DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The preliminary amendment filed on 12/11/2024 is entered and acknowledged by the Examiner. Claims 1-13 have been canceled. New claims 14-26 have been added and are currently pending in the instant application.
Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT/EP2023/065604 (filed on 06/12/2023). Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in EPO on 06/13/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) filed on 12/11/2024 and 05/05/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and have been considered by the examiner. An initialed copy accompanies this Office Action.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 12/11/2024 have been considered.
Double Patenting
Claims 14-21 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 16-25 of copending Application No. 18/873,530 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending Application discloses a positive electrode active material comprises the content of Ni, Mn, Co, and M within the claimed proportions with a ratio I(003)/I(104) of 1.550 to 3.000 (See claims 16-18). The copending Application anticipates the claimed positive electrode active material.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the first positive electrode active material…" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 112349885 A (hereinafter Wu) in view of CN 113439073 A (hereinafter Kaneda).
Wu disclose a modified lithium ion battery positive electrode (cathode) material and a method of making the positive electrode material having a formula LixNiaCobMncMdO2 wherein 0.95≤x≤1.10, 0.60≤a≤0.90, 0.03≤b≤0.40, 0.03≤c≤0.4, and 0.0≤d≤0.10 and M including Zr (See Abstract and [0014]). In one embodiment, Wu discloses the positive electrode material having a formula Li1.04Ni0.8Co0.1Mn0.095Zr0.005O2 with a ratio of peak intensities in X-ray powder diffraction of I(003)/I(104) = 1.96 (See [0048]). The mol% of zirconium (Zr) of Wu is Zr = 0.005 and fulfills the claimed A element other than Li, Ni, Mn, Co, and O, in a content a (0.005). The mol% of Ni, Mn, and Co in the positive electrode of Wu is 0.8:0.095:0.10, respectively, and fulfill the claimed contents of x, y, and z.
Wu failed to disclose the (003) peak is located at 2Ɵ from 17.0° to 20.0° and (104) peak is located at 2Ɵ from 43.0° to 46.0°.
In the same field of endeavor, Kaneda discloses a positive electrode active material for lithium ion secondary battery comprising particles of lithium composite oxide containing Li:Ni:Mn:Zr:M = a:b:c:d:e wherein 0.95≤a≤1.20, 0.70≤b≤0.98, 0.01≤c≤0.20, 0.0003≤d≤0.01, and 0.01≤e≤0.20 and M including Co (See Abstract and top of unlabeled page 3). In one embodiment, Kaneda discloses that the positive electrode active material is Li1.015Ni0.8468Mn0.0987Zr0.0050Co0.0495O2 (See bottom of unlabeled page 21). Kaneda further discloses that the positive electrode active material having XRD pattern of 2Ɵ = 18° near the (003) surface peak intensity and 2Ɵ = 44° near the (104) surface peak intensity to calculate intensity ratio I(003)/I(104) of more than 1.70 (See Abstract and middle of unlabeled page 16).
The positive electrode active material of Kaneda having the same or substantially same positive electrode active material of Wu. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to calculate the intensity ratio I(003)/I(104) of Wu with (003) peak located at 2Ɵ from 18.0° and (104) peak located at 2Ɵ from 44.0° as suggested by Kaneda because Kaneda discloses that the calculation of the intensity ratio I(003)/I(104) is done at (003) peak and (104) peak.
In view of the foregoing, the above claims have failed to patentably distinguish over the applied art.
Conclusion
/KHANH T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761