DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/10/2024 was filed after the mailing date of the Application on 12/10/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-11, 16, 21-22, and 24-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bhandari et al. (US 2023/0078232).
With regards to claim 1:
Bhandari et al. discloses (refer to Fig. 1 below) a valve unit (1) comprising
- a valve which comprises a movable piston (4, 6, 7) for closing and opening the valve,
- a magnet (3) or a magnetizable element and
- a sensor unit (12) which comprises a magnetic field sensor for determining a position of the piston (4, 6,7),
wherein the magnet (3) or the magnetizable element and the sensor unit (12) are movable relative to one another by the movement of the piston (4, 6, 7),
wherein the valve unit comprises a control device (automobile engine control unit (not shown); see [0020]) which continuously evaluates positions of the piston (4, 6,7), and wherein the control device is configured to evaluate further positions during a movement of the piston in addition to a closed and an open state of the valve (see [0020]).
Fig. 1
With regards to claim 2:
Bhandari et al. discloses the valve unit according to Claim 1 wherein the magnetic field sensor is a Hall sensor (Hall sensor with I.C.; see [0017], [0020]).
With regards to claim 3:
Bhandari et al. discloses the valve unit according to Claim 1 wherein the sensor unit (12) is arranged in a receiving opening in the valve unit (1), said receiving opening being of closed configuration in relation to a space into which the piston (4, 6, 7) penetrates during its movement.
With regards to claim 4:
Bhandari et al. discloses the valve unit according to Claim 1 wherein the magnet (3) or the magnetizable element is arranged in the piston (4, 6, 7) and the sensor unit (12) is arranged in a positionally fixed manner.
With regards to claim 5:
Bhandari et al. discloses (refer to Fig. 1 above) the valve unit according to Claim 1 wherein the sensor unit (12) is arranged in a housing part (2) of the valve unit (1) and wherein the receiving opening is of open configuration towards an outer side for the purpose of introducing the sensor unit (12).
With regards to claim 8:
Bhandari et al. discloses (refer to Fig. 1 above) a valve unit (1) comprising
- a valve which comprises a movable piston (4, 6, 7) for closing and opening the valve,
- a magnet (3) or a magnetizable element and
- a sensor unit (12) which comprises a magnetic field sensor, for determining a position of the piston (4, 6, 7),
wherein the magnet (3) or the magnetizable element and the sensor unit (12) are movable relative to one another by the movement of the piston (4, 6, 7),
wherein the sensor unit (12) is arranged in a receiving opening in the valve unit (1), said receiving opening being of closed configuration in relation to a space into which the piston (4, 6, 7) penetrates during its movement.
With regards to claim 9:
Bhandari et al. discloses the valve unit according to Claim 8, wherein the magnet (3) or the magnetizable element is arranged in the piston (4, 6, 7) and the sensor unit (12) is arranged in a positionally fixed manner.
With regards to claim 10:
Bhandari et al. discloses the valve unit according to Claim 8, wherein the sensor unit (12) is arranged in a housing part (2) of the valve unit (1) and wherein the receiving opening (not labeled) is of open configuration towards an outer side for the purpose of introducing the sensor unit (12).
With regards to claim 11:
Bhandari et al. discloses the valve unit according to Claim 10, wherein the piston (4, 6, 7) is fastened to the housing part (2) in a releasable manner and so as to be movable relative to the housing part, as a result of which the housing part (2) together with the piston (4, 6, 7) and the sensor unit (12) are jointly exchangeable.
With regards to claim 16:
Bhandari et al. discloses the valve unit according to Claim 8 wherein the sensor unit (12) is arranged without a housing in the receiving opening, wherein the housing part (2) surrounds the sensor unit (12) in a protective manner.
With regards to claim 21:
Bhandari et al. discloses the valve unit according to Claim 8 wherein the valve unit comprises a control device (automobile engine control unit (not shown); see [0020]) which continuously evaluates positions of the piston (4, 6, 7), wherein the control device is configured to evaluate further positions during a movement of the piston in addition to a closed and an open state of the valve (see [0020]).
With regards to claim 22:
Bhandari et al. discloses (refer to Fig. 1 above) a valve unit (1)
- comprising a valve which comprises a movable piston (4, 6, 7) for closing and opening the valve,
- having a magnet (3) or a magnetizable element and
- comprising a sensor unit (12) which comprises a magnetic field sensor, preferably a Hall sensor, for determining a position of the piston (4, 6, 7),
wherein the magnet (3) or the magnetizable element and the sensor unit (12) are movable relative to one another by the movement of the piston (4, 6, 7),
wherein the sensor unit (12) is arranged without a housing in a receiving opening in the valve unit, and wherein the receiving opening surrounds the sensor unit (12) in a protective manner.
With regards to claim 24:
Bhandari et al. discloses the valve unit according to claim 8 wherein the magnetic field sensor is a Hall sensor.
With regards to claim 25:
Bhandari et al. discloses the valve unit according to claim 22 wherein the magnetic field sensor is a Hall sensor.
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 7-11, 13-14, 17-18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Robert (DE 20081062301).
With regards to claim 1:
Robert discloses (refer to Fig. 2 below) a valve unit comprising
- a valve which comprises a movable piston (1, 2) for closing and opening the valve,
- a magnet (11) or a magnetizable element and
- a sensor unit (10) which comprises a magnetic field sensor for determining a position of the piston (4, 6,7),
wherein the magnet (11) or the magnetizable element and the sensor unit (10) are movable relative to one another by the movement of the piston (1, 2),
wherein the valve unit comprises a control device (not shown) which continuously evaluates positions of the piston (1, 2), and wherein the control device is configured to evaluate further positions during a movement of the piston in addition to a closed and an open state of the valve (see [0025]).
With regards to claim 3:
Robert discloses the valve unit according to Claim 1 wherein the sensor unit (10) is arranged in a receiving opening in the valve unit, said receiving opening being of closed configuration in relation to a space into which the piston (1, 2) penetrates during its movement.
Fig. 2
With regards to claim 5:
Robert discloses the valve unit according to Claim 1 wherein the sensor unit (10) is arranged in a housing part (9) of the valve unit and wherein the receiving opening is of open configuration towards an outer side for the purpose of introducing the sensor unit (10).
With regards to claim 7:
Robert discloses the valve unit according to Claim 1 wherein the sensor unit (10) comprises an elongate base plate (10), wherein the magnetic field sensor (12) is arranged in an end region of the base plate (10) and wherein the base plate (10) is received in the receiving opening.
With regards to claim 8:
Robert discloses (refer to Fig. 2 above) a valve unit comprising
- a valve which comprises a movable piston (1, 2) for closing and opening the valve,
- a magnet (11) or a magnetizable element and
- a sensor unit (10) which comprises a magnetic field sensor (12), for determining a position of the piston (1, 2),
wherein the magnet (11) or the magnetizable element and the sensor unit (10) are movable relative to one another by the movement of the piston (1, 2),
wherein the sensor unit (10) is arranged in a receiving opening in the valve unit, said receiving opening being of closed configuration in relation to a space into which the piston (1, 2) penetrates during its movement.
With regards to claim 9:
Robert discloses the valve unit according to Claim 8, wherein the magnet (11) or the magnetizable element is arranged in the piston (1,2) and the sensor unit (10) is arranged in a positionally fixed manner.
With regards to claim 10:
Robert discloses the valve unit according to Claim 8, wherein the sensor unit (10) is arranged in a housing part (9) of the valve unit and wherein the receiving opening is of open configuration towards an outer side for the purpose of introducing the sensor unit (10).
With regards to claim 11:
Robert discloses the valve unit according to Claim 10, wherein the piston (1, 2) is fastened to the housing part (9) in a releasable manner and so as to be movable relative to the housing part, as a result of which the housing part (9) together with the piston (1, 2) and the sensor unit (10) are jointly exchangeable.
With regards to claim 13:
Robert discloses the valve unit according to Claim 8, wherein the magnetic field sensor and the magnet (11) or the magnetizable element are arranged spaced apart from one another along a common axis, wherein the common axis extends along the movement direction of the piston (1, 2) during the opening and closing of the valve.
With regards to claim 14:
Robert discloses the valve unit according to Claim 13, wherein the receiving opening has a longitudinal direction which extends along the common axis.
With regards to claim 17:
Robert discloses the valve unit according to Claim 8, herein the sensor unit (10) comprises an elongate base plate 0, wherein the magnetic field sensor (12) is arranged in an end region (of the base plate and wherein the base plate is received in the receiving opening.
With regards to claim 18:
Robert discloses the valve unit according to Claim 17, wherein a plug (not labeled) is fixedly connected to the base plate at an end lying opposite to the end region, wherein the plug is accessible from the outside in the state when the base plate is mounted in the receiving opening.
With regards to claim 20:
Robert discloses the valve unit according to Claim 8, wherein the piston (1, 2) has a circular-cylindrical base body which defines a longitudinal central axis, wherein the common axis is the longitudinal central axis of the piston and wherein the magnetic field sensor and the magnet (11) or the magnetizable element are arranged centrally with respect to the longitudinal central axis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 15, 23 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhandari et al., as applied to claims 1, 8 above, and further in view of Huber et al. (US 2022/0178407).
With regards to claims 6 and 15:
Bhandari et al. discloses the valve unit according to claims 1, 8 (see rejected claims 1 and 8 above).
Bhandari et al. does not disclose the magnetic field sensor is a 2D sensor or, preferably a 3D sensor.
Huber et al. teaches (see [0047]) 2D or 3D Hall sensor is used for position sensor.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use 2D or 3D Hall sensor as the Hall sensor for the magnetic field sensor of Bhandari et al. as taught by Huber et al. to detect the position of the piston of the valve unit of Bhandari et al..
Bhandari et al., as modified, discloses the valve unit according to claims 6 and 15.
With regards to claims 23:
Bhandari et al., as modified, discloses a valve unit (1)
- comprising a valve which comprises a movable piston (4, 6, 7) for closing and opening the valve,
- comprising a magnet (3) or a magnetizable element and
- comprising a sensor unit (12) which comprises a magnetic field sensor, preferably a Hall sensor, for determining a position of the piston (4, 6, 7),
wherein the magnet (3) or the magnetizable element and the sensor unit (12) are movable relative to one another by the movement of the piston (4, 6, 7),
wherein the magnetic field sensor is a 3D sensor with lateral and vertical sensor elements for measuring a three-dimensional vector of a magnetic flux density.
With regards to claims 26:
Bhandari et al., as modified, discloses the valve unit according to claim 23 wherein the magnetic field sensor is a Hall sensor.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robert (DE 20081062301).
With regards to claim 19:
Robert discloses the valve unit according to Claim 8, wherein the sensor unit is screwed in the receiving opening of the housing part (9), except wherein the sensor unit comprises an O-ring, by means of which it is mounted in the receiving opening. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use O-ring to seal the sensor unit from the wet environment which is the common environment of the valve works since it is known in the art that O-ring is used to seal the threaded coupling parts. Robert, as modified, discloses the valve unit according to Claim 19.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 12 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/MINH Q LE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753