DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 11 Dec 2024 and 6 March 2025 were filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In Claim 3, line 2 “the valve plate (3) toward” should likely read “the valve plate toward”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Geiser et al (US 20120298899).
Regarding Claim 1, Geiser et al disclose a valve for metering a volumetric flow through a flow opening (Figures 12-17). The valve comprising:
a valve plate for closing the flow opening in a closed position of the valve; (plate 1 of Figure 12 with opening 2 (of Figure 14))
at least two valve rods which are in each case elongate, the valve rods are fastened to the valve plate at mutually spaced apart locations; (9, 9', 9''; Figure 12)
a dedicated valve drive for each of the valve rods that linearly displaces a respective one of the valve rods so as to adjust the valve plate; and (¶ 65)
wherein only a subset of the valve rods are driven by the respective valve drive over an entire adjustment path of the valve plate between the closed position and a maximum open position (¶ 66 discloses where one rod acts to close the valve plate and two rods operate in the opening direction thereby allowing for a subset of two of the three rods to open the valve).
Regarding Claim 2, Geiser et al disclose where only one of the valve rods is driven by the respective valve drive over the entire adjustment path of the valve plate between the closed position and the maximum open position (¶ 66 discloses where one rod acts to close the valve plate and two rods operate in the opening direction thereby allowing for a subset of two of the three rods to open the valve).
Regarding Claim 6, Geiser et al disclose wherein the valve drives of the valve rods (¶ 66) are mutually synchronized over partial distances of the adjustment path on which said valve rods are conjointly active (¶ 66).
Regarding Claim 7, Geiser et al disclose wherein the valve rods at least in regions have a different diameter (at least at the top end where the fastener is attached as seen in Figure 15 to attach the rod to the valve door via bracket 8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable as obvious over Geiser et al (US 20120298899).
Regarding Claim 5, Geiser et al disclose all essential elements of the current invention as discussed above but fails to expressly disclose wherein the valve rods are formed from a same material.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the valve rods of Geiser et al to all be formed of a same material since selection of a known material on the basis of its suitability for an intended use involves only routine skill in the art. The motivation for doing so would be to provide a commonly used material that is inexpensive and durable.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4 and 8-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/NICOLE GARDNER/
Examiner, Art Unit 3753