DETAILED ACTION
1. The office action is in response to original application filed on 12-11-24. Claims 1-8 and 10-20 are pending in the application and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted filed before the mailing of a first Office action on the merits. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97(b) (3). Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
4. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
6. Claims 1-8 and 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by US 2013/0127247 to Oh et al. (“ho”).
7. Regarding claim 1, ho discloses a method of operating a converter within an
operating range (abstract: "the converter includes a converter control unit for reducing the output voltage of the converter when the energy required by the loads, based on the current detected by the current detection unit, is greater than the rated capacity of the converter. Accordingly, energy supplied to the loads can be handled by the converter and the auxiliary battery so as to enable the safe operation of an electric vehicle system"), the converter being comprised in an electrical circuit for a vehicle (abstract: 'The present invention relates to an electric vehicle"), which electrical circuit comprises at least one load and at least one battery pack (abstract: "The electric vehicle according to the present invention comprises: a high voltage battery for driving the electric vehicle; an auxiliary battery for supplying a plurality of electronic loads with driving power; a converter converting the voltage of the high voltage battery to a voltage required by the electronic loads via PWM switching;"), which electrical circuit comprises at least one load and at least one battery pack, said method comprising: determining the operating range by determining a relation between output current from the converter with rapid current drop in the electrical circuit (abstract: "a current detection unit for detecting the output current of the converter"; [0036]: "If energy needed for load is higher than a rated capacity of the converter on the basis of a current detected by the current detection unit 160, the converter controller 144 may reduce the output voltage of the converter 140."; see Box No. VIII regarding the interpretation of this feature), which rapid current drop is based on parameters from the at least one load and the at least one battery pack (abstract: "a current detection unit for detecting the output current of the converter"; [0036]: "If energy needed for load is higher than a rated capacity of the converter on the basis of a current detected by the current detection unit 160, the converter controller 144 may reduce the output voltage of the converter 140"; see Box No. VIII regarding the interpretation of this feature), and regulating a voltage from the converter for controlling the output current within the determined operating range ([0010]: "reducing an output voltage of the converter"; [0012]: "prevention of malfunction caused by overcurrent"; [0035]: "The converter power unit 142 is controlled by the converter controller 144. The converter controller 144 controls the converter power unit 142 so that the amplitude of an output voltage of the converter power unit 142 can be adjusted").
8. Regarding claim 2, ho discloses measuring a current (160) through the at least one battery pack for operating the converter.
9. Regarding claim 3, ho discloses the voltage from the converter is lowered if the converter is operating outside the determined operating range ([0010]: "reducing an output voltage of the converter"; [0012]: "prevention of malfunction caused by overcurrent"; [0035]: "The converter power unit 142 is controlled by the converter controller 144. The converter controller 144 controls the converter power unit 142 so that the amplitude of an output voltage of the converter power unit 142 can be adjusted").
10. Regarding claim 4, ho discloses determining of the operating range is based mainly on a sudden disconnection or malfunction of said at least one battery pack ([0010]: "reducing an output voltage of the converter"; [0012]: "prevention of malfunction caused by overcurrent"; [0035]: "The converter power unit 142 is controlled by the converter controller 144. The converter controller 144 controls the converter power unit 142 so that the amplitude of an output voltage of the converter power unit 142 can be adjusted").
11. Regarding claim 5, ho discloses at a start of the vehicle (para ;0028, when the vehicle starts or stops driving, the PRA 120 switches a plurality of relays according to a predetermined order, such that the operating power of a high voltage stored in the battery 110 can be applied to individual parts of the vehicle) controlling the converter to output setting a low charging voltage over the circuit, measuring the output current from the converter and a current (160) through the at least one battery pack with comparing the measured output current from the converter and a current (160) through the at least one battery pack with the determined operating range and regulating the voltage over the circuit, wherein the voltage over the circuit is increased if within the determined operating range, and the voltage over the circuit is decreased if outside the determined operating range ([0010]: "reducing an output voltage of the converter"; [0012]: "prevention of malfunction caused by overcurrent"; [0035]: "The converter power unit 142 is controlled by the converter controller 144. The converter controller 144 controls the converter power unit 142 so that the amplitude of an output voltage of the converter power unit 142 can be adjusted").
12. Regarding claim 6, ho discloses the increase of voltage over the circuit is performed in steps of 1 - 5% (para; 0035, The converter controller 144 controls the converter power unit 142 so that the amplitude of an output voltage of the converter power unit 142 can be adjusted).
13. Regarding claim 7, ho discloses the decrease of voltage over the circuit is performed in steps of 2 - 10% (para; 0035, The converter controller 144 controls the converter power unit 142 so that the amplitude of an output voltage of the converter power unit 142 can be adjusted).
14. Regarding claim 8, ho discloses a computer program product stored on a non-transitory computer-readable medium (battery management system (BMS) 190), said computer program product for operating a converter within an operating range, the converter being comprised in an electrical circuit for a vehicle, which electrical circuit comprises at least one load and at least one battery pack, wherein said computer program product comprising computer instructions to cause one or more computing devices to perform the following operations: determine the operating range by determining a relation between output current from the converter with rapid current drop in the electrical circuit, which rapid current drop is based on parameters from the at least one load and the at least one battery pack (abstract: "a current detection unit for detecting the output current of the converter"; [0036]: "If energy needed for load is higher than a rated capacity of the converter on the basis of a current detected by the current detection unit 160, the converter controller 144 may reduce the output voltage of the converter 140."; see Box No. VIII regarding the interpretation of this feature); and regulating a voltage from the converter for controlling the output current within the
determined operating range (para; 0054).
15. Regarding claim 10, ho discloses for controlling within an operating range a converter (140) in an electric circuit, said electric circuit comprising at least one load (180) and at least one battery pack (150), the controller configured to: determine the operating range by determining a relation between output current from the converter with rapid current drop in the electrical circuit, which rapid current drop is based on parameters from the at least one load and the at least one battery pack (abstract: "a current detection unit for detecting the output current of the converter"; [0036]: "If energy needed for load is higher than a rated capacity of the converter on the basis of a current detected by the current detection unit 160, the converter controller 144 may reduce the output voltage of the converter 140."; see Box No. VIII regarding the interpretation of this feature); and regulating a voltage from the converter for controlling the output current within the determined operating range ([0010]: "reducing an output voltage of the converter"; [0012]: "prevention of malfunction caused by overcurrent"; [0035]: "The converter power unit 142 is controlled by the converter controller 144. The converter controller 144 controls the converter power unit 142 so that the amplitude of an output voltage of the converter power unit 142 can be adjusted").
16. Regarding claim 11, ho discloses an electrical system configured for use in a vehicle, said electrical system comprising a converter at least one load (abstract: "the converter includes a converter control unit for reducing the output voltage of the converter when the energy required by the loads, based on the current detected by the current detection unit, is greater than the rated capacity of the converter. Accordingly, energy supplied to the loads can be handled by the converter and the auxiliary battery so as to enable the safe operation of an electric vehicle system"), and at least one battery pack (abstract: "The electric vehicle according to the present invention comprises: a high voltage battery for driving the electric vehicle; an auxiliary battery for supplying a plurality of electronic loads with driving power; a converter converting the voltage of the high voltage battery to a voltage required by the electronic loads via PWM switching;"), sensors (fig. 1, 160) for measuring current through the at least one battery pack, sensors for measuring output current from the converter and sensors for measuring voltage over the electrical circuit, and a controller connected to the sensors and the converter (abstract: "a current detection unit for detecting the output current of the converter"; [0036]: "If energy needed for load is higher than a rated capacity of the converter on the basis of a current detected by the current detection unit 160, the converter controller 144 may reduce the output voltage of the converter 140."; see Box No. VIII regarding the interpretation of this feature), and configured for controlling the converter within an operating range, said controller configured to: determine the operating range by determining a relation between output current from the converter with rapid current drop in the electrical circuit, which rapid current drop is based on parameters from the at least one load and the at least one battery pack (abstract: "a current detection unit for detecting the output current of the converter"; [0036]: "If energy needed for load is higher than a rated capacity of the converter on the basis of a current detected by the current detection unit 160, the converter controller 144 may reduce the output voltage of the converter 140"; see Box No. VIII regarding the interpretation of this feature), and regulating a voltage from the converter for controlling the output current within the determined operating range ([001 0]: "reducing an output voltage of the converter"; [0012]: "prevention of malfunction caused by overcurrent"; [0035]: "The converter power unit 142 is controlled by the converter controller 144. The converter controller 144 controls the converter power unit 142 so that the amplitude of an output voltage of the converter power unit 142 can be adjusted").
17. Regarding claim 12, ho discloses a converter (140); at least one load; at least one battery pack (abstract: "The electric vehicle according to the present invention comprises: a high voltage battery for driving the electric vehicle; an auxiliary battery for supplying a plurality of electronic loads with driving power; a converter converting the voltage of the high voltage battery to a voltage required by the electronic loads via PWM switching;") ; sensors (160) for measuring current through the at least one battery pack; sensors for measuring output current from the converter; sensors for measuring voltage over the electrical circuit; and a controller connected to the sensors and the converter, and configured for controlling the converter within an operating range (abstract: "a current detection unit for detecting the output current of the converter"; [0036]: "If energy needed for load is higher than a rated capacity of the converter on the basis of a current detected by the current detection unit 160, the converter controller 144 may reduce the output voltage of the converter 140."; see Box No. VIII regarding the interpretation of this feature), said controller configured to: determine the operating range by determining a relation between output current from the converter with rapid current drop in the electrical circuit, which rapid current drop is based on parameters from the at least one load and the at least one battery pack (abstract: "a current detection unit for detecting the output current of the converter"; [0036]: "If energy needed for load is higher than a rated capacity of the converter on the basis of a current detected by the current detection unit 160, the converter controller 144 may reduce the output voltage of the converter 140."; see Box No. VIII regarding the interpretation of this feature); and regulating a voltage from the converter for controlling the output current within the determined operating range ([0010]: "reducing an output voltage of the converter"; [0012]: "prevention of malfunction caused by overcurrent"; [0035]: "The converter power unit 142 is controlled by the converter controller 144. The converter controller 144 controls the converter power unit 142 so that the amplitude of an output voltage of the converter power unit 142 can be adjusted").
18. Regarding claim 13, ho discloses computer instructions to cause one or more computing devices to perform the following operation of measuring a current (160) through the at least one battery pack (150) for operating the converter.
19. Regarding claim 14, ho discloses the voltage from the converter is lowered if the converter is operating outside the determined operating range ([0010]: "reducing an output voltage of the converter"; [0012]: "prevention of malfunction caused by overcurrent"; [0035]: "The converter power unit 142 is controlled by the converter controller 144. The converter controller 144 controls the converter power unit 142 so that the amplitude of an output voltage of the converter power unit 142 can be adjusted").
20. Regarding claim 15, ho discloses the determining the operating range is based on a sudden disconnection or malfunction of said at least one battery pack range ([0010]: "reducing an output voltage of the converter"; [0012]: "prevention of malfunction caused by overcurrent"; [0035]: "The converter power unit 142 is controlled by the converter controller 144. The converter controller 144 controls the converter power unit 142 so that the amplitude of an output voltage of the converter power unit 142 can be adjusted").
21. Regarding claim 16, ho discloses computer instructions to cause one or more computing devices (190) to perform the following operation: at a start of the vehicle (para ;0028, when the vehicle starts or stops driving, the PRA 120 switches a plurality of relays according to a predetermined order, such that the operating power of a high voltage stored in the battery 110 can be applied to individual parts of the vehicle), controlling the converter to output a low charging voltage over the circuit; measuring the output current from the converter and a current through the at least one battery pack; comparing the measured output current from the converter and a current through the at least one battery pack with the determined operating range; and regulating the voltage over the circuit, wherein (abstract: "The electric vehicle according to the present invention comprises: a high voltage battery for driving the electric vehicle; an auxiliary battery for supplying a plurality of electronic loads with driving power; a converter converting the voltage of the high voltage battery to a voltage required by the electronic loads via PWM switching;") the voltage over the circuit is increased if within the determined operating range, and the voltage over the circuit is decreased if outside the determined operating range (para; 0007, An output voltage of the converter is slightly higher than a normal voltage of the auxiliary battery, such that the converter can charge the auxiliary battery and at the same time can provide energy to necessary loads).
22. Regarding claim 17, ho discloses to measure a current (160) through the at least one battery pack for operating the converter (fig. 1).
23. Regarding claim 18, ho discloses the voltage from the converter is lowered if the converter is operating outside the determined operating range ([0010]: "reducing an output voltage of the converter"; [0012]: "prevention of malfunction caused by overcurrent"; [0035]: "The converter power unit 142 is controlled by the converter controller 144. The converter controller 144 controls the converter power unit 142 so that the amplitude of an output voltage of the converter power unit 142 can be adjusted").
24. Regarding claim 19, ho discloses determining the operating range is based on a sudden disconnection or malfunction of said at least one battery pack range ([0010]: "reducing an output voltage of the converter"; [0012]: "prevention of malfunction caused by overcurrent"; [0035]: "The converter power unit 142 is controlled by the converter controller 144. The converter controller 144 controls the converter power unit 142 so that the amplitude of an output voltage of the converter power unit 142 can be adjusted").
25. Regarding claim 20, ho discloses at a start of the vehicle (para ;0028, when the vehicle starts or stops driving, the PRA 120 switches a plurality of relays according to a predetermined order, such that the operating power of a high voltage stored in the battery 110 can be applied to individual parts of the vehicle), control the converter to output a low charging voltage over the circuit; measure the output current (160) from the converter and a current through the at least one battery pack; compare the measured output current from the converter and a current through the at least one battery pack with the determined operating range; and regulate the voltage over the circuit, wherein the voltage over the circuit is increased if within the determined operating range, and the voltage over the circuit is decreased if outside the determined operating range ([0010]: "reducing an output voltage of the converter"; [0012]: "prevention of malfunction caused by overcurrent"; [0035]: "The converter power unit 142 is controlled by the converter controller 144. The converter controller 144 controls the converter power unit 142 so that the amplitude of an output voltage of the converter power unit 142 can be adjusted").
Conclusion
26. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
KIM et al. US 2020/0023746 Al- A battery charger of a vehicle which has a simple structure and a small size, and more particularly, a battery charger of an electric vehicle charging a battery using power supplied by a variety of power sources is provided. The battery charger of an electric vehicle includes a switch network which includes a first switch configured to connect any one of an AC power input line and a neutral line, which form an AC power input terminal, to a power factor corrector, one or more second switches configured to selectively connect the AC power input terminal to the power factor corrector, a link capacitor, or an inverter, and a third switch configured to electrically connect a motor to a high voltage battery, and a controller configured to control the power factor corrector and the switch network according to conditions of input AC power input through the AC power input terminal.
/ESAYAS G YESHAW/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/REXFORD N BARNIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2836