the owner, an association relationship with operation permission of the document are), [0028-0029] (one of a plurality of users makes an edit to the document in their section/space and the update may be pushed to all users in their copy of the document, through the collaboration space into their individual areas/spaces, when the plurality of edits are detected or detected and approved, depending on the document rules).
Regarding Claim 3: Mundy discloses: The method according to claim 2, wherein
Mundy discloses: the operation permission comprises first editing permission to edit the document area through the collaboration space, and the first editing information is information generated by the first user through the first editing permission. [0014] (send and receive data, including content of the document area, where acquiring content and editing information are send/receive functions) , [0015] (document areas/spaces are generated, i.e. sections are generated based on the target document, copies of the target document for the plurality of users, i.e. a parallel workspace for each of the plurality of user’s, and occur due to any criteria, like a first editing information as disclosed in [0028-0029]) [0016] (a document owner is asserted with operation and editing rights to the main document, i.e. a first user is established as the owner, an association relationship with operation permission of the document are), [0028-0029] (one of a plurality of users makes an edit to the document in their section/space and the update may be pushed to all users in their copy of the document, through the collaboration space into their individual areas/spaces, when the plurality of edits are detected or detected and approved, depending on the document rules).
Regarding Claim 4: Mundy discloses: The method according to claim 1, wherein the generating the edited document of the target document based on the first editing information of the collaboration space comprises:
Mundy discloses: obtaining content of the document area in the target document based on the first editing information in a case where first confirmation operation on the first editing information is detected. [0014] (send and receive data, including content of the document area, where acquiring content and editing information are send/receive functions), [0015] (document areas/spaces are generated, i.e. sections are generated based on the target document, copies of the target document for the plurality of users, i.e. a parallel workspace for each of the plurality of user’s, and occur due to any criteria, like a first editing information as disclosed in [0028-0029]), [0016] (a document owner is asserted with editing rights to the main document, alternate users are assigned one of a plurality of editing or read-only rights, i.e. a confirmation operation on an editing information is detected), [0021] (each of the plurality of user’s permitted with editing rights may update their version of the document, i.e. a confirmation operation is receiving a permission to edit a document, such that if a user is permitted, the confirmation operation is detected), [0025] (confirmation operation, a plurality of users are granted permissions which may include an owner issuing permission and/or requests for permission by other users), [0028-0029] (one of a plurality of users makes an edit to the document in their section/space and the update may be pushed to all users in their copy of the document, through the collaboration space into their individual areas/spaces, when the plurality of edits are detected or detected and approved, depending on the document rules).
Regarding Claim 5: Mundy discloses: The method according to claim 1, wherein the document area comprises a sub-area; and the method further comprises:
Mundy discloses: after the creating the collaboration space for the document area, creating a sub-space for the sub-area; and [0014] (send and receive data, including documents, where creating spaces and sub-spaces are a send/receive functions), [0015] (document areas/spaces are generated, i.e. sections are generated based on the target document, copies of the target document for the plurality of users, i.e. a parallel workspace for each of the plurality of user’s, and occur due to any criteria, like a first editing information as disclosed in [0028-0029]), [0009] (each user is provided with an alternate view of the document space that may be reflected as an alternate version in an alternate area or space of the target document in the document area of the collaboration space; each user is provided with an alternate view of the document space, where edits from the plurality of users within the collaboration space may be quickly reflected to each user in the space, i.e. the displayed content is switched to the obtained content), [0028-0029] (one of a plurality of users makes an edit to the document in their section/space and the update may be pushed to all users in their copy of the document, through the collaboration space into their individual areas/spaces, when the plurality of edits are detected or detected and approved, depending on the document rules);
determining editing information of the collaboration space based on editing information of the sub-space, the editing information being determined through the sub-space [0014] (send and receive data, including documents, content, editing information, confirmation operations, and relationships, where establishing an association relationships, and detecting editing information and obtaining content, i.e. receiving document data, are send/receive functions), [0015] (document areas/spaces are generated, i.e. sections are generated based on the target document, copies of the target document for the plurality of users, i.e. a parallel workspace for each of the plurality of user’s, and occur due to any criteria, like a first editing information as disclosed in [0028-0029], [0028-0029]), [0016] (a document owner is asserted with editing rights to the main document, and a plurality of alternate users are assigned one of various editing or read-only rights), [0019-0020] (the alternate view of the document is generated for each of the plurality of permitted users), [0021] (each of the plurality of user’s permitted with editing rights may update their version of the document without altering the main document), [0028-0029] (one of a plurality of users makes an edit to the document in their section/space and the update may be pushed to all users in their copy of the document, through the collaboration space into their individual areas/spaces, when the plurality of edits are detected or detected and approved, depending on the document rules; the user generated edits in the sub/parallel-spaces are determined in the sub/parallel-spaces, where the user has editing permission, determining the changes to the collaboration space incorporates determining the changes to all of the linked parallel/sub-spaces/areas, where a plurality of users may perform edits in permitted sections in the personalized copies of the main document).
Regarding Claim 6: Mundy discloses: The method according to claim 5, wherein the creating the sub-space for the sub-area comprises:
Mundy discloses: establishing an association relationship between the sub-area and a second user to create the sub-space for the sub-area, wherein the second user has read-only permission or second editing permission on the sub-area and the second editing permission is permission to edit the sub-area through the sub-space; and [0014] (send and receive data, including documents, content, editing information, confirmation operations, and relationships, where establishing an association relationships, and detecting editing information and obtaining content, i.e. receiving document data, are send/receive functions), [0015] (document areas/spaces are generated, i.e. sections are generated based on the target document, copies of the target document for the plurality of users, i.e. a parallel workspace for each of the plurality of user’s, and occur due to any criteria, like a first editing information as disclosed in [0028-0029], [0016] (a document owner is asserted with operation and editing rights to the main document, and a plurality of alternate users are assigned one of various editing or read-only rights).
the second editing information is information generated by the second user through the second editing permission in a case where the second user has the second ‘editing permission. [0015] (document areas/spaces are generated, i.e. sections are generated based on the target document, copies of the target document for the plurality of users, i.e. a parallel workspace for each of the plurality of user’s, and occur due to any criteria, like a first editing information as disclosed in [0028-0029], [0016] (a document owner is asserted with editing rights to the main document, and a plurality of alternate users are assigned one of various editing or read-only rights), [0019-0020] (the alternate view of the document is generated for each of the plurality of permitted users), [0021] (each of the plurality of user’s permitted with editing rights may update their version of the document without altering the main document), (one of a plurality of users makes an edit to the document in their section/space and the update may be pushed to all users in their copy of the document, through the collaboration space into their individual areas/spaces, when the plurality of edits are detected or detected and approved, depending on the document rules).
Regarding Claim 7: Mundy discloses: The method according to claim 5, wherein the determining the first editing information of the collaboration space based on the second editing information of the sub-space comprises:
Mundy discloses: obtaining content of the sub-area in the collaboration space based on the second editing information in a case where second confirmation operation on the second editing information is detected. [0014] (send and receive data, including documents, content, editing information, confirmation operations, and relationships, where establishing an association relationships, and detecting editing[0015] (document areas/spaces are generated, i.e. sections are generated based on the target document, copies of the target document for the plurality of users, i.e. a parallel workspace for each of the plurality of user’s, and occur due to any criteria, like a first editing information as disclosed in [0028-0029], [0016] (a document owner is asserted, i.e. marked, with editing rights to the main document, and a plurality of alternate users are assigned, i.e. marked, one of various editing or read-only rights, i.e. permissions may require confirmation operations to be asserted, which are detected), [0019-0020] (the alternate view of the document is generated for each of the plurality of permitted users), [0021] (the plurality of users permitted with editing rights may update their individual version of the document in their parallel area or space, sub-area or sub-space, without altering the main document in the document area of the collaboration space), [0025] (confirmation operation, a plurality of users are granted, i.e. marked, permissions which may include an owner issuing permission and/or requests for permission by other users, a confirmation operation for the plurality of users may be detected), [0028-0029] (one of a plurality of users makes an edit to the document in their section/space and the update may be pushed to all users in their copy of the document, through the collaboration space into their individual areas/spaces, when the plurality of edits are detected or detected and approved, depending on the document rules).
Regarding Claim 8: Mundy discloses: The method according to claim 1, further comprising:
Mundy discloses: after the creating the collaboration space for the document area, creating a parallel space for the document area; and [0014] (send and receive data, including documents, content, editing information, confirmation operations, and relationships, where establishing an association relationships, and detecting editing information and obtaining content, i.e. receiving document data, are send/receive functions), [0015] (document areas/spaces are generated, i.e. sections are generated based on the target document, copies of the target document for the plurality of users, i.e. a parallel workspace for each of the plurality of user’s, and occur due to any criteria, like a first editing information as disclosed in [0028-0029], [0009] (each user is provided with an alternate view of the document space that may be reflected as an alternate version in an alternate area or space of the target document in the document area of the collaboration space; each user is provided with an alternate view of the document space, where edits from the plurality of users within the collaboration space may be quickly reflected to each user in the space, i.e. the displayed content is switched to the obtained content), [0028-0029] (one of a plurality of users makes an edit to the document in their section/space and the update may be pushed to all users in their copy of the document, through the collaboration space into their individual areas/spaces, when the plurality of edits are detected or detected and approved, depending on the document rules).;
the generating the edited document of the target document based on the first editing information of the collaboration space comprises: generating the edited document of the target document based on the first editing information of the collaboration space and third editing information of the parallel space, the third editing information being determined through the parallel space. [0014] (send and receive data, including documents, content, editing information, confirmation operations, and relationships, where establishing an association relationships, and detecting editing information and obtaining content, i.e. receiving document data, are send/receive functions), [0015] (document areas/spaces are generated, i.e. sections are generated based on the target document, copies of the target document for the plurality of users, i.e. a parallel workspace for each of the plurality of user’s, and occur due to any criteria, like a first editing information as disclosed in [0028-0029], [0016] (a document owner is asserted with editing rights to the main document, and a plurality of alternate users are assigned one of various editing or read-only rights), [0019-0020] (the alternate view of the document is generated for each of the plurality of permitted users), [0021] (each of the plurality of user’s permitted with editing rights may update their version of the document without altering the main document), [0028-0029] (one of a plurality of users makes an edit to the document in their section/space and the update may be pushed to all users in their copy of the document, through the collaboration space into their individual areas/spaces, when the plurality of edits are detected or detected and approved, depending on the document rules).
Regarding Claim 9: Mundy discloses: The method according to claim 8, wherein the creating the parallel space for the document area comprises:
Mundy discloses: establishing an association relationship between the document area and a third user to create the parallel space for the document area. [0014] (send and receive data, including documents, content, editing information, confirmation operations, and relationships, where establishing an association relationships, and detecting editing information and obtaining content, i.e. receiving document data, are send/receive functions), [0015] (document areas/spaces are generated, i.e. sections are generated based on the target document, copies of the target document for the plurality of users, i.e. a parallel workspace for each of the plurality of user’s, and occur due to any criteria, like a first editing information as disclosed in [0028-0029], [0016] (a document owner is asserted with operation and editing rights to the main document, and a plurality of alternate users are assigned one of various editing or read-only rights).
Regarding Claim 10: Mundy discloses: The method according to claim 9, wherein in a case where the creating the collaboration space for the document area comprises:
Mundy discloses: establishing an association relationship between the document area and a first user, the third user and the first user creating the parallel space corresponding to the third user have same permission on the document area, the same permission being read-only permission or first editing permission. [0014] (send and receive data, including documents, content, editing information, confirmation operations, and relationships, where establishing an association relationships, and detecting editing information and obtaining content, i.e. receiving document data, are send/receive functions), [0015] (document areas/spaces are generated, i.e. sections are generated based on the target document, copies of the target document for the plurality of users, i.e. a parallel workspace for each of the plurality of user’s, and occur due to any criteria, like a first editing information as disclosed in [0028-0029], [0016] (a document owner is asserted with operation and editing rights to the main document, and a plurality of alternate users are assigned one of various editing or read-only rights), [0028-0029] (one of a plurality of users makes an edit to the document in their section/space and the update may be pushed to all users in their copy of the document, through the collaboration space into their individual areas/spaces, when the plurality of edits are detected or detected and approved, depending on the document rules).
Regarding Claim 11: Mundy discloses: The method according to claim 8, wherein the generating the edited document of the target document based on the first editing information of the collaboration space and the third editing information of the parallel space comprises:
Mundy discloses: obtaining first content of the document area in the target document based on the first editing information in a case where first confirmation operation on the first editing information is detected; [0014] (send and receive data, including documents, content, editing information, confirmation operations, and relationships, where establishing an association relationships, and detecting editing information and obtaining content, i.e. receiving document data, are send/receive functions), [0015] (document areas/spaces are generated, i.e. sections are generated based on the target document, copies of the target document for the plurality of users, i.e. a parallel workspace for each of the plurality of user’s, and occur due to any criteria, like a first editing information as disclosed in [0028-0029], [0016] (a document owner is asserted with editing rights to the main document, and a plurality of alternate users are assigned one of various editing or read-only rights), [0019-0020] (the alternate view of the document is generated for each of the plurality of permitted users), [0021] (each of the plurality of user’s permitted with editing rights may update their version of the document without altering the main document), [0028-0029] (one of a plurality of users makes an edit to the document in their section/space and the update may be pushed to all users in their copy of the document, through the collaboration space into their individual areas/spaces, when the plurality of edits are detected or detected and approved, depending on the document rules).
obtaining second content of the document area in the target document based on the third editing information in a case where third confirmation operation on the third editing information is detected; and [0014] (send and receive data, including documents, content, editing information, confirmation operations, and relationships, where establishing an association relationships, and detecting editing information and obtaining content, i.e. receiving document data, are send/receive functions), [0015] (document areas/spaces are generated, i.e. sections are generated based on the target document, copies of the target document for the plurality of users, i.e. a parallel workspace for each of the plurality of user’s, and occur due to any criteria, like a first editing information as disclosed in [0028-0029], [0016] (a document owner is asserted with editing rights to the main document, and a plurality of alternate users are assigned one of various editing or read-only rights), [0019-0020] (the alternate view of the document is generated for each of the plurality of permitted users), [0021] (each of the plurality of user’s permitted with editing rights may update their version of the document without altering the main document), [0028-0029] (one of a plurality of users makes an edit to the document in their section/space and the update may be pushed to all users in their copy of the document, through the collaboration space into their individual areas/spaces, when the plurality of edits are detected or detected and approved, depending on the document rules)..
generating the edited document of the target document according to the first content and the second content. [0014] (send and receive data, including documents, content, editing information, confirmation operations, and relationships, where establishing an association relationships, and detecting editing information and obtaining content, i.e. receiving document data, are send/receive functions), [0015] (document areas/spaces are generated, i.e. sections are generated based on the target document, copies of the target document for the plurality of users, i.e. a parallel workspace for each of the plurality of user’s, and occur due to any criteria, like a first editing information as disclosed in [0028-0029], [0016] (a document owner is asserted with editing rights to the main document, and a plurality of alternate users are assigned one of various editing or read-only rights), [0019-0020] (the alternate view of the document is generated for each of the plurality of permitted users), [0021] (each of the plurality of user’s permitted with editing rights may update their version of the document without altering the main document), [0028-0029] (one of a plurality of users makes an edit to the document in their section/space and the update may be pushed to all users in their copy of the document, through the collaboration space into their individual areas/spaces, when the plurality of edits are detected or detected and approved, depending on the document rules)..
Regarding Claim 12: Mundy discloses: The method according to claim 1, further comprising:
Mundy discloses: switching content displayed through the collaboration space to obtained content of the document area in the target document. [0014] (send and receive data, including documents, content, editing information, confirmation operations, and relationships, where establishing an association relationships, and detecting editing information and obtaining content, i.e. receiving document data, are send/receive functions), [0015] (the sections that are generated based on the target document are copies of the target document for the plurality of users, i.e. a parallel workspaces that may be sub-areas, sub-spaces, or parallel spaces, for each of the plurality of user’s, and occur due to any criteria, like editing information as disclosed in [0028]), [0028-0029] (one of a plurality of users makes an edit to the document in their section/space and the update may be pushed to all users in their copy of the document, through the collaboration space into their individual areas/spaces, when the plurality of edits are detected or detected and approved, depending on the document rules), [0009] (each user is provided with an alternate view of the document space that may be reflected as an alternate version in an alternate area or space of the target document in the document area of the collaboration space; each user is provided with an alternate view of the document space, where edits from the plurality of users within the collaboration space may be quickly reflected to each user in the space, i.e. the displayed content is switched to the obtained content).
Regarding Claim 13: Mundy discloses: The method according to claim 1, further comprising:
Mundy discloses: displaying target content in a case where a consulting request is detected and a user initiating the consulting request has read-only permission, wherein in a case where the consulting request indicates consulting content of the document area corresponding to the collaboration space, the target content is the content of the document area corresponding to the collaboration space; [0014] (send and receive data, including documents, content, editing information, confirmation operations, and relationships, where establishing an association relationships, and detecting editing information and obtaining content, i.e. receiving document data, are send/receive functions), [0015] (the sections that are generated based on the target document are copies of the target document for the plurality of users, i.e. a parallel workspaces that may be sub-areas, sub-spaces, or parallel spaces, for each of the plurality of user’s, and occur due to any criteria, like editing information as disclosed in [0028]), [0012] (displaying data to the user), [0009] (each user is provided with an alternate view of the document space that may be reflected as an alternate version in an alternate area or space of the target document in the document area of the collaboration space; each user is provided with an alternate view of the document space, where edits from the plurality of users within the collaboration space may be quickly reflected to each user in the space, i.e. the displayed content is switched to the obtained content), [0016] (a user may send/receive a request to the for permission in the system), [0017-0018] (requests for various permissions may be sent/received/approved/denied by users and/or owners of various document versions, all versions based on the target document);
in a case where the consulting request indicates consulting content of a sub-area corresponding to the sub-space, the target content is the content of the sub-area corresponding to the sub-space; and [0014] (send and receive data, including documents, content, editing information, confirmation operations, and relationships, where establishing an association relationships, and detecting editing information and obtaining content, i.e. receiving document data, are send/receive functions), [0015] (the sections that are generated based on the target document are copies of the target document for the plurality of users, i.e. a parallel workspaces that may be sub-areas, sub-spaces, or parallel spaces, for each of the plurality of user’s, and occur due to any criteria, like editing information as disclosed in [0028]), [0012] (displaying data to the user), [0009] (each user is provided with an alternate view of the document space that may be reflected as an alternate version in an alternate area or space of the target document in the document area of the collaboration space; each user is provided with an alternate view of the document space, where edits from the plurality of users within the collaboration space may be quickly reflected to each user in the space, i.e. the displayed content is switched to the obtained content), [0017-0018] (requests for various permissions may be sent/received/approved/denied by users and/or owners of various document versions, all versions based on the target document);
in a case where the consulting request indicates consulting content of a document area corresponding to the parallel space, the target content is the content of the document area corresponding to the parallel space. [0014] (send and receive data, including documents, content, editing information, confirmation operations, and relationships, where establishing an association relationships, and detecting editing information and obtaining content, i.e. receiving document data, are send/receive functions), [0015] (the sections that are generated based on the target document are copies of the target document for the plurality of users, i.e. a parallel workspaces that may be sub-areas, sub-spaces, or parallel spaces, for each of the plurality of user’s, and occur due to any criteria, like editing information as disclosed in [0028]), [0012] (displaying data to the user), [0009] (each user is provided with an alternate view of the document space that may be reflected as an alternate version in an alternate area or space of the target document in the document area of the collaboration space; each user is provided with an alternate view of the document space, where edits from the plurality of users within the collaboration space may be quickly reflected to each user in the space, i.e. the displayed content is switched to the obtained content), [0016] (a user may send/receive a request to the for permission in the system), [0017-0018] (requests for various permissions may be sent/received/approved/denied by users and/or owners of various document versions, all versions based on the target document).
Regarding Claim 17: A computer-readable storage medium with a computer program stored thereon, wherein when the computer program is executed by a processor, the method according to claim 1 is implemented. [0023] (computer readable medium with a software executed by a processor, where the software is the instructions for the method).
Regarding Claim 18: An electronic device comprising: a memory configured to store a computer program; and a processor configured to execute the computer program stored in the memory and implement the method according to claim 1 when the computer program is executed. [0010 and 0014] (a system with a device incorporating a memory storing software, with a processor configured to execute the software, where the software is the instructions for the method).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being obvious over Mundy, US20110016387A1, in view of Pereira Filho, US20150370769A1.
Regarding Claim 14: Mundy discloses: The method according to claim 1, further comprising:
determining historical versions of the document area selected by the selection operation each of the historical versions in a case where selection operation on the document area in the target document is detected, comprising information of the document; and displaying the historical versions. [0016] (a user may edit a document, which includes revising, deleting, adding, or selecting to edit a section, i.e. a selection operation which is detected), [0018-0019] (a tracking chart that tracks permissions, owners),
Where Mundy does not disclose, Pereira Filho teaches: determining historical versions of and marking differences between the historical versions each of the historical versions comprising first editing information, second editing information, third editing information and pre-editing information of the document area; and displaying the historical versions and the differences. [Figure 7, 0209, 0234, 0244] (determine and log historical revisions of the document area including at least a plurality of editing information that may include at least first, second and third, and pre-editing information of the document areas, displaying the historical revisions of the document and the differences).
It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the elements of the prior art because they each include each element claimed, although not necessarily in a single reference. The only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of the elements in a single prior art reference. One of ordinary skill in the art would have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and the combination, each element performs the same functions as it does separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable before the effective filing date.
Regarding Claim 15: Mundy discloses: The method according to claim 1,
Where Mundy does not disclose, Pereira Filho teaches: wherein the generating the edited document of the target document comprises: in a case where there is an intersection area between at least two document areas corresponding to at least two collaboration spaces, determining the number of target collaboration spaces where a content segment of the intersection area is edited; [0045] (at least an original space and a parallel space with each comprised of at least two document areas), [0021] (tracking changes such that they are separable from the original data), [0025] (each modification is tracked via an addressable space, such that all content segment edits are counted),
in a case where the number is one, determining the content segment edited through the target collaboration space as content of the edited document of the target document; and [0045] (at least an original space and a parallel space with each comprised of at least two document areas), [0021] (tracking changes such that they are separable from the original data), [0025] (each modification is tracked via an addressable space, such that all content segment edits are counted, since every edit is logged and tracked in an addressable space, the addressable space logging keeps track of the content segment selected by a user creating the target collaboration spaces as content of the edited document of the target document.),
in a case where the number is greater than one, determining the content segment selected by a user creating the target collaboration spaces and edited through a single target collaboration space as content of the edited document of the target document. ; [0045] (at least an original space and a parallel space with each comprised of at least two document areas), [0021] (tracking changes such that they are separable from the original data), [0025] (each modification is tracked via an addressable space, such that all content segment edits are counted, since every edit is logged and tracked in an addressable space, the addressable space logging keeps track of the content segment selected by a user creating the target collaboration spaces and edited through the single space as content of the edited document of the target document.)
It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the elements of the prior art because they each include each element claimed, although not necessarily in a single reference. The only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of the elements in a single prior art reference. One of ordinary skill in the art would have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and the combination, each element performs the same functions as it does separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable before the effective filing date.
Conclusion
ANGELA HATCH
Examiner
Art Unit 3626
/ANGELA HATCH/Examiner, Art Unit 3626
/NATHAN C UBER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3626