DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10 December 2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 16, line 4, change “end portions” to ---end portion--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17-20 & 22-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 17, line 5, “the permanent magnet disposed at a position overlapping the d-axis…” lacks antecedent basis.
In claim 19, “two straight portions” lacks clear basis. Claim 14 only recites “a straight portion” of the lightening hole. Recitation “a width of a parallel portion is shorter than a length of the parallel portion” is vague and indefinite. Presumably this refers to the width S between two parallel straight portions 123a and 128a (or portions 123c and 129a) smaller than a length of the parallel portions (published specification ¶[0033]; Figs.3B&5B ).
In claim 22, “waterdrop shape” is indefinite. Further, “…parallel to facing long sides of facing long sides of the permanent magnets having an oblong cross section” is vague and indefinite. Presumably this means the permanent magnet insertion holes having an oblong cross section, not the permanent magnets.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 14, 16-18 & 21-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Soma et al. (US 11,646,615).
Regarding claim 14, Soma teaches a rotating electrical machine (electric motor) comprising:
a rotor 10 having a magnet insertion hole into which a permanent magnet 810, 820 constituting a magnetic pole 30 is inserted, and held to be rotatable about a rotation axis; and
a stator (not shown) disposed outside the rotor, and including a stator coil (inherent to motor),
wherein a plurality of the magnet insertion holes 420 are disposed line-symmetrically about a d-axis that is a magnetic pole central axis,
a lightening hole 72 is formed on a rotation axis side of the magnet insertion hole 420 located away from the d-axis among the plurality of magnet insertion holes,
the lightening hole 72 is a hole that is continuous in a direction of the rotation axis, a cross-sectional shape of the lightening hole perpendicular to the rotation axis is formed to include a straight portion and a curved portion (not numbered), an innermost peripheral position of the lightening hole that is closest to a center of the rotation axis is located on the curved portion, and the curved portion is formed with a largest curvature, and
facing portions between the magnet insertion hole 420 and a side on an inner peripheral side of the lightening hole 72 are located at a certain distance, and an outermost peripheral position of the lightening hole, which are located in both sides away from d-axis, is located closer to an outer peripheral side than an end portion closest to a central axis of the rotor among sides constituting the magnet insertion hole (Figs.1-2).
Regarding claim 16, the cross-sectional shape of the lightening hole 72 is formed by two straight portions (not numbered) facing each other, a curved portion (not numbered) having a smaller radius of curvature and connecting one end portio[n] of the two straight portions, and a curved portion having a larger radius of curvature (not numbered) and connecting the other end portions of the two straight portions (Figs.1-2).
Regarding claim 17, a cross-sectional shape of a plurality of the permanent magnets 810, 820 disposed line-symmetrically about the d-axis in one pole is long in a rotation direction and is short in a radial direction, [a] permanent magnet 810 disposed at a position overlapping the d-axis is disposed such that an angle between a radial centerline of the permanent magnet and the d-axis is 90 degrees, and the permanent magnet 820 disposed at a position not overlapping the d-axis is disposed such that a radial centerline of the permanent magnet is inclined at an angle of less than 90 degrees with respect to the d-axis and a side of the permanent magnet away from the d-axis is located outward in the radial direction (Fig.1).
Regarding claim 18, protruding portions (not numbered) for forming curved surface portions having a large radius of curvature are formed at portions facing an inner peripheral corner (at 421D, 422D) of the magnet insertion hole 421, 422 that is closer to the d-axis, and an outer peripheral corner 421Q, 422Q of the magnet insertion hole that is farther from the d-axis (Fig.2).
Regarding claim 21, the lightening hole 72 is used as a passage for allowing a cooling medium to flow (air inherently passes through hole).
Regarding claim 22, as best understood, Soma teaches a rotating electrical machine comprising: a stator including a stator coil; a rotor 10 in which the number of magnetic poles 30 is n and in which a plurality of permanent magnets 310, 320 are inserted in each magnetic pole; and a rotating shaft to which the rotor is fixed, wherein the rotor includes a rotor core 20 formed from electromagnetic steel sheets 200 laminated in a direction of a rotation axis, in each magnetic pole of the rotor core, a second permanent magnet 310 is disposed on a d-axis that is a magnetic pole central axis, and a first permanent magnet 320 and a third permanent magnet 320 are disposed line-symmetrically with respect to the d-axis, the first permanent magnet and the third permanent magnet are formed such that a circumferential width is larger than a radial thickness, and are disposed to locate sides of the first permanent magnet to the third permanent magnet outward in a radial direction, [the] sides being closer to q-axes, such that directions of circumferential centerlines of the first permanent magnet to the third permanent magnet have a predetermined angle with respect to a tangent direction of the rotor core (Fig.2),
a first lightening hole 72 and a second lightening hole 72 having a semicircular or waterdrop-shaped cross-sectional shape are formed on an inner peripheral side of the first permanent magnet and the third permanent magnet of the rotor core in the radial direction (Fig.2),
the first lightening hole is disposed inside the first permanent magnet, and the second lightening hole is disposed inside the third permanent magnet, and straight portions (not numbered) are formed in parts of the cross-sectional shapes of the first lightening hole and the second lightening hole, and the lightening holes are disposed such that the straight portions “are parallel to facing long sides of the permanent magnets having an oblong cross section” [sic] (i.e., magnet insertion holes 421 & 422 with oblong cross-sections; Fig.2).
Regarding claim 23, the first lightening hole 72 is disposed to partially overlap a region defined by the first permanent magnet 821 and a center of the rotation axis, and the second lightening hole 72 is disposed to partially overlap a region defined by the third permanent magnet 822 and the center of the rotation axis (Figs.1-2).
Regarding claim 24, an outermost peripheral position of the first lightening hole 72 is located closer to an outer peripheral side of the rotor than an end portion closest to a central axis of the rotor among sides constituting an insertion hole 421 for the first permanent magnet 821, and an outermost peripheral position of the second lightening hole 72 is located closer to the outer peripheral side of the rotor than an end portion closest to the central axis of the rotor among sides constituting an insertion hole 422 for the third permanent magnet 822.
Regarding claim 25, each of the first lightening hole 72 and the second lightening hole 72 is formed by two straight portions that are not parallel, and two curved portions (not numbered) having different radii of curvature and connecting both end portions of the two straight portions, and the first lightening hole and the second lightening hole in the same pole are disposed symmetrically with respect to the d-axis (Figs.1-2).
Claims 14, 16-18 & 21-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ito et al. (US 10,778,053).
Regarding claim 14, Ito teaches a rotating electrical machine (IPM motor) comprising:
a rotor 1 having a magnet insertion hole (not numbered) into which a permanent magnet 90 constituting a magnetic pole is inserted , and held to be rotatable about a rotation axis; and
a stator (not shown) disposed outside the rotor, and including a stator coil (inherent to IPM motor),
wherein a plurality of the magnet insertion holes are disposed line-symmetrically about a d-axis 44 that is a magnetic pole central axis,
a lightening hole 27 (in rotor core 20) is formed on a rotation axis side of the magnet insertion hole located away from the d-axis among the plurality of magnet insertion holes,
the lightening hole 27 is a hole that is continuous in a direction of the rotation axis, a cross-sectional shape of the lightening hole perpendicular to the rotation axis is formed to include a straight portion and a curved portion (not numbered; Fig.6), an innermost peripheral position of the lightening hole 80 that is closest to a center of the rotation axis is located on the curved portion, and the curved portion is formed with a largest curvature (Fig.6), and
facing portions between the magnet insertion hole and a side on an inner peripheral side of the lightening hole 27 are located at a certain distance, and an outermost peripheral position of the lightening hole, which are located in both sides away from d-axis, is located closer to an outer peripheral side than an end portion closest to a central axis of the rotor among sides constituting the magnet insertion hole (Figs2&.6).
Regarding claim 16, the cross-sectional shape of the lightening hole is formed by two straight portions (not numbered) facing each other, a curved portion (not numbered) having a smaller radius of curvature and connecting one end portio[n] of the two straight portions, and a curved portion having a larger radius of curvature (not numbered) and connecting the other end portions of the two straight portions (Fig.6).
Regarding claim 17, a cross-sectional shape of a plurality of the permanent magnets disposed line-symmetrically about the d-axis in one pole is long in a rotation direction and is short in a radial direction, [a] permanent magnet 90 disposed at a position overlapping the d-axis is disposed such that an angle between a radial centerline of the permanent magnet and the d-axis is 90 degrees, and the permanent magnet disposed at a position not overlapping the d-axis is disposed such that a radial centerline of the permanent magnet is inclined at an angle of less than 90 degrees with respect to the d-axis and a side of the permanent magnet away from the d-axis is located outward in the radial direction” (Fig,6).
Regarding claim 18, protruding portions (not numbered) for forming curved surface portions having a large radius of curvature are formed at portions facing an inner peripheral corner of the magnet insertion hole that is closer to the d-axis, and an outer peripheral corner of the magnet insertion hole that is farther from the d-axis (Fig.6).
Regarding claim 21, the lightening hole 27 is used as a passage for allowing a cooling medium (e.g., air) to flow.
Regarding claim 22, as best understood, Ito teaches a rotating electrical machine comprising: a stator including a stator coil (inherent); a rotor in which the number of magnetic poles is n (six) and in which a plurality of permanent magnets 90 are inserted in each magnetic pole; and a rotating shaft 10 to which the rotor is fixed, wherein the rotor includes a rotor core 20 formed from electromagnetic steel sheets (c.5:43-45) laminated in a direction of a rotation axis, in each magnetic pole of the rotor core, a second permanent magnet 90 is disposed on a d-axis that is a magnetic pole central axis, and a first permanent magnet 90 and a third permanent magnet 90 are disposed line-symmetrically with respect to the d-axis, the first permanent magnet and the third permanent magnet are formed such that a circumferential width is larger than a radial thickness, and are disposed to locate sides of the first permanent magnet to the third permanent magnet outward in a radial direction, [the] sides being closer to q-axes, such that directions of circumferential centerlines of the first permanent magnet to the third permanent magnet have a predetermined angle with respect to a tangent direction of the rotor core (Fig.6),
a first lightening hole (not numbered) and a second lightening hole having a… “waterdrop-shaped” [sic] cross-sectional shape (i.e., two straight portions and two curved portions) are formed on an inner peripheral side of the first permanent magnet and the third permanent magnet of the rotor core in the radial direction (Fig.6),
the first lightening hole is disposed inside the first permanent magnet, and the second lightening hole is disposed inside the third permanent magnet, and straight portions (not numbered) are formed in parts of the cross-sectional shapes of the first lightening hole and the second lightening hole, and the lightening holes are disposed such that the straight portions “are parallel to facing long sides of the permanent magnets having an oblong cross section” [sic] (i.e., oblong ends of magnet insertion holes; Fig.6).
Regarding claim 23, the first lightening hole is disposed to partially overlap a region defined by the first permanent magnet and a center of the rotation axis, and the second lightening hole is disposed to partially overlap a region defined by the third permanent magnet and the center of the rotation axis (Fig.6).
Regarding claim 24, an outermost peripheral position of the first lightening hole is located closer to an outer peripheral side of the rotor than an end portion closest to a central axis of the rotor among sides constituting an insertion hole for the first permanent magnet, and an outermost peripheral position of the second lightening hole is located closer to the outer peripheral side of the rotor than an end portion closest to the central axis of the rotor among sides constituting an insertion hole for the third permanent magnet (Fig.6).
Regarding claim 25, each of the first lightening hole and the second lightening hole is formed by two straight portions that are not parallel, and two curved portions (not numbered) having different radii of curvature and connecting both end portions of the two straight portions, and the first lightening hole and the second lightening hole in the same pole are disposed symmetrically with respect to the d-axis (Fig.6).
Claims 14, 17-19 & 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tang et al.(US 10,491,064).
Regarding claim 14, Tang teaches a rotating electrical machine comprising:
a rotor 10 having a magnet insertion hole (pocket) 108,120 into which a permanent magnet 112, 138 constituting a magnetic pole 130, 132 is inserted, and held to be rotatable about a rotation axis; and
a stator 40 disposed outside the rotor, and including a stator coil (Fig.5),
wherein a plurality of the magnet insertion holes are disposed line-symmetrically about a d-axis that is a magnetic pole central axis 111 (Fig.2),
a lightening hole (not numbered) is formed on a rotation axis side of the magnet insertion hole located away from the d-axis among the plurality of magnet insertion holes,
the lightening hole is a hole that is continuous in a direction of the rotation axis, a cross-sectional shape of the lightening hole perpendicular to the rotation axis is formed to include a straight portion and a curved portion (not numbered), an innermost peripheral position of the lightening hole that is closest to a center of the rotation axis is located on the curved portion, and the curved portion is formed with a largest curvature (Fig.1A&2), and
facing portions between the magnet insertion hole and a side on an inner peripheral side of the lightening hole are located at a certain distance, and an outermost peripheral position of the lightening hole, which are located in both sides away from d-axis, is located closer to an outer peripheral side than an end portion closest to a central axis of the rotor among sides constituting the magnet insertion hole (Fig.2).
Regarding claim 17, a cross-sectional shape of a plurality of the permanent magnets disposed line-symmetrically about the d-axis in one pole is long in a rotation direction and is short in a radial direction, [a] permanent magnet disposed at a position overlapping the d-axis is disposed such that an angle between a radial centerline of the permanent magnet and the d-axis is 90 degrees, and the permanent magnet disposed at a position not overlapping the d-axis is disposed such that a radial centerline of the permanent magnet is inclined at an angle of less than 90 degrees with respect to the d-axis and a side of the permanent magnet away from the d-axis is located outward in the radial direction (Fig.4).
Regarding claim 18, protruding portions (not numbered) for forming curved surface portions having a large radius of curvature are formed at portions facing an inner peripheral corner of the magnet insertion hole that is closer to the d-axis, and an outer peripheral corner of the magnet insertion hole that is farther from the d-axis (Figs.1A&2).
Regarding claim 19, the lightening hole is formed such that in the cross-sectional shape of the lightening hole, two straight portions are parallel to each other and a width of a parallel portion is shorter than a length of the parallel portion (Fig.2).
Regarding claim 21, the lightening hole 72 is used as a passage for allowing a cooling medium to flow (air inherently passes through hole; Fig.2).
Claims 14 & 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Krizan et al.(US Pat.Pub.2022/0181927).
Regarding claim 14, Krizan teaches a rotating electrical machine 107 comprising:
a rotor 110 having a magnet insertion hole (pocket) 108 into which a permanent magnet 115 constituting a magnetic pole is inserted, and held to be rotatable about a rotation axis; and
a stator 111 disposed outside the rotor, and including a stator coil 113,
wherein a plurality of the magnet insertion holes 108 are disposed line-symmetrically about a d-axis that is a magnetic pole central axis (Fig.3)
a lightening hole (not numbered) is formed on a rotation axis side of the magnet insertion hole located away from the d-axis among the plurality of magnet insertion holes,
the lightening hole is a hole that is continuous in a direction of the rotation axis, a cross-sectional shape of the lightening hole perpendicular to the rotation axis is formed to include a straight portion and a curved portion (not numbered), an innermost peripheral position of the lightening hole that is closest to a center of the rotation axis is located on the curved portion, and the curved portion is formed with a largest curvature (Fig.3), and
facing portions between the magnet insertion hole 108 and a side on an inner peripheral side of the lightening hole are located at a certain distance, and an outermost peripheral position of the lightening hole, which are located in both sides away from d-axis, is located closer to an outer peripheral side than an end portion closest to a central axis of the rotor among sides constituting the magnet insertion hole (Fig.3).
Regarding claim 21, the lightening hole is used as a passage for allowing a cooling medium (e.g., air) to flow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over any of Soma, Ito, Tang or Krizan as applied to claim 14 above, further in view of Shi et al. (US 10,784,731).
Soma, Ito, Tang and Krizan each substantially teach the invention except for the cross-sectional shape of the lightening hole “formed by the straight portion and the curved portion connecting both end portions of the straight portion” (i.e., semicircular).
But, Shi teaches a permanent magnet rotor including circulation holes 3 symmetrically arranged on the rotor core 1 for increasing circulation area of the rotor to accelerate heat dissipation of the core wherein the holes have a shape in the transverse section of a semicircle, among other shapes (c.3:6-8; c.5:25-30).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to configure the cross-sectional shape of the lightening hole of any of Soma, Ito, Tang or Krizan to be formed by the straight portion and the curved portion connecting both end portions of the straight portion---i.e., semicircular---since Shi teaches this shape was known to provide increased circulation and heat dissipation of a rotor core.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in view of Krizan as applied to claim 17 above, further in view of Yamaguchi et al. (US 9,419,481).
Krizan teaches protruding portions of magnet holes 108 but not specifically ones which form “curved surface portions having a large radius of curvature…at portions facing an inner peripheral corner of the magnet insertion hole that is closer to the d-axis, and an outer peripheral corner of the magnet insertion hole that is farther from the d-axis.”
But, Yamaguchi teaches a rotor comprising lightening holes and magnet insertion holes 38 wherein protruding portions for forming curved surface portions having a large radius of curvature are formed at portions facing an inner peripheral corner of the magnet insertion hole that is closer to the d-axis (i.e., at first space 64a), and an outer peripheral corner of the magnet insertion hole that is farther from the d-axis (i.e., at second space 64b; c.6:24-34; Figs.3-4). Thus, the first and second spaces are configured so that bonding component 56 is equally introduced into the first and second spaces (c.6:35-39).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to provide Krizan with protruding portions forming curved surface portions having a large radius of curvature at portions facing an inner peripheral corner of the magnet insertion hole that is closer to the d-axis, and an outer peripheral corner of the magnet insertion hole that is farther from the d-axis, since Yamaguchi teaches this would have enabled bonding component to have been equally introduced into the magnet insertion holes.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang as applied to claim 19 above, further in view of Azusawa (US 10,680,475).
Regarding claim 20, Tang’s Fig.4 embodiment teaches a number of the permanent magnets constituting one magnetic pole is an odd number (i.e., nine magnets), with three of the plurality of permanent magnets disposed to overlap the d-axis, and the remaining permanent magnets are disposed not to overlap the d-axis. Thus, the only difference is with regard to “one” magnet disposed to overlap the d-axis.
But, Azusawa teaches a rotor 10 with a plurality of permanent magnets 30 wherein the number of permanent magnets constituting one pole is an odd number (i.e., three), one of the plurality of permanent magnets is disposed to overlap the d-axis, and the remaining permanent magnets are not disposed to overlap the d-axis (Figs.1-2). The three permanent magnets arranged in this manner form one magnetic pole part 50 (c.4:6-18).
This would have been obvious before the effective filing date to modify Tang’s rotor magnets and provide an odd number of permanent magnets constituting one pole with one of the plurality of permanent magnets is disposed to overlap the d-axis, and the remaining permanent magnets are not disposed to overlap the d-axis since Azusawa teaches this arrangement would have formed one magnetic pole part.
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over any of Soma or Ito as applied to claim 24 above, further in view of Shi.
Soma and Ito substantially teach the invention including the first lightening hole and the second lightening hole disposed in the same pole to be symmetric with respect to the d- axis, but they are not “formed in a semicircular shape.”
But, Shi teaches a permanent magnet rotor including circulation holes 3 symmetrically arranged on the rotor core 1 for increasing circulation area of the rotor to accelerate heat dissipation of the core wherein the holes have a shape in the transverse section of a semicircle, among other shapes (c.3:6-8; c.5:25-30).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to configure the cross-sectional shape of the lightening hole of any of Soma or Ito to be formed in a semicircular shape since Shi teaches this shape was known to provide increased circulation and heat dissipation of a rotor core.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. For example, Huang (US 11,075,568) teaches a rotor with cooling holes 56 with teardrop cross section (c.5:49-53; Fig.1).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to BURTON S MULLINS whose telephone number is (571)272-2029. The examiner can normally be reached 9-5. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/BURTON S MULLINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834