Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The crossed-out reference on the initialed copy of the PTO-1449, attached to this office action, is crossed out because no copy was provided.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 7 and 16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on September 8, 2025.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-10, 12-15 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable
over JP 2019-210565 in view of Patel (US 2006/0198983).
(Claims 1, 8, 17) JP 2019-210565 discloses a method for producing a cushion [0141], comprising:
heating a polymeric material to a molten state to create a molten polymer [0048];
introducing the molten polymer into a die plate 24A comprising a plurality of holes 24B disposed
therethrough such that the molten polymer moves through the plurality of holes 24B and
forms/extrudes a plurality of molten polymeric filaments 5A;
introducing/inserting/combining a fastening arrangement 6A, 6B, 26A, 26B comprising a strand portion 26A, 26B [0027] and a plurality of discrete fasteners (discrete holes) attached to the strand portion 26A26B, into the molten polymer (figs. 1-2, 6, 9, 10A, 10C; the Examiner interprets that the scope of "a strand portion" can be read upon by "an elongated member" in view of the instant specification [0024]; figs. 9 and 10A show the strand portion 26A,26B being introduced/inserted/combined into/with the molten polymer (also see [0115]-[0132]); holes are shown attached to the strand portion 26B in fig. 10C; holes in the net 26A and perforated plate 26GB are used for fastening purposes and thus read on discrete fasteners; [0139]-[0140], holes for passing iron, stainless steel, concrete columns or fixing screws, holes enable fixing to a wall); and
cooling (via a fluid bath; the water 1 in tank 4) the molten polymer after the molten polymer
leaves the die plate 24A such that a consolidated filament structure 7A is created and the fastening
arrangement is secured to the consolidated filament structure (figs. 1-5A, 6, and 9-10C; [0048]-
[0141)).
However, JP 2019-210565 doesn't disclose a method for producing a vehicle interior
component.
Patel (US 2006/0198983) discloses a method for producing a cushion, wherein the cushion is a
vehicle interior component (abstract; [0002], [0020]), the method comprising heating a polymeric
material to a molten state, such that it becomes a molten polymer [0154]; introducing the molten
polymer into a die plate 5 having a plurality of holes disposed therethrough such that the molten
polymer moves through the holes and forms a plurality of molten polymeric filaments 2; and cooling (via
the cooling unit 6) the molten polymer after it leaves the die plate 5 such that a consolidated filament
structure is formed (fig. 9) [0154].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was
made, to modify the method of JP 2019-210565 to produce a vehicle interior component because it is
known in the art that cushions made in the art can be for a vehicle interior component, as disclosed by
Patel (US 2006/0198983) above and because JP 2019-210565 discloses making cushions [0141].
JP 2019-210565 further discloses the method:
(Claim 2) wherein the fastening arrangement 26A, 26B is introduced into the molten
polymer after the molten polymer is introduced into the die plate 24A (figs. 9, 10A; [0115]-[0132]);
(Claim 3) wherein the fastening arrangement 26A, 26B is introduced into the molten polymer
through the die plate 24A (fig. 9; [0115]-[0132]);
(Claim 4) wherein the strand portion is continuously introduced into the molten polymer over at
least a portion of a length of the strand portion (as shown in figs. 9 and 10C; strand portions 26A and
26B are continuously introduced into the molten polymer over at least a portion of a length of the
strand portion);
(Claim 5) wherein the plurality of discrete fasteners (holes in 26A, 26B) is introduced into the molten polymer at a predetermined frequency (figs. 9, 10A and 10C; note that the holes in perforated plate 26B shown in fig. 10C have a spacing (or holes in the mesh 26A would have a spacing) and thus will have a predetermined frequency when introduced into the molten polymer depending upon the spacing);
(Claim 6) wherein cooling the molten polymer includes introducing the molten polymer into a
fluid bath (water 1 in tank 4), the method further comprising receiving the molten polymer with a funnel
arrangement 3A, 3B before the molten polymer is introduced into the fluid bath, and wherein the
fastening arrangement comprises a plurality of discrete fasteners (holes in 26a, 26B), and the plurality of discrete fasteners (holes in 26a, 26B) is introduced into the molten polymer through the funnel arrangement (figs. 9 and 10A);
(Claim 9) wherein inserting the fastening arrangement 26A, 26B into the molten polymer
comprises continuously feeding the strand member into the molten polymer for at least a portion of a
length of the strand portion (figs. 9, 10A);
(Claim 10) wherein the plurality of discrete fasteners (holes in 26a, 26B) is inserted into the molten polymer at predetermined locations in the molten polymer (as shown in figs. 9, 10A, the holes of the strand member 26A, 26B are inserted into the molten polymer at predetermined locations defined by the distance between the holes and the rate the strand member 26A, 26B is introduced into the molten polymer);
(Claim 12) further comprising introducing the molten polymer into a funnel arrangement 3A, 3B
prior to cooling the molten polymer in the fluid bath 1, 1a, 4, and wherein the plurality of discrete
fasteners (holes in the strand member 26A, 26B) are inserted into the molten polymer through the funnel arrangement 3A, 3B (figs. 9 and 10A);
(Claim 13) wherein the fastening arrangement 26A, 26B is inserted into the molten
polymer after the molten polymer is extruded to form the molten polymeric filaments (figs. 9, 10A; [0115]-[0132]);
(Claim 14) wherein the fastening arrangement 26A, 26B is inserted into the molten polymer as
the molten polymer is extruded to form the molten polymeric filaments 5A (fig. 9; [0115]-[0132]);
(Claim 15) wherein extruding the molten polymer includes introducing the molten polymer into an extruder (extruder holes 24B) and inserting the fastening arrangement 26A, 26B into the molten polymer includes inserting the fastening arrangement 26A, 26B through a different extruder (extrusion cavity 23C) (fig. 9);
(Claim 18) wherein the fastening arrangement 26A, 26B is combined with the molten
polymer after the plurality of molten polymeric filaments is formed (figs. 9, 10A);
(Claim 19) wherein the fastening arrangement 26A, 26B is combined with the molten polymer as
the plurality of molten polymeric filaments is formed (fig. 9); and
(Claim 20) wherein combining the fastening arrangement 26A, 26B with the molten
polymer comprises continuously feeding the strand portion 26A, 26B into the molten polymer
for at least a portion of a length of the elongated member (figs. 9, 10A).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 21 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior
art of record does not teach or reasonably suggest the method, as recited by claim 21, particularly
wherein the plurality of discrete fasteners comprises at least one of a Christmas tree fastener, a clip, or a
pushpin.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 4, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that, however, as clearly shown in above annotated Figure 9, JP 2019-210565 is completely silent about introducing any fastening arrangement comprising "a strand portion with a
plurality of discrete fasteners attached to the strand portion", into the molten resin filaments
(5A), as recited in independent claim 1.
Rather, JP 2019-210565 merely describes that the nonwoven fabrics (6A and 6B)
function as soil particle barriers, while the reinforcing net (26A) or the perforated plate (26B)
provides structural integrity to the multilayer composite structure (8I). However, JP2019-
210565 nowhere describes any of the nonwoven fabrics (6A and 6B), the reinforcing net (26A)
or the perforated plate (26B) as forming or constituting a "fastening" arrangement. Hence, the
nonwoven fabrics (6A and 6B), the reinforcing net (26A) or the perforated plate (26B) cannot
be equated to "fastening arrangement".
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. While JP 2019-210565 discloses that produced products can be soil barriers, the products can also be cushions, as mentioned above. JP 2019-210565 discloses that holes in the net 26A and perforated plate 26GB are used for fastening purposes and thus read on discrete fasteners ([0139]-[0140], holes for passing iron, stainless steel, concrete columns or fixing screws, holes enable fixing to a wall).
Applicant argues that JP 2019-210565 describes a method for manufacturing a three-dimensional net-like structure, in which molten filaments (5) and nonwoven fabrics (6A, 6B) are passed together along with either a reinforcing net (26A) or a perforated plate (26B) comprising holes, to
produce a multilayer composite structure (81). See JP 2019-210565 at paragraphs [0129] and
[0139] and at Figures 9 and 10C. For ease of reference, the citations are reproduced below:
"[f]ormation of multilayer composite - In the above-mentioned method, one nonwoven fabric 6A, 6B is placed on each of the inclined plates 3A, 3B, and the molten filament 5 descending
spirally from the porous mold 24A is formed by the nonwoven fabric. The composite 8A of the three-dimensional net-like structure 7A and the nonwoven fabrics 6A and 6B is formed while being
welded to 6A and 6B "[i]f a pillar of iron, stainless steel or concrete is passed through the holes of the reinforcing net 26A or the perforated plate 26B inside the multilayer composite 8G and the lower end of the pillar is fixed to a stable rock or ground in the soil."
JP 2019-210565 at paragraphs [0129] and [0139] (emphasis added.)
As clearly described in paragraphs [0129] and [0139] of JP 2019-210565, the
reinforcing net (26A) or the perforated plate (26B) merely comprises the holes for receiving
an external pillar of iron, stainless steel or concrete to fix the multilayer composite structure
(8I) to a stable rock or ground in the soil. However, JP 2019-210565 nowhere describes any of
the reinforcing net (26A) or the perforated plate (26B) comprises any "strand portion with a
plurality of discrete fasteners", as recited in independent claim 1.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. In view of the [0139], the holes AND the iron, stainless steel or concrete column (passed through the holes) define fastening means for fastening to stable rock or ground. JP 2019-210565 further disclose [0140] “holes for passing fixing screws, etc.” and “If you leave it open, it will be convenient for fixing it to wall, etc.” (i.e., the open holes enable fixing the produced product to a wall).
Conclusion
/J.S.L/Examiner, Art Unit 1744
/XIAO S ZHAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1744