DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Malkowski (Pub. No.: 2013/0335219 A1).
1) In regard to claim 1, Malkowski discloses the claimed sensor battery alarm system (figs. 1-2) comprising:
a wireless control device (fig. 1: 174) which communicates with each of a plurality of wireless sensors configured to monitor a state of any space or any equipment and receives state data related to a battery state of each wireless sensor (¶0021 discloses the gateway communicates with the sensor network; and
a sensor monitoring device which matches the received state data to identification information of each wireless sensor to store and manage the state data (¶0039 discloses displaying power level; hence, it is clear a signal with instructions on the power level is decoded to display the current power level),
provides an error alarm to a manager terminal device configured to manage the plurality of wireless sensors (¶0039), and
provides a monitoring screen that allows a position of the wireless sensor in which an error has occurred to be seen when the manager terminal device selects the provided error alarm (¶0039 discloses displaying the sensor node power levels).
2) In regard to claim 2 (dependent on claim 1), Malkowski further disclose the sensor battery alarm system of claim 1, wherein the wireless sensor includes a control unit of a central processing unit (CPU) or a microprocessor unit (MPU) and measures a voltage provided to the control unit to transmit the state data to the wireless control device when an operating voltage is lower than a set voltage (¶0029).
3) In regard to claim 4 (dependent on claim 1), Malkowski further disclose the sensor battery alarm system of claim 1, wherein the sensor monitoring device manages a battery state of each of the plurality of wireless sensors controlled by each wireless control device and provides a monitoring screen to each wireless control device when the monitoring screen is provided to the manager terminal device (¶0039).
4) In regard to claim 5 (dependent on claim 4), Malkowski further disclose the sensor battery alarm system of claim 4, wherein the sensor monitoring device displays identification information of each wireless sensor on a screen when the monitoring screen is provided and displays whether an error has occurred through a designated color (¶0047 discloses providing a color indication, and ¶0054 discloses receiving a data packet with indication of power levels).
5) In regard to claim 6, claim 6 is rejected and analyzed with respect to claim 1 and the references applied.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Malkowski (Pub. No.: 2013/0335219 A1).
1) In regard to claim 3 (dependent on claim 2), Malkowski further disclose the sensor battery alarm system of claim 2.
Malkowski does not explicitly disclose the wireless sensor measures the voltage by measuring an amount of charges of a cross-sectional area per unit time provided from a battery unit to the control unit.
However, official notice is taken by the examiner that both the concept and advantage is known for a battery monitoring system to measures a voltage by measuring an amount of charges of a cross-sectional area per unit time provided from a battery unit to a control unit.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was filed to allow the system of Malkowski to determine a battery power level by measuring an amount of charges of a cross-sectional area per unit time provided from a battery unit to a control unit.
One skilled in the art would be motivated to modify Malkowski as described above in order to use a known technique for determining the power level of a power source for a wireless sensor.
Conclusion
/CURTIS J KING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685