DETAILED ACTION
This final action is in response to the reply filed 10 June 2026, which was in reply to the non-final office action, dated 12 February 2026.
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-5 and 7-12 are pending. Claims 1-5 and 7-10 have been amended and claim 6 has been canceled.
With regard to the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) interpretation of the limitations “a recognition unit that recognizes”, “a prediction unit that predicts”, and “a notification control unit that causes a notification device to notify” in claim 1, (pgs. 2-5, Action), Applicant’s amendments render the previous interpretations moot. However, the amendments to claim 1 necessitated an additional 35 U.S.C. 112(f) interpretation of the limitation “a reception unit that receives instruction information”, as discussed below.
Applicant’s amendment to claim 1 necessitated an objection, as discussed below.
With regard to the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection of claim 4 (pgs. 5-6, Action), applicant’s clarification (pgs. 8, Reply), renders this rejection moot. However, the amendments to claim 1 necessitated additional 112(b) rejections of claims 2-4, as discussed below.
With regard to the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection of claims 1-8 (pgs. 6-16, Action), applicant’s amendment to independent claim 1 requires “wherein [the] processor changes a position or direction of notification .....” The examiner finds that the changing step above is sufficient to integrate the judicial exception into practical application. Thus, under Step 2A Prong two (see MPEP 2106), since the claims as a whole are found to be ingrate the judicial exception into practical application, they are eligible at pathway B, thereby concluding the eligibility analysis. Accordingly, the rejection of claims 1-8 under 35 U.S.C. 101 has been withdrawn.
Applicant contends that the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection of claims 9-12 is not appropriate because, similar to claim 1, they recite the additional element “wherein [the] processor changes a position or direction of notifications ... “ (pg. 9, Reply). There appears to be no such recitation in claims 9-12. Thus the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection of claims 9-12 are maintained as discussed below.
With regard to the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claims 1, 9 and 10 (pgs. 16-24, Action), applicant’s amendment to claim 1, in particular the limitation “the processor changes a position or direction of notification by the notification device”, necessitated additional searching and considerations of new grounds of rejection. Accordingly, the new grounds of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 are: claims 1-3, 7 and 8 in view of Kia, Saeki, Iwahashi, Shoji and Jun; claim 4 in view of Kida, Saeki, Iwahashi, Shoji, Jun and Shimizu; and claim 5 in view of Kida, Saeki, Iwahashi, Shoji, Jun and Hack.
With regard to the contentions contained the reply (pgs. 11-13, reply), applicant merely concludes that neither “Shoji, Shimizu, Hack or Jun teach or suggest causing the display device to dynamically display a predetermined figure ...”, without addressing the mapping of the references Shoji and Jun, cited as teaching the limitations in canceled claim 6, whose subject matter is now incorporated into claims 1, 9 and 10, as discussed below. Thus, the rejection of claims 9 and 10, incorporating the subject matter of canceled claim 6 under 35 U.S.C. 103 view of Kida, Saeki, Shoji and Jun, is maintained, as discussed below.
Similarly, as Applicant has not addressed the rejection of claims 11 and 12. Thus, the rejection of claims 11 and 12 under 35 U.S.C. 103 is maintained, as discussed below.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, recites “processor” on ln. 11. It is unclear whether this is the same or different from the “processor” recited previously in the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are
“a reception unit that receives instruction information” <see [0027] disclosing [0027] the reception unit 170 are realized by, for example, allowing a hardware processor such as a central processing unit (CPU) to execute a program (software). ... The recognition unit 140, the prediction unit 150, the control unit 160, and the reception unit 170 may hereinafter be referred to as a "driving assistance application". In addition, the terminal device 100 equipped with a driving assistance application is an example of an "information processing device."> (claim 1).
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. The “reception unit” is being interpreted per [0027] as a central processing unit.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 1, upon which claims 2-4 depend, recites “wherein [the] processor changes a position or direction of notification .... “. It is unclear from the claim recitations in claims 2-4 how the processor “changes a position or direction of notification” with regard to the “sound” emanating from the “voice output device” recited in claims 2 and 3. Further, there appears to be no disclosure in the specification (paragraphs [0042]-[046]) of how the “position or direction of the notification” is changed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
In January, 2019 (updated October 2019), the USPTO released new examination guidelines setting forth a two-step inquiry for determining whether a claim is directed to non-statutory subject matter. According to the guidelines, a claim is directed to non-statutory subject matter if:
• STEP 1: the claim does not fall within one of the four statutory categories of invention (process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter), or
• STEP 2: the claim recites a judicial exception, e.g. an abstract idea, without reciting additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, as determined using the following analysis:
o STEP 2A (PRONG 1): Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
o STEP 2A (PRONG 2): Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
o STEP 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
Using the two-step inquiry, it is clear that claims 9, 10, 11 and 12 are directed toward non-statutory subject matter as shown below.
STEP 1: Do claims 9, 10, 11 and 12 fall within one of the statutory categories? Yes, because claim 9 is directed toward a method, and claims 10-12 are directed toward a non-transitory computer-readable storage having stored thereon a program, all of which fall within one of the statutory categories.
STEP 2A (PRONG 1): Is the claim directed to a law of nature, a natural phenomenon or an abstract idea? Yes, claims 9-12 are directed to abstract ideas.
With regard to STEP 2A (PRONG 1), the guidelines provide three groupings of subject matter that are considered abstract ideas:
1. Mathematical concepts – mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical calculations;
2. Certain methods of organizing human activity – fundamental economic principles or practices (including hedging, insurance, mitigating risk); commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations); managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions); and
3. Mental processes – concepts that are practicably performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion).
As per claims 9-12, the non-transitory computer-readable storage having a program stored (claims 9-12) are a mental processes that can be performed in the mind and, therefore, an abstract idea. In particular, claims 9-12 recite the following abstract ideas:
“predicts a future trajectory of the object” (claim 9);
“recognize an object included in image data obtained by capturing an image of a vicinity of a mobile body such that a future trajectory of the object is predicted” (claim 10);
“recognize an object included in image data obtained by capturing an image of a vicinity of a two-wheel vehicle such that a future trajectory of the object is predicted” (claim 11); and
“recognize an object included in image data obtained by capturing an image of a vicinity of a four-wheel vehicle such that a future trajectory of the object is predicted” (claim 12).
These recitations merely consist of predicting the future trajectory of an object. This is equivalent to a person (observing the surrounds while operating the vehicle) predicting the future trajectory of an object. The Examiner notes that under MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III), the courts consider a mental process (thinking) that "can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper" to be an abstract idea. CyberSource Corp. v. Retail Decisions, Inc., 654 F.3d 1366, 1372, 99 USPQ2d 1690, 1695 (Fed. Cir. 2011). As the Federal Circuit explained, "methods which can be performed mentally, or which are the equivalent of human mental work, are unpatentable abstract ideas the ‘basic tools of scientific and technological work’ that are open to all.’" 654 F.3d at 1371, 99 USPQ2d at 1694 (citing Gottschalk v. Benson, 409 U.S. 63, 175 USPQ 673 (1972)). See also Mayo Collaborative Servs. v. Prometheus Labs. Inc., 566 U.S. 66, 71, 101 USPQ2d 1961, 1965 ("‘[M]ental processes[] and abstract intellectual concepts are not patentable, as they are the basic tools of scientific and technological work’" (quoting Benson, 409 U.S. at 67, 175 USPQ at 675)); Parker v. Flook, 437 U.S. 584, 589, 198 USPQ 193, 197 (1978) (same). As such, a person, (observing the surrounds while operating the vehicle) predicts the future trajectory of an object.
STEP 2A (PRONG 2): Do the claims recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application? No, the claims do not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
With regard to STEP 2A (prong 2), whether the claim recites additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, the guidelines provide the following exemplary considerations that are indicative that an additional element (or combination of elements) may have integrated the judicial exception into a practical application:
• an additional element reflects an improvement in the functioning of a computer, or an improvement to other technology or technical field;
• an additional element that applies or uses a judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition;
• an additional element implements a judicial exception with, or uses a judicial exception in conjunction with, a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim;
• an additional element effects a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing; and
• an additional element applies or uses the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.
While the guidelines further state that the exemplary considerations are not an exhaustive list and that there may be other examples of integrating the exception into a practical application, the guidelines also list examples in which a judicial exception has not been integrated into a practical application:
• an additional element merely recites the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely includes instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea;
• an additional element adds insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception; and
• an additional element does no more than generally link the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use.
Claims 9-12 do not recite any of the exemplary considerations that are indicative of an abstract idea having been integrated into practical application. Claims 9-12 further recite the following additional elements:
(claim 9)
“recognizes an object included in image data obtained by capturing an image of a vicinity of a mobile body, ”
“notify a vehicle occupant in the mobile body of the presence of the object based on the future trajectory of the object”, and
“changes a mode of notification by the notification device ... ”
(claim 10)
“recognize an object included in image data obtained by capturing an image of a vicinity of a mobile body such that a future trajectory of the object is predicted”,
“causing a notification device to notify a vehicle occupant in the mobile body of the presence of the object based on the future trajectory of the object” and
“mode of notification by the notification device is changed between a case where the object is predicted to approach the mobile body from behind the mobile body and a case where the object is predicted to pass by a side of the mobile body”.
(claim 11)
“recognize an object included in image data obtained by capturing an image of a vicinity of a two-wheel vehicle such that a future trajectory of the object is predicted”,
“causing a notification device to notify a vehicle occupant in the two-wheel vehicle of the presence of the object based on the future trajectory of the object”,
“causing the computer to change a mode of notification by the notification device between a case where the object is predicted to approach the two-wheel vehicle from behind the two-wheel vehicle and a case where the object is predicted to pass by a side of the two-wheel vehicle”, and
“causing the notification device to display a predetermined figure in a central part of the notification device in a case where the object is predicted to approach the two-wheel vehicle from behind the two-wheel vehicle and the object has entered a first predetermined area”
(claim 12)
“causing a computer to recognize an object included in image data obtained by capturing an image of a vicinity of a two-wheel vehicle such that a future trajectory of the object is predicted”,
“causing a notification device to notify a vehicle occupant in the two-wheel vehicle of the presence of the object based on the future trajectory of the object”,
“causing the computer to change a mode of notification by the notification device between a case where the object is predicted to approach the two-wheel vehicle from behind the two-wheel vehicle and a case where the object is predicted to pass by a side of the two-wheel vehicle”, and
“causing the notification device to display a predetermined figure in a central part of the notification device in a case where the object is predicted to approach the two-wheel vehicle from behind the two-wheel vehicle and the object has entered a first predetermined area”.
These additional elements further limit the abstract idea without integrating the abstract idea into practical application or significantly more. In particular, the “recognizing an object … “ step (claims 9-12) is recited at a high level of generality (i.e., as a general means of gathering an electronic representation of an area) and amount to mere data gathering, a form of insignificant extra-solution activity added to the judicial exception per MPEP 2106.05(g), because the step characterizes pre solution activity, such as an individual observing the surrounding vehicles. Further, the “notify a vehicle occupant ... “, “change a mode of notification ... “ (claims 9-12) and “display a predetermined figure in a central part of the notification device” (claims 11 and 12), are recited at a high level of generality (i.e., as a general means of presenting electronic representation of an area) and amount to mere data gathering, a form of insignificant extra-solution activity added to the judicial exception per MPEP 2106.05(g), because the step characterizes post solution activity.
STEP 2B: Do the claims recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? No, claims 9-12 do not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
With regard to STEP 2B, whether the claims recite additional elements that provide significantly more than the recited judicial exception, the guidelines specify that the pre-guideline procedure is still in effect. Specifically, that examiners should continue to consider whether an additional element or combination of elements:
• adds a specific limitation or combination of limitations that are not well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field, which is indicative that an inventive concept may be present; or
• simply appends well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception, which is indicative that an inventive concept may not be present.
Claims 9-12 do not recite any specific limitation or combination of limitations that are well-understood, routine, conventional (WURC) activity in the field. Displaying data is fundamental, i.e. WURC, activities performed computers operating on data such as the units recited in claims 9-12. Further, applicant’s specification does not provide any indication that the recognizing or notifying activities of the device are performed using anything other than a conventional computer. MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), and the cases cited therein, including Intellectual Ventures I, LLC v. Symantec Corp., 838 F.3d 1307, 1321 (Fed. Cir. 2016), TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610 (Fed. Cir. 2016), and OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363 (Fed. Cir. 2015), indicate that mere performance of an action is a well‐understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner. Further, the Federal Circuit in Trading Techs. Int’l v. IBG LLC, 921 F.3d 1084, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2019), and Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Erie Indemnity Co., 850 F.3d 1315, 1331 (Fed. Cir. 2017), for example, indicated that the mere displaying of data is a well understood, routine, and conventional function.
Thus, since claims 9-12 are: (a) directed toward abstract ideas; (b) do not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into practical application; and (c) do not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, it is clear that claims 9-12 are directed to non-statutory subject matter.
As such, claims 9-12, are rejected as being drawn to an abstract idea without
significantly more, and thus are ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 3, 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication Number 2019/0041849 to Kida et al. (hereafter Kida) in view of U.S. Patent Publication Number 2018/0272940 to Saeki et al. (hereafter Saeki), U.S. Patent Publication Number 2023/0347921 to Iwahashi, U.S. Patent Publication Number 2024/0054897 to Shoji et al. (hereafter Shoji) and U.S. Patent Publication Number 2023/0146403 to Jun et al. (hereafter Jun).
As per claim 1, Kida discloses [a]n information processing device (see at least Kida, Abstract) comprising:
a storage medium storing computer-readable instructions (see at least Kida, [0057] disclosing that As shown in FIG. 1, this monitor device comprises a monitor ECU 10. The monitor ECU 10 comprises a microcomputer including a CPU 11, a ROM 12, a RAM 13, and the like. It should be noted that an ECU is an abbreviation of an “Electronic Control Unit” which includes a microcomputer as a main part. The microcomputer includes a CPU, and memories (for example, a ROM, a RAM, and the like). The CPU achieves various functions by executing instructions (program, routine) stored in the ROM; [0146]); and a
processor coupled to the storage medium, the processor executing the computer-readable instructions (see at least Kida, [0057]; [0146]) to:
recognize an object included in image data obtained by capturing an image of a vicinity of a mobile body (see at least Kida, [0059] disclosing that the camera system 20 includes the camera 21 and an image processing device 23. As shown in FIG. 2, the camera 21 is arranged at the center in a width direction in a rear end of the own vehicle SV. Referring back to FIG. 1, the camera 21 is attached to an outer side of the own vehicle SV. .. The camera 21 photographs the scene to transmit an image (a camera image or camera image data) photographed by the camera 21 to the image processing device 23, every time a predetermined time period elapses; [0060] disclosing that the image processing device 23 selects/extracts an object whose type is coincident with one of predetermined types (a pedestrian, a vehicle, a motorcycle, a bicycle, and the like) from the camera image photographed by the camera 21. More specifically, the image processing device 23 stores an image feature amount of the object of each of the predetermined types as a matching pattern in advance. The image processing device 23 divides the camera image into local areas, each of which has a predetermined size, so as to calculate the image feature amount of each of the local areas.);
predicts a future trajectory of the object (see at least Kida, [0110] disclosing that the CPU 11 calculates/predicts a moving trajectory of the object based on the past locations/positions of the object. The CPU 11 calculates/predicts a moving direction of the object in relation to the own vehicle SV, based on the calculated moving trajectory of the object. Subsequently, the CPU 11 selects/extracts, as the obstacle(s) which has a probability (high probability) of colliding with the own vehicle S; [0114] disclosing that the CPU 11 predicts the “trajectory/path along which the point PL will move” as the predicted left travel path LEC, and predicts the “trajectory/path along which the point PR will move” as the predicted right travel path REC. If both of the values αL and αR are positive values, the CPU 11 determines the “object which has been in the predicted travel path area ECA and will intersect with the rear end area TA” or the “object which will be in the predicted travel path area ECA and will intersect with the rear end area TA”, as the object with probability of passing near the left side or the right side of the own vehicle SV.” Accordingly, the CPU 11 can select/extract, as the obstacle, the object with the probability of passing near the left side or the right side of the own vehicle SV) ... (1) ... , ... (2) ... , ... (3) ... ;
wherein the notification device is a display device (see at least Kida, [0065]; [0125] disclosing that when any one of the times to collision TTC is equal to or shorter than the time threshold T1th, the CPU 11 transmits the display instruction signal to the display unit 40 so as to display the alert screen on the display unit 30, and transmits the output instruction signal to the speaker 31 so as to output the alert sound from the speaker 31),
the information processing device further includes a reception unit that receives instruction information indicating whether the mobile body is a four-wheel vehicle or a two-wheel vehicle (see at least Kida, [0103] disclosing that the CPU 11 predicts, as the predicted travel path RCR, a travel path along which “the center point PO (refer to FIG. 2) of a wheel axis connecting a rear left wheel and a rear right wheel” will move, based on the calculated turning radius. When the yaw rate Yr is generated (nonzero), the CPU 11 predicts an arc travel path as the predicted travel path RCR. When the yaw rate is “0”, the CPU 11 predicts a straight travel path along a direction of the acceleration of the own vehicle SV as the predicted travel path RCR), and ... (4) ... , ... (5) ... .. But, Kida does not explicitly teach the following limitations taught in Saeki:
(1) cause a notification device to notify a vehicle occupant in the mobile body of the presence of the object based on the future trajectory of the object (see at least Saeki, Abstract, disclosing a detecting unit 70 configured to perform moving object recognition and detect presence of a rear moving object in the first video data; and a display control unit 90 configured to display video clipped as the first area on a rearview monitor 140 that displays rear video of the vehicle, and display video clearly indicating presence of a detected rear moving object if the detecting unit 70 detects presence of the rear moving object),
(2) wherein the processor changes ... (3) ... notification by the notification device between a case where the object is predicted to approach the mobile body from behind the mobile body and a case where the object is predicted to pass by a side of the mobile body (see at least Saeki, Fig. 4, [0048] disclosing that FIG. 4 is a diagram illustrating an example of video data captured by the rear camera of the on-vehicle display system according to the first embodiment. The rear camera 110 is capable of capturing video in a wider area than the area displayed on the rearview monitor 140; however, the rear camera 110 clips a first area AC as an area that allows a driver of the vehicle 100 to appropriately recognize the rear side using the rearview monitor 140, and displays the first area AC on the rearview monitor 140; Fig. 10, [0101] disclosing that with regard to Fig. 10, It is assumed that a rear moving object V3 is moving from the first area AC to the blind spot area BL and a rear moving object V4 is receding from the vehicle 100 as displayed in first video data 110A1 and first video data 110A2. At Step S21, the display control unit determines that the rear moving objects V3 and V4 are detected in the first video data 110A1 (Yes at Step S21). Subsequently, the display control unit determines that the rear moving object V3 is moving from the first area AC to the blind spot area BL (Yes at Step S22). Then, it is determined that the rear moving object V3 is approaching (Yes at Step S23); [0123]; [0124]; [0128]; Fig. 30, [0178] disclosing that FIG. 30 is a diagram illustrating another example of video displayed on the rearview monitor, the right side monitor, and the left side monitor on the on-vehicle display system according to the fifth embodiment. The display control unit 90B causes the rearview monitor 140 to display rear video data 110C2B, the right side monitor 150 to display the right rear video data 110R2, and the left side monitor 160 to display the left rear video data 110L2. In this case, the rear moving object V1 has moved from the second area AL in the first video data 110A2, so that the rear moving object V1 is not displayed on the left side monitor 160) ... . But, neither Kida nor Saeki explicitly teach the following limitation taught in Iwahashi:
(3) the processor changes a position or direction of notification by the notification device between a case where the object is predicted to approach the mobile body from behind the mobile body and a case where the object is predicted to pass by a side of the mobile body (see at least Iwahashi, [0108] disclosing that when the relative position of the obstacle with respect to the own vehicle identified by the relative position identification unit 14 falls within the range of the detection indication region determined in S1 and is behind the own vehicle, the HCU 1 may generate an icon image for announcing that the obstacle is located behind the own vehicle. In this case, the generated icon image may be transmitted to the HUD 4, and displayed so as to be superimposed on the detection indication image and the obstacle notification image. That is, when the obstacle is within the detection indication region, the display control unit 19 changes the display mode of a boundary region in the direction corresponding to the relative position in the detection indication image) ... . But, neither Kida, Saeki nor Iwahashi explicitly teach the following limitation taught in Jun:
(4) in a case where the reception unit receives instruction information indicating that the mobile body is a four-wheel vehicle, the notification control unit causes the display device to dynamically display a predetermined figure diagonally upward from a lower left corner portion or a lower right corner portion of the display device (see at least Jun, Fig. 24, [0410] disclosing that as illustrated in FIG. 24, if the direction in which the preset input of the third type is a first direction (e.g., right), a first image 2200b may be received from a camera (Camera B) present at a position opposite to the first direction and output it on the display unit, and may reduce and output the screen 2100 being outputted on the display at the position (left side) opposite to the first direction; Fig. 25, [0413] disclosing that as illustrated in FIG. 25, if the direction in which the preset input of the third type is applied is a second direction (e.g., left), a second image 2200C may be received from a camera (Camera C) present at a position opposite to the second direction and output it on the display unit, and may reduce and output the screen 2100 being outputted at a position (right) opposite to the first direction) ... . But, neither Kida, Saeki, Iwahashi nor Jun explicitly teach the following limitation taught in Shoji:
(5) which corresponds to a direction in which the object has entered, in a case where the object is predicted to pass by the side of the mobile body and the object has entered a second predetermined area (as seen in claim 3, see at least Shoji, [0207] disclosing that a comparison of a zone ZL41 to the left rear of the vehicle 1 in FIG. 16 and a zone ZR41 to the right rear of the vehicle 1 in FIG. 16 with a zone ZL51 to the left rear of the vehicle 1 in FIG. 17 and a zone ZR51 to the right rear of the vehicle 1 in FIG. 17 indicates that the zone ZL41 and the zone ZR41 are closer to the vehicle 1 than the zone ZL51 and the zone ZR51. Hence, in a case where an object is present within the zone ZL41 or the zone ZR41, the warning sound control section 251, for example, makes the warning sound high pitched (raised to a high frequency) as compared with a case where the object is present within the zone ZL51 or the zone ZR51).
Kida, Saeki, Iwahashi, Jun and Shoji are analogous art to claim 1 because they are in the same field of recognizing an object included in image data. Kida relates to a monitor device for performing a support control to support driving of an own vehicle based on a camera image photographed by a camera for photographing an area around the own vehicle through a protection window (see at least Kida, [0001]). Saeki relates to an on-vehicle display device, system and method that displays data from a rear camera that is arranged on a rear part of the vehicle and configured to image a rear side of the vehicle (see at least Saeki, abstract, [0001]). Shoji relates to an information processing device that performs detection processing for an object on a periphery of a mobile device (see at least Shoji, Abstract). Jun relates to a display control device that controls a vehicle display (see Jun, [0001]). Iwahashi relates to a vehicle display control system, a computer-readable medium, a vehicle display control method, and a vehicle display control device (see Iwahashi, [0002]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device, as disclosed in Kida, to provide the benefit of (1) notifying a vehicle occupant in the mobile body of the presence of the object based on the future trajectory of the object, and (2) changing notification between a case where the object is predicted to approach the mobile body from behind the mobile body and a case where the object is predicted to pass by a side of the mobile body, as disclosed in Saeki, with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so would provide the benefit of improving safety by notifying the driver in the instance where vehicles are located in the blind spot (see at least Saeki, [0004]).
It would have further been obvious to have modified the device, as disclosed in Kida, as modified by Saeki, to provide the benefit of (3) changes a position or direction of notification by the notification device between a case where the object is predicted to approach the mobile body from behind the mobile body and a case where the object is predicted to pass by a side of the mobile body, as disclosed in Iwahashi, with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so would provide the benefit of providing the driver with an expanded notification with regard to vehicles approaching from the rear (see Iwahashi, [0028]-[0029].
It would have still further been obvious to have modified the device, as disclosed in Kida, as modified by Saeki and Iwahashi, to provide the benefit of (4) having information indicating that the mobile body is a four-wheel vehicle, the notification control unit causes the display device to dynamically display a predetermined figure diagonally upward from a lower left corner portion or a lower right corner portion of the display device, as disclosed in Jun, with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so would provide the further benefit of increasing the efficiency of management and manipulation of displays (see Jun, [0007]).
It would have still further been obvious to have modified the device, as disclosed in Kida, as modified by Saeki, Iwahashi and Jun, to provide the benefit of (5) having the instruction information correspond to a direction in which the object has entered, in a case where the object is predicted to pass by the side of the mobile body and the object has entered a second predetermined area, as disclosed in Shoji, with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so would provide the benefit of providing the driver notification in the instance where vehicles are located in various areas of the blind spot.
As per claim 2, the combination of Kia, Saeki, Iwahashi, Shoji and Jun discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 above. Shoji further discloses the following limitations:
wherein the notification device is a voice output device (see at least Shoji, [0088] disclosing that the HMI 31 generates and outputs, for example, as the auditory information, information represented by sound, such as a voice guidance, a warning sound, and a warning message. Further, the HMI 31 generates and outputs, as the tactile information, information given to the tactile sense of an occupant by, for example, a force, a vibration, a movement ), and
the processor causes the voice output device to output a warning sound in a case where the object is predicted to approach the mobile body from behind the mobile body and the object has entered a first predetermined area (see at least Shoji, [0207]).
As per claim 3, the combination of Kia, Saeki, Iwahashi, Shoji and Jun discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 above. Shoji further discloses the following limitations:
wherein the notification device is a voice output device (see at least Shoji, [0088]), and
the processor outputs a warning sound indicating whether the side is left or right in a case where the object is predicted to pass by the side of the object and the mobile body has entered a second predetermined area (see at least Shoji, [0207]).
As per claim 7, the combination of Kia, Saeki, Iwahashi, Shoji and Jun discloses all of the limitations of claim 1, as shown above. Saeki further discloses the following limitation:
wherein the processor increases a speed at which the predetermined figure is dynamically displayed as a relative speed of the object with respect to a speed of the mobile body increases (see at least Saeki, [0213] disclosing that at Step SB11 in the flowchart illustrated in Fig. 26, the display control unit 90B may determine whether a distance between the rear moving object V and the vehicle 100, a relative speed of the rear moving object V and the vehicle 100, and a moving state, such as a moving direction, of the rear moving object V meet predetermined conditions in addition to determining whether the rear moving object V is detected in the first video data 110A. More specifically, for example, when the detecting unit 70 detects that the distance between the rear moving object V and the vehicle 100 is equal to or shorter than a predetermined distance, the display control unit 90B may determine that the moving state satisfies a predetermined condition and perform the processes at Steps SB12 to SB20).
As per claim 8, the combination of Kia, Saeki, Iwahashi, Shoji, and Jun discloses all of the limitations of claim 1, as shown above. Saeki further discloses the following limitation:
wherein the processor increases a size of the predetermined figure as the object approaches the mobile body (see at least Saeki, [0063] disclosing that recognizing unit 71 recognizes whether a rear moving object V1 is located close to or away from the vehicle 100 based on a change in the size of the rear moving object V1 in each of the frames in the first video data 110A. The detecting unit 70 outputs a detection result to the display control unit 90).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kida, Saeki, Iwahashi, Shoji and Jun as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication Number 2024/0140469 to Shimizu.
As per claim 4, the combination of Kida, Saeki, Iwahashi, Shoji and Jun discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 above. But, neither Kida, Saeki, Iwahashi, Shoji nor Jun explicitly teach the following limitations taught in Shimizu:
wherein the notification control unit outputs a warning sound indicating whether the side is left or right in a case where the object is predicted to pass by the side of the object and the mobile body has entered a second predetermined area (see at least Shimizu, Fig. 6, [0070] disclosing that, with regard to Fig. 6, the warning area 71L, which is the left rear warning area set to the left rear of the host vehicle 40, can also be set or changed similarly to the warning area 71R, which is the right rear warning area. The area setting part 35 linearly extends the lateral lines L0 to L12 shown in FIG. 5 to the left of the traveling trajectory of the host vehicle 40 and sets points D0 to D12 and E0 to E12 on the lateral lines L0 to L12. On the lateral lines Li, the distances between the points Ai and points Di are all Y3, and the distances between the points Bi and Ei are all Y4. In FIG. 6, only i=0 to 7 are illustrated, and i=8 to 12 are omitted ; Fig. 8, [0076] disclosing that if the warning area surrounded by the points G0 to G12 and H0 to H12 is maintained as shown in FIG. 8, the other vehicle 41 is detected within the warning area and a notification is issued. According to the embodiment described above, since the warning area can be changed based on the variation in curvature of the traveling trajectory of the host vehicle 40, even when the host vehicle 40 is stopped, the warning area can be appropriately narrowed as with the warning area 72L shown in FIG. 8, making it possible to prevent the other vehicle 41 from being detected and a notification being issued ; Fig. 10, [0080] disclosing that as shown in FIG. 10, in addition to detection areas 80L and 80R that extend laterally to the left rear and right rear of the host vehicle 40, the detection region of the object detection part 33 may include a detection area 82C extending to the rear of the host vehicle 40 and detection areas 82L and 82R on the left and right of the detection area 82C that are also extending to the rear.; Fig. 11, [0081] disclosing that as shown in FIG. 11, a warning area 81C may set behind the host vehicle 40. As shown in FIG. 11, the rear center warning area 81C is preferably set in between the right rear warning area 81R and the left rear warning area 81L of the host vehicle 40.),
the first predetermined area is an area that is present within a first distance from the mobile body (see at least Shimizu, Fig. 6, [0070]; Fig. 8, [0076] Fig. 10, [0080]; Fig. 11, <showing Distances Do-D6, where D1-D5 are interpreted as a first distance> [0081]), and
the second predetermined area is an area that is present away from the mobile body by the first distance or more and within a second distance that is larger than the first distance (see at least Shimizu, Fig. 6, [0070]; Fig. 8, [0076] Fig. 10, [0080]; Fig. 11, <showing distances D0 - D6, where if D6 is interpreted as the second distance, and D1 is interpreted as the first distance, then the second distance is larger than the first> [0081]).
Kida, Saeki, Iwahashi, Shoji, Jun and Shimizu are analogous art to claim 4 because they are in the same field of recognizing and object included in image data. Kida relates to a monitor device for performing a support control to support driving of an own vehicle based on a camera image photographed by a camera for photographing an area around the own vehicle through a protection window (see at least Kida, [0001]). Saeki relates to an on-vehicle display device, system and method that displays data from a rear camera that is arranged on a rear part of the vehicle and configured to image a rear side of the vehicle (see at least Saeki, abstract, [0001]). Shoji relates to an information processing device that performs detection processing for an object on a periphery of a mobile device (see at least Shoji, Abstract). Jun relates to a display control device that controls a vehicle display (see Jun, [0001]). Iwahashi relates to a vehicle display control system, a computer-readable medium, a vehicle display control method, and a vehicle display control device (see Iwahashi, [0002]). Shimizu relates to a driving assistance device that performs driving assistance based on information on objects detected around a vehicle (see at least Shimizu, [0002]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device, as disclosed in Kida, as modified by Saeki, and further modified by Shoji, Iwahashi and Jun, to provide the benefit of outputting a warning sound indicating whether the side is left or right in a case where the object is predicted to pass by the side of the object and the mobile body has entered a second predetermined area, having the first predetermined area be an area that is present within a first distance from the mobile body and having the second predetermined area be an area that is present away from the mobile body by the first distance or more and within a second distance that is larger than the first distance, as disclosed in Shimizu, with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so would provide the benefit of improving safety by notifying the driver in the instance where vehicles are located in various areas of the blind spot.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kida, Saeki, Iwahashi, Shoji and Jun as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication Number 20230339494 to Hack et al. (hereafter Hack).
As per claim 5, the combination of Kida, Saeki, Iwahashi, Shoji and Jun discloses all of the limitations of claim 1, as shown above. Kida further discloses the following limitations:
wherein the notification device is a display device (see at least Kida, [0073] disclosing that when the time to collision TTC is equal to or shorter than a time threshold T1th for an alert control, this monitor device transmits the above display instruction signal to the display unit 30 and the above output instruction signal to the speaker 31 so as to perform the alert control for alerting the driver of the presence of the obstacle. The alert control is one of support controls which support the driving by the driver),
the information processing device further includes a reception unit that receives instruction information indicating whether the mobile body is a four-wheel vehicle or a two-wheel vehicle (see at least Kida, [0103] disclosing that CPU 11 calculates a turning radius of the own vehicle SV based on “the vehicle velocity Vs of the own vehicle SV and the yaw rate Yr” included in the vehicle state information acquired at Step 615. Thereafter, the CPU 11 predicts, as the predicted travel path RCR, a travel path along which “the center point PO (refer to FIG. 2) of a wheel axis connecting a rear left wheel and a rear right wheel” will move, based on the calculated turning radius. When the yaw rate Yr is generated (nonzero), the CPU 11 predicts an arc travel path as the predicted travel path RC < interpreted as instruction information indicating the mobile object is a four-wheeled vehicle>) ... .
Saeki further discloses the following limitation:
... (1) ... the notification control unit causes the display device to display a predetermined figure in a central part of the display device in a case where the object is predicted to approach the mobile body from behind the mobile body (see at least Saeki, Fig. 4, [0048]; Fig. 10, [0101]; [0123]; [0124]; [0128]; Fig. 30, [0178]) ... (2) ... . Shoji further discloses the following limitation:
(2) display a predetermined figure in a central part of the display device in a case where the object is predicted to approach the mobile body from behind the mobile body and the object has entered a first predetermined area (see at least Shoji, see claims 2 and 3, [0207]). But, neither Kida, Saeki, Iwahashi, Shoji nor Jun explicitly teach the following limitation taught in Hack:
(1) in a case where the reception unit receives instruction information indicating that the mobile body is a two-wheel vehicle (see at least Hack, [0057] disclosing that the alternative trajectory 134 is checked for its drivability with the aid of a mathematical single-track model of motorcycle 100. In this way it can be ensured that motorcycle 100 is able to travel alternative trajectory 134 without radical changes in velocity and/or radical changes in direction and without stability loss) ... .
Kida, Saeki, Iwahashi, Shoji, Jun and Hack are analogous art to claim 5 because they are in the same field of recognizing and object included in image data. Kida relates to a monitor device for performing a support control to support driving of an own vehicle based on a camera image photographed by a camera for photographing an area around the own vehicle through a protection window (see at least Kida, [0001]). Saeki relates to an on-vehicle display device, system and method that displays data from a rear camera that is arranged on a rear part of the vehicle and configured to image a rear side of the vehicle (see at least Saeki, abstract, [0001]). Shoji relates to an information processing device that performs detection processing for an object on a periphery of a mobile device (see at least Shoji, Abstract). Jun relates to a display control device that controls a vehicle display (see Jun, [0001]). Iwahashi relates to a vehicle display control system, a computer-readable medium, a vehicle display control method, and a vehicle display control device (see Iwahashi, [0002]). Hack relates to a method acquiring an environment of the motorcycle and free spaces in the environment (see Hack, Abstract).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device, as disclosed in Kida, as modified by Saeki, Iwahashi, Shoji and Jun, to provide the benefit of receiving instruction information indicating that the mobile body is a two-wheel vehicle, as disclosed in Hack, with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so would the benefit of improving safety by notifying the rider of a two wheel vehicle in the instance where vehicles are located in various areas of the blind spot.
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kia, Saeki, Shoji and Jun.
As per claim 9, similar to claim 1, Kida discloses [a]n information processing method (see at least Kida, Abstract) ,
wherein a computer recognizes an object included in image data obtained by capturing an image of a vicinity of a mobile body (see at least Kida, [0059]; [0060]),
predicts a future trajectory of the object (see at least Kida, [0110]; [0114]) ... (1) ... , ... (2) ... ,
receiving instruction information indicating whether the mobile body is a four-wheel vehicle or a two-wheel vehicle (as cited in claim 1, see at least Kida, [0103]), and , ... (3) ... , ... (4) ... . But, Kida does not explicitly teach the following limitations taught in Saeki:
(1) causes a notification device to notify a vehicle occupant in the mobile body of the presence of the object based on the future trajectory of the object (see at least Saeki, Abstract), and
(2) changes a mode of notification by the notification device between a case where the object is predicted to approach the mobile body from behind the mobile body and a case where the object is predicted to pass by a side of the mobile body (see at least Saeki, Fig. 4, [0048]; Fig. 10, [0101]; [0123]; [0124]; [0128]; Fig. 30, [0178]) ... . But, neither Kida nor Saeki explicitly teach the following limitation taught in Jun:
(3) in a case where receiving instruction information indicating that the mobile body is a four-wheel vehicle, dynamically displaying a predetermined figure diagonally upward from a lower left corner portion or a lower right corner portion of a display device (as cited in claim 1, see at least Jun, Fig. 24. [0410]; [0413] )... . But, neither Kida, Saeki nor Jun teach the following limitation taught in Shoji:
(4) which corresponds to a direction in which the object has entered, in a case where the object is predicted to pass by the side of the mobile body and the object has entered a second predetermined area (as cited in claim 1, see at least Shoji, [0027] ).
Kida, Saeki, Jun and Shoji are analogous art to claim 9 because they are in the same field of recognizing and object included in image data. Kida relates to a monitor device for performing a support control to support driving of an own vehicle based on a camera image photographed by a camera for photographing an area around the own vehicle through a protection window (see at least Kida, [0001]). Saeki relates to an on-vehicle display device, system and method that displays data from a rear camera that is arranged on a rear part of the vehicle and configured to image a rear side of the vehicle (see at least Saeki, abstract, [0001]). Shoji relates to an information processing device that performs detection processing for an object on a periphery of a mobile device (see at least Shoji, Abstract). Jun relates to a display control device that controls a vehicle display (see Jun, [0001]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device, as disclosed in Kida, to provide the benefit of (1) notifying a vehicle occupant in the mobile body of the presence of the object based on the future trajectory of the object, and (2) changing a mode of notification between a case where the object is predicted to approach the mobile body from behind the mobile body and a case where the object is predicted to pass by a side of the mobile body, as disclosed in Saeki, with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so would provide the benefit of improving safety by notifying the driver in the instance where vehicles are located in the blind spot (see at least Saeki, [0004]).
It would have further been obvious to have modified the device, as disclosed in Kida, as modified by Saeki, to provide the benefit of (3) dynamically displaying a predetermined figure diagonally upward from a lower left corner portion or a lower right corner portion of a display device in a case where receiving instruction information indicating that the mobile body is a four-wheel vehicle, as disclosed in Jun, with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so would provide the further benefit of increasing the efficiency of management and manipulation of displays (see Jun, [0007]).
It would still further have been obvious to have modified the device, as disclosed in Kida, as modified by Saeki and Jun, to provide the benefit of (4) having the display correspond to a direction in which the object has entered, in a case where the object is predicted to pass by the side of the mobile body and the object has entered a second predetermined area, as disclosed in Shoji, with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing provide the benefit of providing the driver notification in the instance where vehicles are located in various areas of the blind spot.
As per claim 10, similar to claims 1 and 9, Kida discloses ... (1) ... to execute:
causing a computer to recognize an object included in image data obtained by capturing an image of a vicinity of a mobile body (see at least Kida, [0059]; [0060])
such that a future trajectory of the object is predicted (see at least Kida, [0110]; [0114]) ... (2) ... ,
receiving instruction information indicating whether the mobile body is a four-wheel vehicle or a two-wheel vehicle (as cited in claim 1, see at least Kida, [0103]), and , ... (3) ... , ... (4) ... . But, Kida does not explicitly teach the following limitations taught in Saeki:
(1) [a] non-transitory computer-readable storage having stored thereon a program for causing a computer to execute (see at least Saeki, [0008] disclosing a non-transitory storage medium stores a program according to one aspect for causing a computer serving as an on-vehicle display control device to execute steps of acquiring first video data from a rear camera that is arranged on a rear part of a vehicle and that is configured to image a rear side of the vehicle; Claim 9)
(2) causing a notification device to notify a vehicle occupant in the mobile body of the presence of the object based on the future trajectory of the object such that a mode of notification by the notification device is changed between a case where the object is predicted to approach the mobile body from behind the mobile body and a case where the object is predicted to pass by a side of the mobile body (see at least Saeki, Abstract, Fig. 4, [0048]; Fig. 10, [0101]; [0123]; [0124]; [0128]; Fig. 30, [0178]).
But, neither Kida nor Saeki explicitly teach the following limitation taught in Jun:
(3) in a case where receiving instruction information indicating that the mobile body is a four-wheel vehicle, dynamically displaying a predetermined figure diagonally upward from a lower left corner portion or a lower right corner portion of a display device (as cited in claim 1, see at least Jun, Fig. 24. [0410]; [0413] )... . But, neither Kida, Saeki nor Jun teach the following limitation taught in Shoji:
(4) which corresponds to a direction in which the object has entered, in a case where the object is predicted to pass by the side of the mobile body and the object has entered a second predetermined area (as cited in claim 1, see at least Shoji, [0027] ).
Kida, Saeki, Shoji and Jun are analogous art to claim 10 because they are in the same field of recognizing and object included in image data. Kida relates to a monitor device for performing a support control to support driving of an own vehicle based on a camera image photographed by a camera for photographing an area around the own vehicle through a protection window (see at least Kida, [0001]). Saeki relates to an on-vehicle display device, system and method that displays data from a rear camera that is arranged on a rear part of the vehicle and configured to image a rear side of the vehicle (see at least Saeki, abstract, [0001]). Shoji relates to an information processing device that performs detection processing for an object on a periphery of a mobile device (see at least Shoji, Abstract). Jun relates to a display control device that controls a vehicle display (see Jun, [0001]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device, as disclosed in Kida, to provide the benefit of having (1) a non-transitory computer-readable storage having stored thereon a program for causing a computer to execute instructions, and (2) notifying a vehicle occupant in the mobile body of the presence of the object based on the future trajectory of the object such that a mode of notification by the notification device is changed between a case where the object is predicted to approach the mobile body from behind the mobile body and a case where the object is predicted to pass by a side of the mobile body, as disclosed in Saeki, with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so would provide the benefit of improving safety by notifying the driver in the instance where vehicles are located in the blind spot (see at least Saeki, [0004]).
It would have further been obvious to have modified the device, as disclosed in Kida, as modified by Saeki, to provide the benefit of (3) dynamically displaying a predetermined figure diagonally upward from a lower left corner portion or a lower right corner portion of a display device in a case where receiving instruction information indicating that the mobile body is a four-wheel vehicle, as disclosed in Jun, with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so would provide the further benefit of increasing the efficiency of management and manipulation of displays (see Jun, [0007]).
It would still further have been obvious to have modified the device, as disclosed in Kida, as modified by Saeki and Jun, to provide the benefit of (4) having the display correspond to a direction in which the object has entered, in a case where the object is predicted to pass by the side of the mobile body and the object has entered a second predetermined area, as disclosed in Shoji, with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing provide the benefit of providing the driver notification in the instance where vehicles are located in various areas of the blind spot.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kida in view of Saeki and Hack.
As per claim 11, Kida disclose the following limitations: ... (1) ...
to execute:
causing a computer to recognize an object included in image data obtained by capturing an image (see at least Kida, [0059]; [0060] )
... (2) ... vehicle such that a future trajectory of the object is predicted (see at least Kida, [0110]; [0114]) ... (3) ... ;... (4) ... ; ... (5) ... ; ... (6) ... . But, Kida does not teach the following limitations taught in Saeki:
(1) [a] non-transitory computer-readable storage having stored thereon a program for causing a computer (as in claims 9 and 10, see at least Saeki, [0008] ),
(3) causing a notification device to notify a vehicle occupant in the two-wheel vehicle of the presence of the object based on the future trajectory of the object (as in claim 9, see at least Saeki, Abstract);
(4) causing the computer to change a mode of notification by the notification device between a case where the object is predicted to approach the two-wheel vehicle from behind the two-wheel vehicle and a case where the object is predicted to pass by a side of the two-wheel vehicle (as in claim 9, see at least Saeki, Abstract, Fig. 4, [0048]; Fig. 10, [0101]; [0123]; [0124]; [0128]; Fig. 30, [0178] ), and;
(5) causing the notification device to display a predetermined figure in a central part of the notification device in a case where the object is predicted to approach the two-wheel vehicle from behind (as in claim 5, see at least Saeki, Fig. 4, [0048]; Fig. 10, [0101]; [0123]; [0124]; [0128]; Fig. 30, [0178]) ... . But, neither Kida nor Saeki explicitly teach the following limitation taught in Hack:
(2) capturing an image of a vicinity of a two-wheel (as in claim 5, see at least Hack, [0044] disclosing that Camera 104 acquires a section of an environment 106 of motorcycle 100 and images it in an item of environment information 108; [0057]) ... . But, neither Kida, Saeki nor Hack explicitly teach the following limitation taught in Shoji:
(6) display a predetermined figure in a central part of the notification device in a case where the object is predicted to approach the two-wheel vehicle from behind the two-wheel vehicle and the object has entered a first predetermined area (as in claims 2, 3 and 5, see at least Shoji, [0207]).
Kida, Saeki, Shoji and Hack are analogous art to claim 11 because they are in the same field of recognizing and object included in image data. Kida relates to a monitor device for performing a support control to support driving of an own vehicle based on a camera image photographed by a camera for photographing an area around the own vehicle through a protection window (see at least Kida, [0001]). Saeki relates to an on-vehicle display device, system and method that displays data from a rear camera that is arranged on a rear part of the vehicle and configured to image a rear side of the vehicle (see at least Saeki, abstract, [0001]). Shoji relates to an information processing device that performs detection processing for an object on a periphery of a mobile device (see at least Shoji, Abstract). Hack relates to a method acquiring an environment of the motorcycle and free spaces in the environment (see Hack, Abstract).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device, as disclosed in Kida, to provide the benefit of (1) having a non-transitory computer-readable storage having stored thereon a program for causing a computer to execute the steps, (3) notifying a vehicle occupant in the two-wheel vehicle of the presence of the object based on the future trajectory of the object, (4) changing a mode of notification by the notification device between a case where the object is predicted to approach the two-wheel vehicle from behind the two-wheel vehicle and a case where the object is predicted to pass by a side of the two-wheel vehicle, and (5) displaying a predetermined figure in a central part of the notification device in a case where the object is predicted to approach the two-wheel vehicle from behind, as disclosed by Saeki, with a reasonable expectation of success.
It would have further been obvious to modify the device as, disclosed in Kido as modified by Saeki, to provide the benefit of (2) capturing an image of a vicinity of a two-wheel, as disclosed in Hack, with a reasonable expectation of success.
It would further obvious to modify the device, as disclosed in Kida, as modified by Saeki to provide the benefit of (2) as disclosed in Hack, with a reasonable expectation of success. And it would have been still further obvious to modify the device as disclosed in Kia, as modified by Saeki and Hack, to provide the benefit of (6) displaying a predetermined figure in a central part of the display device in a case where the object is predicted to approach the mobile body from behind the mobile body and the object has entered a first predetermined area, as disclosed in Shoji, with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so would the benefit of improving safety by notifying the rider of a two wheel vehicle in the instance where vehicles are located in various areas of the blind spot.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kida, Saeki, Shoji and Jun.
As per claim 12, similar to claims 1, 9 and 10, Kida disclose ... (1) ... to execute:
causing a computer to recognize an object included in image data obtained by capturing an image of a vicinity of a four-wheel vehicle (see at least Kida, [0059]; [0060])
such that a future trajectory of the object is predicted (see at least Kida, [0110]; [0114]) ... , and
a four wheeled vehicle (see at least Kida [0103] disclosing that CPU 11 calculates a turning radius of the own vehicle SV based on “the vehicle velocity Vs of the own vehicle SV and the yaw rate Yr” included in the vehicle state information acquired at Step 615. Thereafter, the CPU 11 predicts, as the predicted travel path RCR, a travel path along which “the center point PO (refer to FIG. 2) of a wheel axis connecting a rear left wheel and a rear right wheel” will move, based on the calculated turning radius. When the yaw rate Yr is generated (nonzero), the CPU 11 predicts an arc travel path as the predicted travel path RC) ... (2) ... , ... (3) ... , ... (4) ... , ... (5) ... . But Kida does not explicitly teach the following limitations taught in Saeki:
(1) [a] non-transitory computer-readable storage having stored thereon a program for causing a computer (as in claim 9, see at least Saeki, [0008]; Claim 9)
(2) causing a notification device to notify a vehicle occupant in the four-wheel vehicle of the presence of the object based on the future trajectory of the object (as in claim 1, see at least Saeki, Abstract);
(3) causing the computer to change a mode of notification by the notification device between a case where the object is predicted to approach the four-wheel vehicle from behind the four-wheel vehicle and a case where the object is predicted to pass by a side of the four-wheel vehicle (as in claim 1, see at least Saeki, Fig. 4, [0048]; Fig. 10, [0101]; [0123]; [0124]; [0128]; Fig. 30, [0178]). But, neither Kida nor Saeki explicitly teach the following limitation taught in Jun:
(4) causing the notification device to dynamically display a predetermined figure diagonally upward from a lower left corner portion or a lower right corner portion of the notification device, which corresponds to a direction in which the object has entered (as in claim 6, see at least Jun, Fig. 24, [0410]; Fig. 25, [413]) ... . But, neither Kida, Saeki nor Jun explicitly teach the following limitation taught in Shoji:
(5) in a case where the object is predicted to pass by the side of the four-wheel vehicle and the object has entered a second predetermined area (as in claim 6, see at least Shoji, [0207]).
Kida, Saeki, Shoji and Jun are analogous art to claim 12 because they are in the same field of recognizing and object included in image data. Kida relates to a monitor device for performing a support control to support driving of an own vehicle based on a camera image photographed by a camera for photographing an area around the own vehicle through a protection window (see at least Kida, [0001]). Saeki relates to an on-vehicle display device, system and method that displays data from a rear camera that is arranged on a rear part of the vehicle and configured to image a rear side of the vehicle (see at least Saeki, abstract, [0001]). Shoji relates to an information processing device that performs detection processing for an object on a periphery of a mobile device (see at least Shoji, Abstract). Jun relates to a display control device that controls a vehicle display (see Jun, [0001]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device, as disclosed in Kida, to provide (1) a non-transitory computer-readable storage having stored thereon a program for causing a computer to execute the steps, (2) notifying a vehicle occupant in the four-wheel vehicle of the presence of the object based on the future trajectory of the object and (3) changing a mode of notification by the notification device between a case where the object is predicted to approach the four-wheel vehicle from behind the four-wheel vehicle and a case where the object is predicted to pass by a side of the four-wheel vehicle, as disclosed in Saeki, with a reasonable expectation of success. It would have been further obvious to have modified the device as disclosed in Kida as modified by Saeki to provide the benefit of (4) dynamically displaying a predetermined figure diagonally upward from a lower left corner portion or a lower right corner portion of the notification device, which corresponds to a direction in which the object has entered, as disclosed in Jun with a reasonable expectation of success.
It would still further be prime facie obvious to modify the device, as disclosed in Kida, as modified by Saeki and Jun, to provide the benefit of (5) having the display correspond to a direction in which the object has entered, in a case where the object is predicted to pass by the side of the mobile body and the object has entered a second predetermined area, as disclosed in Shoji, with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so would the benefit of improving safety by notifying the driver of a four wheel vehicle in the instance where vehicles are located in various areas of the blind spot.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: U.S. Patent Publication Number 2018/0288320 to Melick et al. (hereafter Melick ) see, Fig. 4; [0042] disclosing a prediction system can receive the state data from the perception system and predict one or more future locations for each object based on such state data; [0077] disclosing that the plurality of cameras are mounted and positioned, relative to the LIDAR system and the autonomous vehicle 402, to provide camera fields of view 404, 406, 408, 410, and 412 around the periphery of the autonomous vehicle 402. The LIDAR device is configured to generate LIDAR sweeps for use in detecting the location of objects around the autonomous vehicle. As further illustrated in FIG. 4, the cameras are positioned to create a plurality of field of view overlaps between the camera fields of view.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
PATRICK M. BRADY III
Examiner
Art Unit 3665
/PATRICK M BRADY/ Examiner, Art Unit 3665
/Erin D Bishop/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3665