U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any
correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of
rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be
the same under either status.
DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to the claims filed April 10, 2026, in which claims 1-2, 5, 7-19, 21-22, and 24-25 were presented for examination, of which claims 7 and 13-19 were withdrawn by the Applicant, and claims 8-12 and 22 were withdrawn by the Examiner, due to be drawn to a nonelected embodiment, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species I, Sub-Species A (Fig. 1A-4) in the reply filed on April 10, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that “Traversal is made on the grounds that the claims identified as part of Species II, III, and IV should be regrouped and examined together.
Examination of the claims identified under Species II, III, and IV together would impose no undue search burden on the Examiner, as the identified claims under Species II, III, and IV are directed to the same type of structural element within the same type of article. A search for prior art relating to foot wrapping members on a skate boot would necessarily encompass features that are common to all those claims. Requiring separate elections among these closely related embodiments would serve no purpose other than to delay prosecution. This is contrary to the goal of compact opposition.” This is not found persuasive because Species IV (Fig. 6A-6C) contains the structure of a “vamping portion” specific to that embodiment, as presented in Applicants Specification filed December 11, 2024 in Par. 0078. This would require a search outside of the CPC and USPC classes that the elected Species falls into, leading to a serious search burden on the Examiner; unless Applicant believes the invention in Fig. 6A-6C is an obvious variant of the elected embodiment.
The restriction requirement set forth in the previous Office Action is maintained
as being proper. However, upon further consideration, Species III encompass subject matter found to be in the elected Species II. As such, Examiner Marin has grouped in the embodiment of Species III (Fig. 5A-5B, claims 1, 5, 21, and 24) with the embodiment presented in Species II.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
As MPEP 821 Treatment of Claims Held To Be Drawn to Nonelected Inventions states,
Claims found to be drawn to nonelected inventions, including claims drawn to nonelected species or inventions that may be eligible for rejoinder, are treated as indicated in MPEP § 821.01 through § 821.04.
All claims that the examiner finds are not directed to the elected invention are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner in accordance with 37 CFR 1.142(b). See MPEP § 821.01 through § 821.04. The examiner should clearly set forth in the Office action the reasons why the claims withdrawn from consideration are not readable on the elected invention. Applicant may traverse the requirement pursuant to 37 CFR 1.143. If a final requirement for restriction is made by the examiner, applicant may file a petition under 37 CFR 1.144 for review of the restriction requirement if the applicant made a timely traversal. See In re Hengehold, 440 F.2d 1395, 169 USPQ 473 (CCPA 1971). When an election results in the withdrawal of claims such that the assigned examiner believes the C* classification picture is incorrect, the examiner should submit a C* classification challenge prior to an action on the merits of the elected claims to ensure the C* classification picture on the application appropriately reflects the elected invention.
The following claims are withdrawn from consideration as they are directed to a nonelected invention: Claims 8-12 and 22. See 37 CFR 1.142(b).
These claims are not drawn to the elected invention as required by the restriction, due to including structural limitations that are not found within the elected Species, due to the “vamping structure” being claimed.
Therefore, Examiner has withdrawn claims 8-12 and 22.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5, 21 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHAMPAGNE et al. “Champagne” (US PG Pub. 2020/0359734).
Regarding claim 1, Champagne discloses a skate boot (10, Fig. 1-2) comprising:
a rigid boot shell (30) having at least a heel portion (see annotated Fig. 2 below), a sole portion (see annotated Fig. 2 below), and a medial quarter portion (see annotated Fig. 2 below) and a lateral quarter portion (see annotated Fig. 2 below) each extending forward of the heel portion towards a front end of the skate boot (see annotated Fig. 2 below), the medial quarter portion and the lateral quarter portion defining a foot receiving cavity in between them, the foot receiving cavity having a volume for receiving at least a metatarsal region of a wearer's foot (Par. 0045, lines: 1-3, “for receiving…foot” is considered as a functional limitation, the device of the prior art discloses substantially all of the claimed structural elements and therefore it is fully capable to perform the claimed function. Examiner notes the cavity is shown between sides 27 and 25 in Fig. 1 and 2);
a tongue (34) extending between the medial quarter portion and the lateral quarter portion above the volume (examiner notes as shown in Fig. 1);
a lacing system (47) overlying the tongue (34) and linking the medial quarter portion and the lateral quarter portion (examiner notes as shown in Fig. 1); and
a foot wrapping member (312, Fig. 2) extending from the lateral quarter portion (examiner notes as shown in Fig. 1 and annotated Fig. 2 below).
Fig. 1-Examiner Annotated
\
Fig. 2-Examiner Annotated
Champagne does not explicitly disclose the foot wrapping member movable relative to the rigid boot shell in a downward direction towards the sole portion of the rigid boot shell so as to vary the volume at least from a lateral side of the foot receiving cavity along the metatarsal region of the wearer's foot.
However, Champagne does disclose the material of the foot wrapping member (312) can be leather (Par. 0059). One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize due to the material of foot wrapping member being of “leather”, it is capable of moving, to a degree, in a downward direction due to tightening forces from the laces, 47, and doing so would result in varying cavity space. Examiner also notes the limitation “movable relative…foot” is considered as a functional limitation, the device of the prior art discloses substantially all of the claimed structural elements and therefore it is fully capable to perform the claimed function.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the foot wrapping member disclosed by Champagne, would be capable of being moveable, to a degree, due to the material of it and forces from the ski boots tightening mechanism, in order to enhance user fitment when the ski boot is in use.
Regarding claim 2, Champagne discloses the lateral quarter portion has an edge (see annotated Fig. 2 above) extending from a front end of the rigid boot shell, the edge defining a notch (see annotated Fig. 1 above), the foot wrapping member extending in the notch (Examiner notes shell 30 includes a “notch” due to the annotated front end defining a recessed space with respect to the fully assembled ski boot shown in Fig. 1. In Fig. 1, it is shown that foot wrapping member 312 is “extending in the notch” due to extending along the annotated edge of the lateral quarter portion).
Regarding claim 5, Champagne discloses the foot wrapping member is a first foot wrapping member (312), the skate boot including a second foot wrapping member (311) secured to the medial quarter portion (as shown in Fig. 1), the second foot wrapping member movable relative to the rigid boot shell (“movable relative…foot” is considered as a functional limitation, the device of the prior art discloses substantially all of the claimed structural elements and therefore it is fully capable to perform the claimed function. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize due to the material of foot wrapping member (312) being of “leather” (Par. 0059), it is capable of moving, to a degree, in a downward direction due to tightening forces from the laces, 47, and doing so would result in varying cavity space).
Regarding claim 21, Champagne discloses the foot wrapping member is a first foot wrapping member (312), the skate boot including a second foot wrapping member (311) secured to the medial quarter portion (as shown in Fig. 1), the second foot wrapping member movable relative to the rigid boot shell (“movable relative…foot” is considered as a functional limitation, the device of the prior art discloses substantially all of the claimed structural elements and therefore it is fully capable to perform the claimed function. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize due to the material of foot wrapping member (312) being of “leather” (Par. 0059), it is capable of moving, to a degree, in a downward direction due to tightening forces from the laces, 47, and doing so would result in varying cavity space).
Regarding claim 25, Champagne discloses further comprising a foot wrapping member (312) extending from the lateral quarter portion, in the notch (as shown in Fig. 1, examiner notes In Fig. 1, it is shown that foot wrapping member 312 is “extending in the notch” due to extending along the annotated edge of the lateral quarter portion).
Champagne does not explicitly disclose the foot wrapping member movable relative to the rigid boot shell in a downward direction towards the sole portion of the rigid boot shell so as to vary the volume at least from a lateral side of the foot receiving cavity along the metatarsal region of the wearer's foot.
However, Champagne does disclose the material of the foot wrapping member (312) can be leather (Par. 0059). One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize due to the material of foot wrapping member being of “leather”, it is capable of moving, to a degree, in a downward direction due to tightening forces from the laces, 47, and doing so would result in varying cavity space. Examiner also notes the limitation “movable relative…foot” is considered as a functional limitation, the device of the prior art discloses substantially all of the claimed structural elements and therefore it is fully capable to perform the claimed function.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the foot wrapping member disclosed by Champagne, would be capable of being moveable, to a degree, due to the material of it and forces from the ski boots tightening mechanism, in order to enhance user fitment when the ski boot is in use.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Champagne.
Regarding claim 24, Champagne discloses a skate boot (10, Fig. 1 and 2) comprising: a rigid boot shell (30) having at least a heel portion, a sole portion, and medial and lateral quarter portions extending forward of the heel portion towards a front end of the skate boot (see annotated Fig. 1 and 2 for claimed structures), the medial and lateral quarter portions defining a foot receiving cavity in between them, the foot receiving cavity having a volume for receiving at least a metatarsal region of a wearer's foot (Par. 0045, lines: 1-3, “for receiving…foot” is considered as a functional limitation, the device of the prior art discloses substantially all of the claimed structural elements and therefore it is fully capable to perform the claimed function. Examiner notes the cavity is shown between sides 27 and 25 in Fig. 1 and 2);, the lateral quarter portion having an edge extending from a front end of the rigid boot shell, the edge defining a notch (see annotated Fig. 1 and 2 above, Examiner notes shell 30 includes a “notch” due to the annotated front end defining a recessed space with respect to the fully assembled ski boot shown in Fig. 1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent (See PTO-892) to applicant's disclosure.
/DAKOTA MARIN/Examiner, Art Unit 3732
/ALISSA J TOMPKINS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3732