DETAILED ACTION
Summary
This is the initial Office Action based on the Photovoltaic System and Flexible Bracket Thereof filed December 10, 2024.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 12, and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jing et al. (CN 216490304 U) in view of Li et al. (CN 113904616 A).
With regard to claim 1, Jing et al. discloses a flexible bracket, comprising:
a support member (12, Fig. 1-7),
at least two support members being spaced apart in a first direction (as depicted in Fig. 3, at least two support members 12 being spaced apart in a first horizontal direction),
an assembly cable and a stabilizing cable being mounted between two adjacent support members in the first direction (as depicted in Fig. 2-3, an assembly cable 21/22 and a stabilizing cable 23 being mounted between two adjacent support members 12 in the first horizontal direction), wherein
the assembly cable forms a carrying surface (as depicted in Fig. 2, the cited assembly cable 21/22 forms a carrying surface for photovoltaic components 50);
a joint member connected to both the stabilizing cable and the assembly cable (joint member 30 depicted in Fig. 2-5 as connected to both the cited stabilizing cable 23 at joint 313 and the cited assembly cable 21/22 at joints 311/312); and
a semi-rigid anti-arch cable (40, Fig. 2-3),
a first end of the semi-rigid anti-arch cable connected to the joint member (as depicted in Fig. 3 and described in [0043], a first right end of the cited semi-rigid anti-arch cable 40 connected to the cited joint member 30 at joint 323), and
a second end of the semi-rigid anti-arch cable being connected to the support member (as depicted in Fig. 2-3, a second left end of the cited semi-rigid anti-arch cable 40 connected/coupled/joined to the cited support member 12 indirectly through mechanical connection with 60 and 11).
Jing et al. does not disclose wherein the first end of the semi-rigid anti-arch cable has a rigid part.
However, Li et al. discloses a flexible bracket (see Title and Abstract) and teaches a cable (Fig. 7) which can include a first end of the cable having a rigid part (such as depicted in Fig. 7, a first right end of the cable having a rigid part 112/111) and a flexible cable connected to the rigid part (such as depicted in Fig. 7, a flexible cable 11 connected to the cited rigid part 112/111).
Li et al. teaches including the rigid part at the first end of the cable reduces the loss of prestress in the cable when it relaxes which ensures the strength of the cable to bear a load (see [0046]).
Thus, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the first end of the semi-rigid anti-arch cable of Jing et al. to include a rigid part, as suggested by Li et al., because it would have reduced the loss of prestress in the cable when it relaxes which ensures the strength of the cable to bear a load.
With regard to claim 2, independent claim 1 is obvious over Jing et al. in view of Li et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above. Jing et al., as modified above, discloses wherein
the rigid part and the joint member are relatively movably connected to each other (as depicted in Fig. 7 of Li et al., the cited rigid part 112/111, as modified at the cited first end of the cited semi-rigid anti-arch cable 40 connected to the cited joint member 30 at joint 323 of Jing et al. above, provides for the claimed “are relatively movably connected to each other” because of the elasticity of component 111 allows for connection of the cited rigid part to be movable relative to the cited joint member).
With regard to claim 3, dependent claim 2 is obvious over Jing et al. in view of Li et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above. Jing et al., as modified above, discloses wherein
the rigid part and the joint member are movable relative to each other at least in a second direction, the second direction being perpendicular to the first direction and perpendicular to a height direction of the support member (as depicted in Fig. 7 of Li et al., the cited rigid part 112/111, as modified at the cited first end of the cited semi-rigid anti-arch cable 40 connected to the cited joint member 30 at joint 323 of Jing et al. above, provides for the claimed “are movable relative to each other at least in a second direction, the second direction being perpendicular to the first direction and perpendicular to a height direction of the support member” because of the elasticity of component 111 allows for connection of the cited rigid part to be movable relative to the cited joint member in a second direction being perpendicular to the first direction and perpendicular to a height direction of the support member).
With regard to claim 4, dependent claim 2 is obvious over Jing et al. in view of Li et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above. Jing et al., as modified above, discloses wherein
the rigid part and the joint member are movable relative to each other at least in a height direction of the support member (as depicted in Fig. 7 of Li et al., the cited rigid part 112/111, as modified at the cited first end of the cited semi-rigid anti-arch cable 40 connected to the cited joint member 30 at joint 323 of Jing et al. above, provides for the claimed “are movable relative to each other at least in a height direction of the support member” because of the elasticity of component 111 allows for connection of the cited rigid part to be movable relative to the cited joint member at least in a height direction of the cited support member).
With regard to claim 4, dependent claim 2 is obvious over Jing et al. in view of Li et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above. Jing et al., as modified above, discloses wherein
the semi-rigid anti- arch cable comprises the rigid part (recall rejection of claim 1 above, at the cited first right end of the cited semi-rigid anti- arch cable 40),
a flexible cable connected to the rigid part (recall rejection of claim 1 above, a flexible cable connected to the cited rigid part at an opposing second end),
the flexible cable being connected to the support member (recall rejection of claim 1 above, the cited flexible cable at the opposite second end being connected to the cited support member 12 indirectly through 60 and 11).
With regard to claim 7, independent claim 1 is obvious over Jing et al. in view of Li et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above. Li et al. discloses wherein
the rigid part is configured to be adjustable in length (as depicted in Fig. 7, the cited rigid part 112/111 is configured to be adjustable in length due to the elasticity of component 111).
With regard to claim 12, independent claim 1 is obvious over Jing et al. in view of Li et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above. Jing et al., as modified above, discloses wherein
the rigid part comprises a first part and a second part movably connected to the first part (see Li et al. at Fig. 7 depicting the cited rigid part 112/111 comprising a first part 111 and a second part 112 movably connected to the cited first part 111 due to the elasticity of component 111),
the first part being connected to the joint member (as depicted in Fig. 7 of Li et al., the cited first part 111, as modified at the cited first end of the cited semi-rigid anti-arch cable 40 connected to the cited joint member 30 at joint 323 of Jing et al. above, provides for the claimed “first part being connected to the joint member”), and
the second part being connected to the support member (as depicted in Fig. 7 of Li et al., the cited second part 112, as modified into the cited semi-rigid anti-arch cable 40 connected to the cited support member 12 indirectly through 60 and 11 of Jing et al. above, provides for the claimed “second part being connected to the support member”).
With regard to claims 1 and 16, Jing et al. discloses a flexible bracket, comprising:
a support member (12, Fig. 1-7),
at least two support members being spaced apart in a first direction (as depicted in Fig. 3, at least two support members 12 being spaced apart in a first horizontal direction),
an assembly cable and a stabilizing cable being mounted between two adjacent support members in the first direction (as depicted in Fig. 2-3, an assembly cable 21/22 and a stabilizing cable 23 being mounted between two adjacent support members 12 in the first horizontal direction), wherein
the assembly cable forms a carrying surface (as depicted in Fig. 2, the cited assembly cable 21/22 forms a carrying surface for photovoltaic components 50);
a joint member connected to both the stabilizing cable and the assembly cable (as depicted in Fig. 2-5, a joint member at joint 323, joint 313, joint 312, and joint 311, connected to both the cited stabilizing cable 23 at joint 313 and the cited assembly cable 21/22 at joints 311/312 indirectly); and
a semi-rigid anti-arch cable (40, Fig. 2-3),
a first end of the semi-rigid anti-arch cable connected to the joint member (as depicted in Fig. 3 and described in [0043], a first right end of the cited semi-rigid anti-arch cable 40 connected to the cited joint member at joint 323), and
a second end of the semi-rigid anti-arch cable being connected to the support member (as depicted in Fig. 2-3, a second left end of the cited semi-rigid anti-arch cable 40 connected/coupled/joined to the cited support member 12 indirectly through mechanical connection with 60 and 11), further comprising
trussed poles connected to the joint member (as depicted in Fig. 5, trussed poles of tripod 31 and tripod 32 extending away from joints 313 and 323 connected to the cited joint member), wherein
part of the trussed poles are connected to the assembly cable (as depicted in Fig. 5, part of the cited trussed poles are connected to the cited assembly cable 21/22 at joints 312/311); and
in a second direction, adjacent joint members are interconnected through at least one trussed pole, the second direction being perpendicular to the first direction and perpendicular to a height direction of the support member (as depicted in Fig. 1-5, in a second direction, adjacent joint members at joints 323, 312, 313, and 311 are interconnected through at least one cited trussed pole, the second direction being perpendicular to the cited first direction and perpendicular to a vertical height direction of the cited support member 12).
Jing et al. does not disclose wherein the first end of the semi-rigid anti-arch cable has a rigid part.
However, Li et al. discloses a flexible bracket (see Title and Abstract) and teaches a cable (Fig. 7) which can include a first end of the cable having a rigid part (such as depicted in Fig. 7, a first right end of the cable having a rigid part 112/111) and a flexible cable connected to the rigid part (such as depicted in Fig. 7, a flexible cable 11 connected to the cited rigid part 112/111).
Li et al. teaches the including the rigid part at the first end of the cable reduces the loss of prestress in the cable when it relaxes which ensures the strength of the cable to bear a load (see [0046]).
Thus, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the first end of the semi-rigid anti-arch cable of Jing et al. to include a rigid part, as suggested by Li et al., because it would have reduced the loss of prestress in the cable when it relaxes which ensures the strength of the cable to bear a load.
With regard to claim 17, dependent claim 16 is obvious over Jing et al. in view of Li et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above. Jing et al. discloses wherein
in the first direction, each of a head and a tail of the stabilizing cable is provided with the joint member and the semi- rigid anti-arch cable (as depicted in Fig. 3 and annotated Fig. 3 below, in the cited first direction, each of a head/left end and a tail/middle end of the cited stabilizing cable 23 is provided with the cited joint member, at the left and middle end most component 30 positioned at the cited head/left end and tail/middle end of the stabilizing cable 23, and the cited semi- rigid anti-arch cable 40), and
Annotated Fig. 3
a middle section of the stabilizing cable is connected to the assembly cable through support joints (as depicted in Fig. 1-3 and annotated Fig. 3 above, a middle section between the cited head/left end and tail/middle end of the cited stabilizing cable 23 is connected to the cited assembly cable 21/22 through support joints at 312/311 of component 30 positioned in the cited middle section).
With regard to claim 18, dependent claim 17 is obvious over Jing et al. in view of Li et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above. Jing et al. discloses wherein
a length of a portion of the stabilizing cable between the joint member and the support member is L1, and a total length of the stabilizing cable is L2, wherein L1/L2 ranges from 1/5 to 1/4 (as depicted in Fig. 3 and annotated Fig. 3 above, a length of a portion of the stabilizing cable 23 between the joint member, at the left end most component 30, and the support member 12 at the left most end is L1, and a total length of the stabilizing cable 23 between the cited head/left end and tail/middle end is L2, wherein L1/L2 is 1/5).
With regard to claim 19, independent claim 1 is obvious over Jing et al. in view of Li et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above. Jing et al. discloses wherein
in a height direction of the support member, the first end of the semi-rigid anti-arch cable is higher than the second end of the semi-rigid anti-arch cable (as depicted in Fig. 1-3, in a vertical height direction of the cited support member 12, the cited first right end of the semi-rigid anti-arch cable 40 connected at joint 323 is higher than the cited second left end of the semi-rigid anti-arch cable 40); and
the stabilizing cable is configured in an arch shape with an opening facing upward (as depicted in Fig. 3, the cited stabilizing cable 23 is configured in an arch shape with an opening facing upward).
With regard to claim 20, independent claim 1 is obvious over Jing et al. in view of Li et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above. Jing et al., as modified above, discloses a photovoltaic system, comprising:
the flexible bracket according to any one of claim 1 (recall rejection of claim 1 above); and
a plurality of photovoltaic modules, the photovoltaic modules being mounted on the carrying surface (see Fig. 1-3 of Jing et al. depicting a plurality of photovoltaic modules 50, the photovoltaic modules 50 being mounted on the cited carrying surface at 21/22).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jing et al. (CN 216490304 U) in view of Li et al. (CN 113904616 A), and in further view of Li et al. (CN 108347215 A hereinafter referred to as “Li et al. ‘215”).
With regard to claim 6, dependent claim 2 is obvious over Jing et al. in view of Li et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above.
Jing et al., as modified above, does not disclose wherein the rigid part and the joint member are in spherical pair fit to be relatively movably connected to each other.
However, Li et al. ‘215 discloses a photovoltaic device (see Title and Abstract). Li et al. ‘215 teaches a joint can include a spherical pair fit to be relatively movably connected to each other (see Fig. 7a-b).
Li et al. ‘215 teaches the spherical pair fit at the joint allows for free rotation within an adjustable range (see [0058]).
Thus, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the joint between the cited rigid part and the cited joint member in the bracket of Jing et al., as modified above, to include the spherical pair fit as suggested by Li et al. ‘215 because it would have allowed for free rotation within an adjustable range.
Claim(s) 1 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jing et al. (CN 216490304 U) in view of Xie et al. (CN 115225016 A).
With regard to claim 1, Jing et al. discloses a flexible bracket, comprising:
a support member (12, Fig. 1-7),
at least two support members being spaced apart in a first direction (as depicted in Fig. 3, at least two support members 12 being spaced apart in a first horizontal direction),
an assembly cable and a stabilizing cable being mounted between two adjacent support members in the first direction (as depicted in Fig. 2-3, an assembly cable 21/22 and a stabilizing cable 23 being mounted between two adjacent support members 12 in the first horizontal direction), wherein
the assembly cable forms a carrying surface (as depicted in Fig. 2, the cited assembly cable 21/22 forms a carrying surface for photovoltaic components 50);
a joint member connected to both the stabilizing cable and the assembly cable (joint member 30 depicted in Fig. 2-5 as connected to both the cited stabilizing cable 23 at joint 313 and the cited assembly cable 21/22 at joints 311/312); and
a semi-rigid anti-arch cable (40, Fig. 2-3),
a first end of the semi-rigid anti-arch cable connected to the joint member (as depicted in Fig. 3 and described in [0043], a first right end of the cited semi-rigid anti-arch cable 40 connected to the cited joint member 30 at joint 323), and
a second end of the semi-rigid anti-arch cable being connected to the support member (as depicted in Fig. 2-3, a second left end of the cited semi-rigid anti-arch cable 40 connected/coupled/joined to the cited support member 12 indirectly through mechanical connection with 60 and 11).
Jing et al. does not disclose wherein the first end of the semi-rigid anti-arch cable has a rigid part.
However, Xie et al. discloses a flexible bracket (see Title and Abstract) and teaches a cable 7 which can include a first end of the cable having a rigid part (such as depicted in Fig. 1 and Fig. 7, a first top end of the cable having a rigid part 5/4/3/2) and a flexible cable connected to the rigid part (such as depicted in Fig. 7, a flexible cable 7 connected to the cited rigid part 5/4/3/2).
Xie et al. teaches wherein the rigid part comprises a first connecting member 5/4/3 and a second connecting member 2 that form a screw fitting pair (see Fig. 1 and Fig. 5-6).
Xie et al. teaches including the rigid part at the first end of the cable provides tension to the cable, solves self-weight of the system, wind resistance, and reduced cost (see Abstract).
Thus, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the first end of the semi-rigid anti-arch cable of Jing et al. to include a rigid part, as suggested by Li et al., because it would have provided tension to the cable, solved self-weight of the system, wind resistance, and reduced cost.
Jing et al., as modified above, teaches the cited first connecting member 5/4/3 being connected to the cited joint member (recall rejection above modifying cited rigid part of Xie et al., which includes the cited first connecting member 5/4/3, into the cited first end of the cited semi-rigid anti-arch cable 40 of Jing et al. which would provide connection to the cited joint member), and the second connecting member being configured to be connected to the support member (recall rejection above modifying cited rigid part of Xie et al., which includes the cited second connecting member 2, into the cited first end of the cited semi-rigid anti-arch cable 40 of Jing et al. which would provide connection to the cited support member indirectly through 60 and 11).
Claim(s) 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jing et al. (CN 216490304 U) in view of Li et al. (CN 113904616 A), and in further view of Wu et al. (CN 114865997 A).
With regard to claims 13-15, independent claim 1 is obvious over Jing et al. in view of Li et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above.
Jing et al., as modified above, does not disclose wherein the joint member is mounted on the stabilizing cable in a position-adjustable manner.
However, Wu et al. discloses a flexible bracket (see Title and Abstract) and teaches a joint member (see Fig. 4 at 34 and 35). Wu et al. teaches the joint member can include a connecting piece (see Fig. 4 at 34 and 35).
Wu et al. teaches the joint member 34 is mounted on the stabilizing cable 23 in a position-adjustable manner (see Fig. 4 and Fig. 6).
Wu et al. teaches the stabilizing cable 23 is in frictional connection with the joint member (see Fig. 4 and Fig. 6 depicting joint member 34/35 including first and second cable clamp 341/342 which, when clamped, provides frictional connection with the stabilizing cable 23).
Wu et al. teaches wherein the joint member is provided with a through hole (as depicted in Fig. 6, the cited joint member is provided with a through hole between first and second cable clamps 341/342); the stabilizing cable extends through the through hole (as depicted in Fig. 6, the stabilizing cable 23 extends through the cited through hole); and an outer diameter of the stabilizing cable matches an inner hole of the through hole (as depicted in Fig. 6, an outer diameter of the stabilizing cable 23 matches an inner hole of the cited through hole when the cited first and second cable clamps are clamped together).
Thus, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have combined the connecting piece suggested by Wu et al. at the joint member in the bracket of Jing et al., as modified above, because the combination of elements known in the art supports a prima facie obviousness determination (see MPEP 2143 A).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/DUSTIN Q DAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1721 December 18, 2025