DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
At claim 1, line 10: there should be a comma or semicolon after “closure member.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “the side of the free end of the neck” in lines 4-5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination, this limitation will be interpreted as “a side of a free end of the neck.”
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the end of the screwing” in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination, this limitation will be interpreted as “an end of the screwing.”
Claim 1 recites “at least one screw thread” in line 11. It is unclear whether this is referring to the “at least one screw thread” already recited at line 4, or a different screw thread. For purposes of examination, this limitation will be interpreted as “the at least one screw thread.”
Claim 1 recites “the side opposite the free end” at line 11. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination, this limitation will be interpreted as “a side opposite the free end.”
Claim 3 recites “the halfway point of the height of the thread” in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination, this limitation will be interpreted as “a halfway point of a height of the thread in a direction parallel to the longitudinal axis.”
Claim 4 recites “the container having, at the base of the neck and around the latter, a shoulder, the latter not having a stop” at lines 2-3. It is unclear what is meant by “the latter.” Is this referring to the base, or the neck, or something else? For purposes of examination, this limitation will be interpreted as “the container having a shoulder at a base of the neck, the base of the neck not having a stop.”
Claim 4 recites “the later not having a stop that forms a protrusion with respect to the shoulder and against which the closure member comes to bear at the end of the screwing thereof” in lines 3-5. It is unclear which part of this limitation the “not having” applies to. Does the closure member come to bear against the shoulder? Or does the closure member not have anything to bear against at the shoulder?
Claims 2-12 are also rejected through their dependence on a rejected parent claim (details above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 5, 7, 8, 11, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DE 102017200747 to Schmidt et al. (hereinafter, “Schmidt”).
Regarding claim 1, Schmidt discloses a device (storage device 11, Fig. 1) for packaging a product (para. [0025] of attached translation), having: a container (storage container 12, Fig. 1) for containing the product (para. [0025]), provided with a threaded neck (neck 20, see Figs. 11-12) having a longitudinal axis (vertical axis through container), at least one screw thread (engagement structure 30, Fig. 1) having, on the side of the free end of the neck (top of neck 20), a thread starting point (end surface 22, Fig. 1), and a closure member (applicator 14, Fig. 1) for closing the container (storage container 12) that is arranged to be screwed onto the neck (neck 20), the closure member (applicator 14) having at least one corresponding stop (transition between first and second recess sections 45, 57, Fig. 9; para. [0059]) arranged to come to bear against the thread starting point (end surface 22) at the end of the screwing of the closure member onto the neck of the container (para. [0059]) to block the rotation of the closure member (para. [0059]); at least one screw thread (engagement structure 30) having, on the side opposite the free end of the neck (bottom of the neck 20), a thread end point (see Fig. 2) and having a thread interruption (locking latch 35, Fig. 2) between the thread starting point (end surface 22) and the thread end point (bottom of thread, see Fig. 2), the closure member (applicator 14) having at least one elastically deformable tongue (locking element 34, Figs. 1-2; paras. [0016], [0053]) arranged to engage at least partially in the thread interruption (locking latch 35) during the screwing of the closure member onto the neck of the container (para. [0016]) and generate a tactile sensation and/or the emission of an audible click (para. [0016]).
Regarding claim 4, Schmidt further discloses the container (storage container 12) having, at the base of the neck (neck 20) and around the latter, a shoulder (shoulder 23, Fig. 5), the latter not having a stop that forms a protrusion with respect to the shoulder (see Figs. 1-2) and against which the closure member (applicator 14) comes to bear at the end of the screwing thereof (see Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 5, Schmidt further discloses the container (storage container 12) being made, at least in part, of glass (para. [0026]).
Regarding claim 7, Schmidt further discloses the tongue (locking element 34) being attached to the closure member (applicator 14) by only one of its ends (tongue is attached at radially outer end, see Figs. 7-10).
Regarding claim 8, Schmidt further discloses the tongue (locking element 34) having, on the inside (radially inner side), an upstream flank (leading edge of locking element 34, Fig. 9) and a downstream flank (trailing edge of locking element 34, Fig. 9) that are oriented obliquely in the radial direction (leading edge and trailing edge are spread apart in the radial direction), the upstream flank (leading edge of locking element 34) engaging first in the thread interruption (locking latch 35) during the screwing of the closure member (applicator 14), and the downstream flank last (see e.g., Figs. 1, 9).
Regarding claim 11, Schmidt further discloses the closure member (applicator 14) having a stem holder (recess receiving shaft 46, para. [0048]) to which a stem (shaft 46, Fig. 1) bearing a member (body 50, Fig. 1) for applying the product is fastened (see Fig. 1), the stem (shaft 46) being inserted into the container (storage container 12) when the closure member (applicator 14) is screwed onto the container (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 12, Schmidt further discloses the screwing of the closure member (applicator 14) onto the container (storage container 12) being done in less than one turn around the longitudinal axis of the neck (see Figs. 11-13).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schmidt.
Regarding claim 3, Schmidt appears to discloses the thread interruption (locking latch 35) being situated around the halfway point of the height of the thread (see Fig. 2).
Schmidt does not expressly disclose the thread interruption being situated between the thread starting point and the halfway point of the thread. However, Schmidt teaches that the location of the thread interruption limits the insertion depth of the closure member with the stem holder (paras. [0043], [0052]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Schmidt to arrange the thread interruption between the thread starting point and a halfway point of the height of the thread since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges (i.e., the height of the stem holder) involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.05, citing In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. In the instant application, the Applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitation (see Specification at p. 3, ll. 22-23).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 6, 9, and 10 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 2 and 6, does not disclose the thread starting point stopping surface that bears against the stop being substantially parallel to the longitudinal axis of the neck, or the stop surface that bears against the thread starting point extending substantially parallel to the longitudinal axis of the closure member as claimed. It would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schmidt to have such an arrangement.
Regarding claims 9 and 10, Schmidt does not disclose the closure member having an internally threaded mounting skirt, arranged to be screwed onto the neck, provided with at least one perforation as claimed. It would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schmidt to have such an arrangement.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
U.S. Pat. 8,528,759 to Pucci discloses a device comprising a container with a threaded neck and a closure having a tongue that engages with an interruption in the thread (see Figs. 1-31).
U.S. Pub. 2008/0110850 to Tilton discloses a device comprising a container with a threaded neck, an interruption between a thread starting point and a halfway height, and a closure having a tongue that engages with an interruption in the thread to provide audible feedback (see Figs. 1-5).
/LAURA E. PARKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3733