DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Claims 1-9 of the amended claim set received 12/11/2024 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-5 and 9 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention or species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/05/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Becker (US 2002/0050237).
Regarding Claim 6, Becker discloses in Fig. 1, a combustor of a gas turbine, the combustor comprising:
a shell 3 surrounding a combustion chamber 2;
a liner 9 located inside the shell 3 and facing the combustion chamber 2;
a cooling space 19 into which compressed air S flows and which is located between the shell 3 and the liner 9; and
a fixture by which the liner is attached to the shell, the fixture including
a support 11 including a shaft portion (shaft of 11) and a head portion (trapezoid portion of 11), the shaft portion penetrating the shell 3, the head portion being connected to the shaft portion and supporting the liner 9 from an inside (represented by the combustion chamber 2) of the shell in a radial direction,
a spacer 7 interposed between the shell 3 and the liner 9,
a fixing structure 13 attached to the shaft portion of the support 11 at an outside of the shell in the radial direction, and
a biasing structure 15 that is located outside the shell 3 in the radial direction and located inside the fixing structure 13 in the radial direction and biases the fixing structure 13 toward the outside in the radial direction such that the liner 9 approaches the shell in the radial direction against the compressed air S flowing into the cooling space 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Becker (US 2002/0050237) in view of Liebe (US 2004/0250549).
Regarding Claim 7, Becker discloses the claimed invention as discussed above. Becker additionally discloses the biasing structure 15 includes and elastic body 15 (see Fig. 1) but does not disclose wherein the biasing structure includes: an upper seat located outside the elastic body in the radial direction and a lower seat located inside the elastic body in the radial direction.
Liebe also discloses a combustor of a gas turbine (see Figs. 2 and 6), the combustor comprising a shell 3 and a liner 4, a fixing structure 107, a support 101, and an elastic body 105, similar to that disclosed by Becker. Liebe teaches in Fig. 6, the biasing structure including the elastic body 105, an upper seat 103+106 located outside the elastic body in the radial direction and a lower seat 102 located inside the elastic body in the radial direction as well as a friction damping element 108.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified Becker such that the biasing structure additionally includes the upper seat, lower seat, and friction damping element taught by Liebe in order to damp relative movement between the liner and the shell and corresponding vibrations (Liebe para. 0062).
Regarding Claim 8, Becker in view of Liebe teaches the claimed invention as discussed above. Liebe teaches the upper seat and lower seat of the biasing structure of the combination as discussed above which further includes, as shown in Fig. 6, wherein: the upper seat 103+106 and the lower seat 102 include respective opposing surfaces (see annotation of Fig. 6 below) which bypass the elastic body 105 (are spaced from the elastic body such that the elastic body is not positioned between the opposing surfaces) and are opposed to each other in the radial direction; and there is a gap between the opposing surface of the upper seat and the opposing surface of the lower seat (see figure).
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found in the attached Notice of References Cited.
Contact Information
/R.D.F/Examiner, Art Unit 3741
/PHUTTHIWAT WONGWIAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3741