DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/10/2024 and 06/08/2026 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Haustein et al. (US Publication No. 20230189382 and Haustein hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 1, Haustein discloses a terminal corresponding to a first operator (i.e. the UE (i.e. terminal) receives enhanced CLI mitigation commands) Para [0421], the terminal comprising: a receiving section that receives configuration information regarding a signal for measuring interference (i.e. the enhanced procedure for CLI interference management procedure 2600 according to an embodiment, focusing on the UE/IAB-MT case. In the first step 2610 after a start 2605, the UE receives enhanced CLI mitigation commands. The commands include CLI measurement configuration and the execution conditions for the enhanced CLI mitigation procedure(s). The UE then evaluates the conditions for the execution of L1/L2 enhanced CLI mitigation procedure(s) in 2620. ) Para [0421] and (i.e. after a start 2705 in the first step 2720, if the victim receiver (e.g. UE or IAB-MT) has the required capability, see decision 2710, additional CLI measurements configuration, reporting as well as execution conditions for the invocation of CLI mitigation techniques are provided by the base station/CU. Both transmission (and therefore measurement) and reporting can be periodic, semi-persistent or aperiodic. The evaluation procedure is started either based on earlier provided configuration or a trigger signal by e.g. a DU or a CU.) Para [0444-0445], and receives, based on the configuration information, the signal for measuring interference from at least one of a terminal and a base station corresponding to a second operator (i.e. CLI measurement based on RSSI, on the other hand, measures all the co- and adjacent-channel interference, which means that it could be used when interference originate from the same or different operator (i.e. the recited second operator).) Para [0424]; and a control section that determines, based on the signal for measuring interference (i.e. the measuring the interference comprises receiving a reference signal such as a sounding reference signal or any other configured resource: and determining, from reception of the reference signal/configured resource a Reference Signal Received Power; and/or receiving a signal from a data signal and/or a control signal and determining from the reception of the signal a Received Signal Strength Indication. Alternatively or in addition, measuring the interference may comprise receiving a reference signal such as a Synchronization Signal Block, SSB or Channel State Information Reference signals (CSI-RS); and determining, from reception of the reference signal a Reference Signal Received Power; and/or receiving a signal power from data and/or control signals; and determining, from reception of the Received Signal Power a Received Signal Strength Indication.) Para [0649-0650], interference by a signal from at least one of the terminal and the base station corresponding to the second operator that has transmitted the signal for measuring interference (i.e. At the expiry of the evaluation timer, the condition is evaluated and if the UE/IAB-MT detects in 2730 that CLI measurements go above a pre-defined threshold (i.e. the recited determines that there is interference therefore mitigation is required), a short-term interference mitigation technique may be invoked in 2740.) Para [0445].
Regarding Claim 2, Haustein discloses all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. Further Haustein discloses the receiving section further receives information indicating an operation regarding interference (i.e. the UE receives enhanced CLI mitigation commands. The commands include CLI measurement configuration and the execution conditions for the enhanced CLI mitigation procedure(s)) Para [0421], and the control section applies, based on the information, the operation regarding interference (i.e. the UE receives enhanced CLI mitigation commands. The commands include CLI measurement configuration and the execution conditions for the enhanced CLI mitigation procedure(s). The UE then evaluates the conditions for the execution of L1/L2 enhanced CLI mitigation procedure(s) in 2620. Alternatively, the UE can receive a notification signal, based on e.g. regular UE measurement reporting, that the conditions for triggering L1/L2 enhanced CLI management procedure(s) are met… following the execution of L1/L2 CLI mitigation procedure(s) in 2630, conditions that warrant additional, enhanced L3 CLI mitigation procedure(s) still exists which is determined in 2640, the UE proceeds with their execution in 2650. ) Para [0421-0422].
Regarding Claim 3, Haustein discloses all the limitations of claim 2 as discussed above. Further Haustein discloses the control section assumes a restriction on a transmission power of an uplink signal and a restriction on a resource for the uplink transmission (i.e. there measurements may done in sidelink, SL, and they may, for example, be available there, e.g., a Channel Busy Ratio (CBR) and a Channel occupancy Ratio (CR) that are also referred to as SL CBR and SL CR CBR being defined as the ratio of occupied subchannels within the previous 100 slots. The channel is occupied if RSSI (i.e. the recited power) goes above some threshold. The CR estimates the channel occupancy generated by a TX UE… Remote LBT allows to coordinate transmitters and receivers among the group of potential aggressors and potential victims by exploiting collaborative observations and sharing these with the scheduling entities and/or the group of potential aggressors…The information about users or a group of users which may cause an intolerable interference burden to UEs in the group of potential victims can be used to:…Reschedule them on to other radio resources (response at aggressor side)…Change their transmit behavior with respect to Tx power or directivity (response at aggressor side) (i.e. the recited restriction of transmission power for uplink signal) …Protect potential victims by avoiding vulnerable radio resources (response at victim side via BS) (i.e. the recited restriction of resources for uplink transmission)) Para [0607-0613].
Regarding Claim 4, Haustein discloses all the limitations of claim 2 as discussed above. Further Haustein discloses the control section performs control to transmit feedback information for indication of the operation regarding interference (i.e. The CLI threshold can be defined as interference power-level or power-level range, but can also include aspects such as angle of arrival or differential angle of arrival with respect to the main lobe. L1/L2 interference mitigation techniques may include spatial Rx spatial filter adaptation and/or sensing. Here, different sensing techniques could be invoked. Each L1/L2 CLI mitigation technique has an associated execution timer, upon which expiry the CLI measurements are performed. If L1/L2 sensing mechanisms do not reduce CLI interference below the required, predefined threshold over a predefined period, which is evaluated in 2750, enhanced L3 CLI mitigation techniques are invoked to arrive at 2760. Alternatively, if L1/L2 sensing mechanisms do reduce CLI interference below the required, predefined threshold over a predefined period, the last CLI evaluation may be reported (i.e. the recited feedback) in 2770.) Para [0446].
Regarding Claim 5, Haustein suggests all the limitations of claim 1 in method form rather than device form. Further Haustein discloses a method (See whole Figure 22 and 23; i.e. FIG. 22 shows a schematic flow chart of a method 2600 according to an embodiment. FIG. 22 provides a high-level overview of the enhanced procedure for CLI interference management procedure 2600) Para [0421-0422]. Therefore, the rejection of claim 1 applies equally as well to the limitations of claim 5.
Regarding Claim 6, Haustein suggests all the limitations of claim 1 as a base station rather than a terminal device. Further Haustein discloses a base station (i.e. Such a wireless communication system may be operated by one or more base stations that organize themselves, possibly other base stations and/or other devices such as UEs and/or IoT devices.) Para [0453]. Therefore, the rejection of claim 1 applies equally as well to the limitations of claim 6.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Haustein et al. (US Publication No. 20230189382) “Devices For Measuring And/or Reporting In A Wireless Communication Network” (June 15, 2023) is directed to a bidirectional wireless communication network in a first operating mode in which the device is in a connected mode during a first time interval and in a second operating mode, in which the device at most performs passive communication during a second, different time interval is adapted to, in the first operating mode, obtaining a set of measurement results comprising at least one measurement result by measuring a radio link parameter associated with an operation of the wireless communication network. The device is configured for generating a measurement report comprising a set of results having at least one measurement result of the set of measurement results and for transmitting the measurement report to an entity of the wireless communication network.
Hwang et al. (US Publication No. US 20200169341 A1) “MEASURING AN INTERFERENCE FROM A NEIGHBORING DEVICE” (May 28, 2020) is directed to measuring an interference from a neighboring device. The method may performed by a device and comprise: measuring, by the device, an interference based on a reference signal from a neighboring device, which is served by a neighboring cell; and transmitting, by the device, a measurement report to a serving cell, the measurement report including a measured value of the interference. One or more steps of measuring the interference and transmitting the measurement report may be performed based on configuration information. The configuration information includes one or more of start information, end information, a timer or a threshold.
Lee et al. (US Patent No. US 9654998 B2) “Method For Measuring Interference In Wireless Communication System, And Apparatus Therefor” ( May 16, 2017) is directed to measuring, by a user device, interference in a wireless communication system includes the steps of: receiving setting information for a target resource of an interference measurement from a base station; and reporting channel state information (CSI) based on the measured interference, wherein the setting information includes indication information for the interference measurement with respect to subbands or resource blocks of specific sub-frame sets divided according to interference environments, and a CSI process can be set for each of the specific sub-frame sets.
Conclusion
/IYONDA L LEWIS/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2647
Iyonda.Lewis@USPTO.gov
/DIANE D MIZRAHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647