DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (GB 2 438 751 A) [Lee] in view of Askew et al. (6,091,165) [Askew].
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches an antenna module comprising a ground plane, the ground plane to couple to a ground foil of an electronic device and an antenna coupled to the ground plane (0025).
Lee fails to disclose the antenna module includes a noise cancelling circuit disposed within a cutout of the ground plane.
In an analogous art, Askew teaches including a noise cancelling circuit within a ground plane to eliminate noise that could introduce through said ground plane (col. 5 lines 25-64).
It would have been obvious at the time of effective filing to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna module of Lee to include a noise cancelling circuit disposed within a cutout of the ground plane, as suggested by Askew, for the benefit of eliminating noise that could introduce through said ground plane.
Regarding claim 6 and 7 Lee and Askew disclose the antenna module of claim 1, but fail to disclose the antenna module with disposed with a display device comprising a chassis having a plastic portion and a metal portion, the chassis including an internal side and an external side.
Examiner takes official notice that coupling antenna modules display devices having a chassis comprising a plastic portion and a metal portion and the chassis including an internal side and an external side, was notoriously well known in the art at the time of effective filing, serving the conventional benefit of an unobtrusive means for receiving signals wirelessly.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-15 are allowed.
Claims 2-5 and 8-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: While the inclusion of noise cancelling circuits coupled with antenna in electronic devices is well known, the allowable claimed subject matter is drawn to an integrated noise cancellation circuit that is both disposed within a cutout of the ground place and includes the resonating elements which limit the frequencies on which the antenna operates. This serves to reduce the space needed for operating components within the device (see originally filed specification paragraph 0009) and does not appear to be taught or reasonably suggested by the prior art.
Conclusion
/DOMINIC D SALTARELLI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2421