DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Claims 1-19 have been examined and are pending. Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are in claim 1 of a table generation module configured to generate, an update confirmation module configured to confirm, and an update performance module configured to perform, as well as in dependent claims 2, 3, 5, 7, 8 and 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 10 and 19 include “the component type” and “the content type.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claims. All respective dependent claims are likewise rejected.
Claim 2 includes “each function and global variables.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Analogous claim 11 and all respective dependent claims are likewise rejected.
Claims 4 and 13 include “the interface.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims. All respective dependent claims are likewise rejected.
Claims 8, 9, 17 and 18 include “the thread,” “the order of priority,” and “the update and the user instruction thread.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claims.
Claim limitations in independent claim 1 of a table generation module configured to generate, an update confirmation module configured to confirm, and an update performance module configured to perform, and in dependent claims 2, 3, 5, 7, 8 and 9, invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The specification is devoid of adequate structure to perform the claimed functions. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim does not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because it is directed to a computer program. Examiner recommends amending the claim such that it is directed to “A non-transitory computer readable storage medium…”
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Claims 1-18 are directed to one of the eligible categories of subject matter and claim 19 can be amended to be directed to an eligible category as mentioned above.
With respect to independent claims 1, 10 and 19, the generating, confirming and update performing cover performance of the limitations manually and/or in the mind (mental processes abstract idea). The claims as a whole merely describe how to generally “apply” the exception in a computer environment using generic computer functions or components. Even when viewed in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claims are not patent eligible.
With respect to dependent claim 5, 7, 8, 9, 14, 16, 17, 18 the modify, add, set cover performance of the limitations manually and/or in the mind (mental processes abstract idea). The loading are recited at a high level of generality and do not add meaningful limitations to the abstract idea; these limitations are directed to insignificant extra solution activities. The claims as a whole merely describe how to generally “apply” the exception in a computer environment using generic computer functions or components. Even when viewed in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claims are not patent eligible.
With respect to dependent claims 2, 3, 4, 6, 11, 12, 13, 15 the extract, map, confirm, added, modified cover performance of the limitations manually and/or in the mind (mental processes abstract idea). No additional elements are recited and so the claims do not provide a practical application and are not considered to be significantly more. The claims are not eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 3, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 17, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mencias et al., Pub. No.: US 20090187725 A1, hereinafter Mencias.
As per claim 1, Mencias discloses Apparatus for updating software, comprising: one or more processors; a memory storing one or more programs executed by the one or more processors;
a table generation module configured to generate a reference table for software to be updated (par. 59);
an update confirmation module configured to confirm whether an update event of the software occurs, and confirms one or more of the component type of update and the content type of update when the update event occurs (pars. 72-73, 81-85); and
an update performance module configured to perform update of the software according to one or more of the component type and the content type of the confirmed update based on the reference table (pars. 82-89).
As per claim 2, Mencias discloses the apparatus for updating software according to claim 1, wherein the table generation module is configured to extract each function and global variables constituting the software, and map identification information of the extracted function and global variables with addresses where the function and global variables are stored in the memory to generate a reference table (par. 59).
As per claim 3, Mencias discloses the apparatus for updating software according to claim 2, wherein the update confirmation module is configured to confirm whether the component type of update is a function or global variable, and confirm whether the content type of update is an internal modification or external modification, when the update event occurs (pars. 82-85, disclose determining whether a symbol table entry corresponds to a procedure or static variable and determining whether the entry exists in the original symbol table or represents a new procedure or static variable; pars. 106-108 disclose determining whether an existing static variable has changed in size).
As per claim 8, Mencias discloses The apparatus for updating software according to claim 3, wherein the update performance module is configured to set the order of priority between the thread generated according to the update and the user instruction thread (par. 7, 43, 62 discloses executing work requests according to priorities and running the concurrent loader as a background task while the original program executes), while performing a thread that loads the updated function or global variable according to the component type and the content type of the confirmed update into the memory and a thread that modifies the reference table (pars. 79-83).
As per claim 9, Mencias discloses the apparatus for updating software according to claim 8, wherein the update performance module is configured to set the thread that loads the function or global variable into the memory to have a lower order of priority than the user instruction thread (par. 62 discloses running the concurrent loader as a background task during execution of the original program), and set the thread that modifies the reference table to have a higher order of priority than the user instruction thread (par. 92-93 disclose relocation affecting address information used by the executing program cannot be performed as a background task and updates references to the new addresses before continued use).
As per claims 10, 11, 12, 17, 18, 19, they are analogous to claims above and therefore likewise rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 5, 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mencias in view of Buban et al., Pub. No.: 20040107416 A1, hereinafter Buban.
As per claim 4, Mencias discloses the apparatus for updating software according to claim 3. Mencias does not disclose however Buban discloses wherein the internal modification of the function is a case in which only instructions inside the function are modified (Buban, pars. 43-44), and the external modification of the function is a case in which a new function is added or the interface of the function is modified (Mencias, par. 85-89).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the cited references because Buban would have allowed Mencias to implement instruction level hot patching on existing functions to allow modification or updating of function instructions without replacing function interfaces or stopping execution.
As per claim 5, Mencias as modified discloses The apparatus for updating software according to claim 4, wherein the update performance module is configured to: load the updated function into the memory (Buban, pars. 41-46 discloses loading a new version or patch), and modify the address of the corresponding function into the address of the updated function in the reference table, when the update event is an internal modification of the function (see Buban as cited above including pars. 43-44 disclose existing routine instructions are patched and Mencias as cited above, including par. 83, discloses updating a corresponding symbol table value field to contain the memory address of the updated procedure); and load the updated function into the memory (Mencias, par. 79 discloses copying new code), and add an item for the updated function in the reference table, when the update event is an external modification of the function (Mencias, see at least pars. 85, 89).
Analogous claims 13, 14 are likewise rejected.
Claims 6, 7, 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mencias in view of Chen et al., Patent No.: US 8468516 B1, hereinafter Chen.
As per claim 6, Mencias discloses The apparatus for updating software according to claim 3. Mencias does not disclose however Chen discloses wherein the internal modification of the global variable is a case in which only the value of the global variable is modified (Chen, see at least col. 11, lines 3-24, fig. 4a-5, and claim 6 which disclose a modified data or variable symbol wherein the patch substitutes the original data value at the symbols memory address with updated variable value), and the external modification of the global variable is a case in which a new global variable is added or the type of the global variable is modified (Mencias, pars. 85-86 disclose a symbol not found in the original table being identified as a new static data variable and added to the new data section).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the cited references because Chen’s disclosure of updating the value of an existing variable would have allowed Mencias to apply modified variable data without unnecessarily treating the variable as a newly added data object.
As per claim 7, Mencias as modified discloses The apparatus for updating software according to claim 6, wherein the update performance module is configured to: load the updated global variable into the memory (see Chen as cited in the rejection of claim 6), and modify the address of the corresponding global variable into the address of the updated global variable in the reference table, when the update event is an internal modification of the global variable (Mencias, pars. 82-83); and load the updated global variable into the memory, and add an item for the updated global variable in the reference table, when the update event is an external modification of the global variable (Mencias, pars. 85-86).
Analogous claims 15, 16 are likewise rejected.
Conclusion
/SYED H HASAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2154