DETAILED OFFICE ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-10 are pending examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1,2,3,4,5 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103(a) as being unpatentable over Yamazaki ( USPUB 20060263012) in view of Zhou et al. ( USPUB 20140154495) .
As per claim 1, Yamazaki teaches An optical power feeding system for power feeding from power sourcing equipment to a powered device by spatial transmission of feed light ( Paragraphs [0076-0078]- “… The optical connector 4 of this embodiment is different from the optical connector 3 of the third embodiment in that an optical transmitter module 115 which supplies electricity for power feeding is additionally disposed inside the first connector 11 and an optical receiver module 125 which is supplied with electricity for power feeding in the form of light corresponding to the optical transmitter module 115 is disposed inside the second connector 12….” AND Paragraphs [0059-0060] – “… the optical transmitter module 111 in the first connector 11 and the optical receiver module 121 in the second connector 12 so as to execute spatial optical transmitting in a single direction….”) , the power sourcing equipment comprising: a light emitter configured to output the feed light ( Fig. 7 AND Paragraph [0080-0082]-“… optical transmitting by the optical transmitter module 115 for power feeding of the first connector 11 and light is emitted from the light emitting element 116 for power feeding to the optical receiver module 125 for power feeding disposed opposing the light emitting element 116 for power feeding across space through the lens 114. This optical signal is received by the light receiving element 126 of the optical receiver module 125…”) , the powered device comprising: a light receiver configured to convert the feed light that has been received into electric power ( Paragraphs [0080-0081]- “…the optical receiver module 125 for power feeding disposed opposing the light emitting element 116 for power feeding across space through the lens 114. This optical signal is received by the light receiving element 126 of the optical receiver module 125 through the lens 124 and the received optical signal is converted to electric signal and after that, sent to the USB connector connected to the second connector 12….”) ,
Yamazaki does not explicitly teach the optical power feeding system comprising: a surrounding member surrounding a transmission path of the feed light from the light emitter to the light receiver.
However, within analogous art, Hiraoka et al. teaches the optical power feeding system comprising: a surrounding member surrounding a transmission path of the feed light from the light emitter to the light receiver ( Paragraphs [0089-0091]- “…As shown in FIGS. 1 to 4, in the passage member 20, a hollow fiber membrane travel passage 21, which allows the porous hollow fiber membrane M to pass therethrough, is formed to penetrate inside the passage member 20. In the hollow fiber membrane travel passage 21, the porous hollow fiber membrane M is entirely surrounded by a wall surface. In addition, in the passage member 20, a branch passage 23 that branches off from the hollow fiber membrane travel passage 21 and communicates with a lower wall surface of the passage member 20 is formed….”) .
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teaching of Hiraoka et al. within the modified teaching of the Optical connector within Yamazaki because the Defect inspection apparatus and defect inspection method for porous hollow fiber membrane, porous hollow fiber membrane, and manufacturing method thereof mentioned by Hiraoka et al. provides a method and system for implementation of detection of defect within an hollow optical fiber structure.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one in the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the Defect inspection apparatus and defect inspection method for porous hollow fiber membrane, porous hollow fiber membrane, and manufacturing method thereof mentioned by Hiraoka et al. within the modified teaching of the Optical connector within Yamazaki for implementation of detection of defect within an hollow optical fiber structure.
As per claim 2, Combination of Yamazaki and Hiraoka et al. teach claim 1,
Yamazaki teaches wherein the surrounding member is a tubular body inside which the transmission path of the feed light passes( The surrounding member tubular body is interpreted as the shielding body 8 is disposed so as to shield the optical transmitter taught within the Fig. 5 and 6 and Paragraphs [0061-0063]- “…In the first connector 11, the optical transmitter module 111a and the optical transmitter module 111b are disposed in parallel and in the second connector 12, the optical receiver module 121a and the optical receiver module 121b are disposed in parallel. A light shielding body 8 is disposed so as to shield the optical transmitter module 111a in the first connector 11 and the light receiver module 121a in the second connector 12 from the optical transmitter module 111b in the first connector 11 and the optical receiver module 121b in the second connector 12….”) .
As per claim 3, Combination of Yamazaki and Hiraoka et al. teach claim 2,
Within analogous art, Hiraoka et al. teaches further comprising: a cleaning device configured to clean gas in the surrounding member ( Paragraph [0134]- “…the defect inspection apparatus for a porous hollow fiber membrane of the present invention for detection of defect in a porous hollow fiber membrane in the course of manufacture, a configuration of arranging, in order: a spinning device that spins the porous hollow fiber membrane; a cleaning device that cleans the porous hollow fiber membrane;…”) .
As per claim 4, Combination of Yamazaki and Hiraoka et al. teach claim 3,
Within analogous art, Hiraoka et al. teaches further comprising: a dust detector configured to detect an amount of dust in the gas in the surrounding member ( Paragraph [0126]- “… it is preferable that the light emitting unit 51 and the light receiving unit 52 are arranged to protrude from the wall surface of the branch passage 23 toward the inner cavity of the branch passage 23. This can facilitate prevention of false detection of dirt or air bubbles on the wall surface of the branch passage 23….”) , wherein the cleaning device is caused to operate until the amount of dust is equal to or less than a specified value ( Paragraph [0127]- “… in such a case that a part of the passage member 20 around the branch passage 23 and the inner wall surface of the fluid circulation line 63 are treated against deposition of dirt or air bubbles, the tip portions of the light emitting unit and the light receiving unit can be arranged flush with the wall surface, not protruding into the fluid L being suctioned and flowing. …”) .
As per claim 5, Combination of Yamazaki and Hiraoka et al. teach claim 2,
Within analogous art, Hiraoka et al. teaches further comprising: a pressure reducing device configured to reduce a pressure in the surrounding member ( Paragraphs [0111-0112]- “…flow pressure loss of the fluid L in the enlarged space 22 can be reduced, to thereby reduce the pressure change in a direction of the length f and provide a higher degree of decompression of the inside of the enlarged space 22. …”) .
As per claim 9,
Yamazaki teaches Power sourcing equipment for power feeding to a powered device by spatial transmission of feed light through inside of a surrounding member ( Paragraphs [0076-0078]- “… The optical connector 4 of this embodiment is different from the optical connector 3 of the third embodiment in that an optical transmitter module 115 which supplies electricity for power feeding is additionally disposed inside the first connector 11 and an optical receiver module 125 which is supplied with electricity for power feeding in the form of light corresponding to the optical transmitter module 115 is disposed inside the second connector 12….” AND Paragraphs [0059-0060] – “… the optical transmitter module 111 in the first connector 11 and the optical receiver module 121 in the second connector 12 so as to execute spatial optical transmitting in a single direction….”), the inside serving as a transmission path, the surrounding member being a tubular body( The surrounding member tubular body is interpreted as the shielding body 8 is disposed so as to shield the optical transmitter taught within the Fig. 5 and 6 and Paragraphs [0061-0063]- “…In the first connector 11, the optical transmitter module 111a and the optical transmitter module 111b are disposed in parallel and in the second connector 12, the optical receiver module 121a and the optical receiver module 121b are disposed in parallel. A light shielding body 8 is disposed so as to shield the optical transmitter module 111a in the first connector 11 and the light receiver module 121a in the second connector 12 from the optical transmitter module 111b in the first connector 11 and the optical receiver module 121b in the second connector 12….”), the power sourcing equipment comprising: a light emitter configured to output the feed light( Fig. 7 AND Paragraph [0080-0082]-“… optical transmitting by the optical transmitter module 115 for power feeding of the first connector 11 and light is emitted from the light emitting element 116 for power feeding to the optical receiver module 125 for power feeding disposed opposing the light emitting element 116 for power feeding across space through the lens 114. This optical signal is received by the light receiving element 126 of the optical receiver module 125…”);
Yamazaki does not explicitly teach a pressure reducing device configured to remove air in the surrounding member; and a pressure detector configured to detect a pressure in the surrounding member, wherein when the pressure in the surrounding member does not reach a specified value or less as a result of pressure reduction by the pressure reducing device, outputting of the feed light is suppressed.
However, within analogous art, Hiraoka et al. teaches a pressure reducing device configured to remove air in the surrounding member ( Paragraphs [0112-0113]- “…the flow pressure loss of the fluid L in the enlarged space 22 can be reduced, to thereby reduce the pressure change in a direction of the length f and provide a higher degree of decompression of the inside of the enlarged space 22. As a result, upon detection of an air bubble released from the defect of the porous hollow fiber membrane M, even a defect that requires a high degree of decompression to release an air bubble releases an air bubble sufficiently, thus extending an air bubble detection time and improving resolution of defect detection.…”) ; and a pressure detector configured to detect a pressure in the surrounding member, wherein when the pressure in the surrounding member does not reach a specified value or less as a result of pressure reduction by the pressure reducing device, outputting of the feed light is suppressed ( Paragraphs [0130-0133]- “…light receiving unit 52 are arranged such that the optical axes of the light emitting unit 51 and the light receiving unit 52 pass through a part where the velocity of the flowing fluid in the branch passage 23 is the maximum. Since an air bubble passing through the branch passage 23 is likely to pass through the part where the velocity of the flowing fluid is the maximum, the air bubble can be detected in a more stable manner by configuring the optical axes of the light emitting unit 51 and the light….The fluid L in the hollow fiber membrane travel passage 21 flows under suction by the fluid suction means 40 via the fluid circulation line 63, from the enlarged space 22 to the branch passage 23, and the pressure thereof is lowered due to flow pressure loss….” AND Paragraph [0104]- “…during flow of the fluid L can be prevented, and generation of a decompression bubble and vibration of the porous hollow fiber membrane M can thus be suppressed. For the similar reason, it is also preferable that a connection portion between the branch passage 23 and the enlarged space 22 is finished smoothly….”) .
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teaching of Hiraoka et al. within the modified teaching of the Optical connector within Yamazaki because the Defect inspection apparatus and defect inspection method for porous hollow fiber membrane, porous hollow fiber membrane, and manufacturing method thereof mentioned by Hiraoka et al. provides a method and system for implementation of detection of defect within an hollow optical fiber structure.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one in the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the Defect inspection apparatus and defect inspection method for porous hollow fiber membrane, porous hollow fiber membrane, and manufacturing method thereof mentioned by Hiraoka et al. within the modified teaching of the Optical connector within Yamazaki for implementation of detection of defect within an hollow optical fiber structure.
It is noted that any citations to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the reference should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2123.
Examiner’s Notes
3. The Examiner acknowledges the following prior arts below as pertinent to the current applications claim limitations and inventive concept, although the following prior arts shown below were not relied upon to address the limitations within the claim , they are analogous art mentioning the inventive concept key points on (Multiple optical transmitters, optical receivers, selectable light source/lasers , multiplexers, optical modulator ,optical controller , optical carrier frequencies etc.).
1) Dinesh Sharma et al.,"Understanding the Performance Analysis of Free Space Optical Communication using Red Laser- 650nm Wavelength, “International Journal of Engineering Research & Technology (IJERT),Vol. 4, Issue 4, April 2015, Pages 1345-1350.
2) TIEFENG HE et al.,"Analysis and Experiment of the Laser Wireless Energy Transmission Efficiency Based on the Receiver of Powersphere," 15th April 2021, IEEEAccess, VOLUME 9, 2021,Pages 55340-55349.
3) John Fakidis et al.,"Indoor Optical Wireless Power Transfer to Small Cells at Nighttime," 22nd June 2016, JOURNAL OF LIGHTWAVE TECHNOLOGY, VOL. 34, NO. 13, JULY 1, 2016,Pages 3236-3252.
4) Kaitlin E. Gushwa et al.,"Coming Clean: Understanding and Mitigating Optical Contamination and Laser Induced Damage in Advanced LIGO,"Proc. of SPIE Vol. 9237, Pages 923702-1-923702-15.
5) KUNO YOSHINORI et al. (EP 3952002 )
6) Kanto et al. (USPUB 20030039015)
7) MIZUKAMI(WO 2021014882)
8) MIYAMOTO (JP 2019033626)
9) KAJIMA (JP 2017175763)
10) Bakish et al. (USPUB 20170150254 )
11) Barnard ( USPUB 20110135305 )
12) ICHIKAWA et al. (USPUB20160114687 )
13 ) Gupta et al. ( USPAT 4558017)
14) Chang et al. ( USPUB 20240137675)
Allowable Subject Matter
4. Claims 6,7,8 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
5. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for objecting the claims as allowable subject matter:
As to claim 6, prior art of record does not teach or suggest the limitation mentioned within claim 6: “… a pressure detector configured to detect the pressure in the surrounding member, wherein when the pressure detected is not reduced to a specified value as a result of pressure reduction by the pressure reducing device, outputting of the feed light by the light emitter is suppressed.”
As to claims 7 and 8 , claims 7 and 8 depends on objected allowable claim 6, therefore the following claims are not taught by the prior art of record.
As to claim 10, prior art of record does not teach or suggest the limitation mentioned within claim 10: “…the controller is further configured to receive feedback from a receiver of the N modulated lasers, and adaptively update the mapping of the N of the M selectable lasers based on the received feedback.”
Conclusion
6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Refer to PTO-892, Notice of Reference Cited for a listing of analogous art.
http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/OMAR S ISMAIL/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2635