DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to applicant’s submission filed on December 13, 2024
Claims 6, 10, 12, 16, 19, 22-23, 25, 29, 33, and 35 are amended.
Claims 7-8, 11, 13-14, 17-18, 20-21, 24, 26-27, 30-31, 34, and 36-43 are cancelled.
Claims 1-6, 9-10, 12, 15-16, 19, 22-23, 25, 28-29, 32-33, and 35 have been examined this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 10 December 2024 has been acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 10, 15-16, 19, 23, 28-29, and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al (CN 113840227 A) in view of Da (EP 3979670 B1).
Regarding Claim 1, Li teaches a reporting method, performed by a terminal device, comprising [0105 for determining terminal location information and error reports]:
receiving at least one first positioning signal sent by a first transmission reception point (TRP) [0111 for using a TRP with M=1 PRS for positioning the terminal];
and reporting a measurement report to a core network device, wherein the measurement report comprises the measurement result [0111-0112 for positioning server (core network device) obtains the phase difference between different TRPs with the NR carrier phase measurement value reported is the NR carrier phase measurement value].
Li fails to explicitly teach measuring the first positioning signal to obtain a measurement result, wherein the measurement result comprises at least one of a first carrier phase measurement result, a Doppler parameter, or a second carrier phase measurement result, wherein the second carrier phase measurement result is obtained by adjusting the first carrier phase measurement result based on the Doppler parameter.
Da has a method and device for determining information [0001] and teaches measuring the first positioning signal to obtain a measurement result, wherein the measurement result comprises at least one of a first carrier phase measurement result, a Doppler parameter, or a second carrier phase measurement result [0008 for carrier phase, and 0018 for using Doppler frequency for the terminal to determine phase change in carrier signals],
wherein the second carrier phase measurement result is obtained by adjusting the first carrier phase measurement result based on the Doppler parameter [0007-0009 for deriving second carrier signal phase measurement values for positioning the terminal from the first carrier signal phase measurement values].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the terminal position techniques, as disclosed by Li, further including the carrier phase calculations as taught by Da for the purpose of improving the positioning accuracy (Da, 0007).
Regarding Claim 15, Li teaches reporting method, performed by a base station, comprising [0105 for determining terminal location information and error reports]:
receiving at least one positioning signal sent by a terminal device [0111 for using a TRP with M=1 PRS for positioning the terminal];
and reporting a measurement result to a core network device, wherein the measurement report comprises the measurement result [0111-0112 for positioning server (core network device) obtains the phase difference between different TRPs with the NR carrier phase measurement value reported is the NR carrier phase measurement value].
Li fails to explicitly teach measuring the positioning signal to obtain a measurement result, wherein the measurement result comprises at least one of a first carrier phase measurement result, a Doppler parameter, or a second carrier phase measurement result, wherein the second carrier phase measurement result is obtained by adjusting the first carrier phase measurement result based on the Doppler parameter.
Da has a method and device for determining information [0001] and teaches measuring the first positioning signal to obtain a measurement result, wherein the measurement result comprises at least one of a first carrier phase measurement result, a Doppler parameter, or a second carrier phase measurement result [0008 for carrier phase, and 0018 for using Doppler frequency for the terminal to determine phase change in carrier signals],
wherein the second carrier phase measurement result is obtained by adjusting the first carrier phase measurement result based on the Doppler parameter [0007-0009 for deriving second carrier signal phase measurement values for positioning the terminal from the first carrier signal phase measurement values]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the terminal position techniques, as disclosed by Li, further including the carrier phase calculations as taught by Da for the purpose of improving the positioning accuracy (Da, 0007).
Regarding Claim 28, Li teaches a reporting method, performed by a core network device, comprising [0105 for determining terminal location information and error reports]:
receiving a measurement report reported by a base station, wherein the measurement report comprises at least one of a first carrier phase measurement result, a Doppler parameter, or a second carrier phase measurement result [0111 for using a TRP with M=1 PRS for positioning the terminal].
Li fails to explicitly teach wherein the second carrier phase measurement result is obtained by adjusting the first carrier phase measurement result based on the Doppler parameter.
Da has a method and device for determining information [0001] and teaches wherein the second carrier phase measurement result is obtained by adjusting the first carrier phase measurement result based on the Doppler parameter [0007-0009 for deriving second carrier signal phase measurement values for positioning the terminal from the first carrier signal phase measurement values].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the terminal position techniques, as disclosed by Li, further including the carrier phase calculations as taught by Da for the purpose of improving the positioning accuracy (Da, 0007).
Regarding Claim 2, Li teaches the first carrier phase measurement result comprises at least one of: a carrier phase value; a carrier phase difference; and a carrier phase relative value [0009 and claims 1-2].
Regarding Claim 3, Li teaches the Doppler parameter comprises at least one of: a Doppler frequency offset; or a Doppler spread [0173-0174].
Regarding Claim 4, Li fails to explicitly teach the second carrier phase measurement result comprises at least one of: a carrier phase value adjusted based on the Doppler parameter; a carrier phase difference adjusted based on the Doppler parameter; or a carrier phase relative value adjusted based on the Doppler parameter.
Da has a method and device for determining information [0001] and teaches the second carrier phase measurement result comprises at least one of: a carrier phase value adjusted based on the Doppler parameter; a carrier phase difference adjusted based on the Doppler parameter; or a carrier phase relative value adjusted based on the Doppler parameter [0008-0012 for phase change of carrier signals transmitted in a predefined first time interval being less than a preset value, is derived from by using interpolation].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the terminal position techniques, as disclosed by Li, further including the interpolation calculations as taught by Da for the purpose of positioning the terminal according to the carrier signal phase predicted values (Da, 0012).
Regarding Claim 5, Li teaches measuring the first positioning signal to obtain the carrier phase value comprises [0111]:
measuring respective first positioning signals to obtain carrier phase values corresponding to the respective first positioning signals [0112 for one NR carrier phase measurement value for PRS resource 0 of TRP0].
Regarding Claim 6, Li teaches before measuring the first positioning signal to obtain the measurement result, the method further comprises [0111for system stipulates that the NR carrier phase measurement values are the phase measurement values]:
receiving a second positioning signal sent by a second TRP, wherein the second TRP is a reference TRP, wherein measuring the first positioning signal to obtain a carrier phase difference or carrier phase relative value comprises [0111 for the NR carrier phase measurement value reported is the NR carrier phase measurement value]:
measuring the first positioning signal to obtain a first carrier phase value; measuring the second positioning signal to obtain a second carrier phase value [0112 for positioning server obtains the phase difference between different TRPs based on the four NR carrier phase measurements reported by the terminal];
and taking a difference between the first carrier phase value and the second carrier phase value as the carrier phase difference or carrier phase relative value of the first positioning signal, or wherein measuring the first positioning signal to obtain the carrier phase difference or carrier phase relative value comprises: determining time when the terminal device receives the first positioning signal as a first time point; determining time when the terminal device receives the second positioning signal as a second time point; and determining a phase change value measured by the terminal device between the second time point and the first time point as the carrier phase difference or carrier phase relative value of the first positioning signal [0112-0114 for subcarrier of the NR carrier phase measurement value can be indicated by the positioning server or determined by the terminal].
Regarding Claim 10, 23, and 33 Li teaches the measurement report further comprises at least one of: phase error group information corresponding to the first carrier phase measurement result; phase error group information corresponding to the second carrier phase measurement result; phase error group information corresponding to the Doppler parameter; antenna reference point information corresponding to the first carrier phase measurement result; antenna reference point information corresponding to the second carrier phase measurement result; antenna reference point information corresponding to the Doppler parameter; timing error group information corresponding to the first carrier phase measurement result; timing error group information corresponding to the second carrier phase measurement result; timing error group information corresponding to the Doppler parameter; a first TRP identification (ID); a first positioning signal ID; a positioning signal set ID of a positioning signal set to which the first positioning signal ID belongs; a timestamp when the first carrier phase measurement result is measured; a timestamp corresponding to the second carrier phase measurement result, a reference signal receiving power (RSRP) of the first positioning signal; timing error group information corresponding to the RSRP of the first positioning signal; an angle of arrival (AoA) of the first positioning signal; timing error group information corresponding to the AoA of the first positioning signal: an angle of departure (AoD) of the first positioning signal; timing error group information corresponding to the AoD of the first positioning signal; time of arrival (ToA) of the first positioning signal; timing error group information corresponding to the ToA of the first positioning signal; a time difference of arrival (TDoA) of the first positioning signal; timing error group information corresponding to the TDoA of the first positioning signal; round trip time (RTT) of the first positioning signal; or timing error group information corresponding to the RTT of the first positioning signal [0105 for measurement quality of reception time measurement value, measurement quality of reception time measurement value, measurement quality of angle measurement value, measurement quality of power measurement value, measurement quality of speed measurement value, measurement quality of speed measurement value, measurement quality of Doppler measurement value, measurement quality of Doppler measurement value].
Regarding Claim 16 and 29, Li teaches the first carrier phase measurement result comprises at least one of: a carrier phase value; a carrier phase difference; or a carrier phase relative value [0009 and claims 1-2];
wherein the Doppler parameter comprises at least one of: a Doppler frequency offset; or a Doppler spread [0173-0174].
Li fails to explicitly teach wherein the second carrier phase measurement result comprises at least one of: a carrier phase value adjusted based on the Doppler parameter; a carrier phase difference adjusted based on the Doppler parameter; or a carrier phase relative value adjusted based on the Doppler parameter.
Da has a method and device for determining information [0001] and teaches wherein the second carrier phase measurement result comprises at least one of: a carrier phase value adjusted based on the Doppler parameter; a carrier phase difference adjusted based on the Doppler parameter; or a carrier phase relative value adjusted based on the Doppler parameter [0008-0012 for phase change of carrier signals transmitted in a predefined first time interval being less than a preset value, is derived from by using interpolation].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the terminal position techniques, as disclosed by Li, further including the interpolation calculations as taught by Da for the purpose of positioning the terminal according to the carrier signal phase predicted values (Da, 0012).
Regarding Claim 19, Li teaches measuring the positioning signal to obtain the carrier phase value comprises [0111]:
measuring respective positioning signals to obtain carrier phase values corresponding to the respective positioning wherein measuring the positioning signal to obtain the carrier phase difference or carrier phase relative value comprises [0112 for one NR carrier phase measurement value for PRS resource 0 of TRP0]:
measuring the positioning signal to obtain a measured carrier phase value; determining a reference carrier phase value [0112 for positioning server obtains the phase difference between different TRPs based on the four NR carrier phase measurements reported by the terminal];
and taking a difference between the measured carrier phase value and the reference carrier phase value as the carrier phase difference or carrier phase relative value of the positioning signal; or wherein measuring the positioning signal to obtain the carrier phase difference or carrier phase relative value comprises: determining a reference time point; determining time when the terminal device receives the positioning signal as an end time point; and determining a phase change value measured by the terminal device between the reference time point and the end time point as the carrier phase difference or carrier phase relative value of the positioning signal [0112-0114 for subcarrier of the NR carrier phase measurement value can be indicated by the positioning server or determined by the terminal].
Claims 9, 22, and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al (CN 113840227 A) in view of Da (EP 3979670 B1), as applied to Claim 1, 15, and 28 above, and further in view of Bao et al (US 2022/0086822 A1).
Regarding Claim 9, 22, and 32, Li fails to explicitly teach the first carrier phase measurement result is obtained by measuring the first positioning signal separately on at least one designated path [0054-0055 for having a first subcarrier as the positioning reference signal with a phase difference value].
Li fails to explicitly teach the measurement report further comprises any of: indication information, configured to indicate whether the designated path corresponding to the first carrier phase measurement result or the second carrier phase measurement result is a line of sight; or probability information, configured to represent a probability that the designated path corresponding to the first carrier phase measurement result or the second carrier phase measurement result is a line of sight.
Bao has various techniques for wireless communication (abstract) and teaches the measurement report further comprises any of: indication information, configured to indicate whether the designated path corresponding to the first carrier phase measurement result or the second carrier phase measurement result is a line of sight [0100 for using LOS as the direct bath, with a probability value];
or probability information, configured to represent a probability that the designated path corresponding to the first carrier phase measurement result or the second carrier phase measurement result is a line of sight [0100].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the terminal position techniques, as disclosed by Li, further including the direct path calculations as taught by Bao for the purpose of performing the measurement report for PRS resource (Bao, 0100).
Claims 12, 25, and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al (CN 113840227 A) in view of Da (EP 3979670 B1), as applied to Claim 1, 15, and 28 above, and further in view of Zhou et al (US 2022/0357420 A1).
Regarding Claim 12, 25, and 35, Li teaches the phase error group information comprises at least one of transmitting phase error group information, or receiving phase error group information; or, comprises transmitting/receiving phase error group information [0114 for having a measurement error based on carrier phase].
Li fails to explicitly teach the phase error group information comprises transmitting/receiving phase error group wherein the antenna reference point information comprises at least one of transmitting antenna reference point information, or receiving antenna reference point information; or comprises transmitting/receiving antenna reference point information, wherein the timing error group information comprises at least one of transmitting timing error group information and or receiving timing error group information; or, comprises transmitting/ receiving timing error group information the timing error group information comprises transmitting/ receiving timing error group information.
Zhou has methods are disclosed for reducing Rx/Tx timing errors in a wireless network for latency of positioning measurements (abstract) and teaches,
the phase error group information comprises transmitting/receiving phase error group wherein the antenna reference point information comprises at least one of transmitting antenna reference point information, or receiving antenna reference point information; or comprises transmitting/receiving antenna reference point information [0005-0006 for transmit and receive TEG with Claim 6],
wherein the timing error group information comprises at least one of transmitting timing error group information and or receiving timing error group information; or, comprises transmitting/ receiving timing error group information the timing error group information comprises transmitting/ receiving timing error group information [0005 for the timing error group for time difference measurement of the UE (terminal)].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the terminal position techniques, as disclosed by Li, further including the timing calculations as taught by Zhao for the purpose of performing the measurement report for PRS resource (Zhao, 0006).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Syrjarinne (US-7395074-B2) has a a method for calculating a position of a mobile communications equipment.
/SAMARINA MAKHDOOM/
Examiner, Art Unit 3648