DETAILED ACTION
Claim status
2. Claims 1-20 are currently pending for examination.
Claim Objections
3. Claims 1-20 are objected to because of the following informalities: some claims include consumable as plural “consumables” and others as singular “consumable”. Appropriate correction is required so the claims are consistent.
Claim Interpretation
6. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “obtaining module configured to – corresponding to element 901 in Fig. 9”, “determining module configured to – corresponding to element 902 in Fig. 9” and “adjusting module configured to – corresponding to element 903 in Fig. 9” in claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statuary subject matter.
Claim 14 is drawn to a readable storage medium having stored thereon a computer program, where the readable medium can be transitory, i.e., is not explicitly limited as disclosed as only being non-transitory computer readable media; therefore, fail(s) to fall within a statutory category of invention. Applicant should note that adding "non-transitory" to the claim to limit a claimed readable medium to being statutory would be acceptable.
A claim directed to a computer readable medium having stored thereon a computer program is non-statutory, where the computer readable medium can be a signal, a carrier wave, or a data structure, per se, which are non-statutory as noted, infra.
A claim directed to a signal, a carrier wave, or a data structure, per se, is non-statutory because it is not: A process, or A machine, or A manufacture, or A composition of matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claims 1, 10-12, 14 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (Zhang; CN114469418; machine translation is used) in view of Liu et al. (Liu; CN106712586; machine translation is used).
For claim 1, Zhang discloses a consumable output control method (E.g. Page 1: control method for a smart toothbrush, Page 13), comprising:
determining an operating state of the consumable transfer pump during the consumable output cycle based on the current value (E.g. Page 2: In some embodiments of the present application, determining whether the smart toothbrush has completed the toothpaste squeezing action according to the first accumulated duration and a preset first duration threshold includes: If the first cumulative duration reaches a preset first duration threshold, determine that the smart toothbrush has completed the toothpaste squeezing action, and update the preset toothpaste flag to a completed state; If the first accumulated duration does not reach the preset first duration threshold, it is determined that the smart toothbrush has not completed the action of squeezing toothpaste. In some embodiments of the present application, if the smart toothbrush has not completed the toothpaste squeezing action, controlling the smart toothbrush to perform the toothpaste-squeezing action includes: If the smart toothbrush has not completed the toothpaste squeezing action, calculate the difference between the preset first duration threshold and the first accumulated duration to obtain the target duration; The execution duration of controlling the smart toothbrush to perform the action of squeezing toothpaste is the target duration. In some embodiments of the present application, the smart toothbrush includes a driving device and a plurality of paste tanks; The controlling the smart toothbrush to perform the toothpaste squeezing action if the smart toothbrush has not completed the toothpaste squeezing action, further comprising: If the smart toothbrush has not completed the action of squeezing toothpaste, determining the function mode that the smart toothbrush is currently in, and the target paste tank associated with the function mode in the plurality of paste tanks; The driving device is controlled to extrude the target type of toothpaste from the target paste tank. In some embodiments of the present application, the controlling the driving device to extrude the target toothpaste from the target paste tank further includes: detecting the toothpaste type of toothpaste remaining on the brush head of the smart toothbrush; If the toothpaste type is different from the target type, output a prompt signal, wherein the prompt signal is used to prompt the user to remove the toothpaste remaining on the brush head of the smart toothbrush; Monitoring whether the toothpaste remaining on the brush head of the smart toothbrush has been removed, and if so, controlling the driving device to squeeze out the target type of toothpaste from the target paste tank. A control device for a smart toothbrush provided by the second aspect of the embodiment of the present application, the control device includes: a detection unit, configured to detect the real-time pressure value acting on the pressure sensing part of the smart toothbrush in response to the wake-up operation triggered by the user; a triggering unit for determining whether the smart toothbrush has completed the action of squeezing toothpaste if the real-time pressure value is greater than or equal to a preset pressure value; The control unit is configured to control the smart toothbrush to perform the toothpaste-squeezing action if the smart toothbrush has not completed the toothpaste-squeezing action);
in the case that the operating state during the consumables output cycle is determined to be an incomplete state, adjusting an operating duration of the consumables output cycle (E.g. Pages 1-2).
Zhang fails to expressly disclose during a consumables output cycle of a consumables transfer pump of a smart terminal, obtaining a current value of the consumables transfer pump at preset intervals and determining based on the current value the presence of unloaded state in the operating state during the consumable output cycle.
However, as shown by Liu, it was well known in the art of consumables to include during a consumables output cycle of a consumables transfer pump of a smart terminal, obtaining a current value of the consumables transfer pump at preset intervals and determining based on the current value the presence of unloaded state in the operating state during the consumable output cycle [E.g. 0008-0028].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of consumables before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang with the teaching of Liu in order to enable determining the operating state of the consumable delivery pump on the basis of the current value of the consumable delivery pump so that the user can easily determine when an unloaded state exist and thereby improve the overall consumable transfer pump, also it is merely combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
For claim 10, is interpreted and rejected as discussed with respect to claim 1.
For claim 11, Zhang discloses a consumables output control device, comprising: a current sampling device, a consumable transfer pump, and the consumable output control device according to claim 10; wherein the current sampling device is connected to the consumables transfer pump and the consumables output control device; the current sampling device is configured to collect a current value consumed during the operation of the consumable transfer pump, and send the current value to the consumable output control device [E.g. Pages 2 and 7-8].
For claim 12, although Zhang fails to expressly disclose wherein a diameter of an output end of the consumable transfer pump ranges from 0.6mm to 2.8mm, Zhang teaches the consumable transfer pump has an output end. However, having a diameter of the output end of the consumable transfer pump ranges from 0.6mm to 2.8mm fails to yield unexpected results; it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhang to include the diameter of the output end of the consumable transfer pump ranges from 0.6mm to 2.8mm in order to satisfy system needs and/or environment requirement, also because such modification would have been considered a mere design consideration which fails to patentable distinguish over Zhang.
For claim 14, is interpreted and rejected as discussed with respect to claim 1.
For claim 18, Zhang discloses wherein the consumable transfer pump is one of an air pump [Page 5], a peristaltic pump, a gear pump, a screw pump and a rotor pump, and the smart terminal is a smart toothbrush [Page 2], a beauty device or a skin care device.
11. Claim 13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Liu and further in view of Official Notice.
For claim 13, Zhang discloses a terminal device, comprising: a transceiver, a processor, a memory, and a program or instructions stored on the memory and executed by the processor;
wherein the processor executes the program or the instructions to implement the consumable
output control method according to 1 [see claim 1 analysis].
Zhang fails to expressly disclose that the terminal device “smart toothbrush” comprises a transceiver.
However, examiner takes official notice that a terminal device comprising a transceiver is well-known in the art of smart devices and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in order to provide a smart toothbrush that can easily receive and transmit data over a distancer and thereby improve the overall system.
Allowable Subject Matter
12. Claims 2-9, 15-17 and 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
13. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 Notice of Reference Cited.
/MOHAMED BARAKAT/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2689