DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the second and third regions must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 8 recites “length of the first protrusion” and “length of the first member or the second member”. These recitations are missing their articles. The recitations should read “a length of the first protrusion protruding from the arm part is shorter than a length of the first member or the second member protruding from the arm part.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-5, 9 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 (line 1) recites “one of regions” whereas claim 1 (line 3) recites “a first region”. It is unclear if the regions referenced on the dependent claim are the same or different from the one previously recited. Also, it is noted that while initially recited as a singular region specifically associated with the first member, claim 3 appears to recite more than one with association to both the first and second members. Since only regions 121 and 122 are disclosed, they can’t be properly identified for examination purposes. If the applicant intends to claim plural regions, “one of regions” associated with both members should be introduced on the independent claim and they should be identifiable on the specification.
Also, regarding claim 3, the meaning of “on a side where the first/second member is unconnected to the arm part” is not clear. All sides of the first/second members appear to be connected to the arm part as the members are disclose extending from the arm part.
Claim 4 recites “the second region and the third region are each a tapered region disposed at a tip end of the rectangular member, and the recess is formed in the tapered region”. It is unclear if the claim requires a single or dual recesses.
Claim 12 recites “a member” (line 4). It is unclear if this member is the same or different from those previously recited.
Claim 13 recites “the dents including…”. It is unclear if each dent must include all the properties recited thereafter. For examination purposes, the limitation has been construed as if it was a Markush group.
Claim 14 recites “an object” (line 4). It is unclear if this object is the same or different from the one recited in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 9, 11-14, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 4834767 B2.
Re claim 1, JP discloses a gripping device (200; Fig. 3) to grip an object, comprising: an arm part (100, 150); a first member (240) fixed to a first region at an end of the arm part, and extending in a direction nonparallel to an extending direction of the arm part with the first region as a start point; and a second member (220, 230, 250, 261, 262) disposed in parallel with the first member and movable along the arm part, wherein the first member and the second member are configured to be capable of clamping and gripping the object, at least one of the first and second members has a tapered part that tapers toward a tip end of the at least one of the first and second members, and an inclined portion of the tapered part has a recess (280, 262i) that dents in a direction perpendicular to an extending direction of the inclined portion (both the first and second members are tapered and comprise perpendicular recesses; 280 and Figs. 12-14).
Re claim 2, JP discloses the gripping device according to claim 1 wherein the second member has a first elastic body (263), connection is made between the arm part and the second member through connection of the first elastic body and the arm part, and the first elastic body extends in a direction opposite to a direction from the second member toward the first member, thereby the second member forms an L shape (distal members 262 have shapes that resemble inverted L-shapes; Figs, 9-10 and 12-13).
Re claim 3, as best understood, JP discloses the gripping device according to claim 1 wherein at least one of regions has a recess (280, 262i), the regions including a second region being a tip end of the first member on a side, and a third region being a tip end of the second member on a side.
Re claim 4, as best understood, JP discloses the gripping device according to claim 3 wherein at least the first member is a rectangular member (see rectangular profile of first member illustrated on Fig. 2) extending from the arm part, the second region and the third region are each a tapered region disposed at a tip end of the rectangular member, and the recess (280, 262i) is formed in the tapered region (Figs. 3-4,, 6-7).
Re claim 5, as best understood, JP discloses gripping device according to claim 3 wherein a second elastic/rubber body (262) is attached to at least one of respective surfaces of the second region and the third region, the surfaces being opposed to each other.
Re claim 9, as best understood, JP discloses the gripping device according to claim 3 wherein at least a regions is configured of an elastic/rubber body.
Re claim 11, JP discloses the gripping device according to claim 1 further comprising a strain sensor (280) that detects deflection of the second member and thus detects a gripping state of the object by the first member and the second member.
Re claim 12, as best understood, JP discloses the gripping device according to claim 1 wherein the second member has a second elastic/rubber body (262), connection is made between the arm part and the second member through connection of a member (210) protruding from the arm part and the second elastic body, and the second elastic body is disposed to contract depending on strength of clamping when the first and second members grip the object by clamping the object.
Re claim 13, as best understood, JP discloses the gripping device according to claim 3 wherein the recess (280, 262i) includes a curved dent (262i) and a rectangular dent (280).
Re claim 14, JP discloses the gripping device according to claim 4 wherein the gripping device raises and lowers the arm part while supporting an object by the recess.
Regarding claim 16, JP does not explicitly teach wherein the object has a second recess. It should be noted, however, that the inclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims (see MPEP 2115).
Also, JP does not explicitly teach pressing the first member to one of inner walls of the second recess, and moves the second member in a direction away from the first member, thereby presses the second member to the other of the inner walls of the second recess, thereby grips the object via the second recess. Again, it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQsd 1647 (1987).
Re claim 17, JP discloses the gripping device according to claim 1 further comprising a driving mechanism (150) to change a posture of the arm part, and the driving mechanism is configured to be capable of changing a type of operation (e.g., horizontal/vertical movement) performed by the gripping device by changing the posture of the arm part.
Re claim 18, JP discloses the gripping device according to claim 1 wherein the first member and the second member are configured to respectively have rigidities, the rigidity of the first member being higher than the rigidity of the second member via elastic/rubber elements (.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 4834767 B2.
Re claim 10, JP discloses the gripping device according to claim 1 wherein the second member is thinner than the first member (or a hollow section within the helical spring 263), thereby the first and second members are configured to respectively have rigidities, the rigidity of the first member being higher than the rigidity of the second member.
JP does not explicitly teach, however, that the first member and the second member are formed of the same material. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to make first member and the second member from the same material to simplify its manufacture, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claim 6-8 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 4834767 B2 in view of Hara US 20180333864 A1.
Re claim 6, JP does not teach a gripping device according to claim 1 further comprising a first protrusion formed to protrude from the arm part in a direction opposite to the extending direction of the first member in the first region.
Re claim 7, JP does not teach a gripping device according to claim 6 wherein the first protrusion includes a second protrusion formed to protrude in a direction nonparallel to the direction in which the first protrusion protrudes from the arm part and in a direction opposite to a direction from the first member toward the second member.
Re claim 8, JP does not teach a gripping device according to claim 6 wherein length of the first protrusion protruding from the arm part is shorter than length of the first member or the second member protruding from the arm part.
Hara, on the other hand, discloses another gripping device an additional grasping device with shorter (z-axis) and perpendicular fingers/protrusions (Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the device of JP in view of Hara to include additional fingers/protrusions in view of Hara to provide additional versatility to the gripper.
Regarding claim 15, JP does not teach wherein the gripping device performs at least one of operations including: opening a door by hooking the second protrusion onto a grip of the door; closing the door by pushing the door by the first or second protrusion; and pulling a drawer structure out by hooking the second protrusion onto a slit of the drawer structure. However, it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQsd 1647 (1987).
Conclusion
SAUL J. RODRIGUEZ
Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3652
/SAUL RODRIGUEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3652