DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 2, 5-8, 10, an 13-15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The 112 rejection of claims 1, 2, 5-8, 10, an 13-15 has been resolved with amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10, 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Biagini et al (US 2016/0288664 A1) in view of Amla et al. (US 2018/0239362 A1)
Regarding claim 10, Biagini teaches an electric vehicle comprising: a storage battery; [see (Fig. 1-2, para. 0007, 0041-0043), Biagini discloses a charging device connected between a first electric vehicle and a second electric vehicle for supplying electrical power from one vehicle battery to another, thereby teaching a storage battery]; an electric motor driven by a power supply from the storage battery; and wheels driven by the electric motor [see (para 0041-0043) Biagini discloses electric vehicles including batteries configured to supply electrical power, and it would have been understood by one of ordinary skill in the art that such electric vehicles include electric motors powered by the battery to drive wheels, as is conventional in electric vehicle systems] a connection device configured to provide power to the electric vehicle from another electric vehicle, and enable the electric vehicle to run with the electric power supplied via the connection device [see (Fig. 1-2, para. 0007, 0041-0043), Biagini discloses a charging device connected between a first electric vehicle and a second electric vehicle for supplying electrical power from one vehicle battery to another via a cable and control device].
Biagini does not expressly teach wherein the connection device includes a connection line configured to prevent disconnection between the electric vehicle and the another electric vehicle; and wherein the connection line includes a distance measuring device for measuring the distance between the vehicle bodies and a speed control device for controlling the speed so that the electric vehicle and the another electric vehicle stay within a certain distance of each other.
In an analogous art, Amla teaches sensors for sensing the position, movement, acceleration, and speed of a lead vehicle, and controlling a follow vehicle to maintain a desired relative position and speed between the vehicles [see (Fig. 1-3, para. 0037-0053, 0071-0072), “sensors… sensing… position, movement… controlling the follow vehicle… to maintain a desired relative position”]. Biagini, as set forth above, provides a connection line in the form of a power cable between vehicles for EV-to-EV power transfer, but does not disclose how to manage relative vehicle motion to avoid excessive tension or slack in the connection line. It would have been understood by one of ordinary skill in the art that maintaining a controlled relative distance between two electrically connected vehicles ensures that the connection line remains within allowable length and tension limits, thereby preventing disconnection during operation.
Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the recitation that “the connection line includes a distance measuring device for measuring the distance between the vehicle bodies and a speed control device for controlling the speed so that the electric vehicle and the another electric vehicle stay within a certain distance of each other” encompasses implementations where the distance measuring device is mounted on one or more of the vehicles and functionally associated with the connection line, as would have been an obvious design choice.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the distance-measuring and speed-control techniques of Amla in the EV-to-EV power transfer system of Biagini to maintain a controlled spacing between electrically connected vehicles so that the connection line remains within its allowable range, thereby preventing unintended disconnection and improving operational safety with predictable results.
Regarding claim 13, Biagini in view of Amla teaches the invention set forth above, Amla further teaches maintaining a desired relative distance between a lead vehicle and a follow vehicle using sensors and automatic control of vehicle operation so that the vehicles remain within a target spacing [see (Fig. 1-3, para. 0037-0053, 0071-0072) This corresponds to the claimed requirement that the vehicles remain within a certain distance of each other].
Therefore, It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement a mechanical interlocking device such as a chain, separate from the electrical connection, as a known alternative or supplemental spacing mechanism in the system of Biagini and Amla to maintain a desired spacing between vehicles, as mechanical linkages for maintaining spacing between connected bodies are well-known, thereby providing a simple and reliable spacing mechanism with predictable results.
Regarding claim 14, Biagini in view of Amla teaches the invention set forth above, Amla further teaches maintaining a desired relative distance between a lead vehicle and a follow vehicle using sensors and automatic control of vehicle operation so that the vehicles remain within a target spacing [see (Fig. 1-3, para. 0037-0053, 0071-0072) This corresponds to the claimed requirement that the vehicles remain within a certain distance of each other].
Therefore, It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the connection line of Biagini with a length greater than the expected distance between vehicles to allow slack, in view of relative motion between vehicles while maintaining electrical connection and controlled spacing, as providing excess cable length to accommodate movement and prevent tension-induced disconnection is a well-known design consideration, thereby preventing tension and disconnection with predictable results.
Regarding claim 15, Biagini in view of Amla teaches the invention set forth above, Biagini further teaches inductive components in an electrical power transfer path for controlling electrical characteristics including inductance and resonance [see (Fig. 3, para. 0074-0079), “inductors… configured to manage electrical characteristics of power transfer”].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include a reactor in the connection line of the Biagini system to control inductance and prevent resonance, thereby improving stability of power transfer with predictable results.
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ruth et al. (US 2013/0144472) in view of Biagini et al (US 2016/0288664 A1) further in view of Amla et al. (US 2018/0239362 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Ruth teaches an electric vehicle comprising: a power collector connected to an overhead wiring; [see (Fig. 1-2, para. 0004-0005), Ruth discloses a trolley system having an overhead trolley line and a pantograph configured to electrically contact the trolley line, thereby teaching a power collector connected to overhead wiring]; a storage battery [see (Fig. 2, para. 0033-0035), Ruth discloses power electronics including an electrical energy storage device such as a battery or capacitor, thereby teaching a storage battery]; an electric motor driven by a power supply from the overhead wiring or the storage battery [see (Fig. 2, para. 0004-0005), Ruth discloses electrical power from the trolley line or onboard electrical system supplying propulsion motors, thereby teaching an electric motor driven by overhead wiring or onboard stored electrical energy]; wheels driven by the electric motor [see (Fig. 1-2, para. 0030-0032), Ruth discloses electric propulsion motors coupled to drive wheels of the mining truck, thereby teaching wheels driven by an electric motor].
Ruth does not expressly teach a connection device configured to provide power to the electric vehicle from another electric vehicle, and enable the electric vehicle to run with the electric power supplied via the connection device.
In an analogous art, Biagini teaches a connection device configured to provide power to the electric vehicle from another electric vehicle, and enable the electric vehicle to run with the electric power supplied via the connection device [see (Fig. 1-2, para. 0007, 0041-0043), Biagini discloses a charging device connected between a first electric vehicle and a second electric vehicle for supplying electrical power from one vehicle battery to another via a cable and control device].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the vehicle-to-vehicle power transfer of Biagini in the invention of Ruth to permit a trolley-assisted electric vehicle to receive power from another electric vehicle in locations where overhead wiring is unavailable or insufficient, thereby improving operational flexibility and avoiding immobilization with predictable results.
Ruth and Biagini do not expressly teach wherein the connection device includes a connection line configured to prevent disconnection between the electric vehicle and the another electric vehicle; and wherein the connection line includes a distance measuring device for measuring the distance between the vehicle bodies and a speed control device for controlling the speed so that the electric vehicle and the another electric vehicle stay within a certain distance of each other.
In an analogous art, Amla teaches a distance measuring device for measuring the distance between the vehicle bodies and a speed control device for controlling the speed so that the electric vehicle and the another electric vehicle stay within a certain distance of each other [see (Fig. 1-3, para. 0020-0027), “sensors… sensing the position, movement, acceleration… and controlling the follow vehicle… to maintain a desired relative position”]. Biagini, as set forth above, provides a connection line in the form of a power cable between vehicles for EV-to-EV power transfer, but does not disclose how to manage relative vehicle motion to avoid excessive tension or slack in the connection line. It would have been understood by one of ordinary skill in the art that maintaining a controlled relative distance between two electrically connected vehicles ensures that the connection line remains within allowable length and tension limits, thereby preventing disconnection during operation.
Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the recitation that “the connection line includes a distance measuring device for measuring the distance between the vehicle bodies and a speed control device for controlling the speed so that the electric vehicle and the another electric vehicle stay within a certain distance of each other” encompasses implementations where the distance measuring device is mounted on one or more of the vehicles and functionally associated with the connection line, as would have been an obvious design choice.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the distance-measuring and speed-control techniques of Amla in the combination of Ruth and Biagini to maintain a controlled spacing between electrically connected vehicles so that the connection line remains within its allowable range, thereby preventing unintended disconnection and improving operational safety with predictable results.
Regarding claim 2, Ruth in view of Biagini and Amla teaches the invention set forth above.
Biagini further teaches a connection wire and connection terminals for transferring electrical power between electric vehicles [see (Fig. 1-3, para. 0007, 0041-0043), “charging device connected… supplying electrical power… via cable and interfaces”].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the connection cable and terminal interfaces of Biagini in the invention of Ruth to enable electrical power transfer between vehicles, thereby providing a reliable electrical connection with predictable results.
Regarding claim 5, Ruth in view of Biagini and Amla teaches the invention set forth above, Amla further teaches maintaining a desired relative distance between a lead vehicle and a follow vehicle using sensors and automatic control of vehicle operation so that the vehicles remain within a target spacing [see (Fig. 1-3, para. 0037-0053, 0071-0072) This teaching corresponds to maintaining a certain distance between vehicle bodies as recited in the claim].
Therefore, It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement a mechanical interlocking device such as a chain as a known alternative or supplemental spacing mechanism in the system of Ruth and Biagini to maintain a desired spacing between vehicles, as mechanical linkages for maintaining spacing between connected bodies are well-known, thereby providing a simple and reliable spacing mechanism with predictable results.
Regarding claim 6, Ruth in view of Biagini and Amla teaches the invention set forth above, Amla further teaches maintaining a desired relative distance between a lead vehicle and a follow vehicle using sensors and automatic control of vehicle operation so that the vehicles remain within a target spacing [see (Fig. 1-3, para. 0037-0053, 0071-0072) This corresponds to claimed requireme that the vehicles remain within a certain distance of each other].
Therfore, It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the connection line of Biagini with a length greater than the expected distance between vehicles to allow slack, in view of relative motion between vehicles while maintaining electrical connection and controlled spacing, as providing excess cable length to accommodate movement and prevent tension-induced disconnection is a well-known design consideration, thereby preventing tension and disconnection with predictable results.
Regarding claim 7, Ruth in view of Biagini and Amla teaches the invention set forth above, Biagini further teaches inductive components in an electrical power transfer path for controlling electrical characteristics including inductance and resonance [see (Fig. 3, para. 0074-0079), “inductors… configured to manage electrical characteristics of power transfer”].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include a reactor in the connection line of the Ruth and Biagini system to control inductance and prevent resonance, thereby improving stability of power transfer with predictable results.
Regarding claim 8, Ruth in view of Biagini and Amla teaches the invention set forth above, Ruth further teaches wherein an engine and a generator driven by the engine are provided, and the electric motor is driven by a power supply from the generator that generates electricity [see (Fig. 2, para. 0019-0021), Ruth discloses an engine driving a generator supplying electrical power to propulsion motors].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AQEEL H BUKHARI/Examiner, Art Unit 2849
/Menatoallah Youssef/SPE, Art Unit 2849