DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 22 is objected to because of the following informalities: it is unclear what is meant by “forend”. A possible translation error appears to have taken place as no word “forend” in common use and review of the specification shows no definition of what a forend must be. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16-19, 21-24, and 26-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Van Zeist (W) 2012/112047).
Regarding claim 16, Van Zeist discloses a deadbolt (5) for a lock device, for moving in an actuating direction in a lock device opening of the lock device and into a strike opening of a strike, the deadbolt comprising:
a base body (28) having a first base side, a second base side opposite to the first base side, and an end for facing the strike opening;
a first ridge (102) for frictionally sliding against a first lock device opening side of the lock device opening, the first ridge protruding from the first base side and being parallel with the actuating direction (Fig.3B);
a second ridge (23) for frictionally sliding against a second lock device opening side of the lock device opening, the second ridge protruding from the second base side and being parallel with the actuating direction; at least one first inclined section(101), , for frictionally sliding against a first strike (31) opening side of the strike opening, the at least one first inclined section protruding from the first base side separately from the first ridge and being inclined towards the end; and
at least one second inclined section (127, 128) for frictionally sliding against a second strike opening side of the strike opening, the at least one second inclined section protruding from the second base side separately from the second ridge and being inclined towards the end.
Regarding claim 17, Van Zeist discloses the deadbolt according to Claim 16, wherein each of the at least one first inclined section and the at least one second inclined section is inclined less than 40 degrees to the actuating direction in a plane comprising the actuating direction and a transverse direction transverse to the actuating direction (Abstract).
Regarding claim 18, Van Zeist discloses the deadbolt according to Claim 16, wherein the at least one first inclined section comprises two first inclined sections (Fig. 4D).
Regarding claim 19, Van Zeist discloses the deadbolt according to Claim 18, wherein the first ridge is positioned between the two first inclined sections (Fig. 4D).
Regarding claim 21, Van Zeist discloses a lock device for installation in an access member movable relative to a frame (7), the frame comprising the strike according to Claim 16 and the lock device comprising the lock device opening (Fig.4A) and the deadbolt according to Claim 16.
Regarding claim 22, Van Zeist discloses the lock device according to Claim 21, further comprising a forend (3), wherein the lock device opening is provided in the forend.
Regarding claim 23, Van Zeist discloses the lock device according to Claim 21, wherein the at least one first inclined (127)section is arranged to be separated from the first lock device opening side when the first ridge contacts the first lock device opening side (Fig.4D).
Regarding claim 24, Van Zeist discloses the lock device according to Claim 21, wherein the deadbolt is movable between an extended position ((Fig.7A) for engagement with the strike and a retracted position(Fig.7b) for disengagement from the strike, and wherein the lock device further comprises a deadbolt force device (spring 8 projecting deadbolt through Fig.4A cutout 4) arranged to force the deadbolt from the retracted position towards the extended position.
Regarding claim 26, Van Zeist discloses a system comprising a lock device and the strike (130) according to Claim 21.
Regarding claim 27, Van Zeist discloses the system according to Claim 26, wherein the first ridge (102) is arranged to be separated from the first strike opening side when the at least one first inclined section contacts the first strike opening side (Fig. 7A).
Regarding claim 28, Van Zeist discloses the system according to Claim 27, wherein the first strike opening side comprises a recess (32) for receiving the first ridge when the at least one first inclined section contacts the first strike opening side (Fig.5, Fig 7c).
Regarding claim 29, Van Zeist discloses the system according to Claim 26, wherein the strike comprises an inner strike plate (133) having the strike opening and an outer strike plate for facing the lock device, and wherein the outer strike plate comprises an auxiliary opening (34) for receiving the deadbolt without contacting the deadbolt.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Van Zeist (WO 2012/112047).in view of Adje US 2019/0264465.
Regarding claim 20, Van Zeist discloses the deadbolt according to Claim 16, wherein the deadbolt comprises metal.
Van Zeist (W) 2012/112047) does not disclose: deadbolt comprises steel.
Adje teaches steel deadbolt for the purpose of providing sufficient strength to withstand applied forces.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Van Zeist with steel deadbolt as taught by Adje for the expected benefit of providing sufficient strength to withstand applied forces.
Claim 25 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Van Zeist (WO 2012/112047).in view of Paskonis (US 2003/0205904).
Regarding claims 25 and 30, Zeist discloses the lock device according to Claim 21, wherein the strike comprises metal.
Zeist does not disclose: strike comprises steel or aluminum.
Paskonis teaches striker formed of steel or aluminum [0025] for the purpose of providing sufficient strength to withstand applied forces.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zeist. with striker comprises steel or aluminum as taught by Paskonis for the expected benefit of providing sufficient strength to withstand applied forces.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure as it may affect the patentability of applicant’s claimed invention is listed on the attached PTO-892.
/T. L. N./
Examiner, Art Unit 3675
/KRISTINA R FULTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675