DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/10/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being clearly anticipated by Park et al. (US-20230379880-A1, EFD: 2021-10-21) hereinafter Park.
For examination purposes, method and apparatus claims will be treated the same and rejected under the same basis for claims sharing the same limitations or which disclose analogous art to the invention as claimed.
Regarding claims 1 and 29, Park discloses an apparatus and method for wireless communication at a network node, comprising: a memory; and at least one processor coupled to the memory and, based at least in part on information stored in the memory (Park, fig. 15, par. 206; At the base station 1504) see also par. 212-213, the at least one processor is configured to: send a paging message including a first indication of a mobile terminated small data transmission (MT-SDT) for a user equipment (UE) in a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state; and send data for transfer to the UE while the UE remains in the RRC inactive state (Park, fig. 24, par. 253; The base station DU may construct one or more paging message before the base station DU receives downlink data for the wireless device. The base station DU may broadcast/transmit the one or more paging messages. Based on the one or more paging messages, the wireless device may request an RRC connection. In the case of a small data transmission (SDT) procedure (e.g., early data transmission (EDT), mobile-terminated early data transmission (MT-EDT), etc.), the RRC connection may not be necessary. For example, in an SDT procedure, the wireless device may communicate a small amount of data without transitioning to an RRC connected state (e.g., without transitioning from an RRC idle and/or RRC inactive state)).
Regarding claim 2, Park discloses an apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the network node comprises a centralized unit control plane (CU-CP) and the paging message including the first indication of the MT- SDT is comprised in an F1 application protocol (F1AP) message between the CU-CP and a distributed unit (DU) (Park, fig. 1B, par. 112; A gNB, such as gNBs 160 in FIG. 1B, may be split in two parts: a central unit (gNB-CU), and one or more distributed units (gNB-DU). A gNB-CU may be coupled to one or more gNB-DUs using an F1 interface. The gNB-CU may comprise the RRC, the PDCP, and the SDAP. A gNB-DU may comprise the RLC, the MAC, and the PHY) see also par. 253.
Regarding claim 3, Park discloses an apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the network node comprises a distributed unit (DU) and the paging message including the first indication of the MT-SDT is comprised in a Uu paging message between the DU and the UE (Park, fig. 24, par. 253; a base station distributed unit (DU) may receive, from a base station central unit (CU), a message (e.g., an F1 message) requesting to page a wireless device).
Regarding claim 4, Park discloses an apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the network node comprises an access and mobility management function (AMF) and the paging message including the first indication of the MT-SDT is comprised in an NG application protocol (N GAP) message between the AMF and a centralized unit control plane (CU-CP) (Fig. 24, par. 261; the base station CU-CP, and/or the base station CU-UP) may be connected to a core network node/device (e.g., core network control plane: access and mobility management function (AMF), session management function (SMF), mobility management entity (MME); and/or core network user plane: user plane function (UPF), serving gateway (S-GW))) Examiner notes, although not explicitly mentioned by Park, NGAP is the standardized protocol for control plane signaling in a 5G network, as observed in par. 40, Park targets the invention to 5G or LTE technology, therefore it is understood that Parks disclosure complies with 3GPP TS 38.413 for NGAP procedures.
Regarding claim 5, Park discloses an apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive a message from the UE including a second indication for the MT-SDT, wherein the data is transmitted to the UE in response to the message including the second indication (Park, fig. 24, par. 255; Example embodiments may support that a base station CU (and/or base station CU-CP) sends information of an SDT procedure to a base station DU. The information of the SDT procedure may be used to implement paging. In an example, the base station CU may send to the base station DU a first paging message (e.g., an F1 paging message) indicating the SDT procedure. The base station DU may determine, based on the first paging message (and possibly other considerations, e.g., resource availability), whether one or more second paging messages sent to the wireless device should indicate the SDT procedure. Additionally or alternatively, the first paging message may indicate a size of the downlink data. The base station DU may use the size indication to determine whether the one or more second paging messages should indicate the SDT procedure. As a result, the SDT procedure may be indicated to the wireless device during the paging process, and unnecessary RRC connections may be avoided, thereby reducing resource consumption and signaling overhead).
Regarding claim 6, Park discloses an apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the second indication includes one or more of: an MT-SDT flag (Park, fig. 24, par. 255; the base station CU may send to the base station DU a first paging message (e.g., an F1 paging message) indicating the SDT procedure. The base station DU may determine, based on the first paging message (and possibly other considerations, e.g., resource availability), whether one or more second paging messages sent to the wireless device should indicate the SDT procedure. Additionally or alternatively, the first paging message may indicate a size of the downlink data. The base station DU may use the size indication to determine whether the one or more second paging messages should indicate the SDT procedure ) Examiner notes, according to par. 72 of applicant’s specification, a flag is an indication of a MD-SDT in and F1AP message, therefore under BRI a flag was interpreted as an indication of the data size during the paging process, a resume cause that indicates the MT-SDT, MT-SDT assistance information, or a logical channel identifier (ID) associated with the MT-SDT (Park, figs 24 and 27, par. 301; the RRC request message may comprise at least one of: an RRC early data request message, an RRC resume request message, an RRC setup request message, and/or the like. In an example, the RRC request message may comprise at least one of a resume identifier (e.g., resumeIdentity, I-RNTI, shortI-RNTI), a resume MAC-I (e.g., resumeMAC-I, shortResumeMAC-I), a resume cause, an S-TMSI (e.g., UE identifier, NG-5G-S-TMSI), an establishment cause, a NAS layer information (e.g., NAS PDU, DedicatedInfoNAS), and/or the like).
Regarding claim 7, Park discloses an apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the message from the UE comprises an RRC resume request message (Park, figs. 24 and 27, par. 301; the RRC request message may comprise at least one of: an RRC early data request message, an RRC resume request message, an RRC setup request message, and/or the like).
Regarding claim 8, Park discloses an apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the message from the UE comprises an uplink medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) (Park, figs. 24 and 27, par. 303; In an example, the receiving the at least one assistance parameter may comprise receiving the at least one assistance parameter via at least one of: at least one medium access control control element (MAC CE), a physical uplink channel (e.g., PUCCH, PUCCH, UCI, etc.), at least one radio link control (RLC) packet header, and/or the like).
Regarding claim 9, Park discloses an apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the message from the UE further comprises a third indication for mobile originated small data transmission (MO-SDT) (Park, figs. 24 and 27, par. 301; the resume cause may comprise at least one of emergency, high priority access, mobile terminating access (mt-Access), mobile originating signaling (mo-Signaling), mobile originating data (mo-Data), delay tolerant access, mobile originating voice call (mo-VoiceCall), mobile terminating early data transmission (mt-EDT, MT SDT), mobile originating early data transmission (mo-EDT, MO SDT), RAN notification area update (ma-Update), and/or the like), the at least one processor being further configured to: receive uplink data from the UE while the UE remains in the RRC inactive state (Park, figs 24 and 27, par. 302; In an example, the SDT procedure may comprise transmission of at least one of: the receiving by the wireless device the data (e.g., the downlink data, the UP data, the CP data, the subsequent data), an initial uplink data, an initial downlink data (e.g., the downlink data associated with the SDT procedure), at least one subsequent data of the at least one subsequent data transmission indicated in the at least one assistance parameter, at least one subsequent uplink data, at least one subsequent downlink data, and/or the like) see also par. 262.
Regarding claim 10, Park discloses an apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the message is received in random access resources associated with mobile originated small data transmission (MO-SDT), the at least one processor being further configured to: receive uplink data from the UE while the UE remains in the RRC inactive state (Park, figs 24-29, par. 264; In an example, the base station CU-CP may receive, from the network device, the indication message for the wireless device. The wireless device may be in an RRC idle state and/or an RRC inactive state. The indication message may comprise the information parameter indicating at least one of the size of data or the SDT procedure for the data).
Regarding claim 11, Park discloses an apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the network node comprises a centralized unit control plane (CU-CP), the at least one processor being further configured to: receive, from a centralized unit user plane (CU-UP), a downlink data notification that indicates a downlink data amount for the UE, wherein the CU-CP sends the paging message including the first indication of the MT-SDT based on the downlink data amount for the UE indicated by the CU-UP being less than an MT-SDT threshold (Parker, fig. 24, par. 258; Example embodiments may support that a base station CU-UP indicates SDT procedure and/or a size of received data when sending a data notification message to a base station CU-CP for a wireless device. For example, the data notification message and/or RAN paging message may indicate a data size, comprise a data size indicator, and/or indicate that data is suitable for SDT procedure. Based on the indicated data size, the base station CU-CP may include information of the indicated data size and/or an indication of SDT procedure in a message requesting a base station DU to page a wireless device.).
Regarding claim 12, Park discloses an apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive the MT-SDT threshold from an access and mobility management function (AMF) (Parker, figs. 26-27, par. 263; the base station CU-CP may receive, from a network device, an indication message for the wireless device. The network device may be the core network device comprising at least one of the AMF, the SMF, and/or the MME in FIG. 27 … The indication message may comprise an information parameter indicating at least one of a size of data or a small data transmission (SDT) (e.g., EDT, MT-EDT, etc.) for the data).
Regarding claim 13, Park discloses an apparatus according to claim 12, wherein the MT-SDT threshold is for a protocol data unit (PDU) session, a quality of service (QoS) flow, or a data radio bearer (Park, par. 265; In an example, the indication message may comprise at least one of: an identifier of the wireless device, a packet flow identifier of a packet flow (e.g., PDU session, QoS flow, bearer, logical channel, etc.) associated with the data, paging area information (e.g., RAN area, registration area, tracking area, etc.), DRX periodicity information, power saving mode information, wake up signal (WUS) timing information, and/or the like).
Regarding claim 14, Park discloses an apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the network node comprises a centralized unit user plane (CU-UP), the at least one processor being further configured to: send, to a centralized unit control plane (CU-CP), a downlink data notification that indicates a downlink data amount for the UE (Park, par 255; The base station DU may determine, based on the first paging message (and possibly other considerations, e.g., resource availability), whether one or more second paging messages sent to the wireless device should indicate the SDT procedure. Additionally or alternatively, the first paging message may indicate a size of the downlink data).
Regarding claim 15, Park discloses an apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the network node comprises an access and mobility management function (AMF) (Park, par. 263; In an example, as shown in FIG. 26, the base station CU-CP may receive, from a network device, an indication message for the wireless device. The network device may be the core network device comprising at least one of the AMF, the SMF, and/or the MME in FIG. 27), the at least one processor being further configured to: send an MT-SDT threshold to a centralized unit control plane (CU-CP) (Park, figs. 26-27, par. 263; The network device may be the second base station (gNB2) in FIG. 28 and/or FIG. 29. The network device may be the base station CU-UP (gNB-CU-UP) in FIG. 29. The indication message may comprise an information parameter indicating at least one of a size of data or a small data transmission (SDT) (e.g., EDT, MT-EDT, etc.) for the data.).
Regarding claim 16, Park discloses an apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the network node is a primary node for dual connectivity with the UE, the at least one processor being further configured to: receive an activity notification from a secondary node for the UE that indicates an amount of downlink data for the UE on one or more secondary node terminated bearers, wherein the primary node sends the paging message for the UE in response to the activity notification (Park, figs. 28-29, par. 270; In an example, the second base station may receive the data from a second user plane function (UPF) (e.g., the UPF) and/or a second core network device (e.g., AMF, SMF, MME) for the wireless device, which may be in an RRC inactive state and/or an RRC idle state. The data may comprise at least one of user plane data (e.g., UP data) from the second UPF and/or a NAS message (e.g., CP data) from the second core network device (e.g., the NAS message from an AMF or from an SMF). In an example, when the wireless device is in an RRC inactive state, the second base station may maintain/keep one or more PDU sessions (e.g., one or more QoS flows, one or more bearers, etc.) of the wireless device and/or may monitor downlink packets (e.g., the data) via the one or more PDU sessions. Based on monitoring the one or more PDU sessions (e.g., the one or more QoS flows, the one or more bearers, etc.), the second base station may receive the data for the wireless device from the second user plane function).
Regarding claim 17, Park discloses an apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the network node is a secondary node for dual connectivity with the UE, the at least one processor being further configured to: send an activity notification to a primary node for the UE that indicates an amount of downlink data for the UE on one or more secondary node terminated bearers, wherein the primary node sends the paging message for the UE in response to the activity notification (Park, fig. 28, par. 270; The RAN paging message from the second base station to the base station CU-CP may be based on the data (e.g., the user plane data and/or the NAS message) from the second UPF and/or the second core network device. In an example, the second base station may determine that size of the data (e.g., the user plane data from the second user plane function and/or the NAS message from the second core network device) is smaller than a threshold size value. Based on the determination of the size of the data being small, the RAN paging message may comprise the information parameter indicating at least one of the size of data or the SDT procedure for the user plane data and/or the NAS message for the wireless device).
Regarding claim 18, Park discloses an apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the network node is a primary node for dual connectivity with the UE, the at least one processor being further configured to: send an MT-SDT threshold to a secondary node for the UE; and receive an MT-SDT indication from the secondary node, wherein the primary node sends the paging message for the UE in response to the MT-SDT indication (Park, figs 28-29, par. 270; Based on the determination of the size of the data being small, the RAN paging message may comprise the information parameter indicating at least one of the size of data or the SDT procedure for the user plane data and/or the NAS message for the wireless device. After the wireless device sends the RRC request message to the base station CU-CP (e.g., the base station and/or the base station CU), the second base station may send the data (e.g., the user plane data and/or the NAS message) to the wireless device via the base station (e.g., via the base station CU-UP and/or the base station DU)).
Regarding claim 19, Park discloses an apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the network node is a secondary node for dual connectivity with the UE, the at least one processor being further configured to: receive an MT-SDT threshold from a primary node for the UE; and send an MT-SDT indication to the primary node in response to having downlink data for the UE that is less than the MT-SDT threshold (Park, figs 28-29, par. 270; Based on the determination of the size of the data being small, the RAN paging message may comprise the information parameter indicating at least one of the size of data or the SDT procedure for the user plane data and/or the NAS message for the wireless device. After the wireless device sends the RRC request message to the base station CU-CP (e.g., the base station and/or the base station CU), the second base station may send the data (e.g., the user plane data and/or the NAS message) to the wireless device via the base station (e.g., via the base station CU-UP and/or the base station DU)) see also par. 271-274.
Regarding claim 20, Park discloses an apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the network node comprises an anchor node that sends the paging message to a serving node for the UE, the at least one processor being further configured to: receive, from the serving node, a request to retrieve a context for the UE that includes at least one of a second indication for the MT-SDT or MT-SDT assistance information, wherein the anchor node forwards the data for the UE to the serving node in a UE context response in response to receiving the request (Park, figs 28-29, par. 270; Based on the determination of the size of the data being small, the RAN paging message may comprise the information parameter indicating at least one of the size of data or the SDT procedure for the user plane data and/or the NAS message for the wireless device. After the wireless device sends the RRC request message to the base station CU-CP (e.g., the base station and/or the base station CU), the second base station may send the data (e.g., the user plane data and/or the NAS message) to the wireless device via the base station (e.g., via the base station CU-UP and/or the base station DU)) see also par. 271-274.
Regarding claim 21, Park discloses an apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising:
at least one transceiver coupled to the at least one processor and configured to send the paging message (Park, fig. 15, par. 209; After being processed by processing system 1508, the data to be sent to the wireless device 1502 may be provided to a transmission processing system 1510 of base station 1504).
Regarding claims 22 and 30, Park discloses an apparatus and method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: a memory; and at least one processor coupled to the memory and, based at least in part on information stored in the memory, the at least one processor (Park, fig. 15, par. 206; wireless device 1502) see also par. 212-213 is configured to: receive a paging message from a network node, the paging message including a first indication of a mobile terminated small data transmission (MT-SDT) for the UE while the UE is in a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state; transmit a message to the network node including a second indication for the MT-SDT; and receive downlink data from the network node while the UE remains in the RRC inactive state(Park, fig. 24, par. 253; The base station DU may construct one or more paging message before the base station DU receives downlink data for the wireless device. The base station DU may broadcast/transmit the one or more paging messages. Based on the one or more paging messages, the wireless device may request an RRC connection. In the case of a small data transmission (SDT) procedure (e.g., early data transmission (EDT), mobile-terminated early data transmission (MT-EDT), etc.), the RRC connection may not be necessary. For example, in an SDT procedure, the wireless device may communicate a small amount of data without transitioning to an RRC connected state (e.g., without transitioning from an RRC idle and/or RRC inactive state)).
Regarding claims 23, Park discloses an apparatus according to claim 22, wherein the second indication includes one or more of: an MT-SDT flag, (Park, fig. 24, par. 255; the base station CU may send to the base station DU a first paging message (e.g., an F1 paging message) indicating the SDT procedure. The base station DU may determine, based on the first paging message (and possibly other considerations, e.g., resource availability), whether one or more second paging messages sent to the wireless device should indicate the SDT procedure. Additionally or alternatively, the first paging message may indicate a size of the downlink data. The base station DU may use the size indication to determine whether the one or more second paging messages should indicate the SDT procedure ) Examiner notes, according to par. 72 of applicant’s specification, a flag is an indication of a MD-SDT in and F1AP message, therefore under BRI a flag was interpreted as an indication of the data size during the paging process, a resume cause that indicates the MT-SDT, MT-SDT assistance information, or a logical channel identifier (ID) associated with the MT-SDT (Park, figs 24 and 27, par. 301; the RRC request message may comprise at least one of: an RRC early data request message, an RRC resume request message, an RRC setup request message, and/or the like. In an example, the RRC request message may comprise at least one of a resume identifier (e.g., resumeIdentity, I-RNTI, shortI-RNTI), a resume MAC-I (e.g., resumeMAC-I, shortResumeMAC-I), a resume cause, an S-TMSI (e.g., UE identifier, NG-5G-S-TMSI), an establishment cause, a NAS layer information (e.g., NAS PDU, DedicatedInfoNAS), and/or the like).
Regarding claims 24, Park discloses an apparatus according to claim 22, wherein the message from the UE comprises an RRC resume request message (Park, figs. 24 and 27, par. 301; the RRC request message may comprise at least one of: an RRC early data request message, an RRC resume request message, an RRC setup request message, and/or the like).
Regarding claims 25, Park discloses an apparatus according to claim 22, wherein the message from the UE comprises an uplink medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) (Park, figs. 24 and 27, par. 303; In an example, the receiving the at least one assistance parameter may comprise receiving the at least one assistance parameter via at least one of: at least one medium access control control element (MAC CE), a physical uplink channel (e.g., PUCCH, PUCCH, UCI, etc.), at least one radio link control (RLC) packet header, and/or the like).
Regarding claims 26, Park discloses an apparatus according to claim 22, wherein the message from the UE further comprises a third indication for mobile originated small data transmission (MO-SDT) (Park, figs. 24 and 27, par. 301; the resume cause may comprise at least one of emergency, high priority access, mobile terminating access (mt-Access), mobile originating signaling (mo-Signaling), mobile originating data (mo-Data), delay tolerant access, mobile originating voice call (mo-VoiceCall), mobile terminating early data transmission (mt-EDT, MT SDT), mobile originating early data transmission (mo-EDT, MO SDT), RAN notification area update (ma-Update), and/or the like), the at least one processor being further configured to: transmit uplink data to the network node while the UE remains in the RRC inactive state (Park, figs 24 and 27, par. 302; In an example, the SDT procedure may comprise transmission of at least one of: the receiving by the wireless device the data (e.g., the downlink data, the UP data, the CP data, the subsequent data), an initial uplink data, an initial downlink data (e.g., the downlink data associated with the SDT procedure), at least one subsequent data of the at least one subsequent data transmission indicated in the at least one assistance parameter, at least one subsequent uplink data, at least one subsequent downlink data, and/or the like) see also par. 262.
Regarding claims 27, Park discloses an apparatus according to claim 22, wherein the message is received in random access resources associated with mobile originated small data transmission (MO-SDT), the at least one processor being further configured to: transmit uplink data to the network node while the UE remains in the RRC inactive state (Park, figs 24-29, par. 264; In an example, the base station CU-CP may receive, from the network device, the indication message for the wireless device. The wireless device may be in an RRC idle state and/or an RRC inactive state. The indication message may comprise the information parameter indicating at least one of the size of data or the SDT procedure for the data).
Regarding claim 28, Park discloses an apparatus according to claim 22 further comprising: at least one transceiver coupled to the at least one processor and configured to receive the paging message (Park, fig. 15, par. 209; the data to be sent to base station 1504 may be provided to a transmission processing system 1520 of the wireless device 1502).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kim et al. (US 20250203697 A1), METHOD AND APPARATUS FOR FAST SMALL DATA TRANSMISSION IN A WIRELESS COMMUNICATION SYSTEM. A method and apparatus for fast small data transmission in a wireless communication system is provided. A last serving RAN node receives, from the wireless device and via a new RAN node, an AS-RAI related to early data transmission. A last serving RAN node decides whether a UE context relocation to the new RAN node for the wireless device is required or not based on the received AS-RAI. A last serving RAN node transmits, to the new RAN node, an RRC message based on the decision.
Kim et al. (US 20230422105 A1), COMMUNICATION RELATED TO UE CONTEXT. One disclosure of the present specification provides a method for establishing connection by gNB-CU. The method may comprise the steps of: transmitting a request message relating to UE context to the gNB-DU; and receiving a response message from the gNB-DU.
Wu (US 20260255430 A1) DATA TRANSMISSION METHOD AND APPARATUS. A method for transmitting data, performed by a first node, includes: determining information of small data transmission (SDT) that need to be sent or received, in which the first node is a node that is incapable of determining whether a terminal device in a non-connected is within its coverage range, or a node incapable of directly performing transceiving of uplink and downlink information with a terminal device in a non-connected state; and sending a first message to a second node, in which the first message includes first information associated with the SDT of the terminal device in the non-connected state, and the first information is configured to indicate the second node to perform at least one of sending or receiving the information of the SDT according to the first information after receiving a first request message of the terminal device.
Palat et al. (US 20230189380 A1) SMALL DATA EXCHANGE HANDLING BY A USER EQUIPMENT IN INACTIVE STATE. Various embodiments herein provide techniques for small data transmission of a user equipment (UE) in a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state. The techniques may be used with a next generation Node B (gNB) that employs a distributed unit (DU)/centralized unit (CU) split. The DU receives, from the UE in the RRC inactive state, data and processing information for processing for the data, processes the data based on a radio link control (RLC) bearer, and sends the processed data to the CU.
Godin et al. (US 12628238 B2) Small Data Transmission Procedure Termination. Devices, methods and computer programs for small data transmission, SDT, transaction termination are disclosed. A client device determines whether an ongoing small data transmission, SDT, transaction comprising one or more uplink, UL, small data transmissions with a control plane network node device is to be terminated. If yes, a radio resource control, RRC, message comprising termination information related to the determined termination of the ongoing SDT transaction is forwarded from the client device to the control plane network node device.
Park et al. (US 12279332 B2) Subsequent Data Assistance Information For Small Data Transmission. A base station central unit receives, from a base station distributed unit, assistance information indicating whether subsequent data is expected for a small data transmission (SDT) procedure of a wireless device. The base station central unit transmits a radio resource control (RRC) release message to the wireless device based on the assistance information.
3GPP TS 38.413 version 15.13.0 Release 15 (Year: 2021). 3GPP technical standards for NGAP elementary procedures.
/MARIO R CAMPERO MIRAMONTES/Examiner, Art Unit 2649
/YUWEN PAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2649