DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/6/2025, 10/29/2025, and 4/28/2026 have been entered and considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 9-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kucharewski et al. (US 2025/0287444, Kucharewski hereinafter) in view of Chu et al. (US 2022/0132608, Chu hereinafter). Regarding claims 1, 9, and 10, Kucharewski teaches a communication method, a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (The AP MLD may be comprised of a memory storing a computer program executable by a processor; Kucharewski; Figs. 6 and 32; [0218]-[0219]), and an electronic device (Access Point (AP) Multi-Link Device (MLD); Kucharewski; Figs. 6 and 32; [0092]-[0093], [0218]-[0219]), comprising: a processor (The AP MLD may be comprised of a processor; Kucharewski; Figs. 6 and 32; [0218]-[0219]); and a memory storing a computer program executable by the processor (The AP MLD may be comprised of a memory storing a computer program executable by the processor; Kucharewski; Figs. 6 and 32; [0218]-[0219]), wherein the processor is configured to: determine a target radio frame, wherein the target radio frame carries a basic multi-link (ML) information element (The AP MLD may transmit at least a Multi-Link element (see, e.g., at least Fig. 33A), which teaches determining a target radio frame, wherein the target radio frame carries a basic multi-link (ML) information element; Kucharewski; Figs. 10A-30 and 33A-33G; [0146]-[0152], [0160]-[0163], [0243]), the basic ML information element comprises a target identifier bit (The Multi-Link element may be comprised of at least a BSS Parameters Change Count Present subfield 3359, which indicates the presence of the BSS Parameters Change Count subfield in the STA Info field and is set to 1 if the BSS Parameters Change Count subfield is present in the STA Info field, otherwise the BSS Parameters Change Count Present subfield 3359 is set to 0. At least the BSS Parameters Change Count Present subfield may be interpreted as a target identifier bit; Kucharewski; Figs. 10A-30 and 33A-33G; [0244]-[0250], [0256]), and the target identifier bit indicates that a critical update occurs to the value of operational parameters (The BSS Parameters Change Count Present subfield 3359 indicates the presence of the BSS Parameters Change Count subfield, and the BSS Parameters Change Count subfield indicates that a critical update occurs to the operational parameters for the AP that transmits the Basic Multi-link element. The BSS Parameters Change Count Present subfield 3359 may thus be interpreted as a target identifier bit indicates that a value of the basic ML information element changes; Kucharewski; Figs. 10A-30 and 33A-33G; [0244]-[0250], [0256]), wherein the operational parameters include the value of the maximum number of simultaneous links field (The Maximum Number of Simultaneous Links subfield 3331 indicates the maximum number of STAs affiliated with the MLD that support simultaneous transmission or reception of frames on the respective links; Kucharewski; Figs. 10A-30 and 33A-33G; [0247]-[0248]); and send the target radio frame (The AP MLD may transmit at least a Multi-Link element (see, e.g., at least Fig. 33A), which teaches determining a target radio frame, wherein the target radio frame carries a basic multi-link (ML) information element; Kucharewski; Figs. 10A-30 and 33A-33G; [0146]-[0152], [0160]-[0163], [0243]). However, although Kucharewski discusses the presence of a Maximum Number of Simultaneous Links subfield (Kucharewski; Figs. 10A-30 and 33A-33G; [0247]-[0248]), Kucharewski does not specifically disclose that a critical update occurring to the value of operational parameters comprises a value of a maximum number of simultaneous links field of the basic ML information element changing. Chu teaches that a critical update occurring to the value of operational parameters comprises a value of a maximum number of simultaneous links field of the basic ML information element changing (At least a change of link capabilities is described as a critical update. A critical update occurring to the value of operational parameters may thus be interpreted as a value of a maximum number of simultaneous links field of the basic ML information element changing; Chu; Figs. 3-6; [0044]-[0046], [0049]-[0052], [0086]). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Chu regarding MLD operation with the teachings as in Kucharewski regarding MLD operation. The motivation for doing so would have been to increase performance and efficiency at least by reducing overhead for setting up multiple links (Chu; [0039]). Regarding claims 2, 11, and 17, Kucharewski and Chu teach the limitations of claims 1, 9, and 10 respectively. Kucharewski further teaches the target identifier bit is carried in a presence bitmap subfield of the basic ML information element (The Presence Bitmap field 3313 is used to indicate the presence of various subfields in the Common Info field 3305 of the Multi-Link element 3300. For example, the Presence Bitmap field 3313 may indicate the presence of a BSS Parameters Change Count field; Kucharewski; Figs. 10A-30 and 33A-33G; [0244]-[0250], [0256]). Regarding claims 3, 12, and 18, Kucharewski and Chu teach the limitations of claims 2, 11, and 17 respectively. Kucharewski further teaches the presence bitmap subfield comprises a multi-link device (MLD) capabilities and operations present bit (The Presence Bitmap field 3313 is used to indicate the presence of various subfields in the Common Info field 3305 of the Multi-Link element 3300. For example, the Presence Bitmap field 3313 may indicate the presence of a MLD Capabilities field. At least the MLD Capabilities field in the Presence Bitmap may be interpreted as a multi-link device (MLD) capabilities and operations present bit; Kucharewski; Figs. 10A-30 and 33A-33G; [0244]-[0250], [0256]); wherein the MLD capabilities and operations present bit is set to be a first preset parameter value, and the first preset parameter value indicates that there is an MLD capabilities and operations subfield in the basic ML information element (The Presence Bitmap field 3313 is used to indicate the presence of various subfields in the Common Info field 3305 of the Multi-Link element 3300. For example, the Presence Bitmap field 3313 may indicate the presence of a MLD Capabilities field. Such a bit in a bitmap indicating the presence of a field (e.g., an MLD capabilities and operations subfield) may be interpreted as being set to be a first preset parameter value, and the first preset parameter value indicates that there is an MLD capabilities and operations subfield in the basic ML information element; Kucharewski; Figs. 10A-30 and 33A-33G; [0244]-[0250], [0256]). Regarding claims 4, 13, and 19, Kucharewski and Chu teach the limitations of claims 1, 9, and 10 respectively. Kucharewski further teaches the target radio frame comprises a beacon frame or a probe response frame (The Multi-link element may be included in a beacon frame or a probe response frame; Kucharewski; Figs. 10A-30 and 33A-33G; [0243]-[0246]). Regarding claims 5, 14, and 20, Kucharewski and Chu teach the limitations of claims 1, 9, and 10 respectively. Kucharewski further teaches the processor is further configured to: according to a quantity of the value of the maximum number of simultaneous links field, adjust a number of link information (info) fields in the basic ML information element (The Maximum Number of Simultaneous Links subfield 3331 indicates the maximum number of STAs affiliated with the MLD that support simultaneous transmission or reception of frames on the respective links. The Link Info Field may be comprised of Per-STA Profile subelement(s) 3340, which may be interpreted as link information (info) fields in the basic ML information element. The AP MLD may thus be interpreted as adjusting a number of link information (info) fields in the basic ML information element such that there is a Per-STA Profile subelement 3340 for each STA up to the maximum number of STAs indicated by the Maximum Number of Simultaneous Links subfield; Kucharewski; Figs. 10A-30 and 33A-33G; [0244]-[0250], [0256]); wherein a critical update occurs to the value of operational parameters (The BSS Parameters Change Count Present subfield 3359 indicates the presence of the BSS Parameters Change Count subfield, and the BSS Parameters Change Count subfield indicates that a critical update occurs to the operational parameters for the AP that transmits the Basic Multi-link element. The BSS Parameters Change Count Present subfield 3359 may thus be interpreted as a target identifier bit indicates that a value of the basic ML information element changes; Kucharewski; Figs. 10A-30 and 33A-33G; [0244]-[0250], [0256]), wherein the operational parameters include the value of the maximum number of simultaneous links field (The Maximum Number of Simultaneous Links subfield 3331 indicates the maximum number of STAs affiliated with the MLD that support simultaneous transmission or reception of frames on the respective links; Kucharewski; Figs. 10A-30 and 33A-33G; [0247]-[0248]). Chu further teaches a critical update occurring to the value of operational parameters comprises a value of a maximum number of simultaneous links field of the basic ML information element having a variable quantity (At least a change of link capabilities is described as a critical update. A critical update occurring to the value of operational parameters may thus be interpreted as a value of a maximum number of simultaneous links field of the basic ML information element changing (and thus having a variable quantity); Chu; Figs. 3-6; [0044]-[0046], [0049]-[0052], [0086]). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Chu regarding MLD operation with the teachings as in Kucharewski regarding MLD operation. The motivation for doing so would have been to increase performance and efficiency at least by reducing overhead for setting up multiple links (Chu; [0039]). Regarding claims 6, 15, and 21, Kucharewski and Chu teach the limitations of claims 5, 14, and 20 respectively. Kucharewski further teaches the processor is further configured to: set the number of link info fields in the basic ML information element based on the value of the maximum number of simultaneous links field (The Maximum Number of Simultaneous Links subfield 3331 indicates the maximum number of STAs affiliated with the MLD that support simultaneous transmission or reception of frames on the respective links. The Link Info Field may be comprised of Per-STA Profile subelement(s) 3340 for each STA, which may be interpreted as link information (info) fields in the basic ML information element. The AP MLD may thus be interpreted as setting a number of link information (info) fields in the basic ML information element such that there is a Per-STA Profile subelement 3340 for each STA up to the maximum number of STAs indicated by the Maximum Number of Simultaneous Links subfield; Kucharewski; Figs. 10A-30 and 33A-33G; [0244]-[0250], [0256]), and determine a content in a new link info field according to an affiliated access point (AP) corresponding to the new link info field (The Link Info Field may be comprised of Per-STA Profile subelement(s) 3340 for each STA, which may be interpreted as link information (info) fields in the basic ML information element. The content of such link info field(s) may be interpreted as being based on the affiliated access point (AP). The AP MLD may thus be interpreted as determining a content in a new link info field according to an affiliated access point (AP) corresponding to the new link info field; Kucharewski; Figs. 10A-30 and 33A-33G; [0244]-[0250], [0256]); wherein a critical update occurs to the value of operational parameters (The BSS Parameters Change Count Present subfield 3359 indicates the presence of the BSS Parameters Change Count subfield, and the BSS Parameters Change Count subfield indicates that a critical update occurs to the operational parameters for the AP that transmits the Basic Multi-link element. The BSS Parameters Change Count Present subfield 3359 may thus be interpreted as a target identifier bit indicates that a value of the basic ML information element changes; Kucharewski; Figs. 10A-30 and 33A-33G; [0244]-[0250], [0256]), wherein the operational parameters include the value of the maximum number of simultaneous links field (The Maximum Number of Simultaneous Links subfield 3331 indicates the maximum number of STAs affiliated with the MLD that support simultaneous transmission or reception of frames on the respective links; Kucharewski; Figs. 10A-30 and 33A-33G; [0247]-[0248]). Chu further teaches a critical update occurring to the value of operational parameters comprises a value of a maximum number of simultaneous links field of the basic ML information element increasing (At least a change of link capabilities is described as a critical update. A critical update occurring to the value of operational parameters may thus be interpreted as a value of a maximum number of simultaneous links field of the basic ML information element changing (e.g., increasing); Chu; Figs. 3-6; [0044]-[0046], [0049]-[0052], [0086]). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Chu regarding MLD operation with the teachings as in Kucharewski regarding MLD operation. The motivation for doing so would have been to increase performance and efficiency at least by reducing overhead for setting up multiple links (Chu; [0039]). Regarding claims 7 and 16, Kucharewski and Chu teach the limitations of claims 6 and 15 respectively. Kucharewski further teaches the content in the link info field comprises at least one of: link identification (ID) information of a first link corresponding to the affiliated AP, a media access control (MAC) address of the affiliated AP on the first link, a timer synchronization function (TSF) offset of a second link corresponding to a beacon frame or a probe response frame sent by the affiliated AP, information of the beacon frame, or information of the probe response frame (The Multi-link element may be included in a beacon frame or a probe response frame, and thus fields of such a Multi-link element (e.g., the link info field) may be interpreted as comprising at least information of the beacon frame or information of the probe response frame; Kucharewski; Figs. 10A-30 and 33A-33G; [0243]-[0246]).
Conclusion
/ERIC MYERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474