DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the communication received on 04/23/2026 concerning application no. 18/873,565 filed on 12/10/2024.
Claims 1-20 are pending (Claims 16-20 are withdrawn from consideration).
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1 (Claims 1-15) in the reply filed on 04/23/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 is indefinite for the following reasons:
The term “about 16 microseconds or less” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “about” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It would be unclear to one with ordinary skill in the art what constitutes “about” and what is not sufficient to be “about” in terms of approximation.
Claim 4 is indefinite for the following reasons:
The term “about 128 nanoseconds or less” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “about” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It would be unclear to one with ordinary skill in the art what constitutes “about” and what is not sufficient to be “about” in terms of approximation.
Claim 7 is indefinite for the following reasons:
The term “about 6 bursts of 64 pulses” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “about” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It would be unclear to one with ordinary skill in the art what constitutes “about” and what is not sufficient to be “about” in terms of approximation.
Claims that are not discussed above but are cited to be rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are also rejected because they inherit the indefiniteness of the claims they respectively depend upon.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rothberg et al. ("Ultrasound-on-Chip Platform for Medical Imaging, Analysis, and Collective Intelligence", 2021).
Regarding claim 1, Rothberg teaches asystem for processing ultrasound signals, the system comprising:
a controller module comprising one or more processors and configured to transmit control signals to an analog ultrasound signal module, the analog ultrasound signal module comprising (Abstract teaches a controller. “UoC MEMS Design” section teaches use of processing circuitry for transmission control. See Fig. 1C and 2F):
a common input/output port configured to transmit and receive the ultrasound signals to and from an ultrasound transducer (Fig. 1F shows the connection from the T/R switch to MEMS ultrasound transducer. The T/R switch is use for transmission and from the one single signal line towards the ultrasound);
a return signal output port configured to transmit returned ultrasound signals to the controller module, the returned ultrasound signals received from the ultrasound transducer through the common input/output port (Fig. 1F shows connection between the T/R and TIA. The TX control provides the pulsing. Data offload shows the signal sent to the FPGA);
a first amplifier configured to receive transducer excitation signals and to amplify the transducer excitations signal in response to receiving a first control signal from the controller module (Fig. 2E-F shows the amplifier with respect to the Tx control that is receiving excitation signals from the multilevel pulser. The 5V domain to the +/-25V swing. Page 3 teaches the amplification with the provided swing);
a combiner comprising first and second combiner input terminals and a combiner output terminal, the combiner output terminal arranged to transmit and receive the ultrasound signals to and from the common input/output port of the analog ultrasound signal module, the first combiner input terminal configured to receive amplified ultrasound excitation signals from the first amplifier and direct the excitation signals to said common input/output port (Fig. 2F teaches the reception and transmission with respect to the output connection to MEMS via a single T/R line. The TX controller is amplified. M1 and M2 are off during the transmission so the MEMS is connected to the excitation signal transmit side of coupler by T/R switch); and
a first switch having an input configured to receive the ultrasound signals from the second combiner input terminal, the first switch configured with an output and a first state that directs received ultrasound signals to a termination and configured with a second state that directs received ultrasound signals to the return signal output port, the first switch configured to change between the first state and the second state in response to receiving a second control signal from the controller module (Fig. 2F teaches a T/R switch with a connection to the MEMS and a closed circuit. The termination of open circuit side of T/R switch. The second state of R of T/R. The second control signal is present as the opposite of the first control signal as it would be an on/off feature of the circuit. That is, an open circuit would perform transmission and a closed would assess reception as seen in Fig. 2F).
Regarding claim 2, Rothberg teaches the system in claim 1, as discussed above.
Rothberg further teaches a system, wherein the controller module is configured to generate the first control signal and the second control signal each comprising pulses of a same frequency, wherein the pulses of the first control signal are timed to occur within a same pulse intervals as the pulses of the second control signal (Table 1 defines the operating frequency of up to 10MHz. Page 3 teaches the pulsing frequencies).
Regarding claim 3, Rothberg teaches the system in claim 2, as discussed above.
Rothberg further teaches a system, wherein the pulses of the first and second control signals have a period of about 16 microseconds or less (Table 1 defines the operating frequency of up to 10MHz. Page 3 teaches the pulsing frequencies).
Regarding claim 4, Rothberg teaches the system in claim 2, as discussed above.
Rothberg further teaches a system, wherein the pulse intervals of the second control signal comprise a pulse width of about 128 nanoseconds or less (Table 1 defines the operating frequency of up to 10MHz. Page 3 teaches the pulsing frequencies).
Regarding claim 5, Rothberg teaches the system in claim 4, as discussed above.
Rothberg further teaches a system, wherein the pulse width of pulses of the second control signal is longer than a pulse width of pulses of the first control signal (Table 1 defines the operating frequency of up to 10MHz. Page 3 teaches the pulsing frequencies).
Regarding claim 6, Rothberg teaches the system in claim 2, as discussed above.
Rothberg further teaches a system, wherein the controller module is configured to generate a plurality of bursts of the pulses for completing one cycle of transmitting and receiving ultrasound transducer signals for a first transducer prior to beginning a second cycle of transmitting and receiving ultrasound transducer signals for a second transducer (Table 1 defines the operating frequency of up to 10MHz. Page 3 teaches the pulsing frequencies. Fig. 2 shows the waveform generation logic with multiple bursts at varying levels).
Regarding claim 7, Rothberg teaches the system in claim 2, as discussed above.
Rothberg further teaches a system, wherein the one cycle comprises about 6 bursts of 64 pulses (Table 1 defines the operating frequency of up to 10MHz. Page 3 teaches the pulsing frequencies. Fig. 2 shows the waveform generation logic with multiple bursts at varying levels).
Regarding claim 14, Rothberg teaches the system in claim 1, as discussed above.
Rothberg further teaches a system, wherein:
the analog ultrasound signal module comprises multiple analog channel circuits, each of the analog channel circuits comprising a corresponding one of the common input/output port, return signal output port, first amplifier, combiner, and first switch; and a multi-channel switch having an input corresponding respectively to each analog channel circuit and connected to the output of the first switch of the respective analog channel circuit, wherein the controller module is configured to enable or disable the transmission of transducer signals between the respective combiners of the multiple transducer channel circuits and transducers by transmitting control signals to the multi-channel switch that respectively enable or disable signal transmission across the respective inputs and output of the multi-channel switch (See Fig. 2F. The individual T/R switch is individual controlled for each MEMS transducer. The multiplexing circuitry connected to the analog front end controls the signal. Each of the T/R switches is individually controlled. This is done a ½ module with 1x32 channels. Modular on-chip receiver design with analog circuitry supporting each group of eight elements in the analog front end. The transmit pulser and receive TIA circuitry are unique for each element. Element signals can be combined and share DC offset correction, dynamic TGC with arbitrary profile and analog-to-digital conversion (ADC) operations. Digital processing downstream of the ADCs performs baseband conversion for data reduction while preserving important signal content. Signals can be combined or separated in a variety of ways before being written to memory for offload).
Regarding claim 15, Rothberg teaches the system in claim 1, as discussed above.
Rothberg further teaches a system, wherein the controller module is programmed and configured to: generate a plurality of digital excitation pulses for exciting a plurality of ultrasound transducers; convert the digital excitation pulses into analog excitation pulses; transmit the analog excitation pulses to the analog ultrasound signal module; receive a plurality of return ultrasound signals from the analog ultrasound signal module, the return ultrasound signals generated in response to the analog excitation pulses; convert the returned ultrasound signals into measurements of distances between the plurality of transducers and a structure proximate to the transducers; calculate points of a map image of the structure based on the measurements of distances; calculate curvilinear fits between the calculated points; and cause the generation of a map image of the curvilinear fits within a computerized display connected to the controller module (Fig. 2B teaches a digital transmit pulsed excitation signals converted to analog excitation multilevel pulser of Fig. 2E. Fig. F teaches an analog front end with a T/R switch for ultrasound transmission and reception. Page 6 teaches the measure of the values according to distance for image generation. The system can be integrated into the measure of a cross-sectional area of the apical four chamber view and another by a linear measurement of the parasternal long axis view. Page 5 teaches remapping of an image. Page 8 teaches that the purpose is for display. See Fig. 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-9 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rothberg et al. ("Ultrasound-on-Chip Platform for Medical Imaging, Analysis, and Collective Intelligence", 2021) in view of Savoia et al. ("An Ultra-Low-Power Fully Integrated Ultrasound Imaging CMUT Transceiver Featuring a High Voltage Unipolar Pulser and a Low-Noise Charge Amplifier", 2014).
Regarding claim 8, Rothberg teaches the system in claim 2, as discussed above.
However, Rothberg is silent regarding a system, wherein the analog ultrasound signal module comprises an absorption diode arranged and configured to direct the analog excitation pulse from the first amplifier to the first input terminal of the combiner and configured to block return signals from the combiner from reaching the first amplifier.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding ultrasound probe design, Savoia teaches a system, wherein the analog ultrasound signal module comprises an absorption diode arranged and configured to direct the analog excitation pulse from the first amplifier to the first input terminal of the combiner and configured to block return signals from the combiner from reaching the first amplifier (Page 2 teaches the use of antiparallel diodes to prevent signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) degradation and placement between the pulser output and the CMUT electrode. See Fig. 1 with the placement with respect to the amplifier and the input terminal).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Rothberg with Savoia’s teaching of the absorption diode to direct excitation pulses. This modified apparatus would allow the user to have sufficient bandwidth and improved noise power performance (Abstract of Savoia). Furthermore, the modification is an ultra low power and low noise system (Conclusion of Savoia).
Regarding claim 9, modified Rothberg teaches the system in claim 8, as discussed above.
Rothberg further teaches a system, wherein the absorption diode comprises an anti- parallel diode (Page 2 teaches the use of antiparallel diodes to prevent signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) degradation and placement between the pulser output and the CMUT electrode. See Fig. 1 with the placement with respect to the amplifier and the input terminal).
Regarding claim 12, Rothberg teaches the system in claim 1, as discussed above.
However, Rothberg is silent regarding a system, wherein the analog ultrasound signal module comprises a termination branching off of a connection between the first amplifier and the combiner, wherein the termination comprises a termination resistor and a second switch, the second switch having a first state that directs signals passing across the termination branch to the termination and a second state that disconnects the termination.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding ultrasound probe design, Savoia teaches a system, wherein the analog ultrasound signal module comprises a termination branching off of a connection between the first amplifier and the combiner, wherein the termination comprises a termination resistor and a second switch, the second switch having a first state that directs signals passing across the termination branch to the termination and a second state that disconnects the termination (Fig. 1 shows the T/R switch with respect the amplifier and the pulser. Fig. 3 provides a schematic of the T/R switch that has the charge input and the pulser output and the branched resistor that is based on the on the CMUT).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Rothberg with Savoia’s teaching of a termination branch for the switch. This modified apparatus would allow the user to have sufficient bandwidth and improved noise power performance (Abstract of Savoia). Furthermore, the modification is an ultra low power and low noise system (Conclusion of Savoia).
Regarding claim 13, modified Rothberg teaches the system in claim 12, as discussed above.
However, Rothberg is silent regarding a system, wherein the termination resistor and second switch are configured to terminate signals directed from the combiner to the first amplifier.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding ultrasound probe design, Savoia teaches a system, wherein the termination resistor and second switch are configured to terminate signals directed from the combiner to the first amplifier (Fig. 1 shows the T/R switch with respect the amplifier and the pulser. Fig. 3 provides a schematic of the T/R switch that has the charge input and the pulser output and the branched resistor that is based on the on the CMUT).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Rothberg with Savoia’s teaching of a termination between the combiner and amplifier. This modified apparatus would allow the user to have sufficient bandwidth and improved noise power performance (Abstract of Savoia). Furthermore, the modification is an ultra low power and low noise system (Conclusion of Savoia).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Copley et al. (PGPUB No. US 2002/0063646): Teaches the design of a termination branching with a resistor and a switch.
Lazenby et al. (PGPUB No. US 2005/0267369): Teaches an acoustic disruption minimizing system with a switch, amplifier, and combiner.
Sato (PGPUB No. US 20130072799): Teaches an ultrasound diagnostic apparatus with a switch, amplifier, and combiner.
Degertekin et al. (PGPUB No. US 2016/0249882): Teaches an ultrasound probe with a switch, amplifier, and combiner.
Savord (PGPUB No. US 2023/0225707): Teaches an ultrasound probe with a switch, amplifier, and combiner.
/ADIL PARTAP S VIRK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798