DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim states (emphasis added) “[Claim 7] The mop module of the vacuum cleaner of claim 6, wherein the diffuser cover comprises, a cover body covering the diffuser housing; and a flow rate adjustment part protruding toward the differ housing from the cover body.”, this should be “protruding toward the diffuser housing”. Appropriate correction is required. For the purposes of examination, the examiner will read the claim as “[Claim 7] The mop module of the vacuum cleaner of claim 6, wherein the diffuser cover comprises, a cover body covering the diffuser housing; and a flow rate adjustment part protruding toward the diffuser housing from the cover body.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 6, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wook et al (KR 101796646) and further in view of Pruiett et al (US 11266285).
Regarding claim 1, Wook discloses a mop module of a vacuum cleaner configured to perform cleaning by wiping out foreign substances from the floor surface (please note, the verbiage of “configured to perform cleaning by wiping out foreign substances from the floor surface” is viewed as intended use), the mop module comprising:
a module housing (item 110 in figure 1);
a water tank disposed above the module housing and configured to store water therein (item 130 in figure 1);
at least one rotary cleaning part disposed under the module housing, the rotary cleaning part to which a mop is coupled (items 170 in figure 1);
a heat generator configured to heat water supplied from the water tank (item 140 in figure 1); and a diffuser (items 150 in figure 8) provided under the heat generator and configured to supply moisture heated in the heat generator to the mop (paragraph 4 of page 4 of the included translation),
wherein the diffuser comprises,
a diffuser housing (item 111 in figure 9) coupled to the module housing; and
a moisture supply hole formed in the diffuser housing, the moisture supply hole through which the moisture heated in the heat generator is discharged (item 151 in figure 8), and
the moisture supply hole is provided along a circumferential direction in plural (shown in figure 8 along left and right items 150, paragraph 7 on page 4 of the included translation).
However, Wook fails to disclose that the plurality of moisture supply holes have different diameters, respectively.
Pruiett, which is also concerned with a floor cleaner utilizing steam, teaches the plurality of moisture supply holes that have different diameters, respectively (item 174 in figure 15, column 17 lines 2-6, C17:L2-6, using a plurality of openings of varying size).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wook with the steam delivery system of Pruiett to be able to direct the steam to the floor or to the cleaning device (C2:L44-48).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Wook and Pruiett disclose the mop module of the vacuum cleaner of claim 1. Wook further discloses that the diffuser further comprises,
a guide rib protruding formed downward from the diffuser housing and formed along a circumferential direction (item 173 in figures 12 and 14, paragraph at the top of page 5 of the included translation describes location and function to direct the steam as it exits the diffuser).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Wook and Pruiett disclose the mop module of the vacuum cleaner of claim 1. Wook further discloses that the diffuser further comprises,
a diffuser cover (item 153 in figure 9), coupled to the diffuser housing (item 11 in figure 9) and forming a space in which moisture flows (when item 153 is connected to item 11 it forms a space for the steam to move, paragraph 7 on page 4 of the included translation).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Wook and Pruiett disclose the mop module of the vacuum cleaner of claim 1. Pruiett further teaches the moisture supply hole is formed along a circumferential direction in a shape of a long hole (C17:L2-6, using a plurality of openings of other shapes and uniform size).
Claims 2 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wook et al (KR 101796646) and Pruiett et al (US 11266285) and further in view of Vrdolkaj et al (CN 201676837).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Wook and Pruiett disclose the mop module of the vacuum cleaner of claim 1, wherein the diffuser is connected (item 160 in Wook figure 10) to the heat generator. However, the combination of Wook and Pruiett fail to disclose the plurality of moisture supply holes that have diameters that gradually increase as getting farther away from a point connected to the heat generator. Pruiett does teach the idea of using a plurality of differently sized supply holes (C17:L2-6) but not that they are for even distribution of steam.
Vrdolkaj, which is also concerned with steam cleaning, teaches utilizing specific shapes of steam outlets (Paragraph 8, page 7 of the included translation, utilizing shapes to ensure uniform steam distribution from the steam outlets).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wook and Pruiett with the steam outlet shapes of Vrdolkaj to ensure even steam distribution. The resulting modification would have the structure of Wook’s diffuser, with the prescribed specific shape of items 151 provided by Vrdolkaj.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Wook and Pruiett disclose the mop module of the vacuum cleaner of claim 10, wherein the diffuser is connected (item 160 in figure 10 is the connector) to the heat generator, and the moisture supply hole is formed along a circumferential direction. However, Wook and Pruiett do not disclose that the radial diameter of the moisture supply hole increases gradually. Pruiett does teach the idea of using a plurality of differently sized supply holes (C17:L2-6), but not that they are for even distribution of steam.
Vrdolkaj, teaches utilizing specific shapes of steam outlets (Paragraph 8, page 7 of the included translation, utilizing shapes to ensure uniform steam distribution from the steam outlets).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wook and Pruiett with the steam outlet shapes of Vrdolkaj to ensure even steam distribution. The resulting modification would have the structure of Wook’s diffuser, with the prescribed specific shape of items 151 provided by Vrdolkaj.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wook et al (KR 101796646) and Pruiett et al (US 11266285) and further in view of Kim In Gi (KR 101655684).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Wook and Pruiett disclose the mop module of the vacuum cleaner of claim 1, but fail to disclose that the diffuser further comprises, a drain discharge portion downward from the diffuser housing.
Kim In Gi, which is also concerned with rotary steam mops, teaches that the diffuser further comprises, a drain discharge portion downward from the diffuser housing (Figure 15. Paragraph 15 of page 6 of the included translation. The bottom plate, item 320, includes drain holes, item 321, that discharges water to the mop).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Wook and Pruiett to include the water drain holes of Kim In Gi to allow the use of water (not just steam) to wet the mop (Kim In Gi abstract).
Claims 5, 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wook et al (KR 101796646) and Pruiett et al (US 11266285) and further in view of Bum (KR 20070091419).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Wook and Pruiett disclose the mop module of the vacuum cleaner of claim 1, wherein the diffuser is connected (item 160 in Wook figure 10 is the connector) to the heat generator, and has an inner space where moisture flows (labeled as 150 in Wook figure 11), but fail to disclose that the diffuser becomes narrower as getting farther away from a point connected to the heat generator.
Bum, which is also concerned with a steam cleaner, teaches the diffuser becomes narrower (figure 4 item 251, the distribution pipe is smaller at one end than the other) as getting farther away from a point (item 253 in figure 4) connected to the heat generator.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wook and Pruiett with the steam distribution of Bum to ensure even steam distribution (paragraph 5 of page 6 of the included translation).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Wook and Pruiett disclose the mop module of the vacuum cleaner of claim 6, wherein the diffuser cover comprises,
a cover body covering the diffuser housing;
but fail to disclose a flow rate adjustment part protruding toward the differ (examining as diffuser) housing from the cover body.
Bum teaches a diffuser pipe that becomes narrower towards the end to ensure even steam distribution between the outlets (items 251 and 253 in figure 4, paragraph 5 of page 6 of the included translation).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wook and Pruiett with the steam distribution of Bum to ensure even steam distribution. The resulting modification would accomplish even steam distribution, except instead of the diffuser being made from three parts, it would be the one-piece pipe.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Wook, Pruiett, and Bum disclose the mop module of the vacuum cleaner of claim 7, wherein the diffuser is connected to the heat generator, but fail to disclose that the flow rate adjustment part has a protruding height that varies based on the distance from a point connected to the heat generator.
Bum teaches a diffuser pipe that becomes narrower towards the end to ensure even steam distribution between the outlets (items 251 and 253 in figure 4, paragraph 5 of page 6 of the included translation).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wook and Pruiett with the steam distribution of Bum to ensure even steam distribution. The resulting modification would accomplish even steam distribution, except instead of the diffuser being made from three parts, it would be the one-piece pipe.
Regarding claim 9, The mop module of the vacuum cleaner of claim 7, wherein the diffuser is connected to the heat generator, but fail to disclose that the flow rate adjustment part has a protruding height that increases as getting farther away from a point connected to the heat generator.
Bum teaches a diffuser pipe that becomes narrower towards the end to ensure even steam distribution between the outlets (items 251 and 253 in figure 4, paragraph 5 of page 6 of the included translation).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wook and Pruiett with the steam distribution of Bum to ensure even steam distribution. The resulting modification would accomplish even steam distribution, except instead of the diffuser being made from three parts, it would be the one-piece pipe.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wook et al (KR 101796646) and Pruiett et al (US 11266285) and further in view of Yang et al (WO 2008096949).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Wook and Pruiett disclose the mop module of the vacuum cleaner of claim 10, but fail to disclose that the diffuser further comprises, a guide inclined surface configured to guide moisture introduced from the heat generator to the moisture supply hole.
Yang, which is also concerned with a steam cleaner, teaches a guide inclined surface (item 160 in figure 6) configured to guide moisture (paragraph [57] deviating steam in a horizontal direction) introduced from the heat generator (paragraph [56], discharging steam generated in the steam generating device) to the moisture supply hole (moisture guided through hole item 162 in figure 6, [57]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wook and Pruiett with the steam guide part of Yang to maximize the amount of steam moved to the cleaning element (paragraph [6]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 12 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: while Wook and Pruiett teaches a mop module of the vacuum cleaner that uses steam from a heat generator to aid in cleaning the references fails to teach, suggest, or make obvious the guide pole used to eliminate a water film generated in the heat generator when viewed with the base claims 1 and 10.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
KR 101342567 is a steam cleaner that utilizes a rotary cleaning member with steam discharge holes.
/FREDERICK A. HINDMAN JR/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/BRIAN D KELLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723