DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-15, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schell USPA_20050129969_A1 in view of Saad USPN_5562874.
1. Regarding Claims 1, 2, 4, 8, 9, 10, Schell discloses a package (corresponds to limitation of instant Claim 15) (Abstract) and a packaging film comprising a first layer (element 11 in FIG. 1) that serves as a sealant layer (corresponds to claimed third region and sealant film), followed by a second layer (element 12) (corresponds to a second region) that functions as a tie layer, followed directly (corresponds to instant Claim 2’s limitation) by an oxygen barrier layer (element 13) (corresponds to a first region) (paragraph 0046). Schell further discloses a ratio of the thickness of said oxygen barrier layer (corresponds to first region) to the thickness of said tie second layer (corresponds to claimed second region) can be (10.5/42 = 0.25) 1:4 (Table 1) which falls into the claimed range. Schell further discloses using ethylene/octene copolymer (corresponds to claimed ethylene copolymer of instant Claim 10) (Table 1) for said tie second layer (corresponds to claimed second region) which corresponds to the claimed second PE. Schell further discloses a gel content of less than 5% according to ASTM D2765-01 (Claims 12, 25, 34), which overlaps with Applicants’ claimed range. Schell further discloses the afore-described film is coextruded and biaxially-oriented (Abstract), as is being claimed in instant Claims 1, 4, 7.
2. However, Schell does not disclose using an antioxidant in its second layer (corresponds to claimed second region), nor does it disclose using PE for its oxygen barrier layer (corresponds to first region) but rather uses PVDC (Table 1).
3. Saad discloses a coextruded multilayer film for packaging that uses an antioxidant for improving and extending the storage life of meat and other foodstuffs that are susceptible to oxidation and oxidative rancidity (column 2, lines 15-19) that can be placed in a layer that is adjacent to its barrier layer, i.e. “the antioxidant layer” (corresponding to second region) (column 2, lines 20-23) that is also made from PE (column 3, lines 12-19). Furthermore, Saad discloses that said barrier layer can be made of PVDC or preferably, HDPE (corresponds to PE homopolymer of instant Claims 8 and 9) (column 2, lines 55-62).
4. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the tie second layer (corresponds to a second region), of Schell, by using an antioxidant, as disclosed by Saad. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated in doing so in order to improve and extend the storage life of meat and other foodstuffs that are susceptible to oxidation and oxidative rancidity. Moreover, it would have been obvious to modify the PVDC of the barrier layer, of Schell, by trying the use of HDPE, as disclosed by Saad. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated in trying an alternative equivalent that prior art deems to be “preferable” out of a desire for optimization.
5. Regarding Claim 3, Schell in view of Saad suggests using tie layers (Schell: paragraphs 0036, 0055).
6. Regarding Claim 11, Schell in view of Saad suggests using BHT (primary antioxidant) and BHA (secondary antioxidant) (Saad: Example 1).
7. Regarding Claims 12 and 13, given that Schell in view of Saad suggests all of the claimed limitations, it would be expected for it to inherently possess the same physical properties such as thermal resistance and shrinkage value.
8. Regarding Claim 14, given that Schell in view of Saad suggests an oriented multilayered structure and made of PE, it would be expected for it to be a polyethene-rich film.
9. Regarding Claims 19 and 20, Schell in view of Saad suggests orienting its film followed by irradiating between 2 – 12 MRads (Schell: paragraph 0042, Examples).
10. Regarding Claim 6, Schell in view of Saad does not explicitly disclose the claimed antioxidant concentration. However, Saad does discloses using its antioxidant for the purpose of improving and extending the storage life of meat and other foodstuffs that are susceptible to oxidation and oxidative rancidity. As such, it would be expected for one of ordinary skill in the art to know how to vary the concentration based on the need of extending the storage life.
Claim(s) 5, 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schell USPA_20050129969_A1 in view of Saad USPN_5562874, as applied to Claims 1-4, 6-15, 19, and 20, and further in view of Franca USPA_20180050854_A1.
11. Regarding Claim 16, Schell in view of Saad suggest all of the claimed limitations except for using a cyclic olefin copolymer for its first PE.
12. Franca discloses a flexible fitment for flexible container having a seal layer and a multilayer film (Abstract) that uses PE for its outer layer but can also alternatively use cyclic olefin copolymers (paragraph 0083).
13. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the oxygen barrier layer (corresponds to claimed first region), of Schell in view of Saad, by trying the use of cyclic olefin copolymer, as disclosed by Franca. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated in trying what prior art deems as an alternative equivalent out of a desire for optimizations.
14. Regarding Claim 17, Schell in view of Saad and further in view of Franca suggests using ethylene/octene copolymer (corresponds to claimed ethylene copolymer of instant Claim 10) (Table 1) for said tie second layer (corresponds to claimed second region) which corresponds to the claimed second PE.
15. Regarding Claim 18, given that Schell in view of Saad and further in view of Franca suggests all of the claimed limitations, it would be expected for it to inherently possess the same physical properties such as thermal resistance and shrinkage value.
16. Regarding Claim 5, Schell in view of Saad and further in view of Franca suggests monoaxially orienting its film as well as biaxially orienting its film (Franca: paragraph 0083). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the biaxially orienting, of Schell in view of Saad, by trying the monaxial orienting, of Franca, out of a desire for optimization for what prior art deems to be known alternatives.
Conclusion
/TAHSEEN KHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781 July 15, 2026