DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/10/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
a. seal member in claim 16.
a. seal member is interpreted to cover at least a pipe joint as per claim 28.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claims 19-22 each depends on claim 1. However, claim 1 has been cancelled; making claims 19-22 in improper dependent form.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
For examination purposes, claim 19 would be made dependent on claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16, 23, and 30-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lei (CN 217899995 U).
Regarding claim 16:
Lei discloses a window air conditioner comprising:
an outdoor unit component #2;
an indoor unit component #1 having a first connection end (see connection end where #1 meets #4 in at least Fig. 1 & 7);
an intermediate component #3 & #4 including:
a first shell assembly #4 having a second connection end, the second connection end being connected to the first connection end (see Fig. 7) and having a port in communication with an inner cavity of the intermediate component (see Fig. 7-8 & 12);
a second shell assembly #3 connected to the outdoor unit component (Fig. 7-8), the second shell assembly and the first shell assembly being movable relative to each other in an inner-outer direction (Fig. 7-10); and
a seal assembly including a seal member #31 configured to seal the port (Fig. 8-9); and
a pipeline assembly #6 extending through the seal member and the inner cavity of the intermediate component (Fig. 8-9), the pipeline assembly having an inner end connected to the indoor unit component and an outer end connected to the outdoor unit component (see Fig. 8-9 and associated description thereof).
Regarding claim 23:
Lei further discloses wherein the first shell assembly is arranged around the second shell assembly (Fig. 5-10); the intermediate component further includes a slide rail assembly including a first slide rail and a second slide rail that are slidably engaged with each other in the inner-outer direction, the first slide rail being fixedly connected to the first shell assembly, and the second slide rail being fixedly connected to the second shell assembly; and at least one of the first shell assembly or the second shell assembly covers the slide rail assembly (see Fig. 20 and associated description thereof).
Regarding claim 30:
Lei further discloses wherein the first connection end is formed between an outer end of a top plate of the indoor unit component and an upper end of a rear back plate of the indoor unit component; and the first connection end is arranged around the second connection end (see Fig. 7-9).
Regarding claim 31:
Lei further discloses wherein the second shell assembly has an outer end rotatably connected to an upper part of an inner end of the outdoor unit component (see Fig. 1 & 21 and associated description thereof).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei (CN 217899995 U) in view of Dubin (US 5582025 A).
Regarding claims 17-18:
Lei discloses all the limitations, except for wherein the seal member includes a first seal and a second seal, the second seal being arranged around an edge of the first seal in a circumferential direction of the port, and a cavity being formed in the second seal; wherein the cavity is one of a plurality of cavities formed in the second seal that are arranged at intervals in an axial direction of the port.
In the same field of endeavor, Dubin teaches a window air conditioner comprising a seal assembly (Fig. 10)
wherein the seal member includes a first seal (made of #87 & #88) and a second seal (made of #85 & #86), the second seal being arranged around an edge of the first seal in a circumferential direction of the port (Fig. 10-11), and a cavity being formed in the second seal (see cavities of #85 & #86 that accommodate #87 & #88); wherein the cavity is one of a plurality of cavities formed in the second seal that are arranged at intervals in an axial direction of the port (see Fig. 10).
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date to have provided the apparatus of Lei with the claimed arrangement above in a similar manner as taught by Dubin.
One of ordinary skills would have recognized that doing so would have provided a seal with no refrigerant loss as suggested by Dubin. Other benefits include facilitation of installation.
Claim(s) 19-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei (CN 217899995 U).
Regarding claim 19:
Lei further discloses wherein the seal member is a first seal member; the seal assembly further includes a second seal member #5 configured to seal the first shell assembly (Fig. 6 & 8-9).
Lei does not disclose wherein the first shell assembly comprises a plurality of sub-shells.
However, making the first shell assembly in two sections so as to have a plurality of sub-shells is recognized as a manufacturing design preference. See MPEP 2144.04 and In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date to have provided the apparatus of Lei with the first shell assembly split in two equal sections so as to form a plurality of sub-shells.
One of ordinary skills would have recognized that doing so would have improved manufacturing efficiency, logistical flexibility, and design adaptability.
As modified, the second seal member is configured to seal connections where the plurality of sub-shells are connected to one another.
Regarding claim 20:
Lei as modified discloses all the limitations.
As modified, the plurality of sub-shells includes an upper shell and a lower shell; the port is formed between an inner end portion of the upper shell and an inner end portion of the lower shell; and
two side edges of the upper shell in a transverse direction are correspondingly connected to two side edges of the lower shell in the transverse direction, respectively, and the two side edges of the upper shell in the transverse direction are sealingly engaged with the two side edges of the lower shell in the transverse direction through the second seal member (see rejection of claim 19 above).
Regarding claim 21:
Lei as modified discloses all the limitations.
Lei further discloses wherein a cavity is formed in the second seal member (see cavity defined by #51 in Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 22:
Lei as modified discloses all the limitations.
Lei further discloses wherein the second seal member and at least part of the first seal member are integrally formed (see at least Fig. 1 and 9: when all components are assembled, they are structurally connected together so as to form one element. Thus, the second seal member and at least part of the first seal member are integrally formed.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 24-29 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
There is no teaching in the prior art of record that would, reasonably and absent impermissible hindsight, motivate one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the prior art of record to provide the seal member with a first seal shaped to match the port, the first seal having a through hole; and a second seal configured to seal the through hole and having deformation resistance greater than deformation resistance of the first seal; and the pipeline assembly extending through the second seal. The instant claims are be patentable over the prior art of record.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tang (US 10865831 B1), Gray (US 20230280048 A1), Booten (US 10156369 B2), Si (US 20220228771 A1), Leezer (US 20210341175 A1), Li (US 20210078118 A1), Baumann (US 10739018 B2), Thompson (US 7296424 B2), Cur (US 6568201 B1), and Hull (US 2320436 A).
/LIONEL NOUKETCHA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763