DETAILED ACTION
This is the first action in response to US Patent Application No. 18/873,857, filed 11 December, 2024, as the National Stage Entry of International Application PCT/ES2023/070283, filed 04 May, 2023, and with priority to Spanish Application ES P202230615, filed 06 July, 2022.
Response to Amendment
The preliminary amendments filed 12 December, 2024, have been entered. Claims 6-7, 12, 16-20, and 24-28 are cancelled. Claims 1-5, 8-11, 13-15, 21-23 and 29-33 are pending and have been fully considered.
Claim Interpretation
Independent claim 1 [and several dependent claims] refer to “plasma activated water” (claim 1, line 1). Based on the instant disclosure at page 7, lines 25-26, “plasma activated water” is understood to refer to a plasma activated liquid formed by contacting a plasma directly or indirectly with water, which generates or transfers reactive chemical species in or to the water. “Indirectly” contacting a plasma source with water reasonably includes contacting air with a plasma and directing the plasma treated air into the water so that reactive chemical species are transferred to the water.
Independent claim 1 [and several dependent claims] refers to “auxiliary forest materials for wine preservation” (claim 1, line 2). The specification does not set forth an explicit definition for said “auxiliary forest material”. Accordingly, the broadest reasonable interpretation of the term may comprise any material which originates from a forest environment and can be used in a wine preservation procedure. Exemplary embodiments of forest materials from the specification include bottle corks and wooden barrels (instant specification at page 10, line 1), but the term as recited in the claim may comprise any forest material involved in a wine preservation process, such as a forest berry used to produce a wine, or other forest material incorporated into a wine.
Claim 2 indicates that a step of contacting a material to be disinfected with plasma activated water is performed “continuously”. The broadest reasonable interpretation of “continuous” contact includes any contact between PAW and the target item which continues without interruption for at least some duration of time.
Claim Objections
Claim 21 is objected to for the following informality: a conjunction such as “and” or “or” should be positioned between the terms “50 µS/cm” and “an ORP” at line 2 of the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1&2) as being anticipated by Caracciolo (US 4,874,435) evidenced by Corwin (US 3,421,999 A).
Regarding claim 1, Caracciolo (US 4,874,435) teaches a treatment method using ozonated water for treating auxiliary forest materials for wine preservation (wooden cooperage/vessels used to store wine—see column 1, lines 15-30) for the disinfection and/or decontamination of said materials (sterilizing wooden cooperage—column 1, lines 8-9, 50-58; entire surface of vessel treated to ensure complete microbiological sterility—column 2, lines 29-30; cleaning and sterilizing a wooden container—claim 1), which comprises
Contacting the material to be disinfected and/or decontaminated (wooden cooperage/vessel) with the ozonated water (ozonated water stream sprayed at surfaces of wooden vessel—see column 1, lines 7-12, 54-58, column 2, lines 29-41, and claim 1; immerse the container in a bath of ozonated water—column 3, lines 7-11; rinsing the container with ozonated water—claim 2; containers filled with ozonated water—column 3, lines 11-12).
Caracciolo indicates that the ozonated water is formed by injecting water with ozone (column 2, lines 6-10), wherein the injected ozone may be generated according to any conventional manner, and Caracciolo cites US 3,421,999, “Corwin”, as an exemplary disclosure of such a conventional manner (Caracciolo at column 2, liens 5-6).
The ozone generator of Corwin generates ozone by passing air through a corona (a corona will form about the outer surface of the glass tube or dielectric 31…air passes along the outer surface of the dielectric glass tube 31, it mixes with the ozone created therein and is discharged…negative ions are created by the corona and deposited into the path of the air, the mixture then being delivered to decontaminate a fluid—column 3, lines 44-66). A corona constitutes a type of plasma.
Accordingly, by reference to Corwin, Caracciolo teaches that ozonated water is generated by passing air through a plasma (corona of Corwin) and injecting the plasma treated air into water (see Caracciolo at column 2, lines 3-11). Accordingly, the ozonated water of Caracciolo fairly constitutes plasma activated water because the water is indirectly contacted with a plasma by first treating air with a plasma (corona of Corwin) and then contacting water with the plasma treated air so that ozone and other plasma generated species are transferred to the water. Thus, Caracciolo discloses the method of claim 1.
It is emphasized that the currently presented claim language does not clearly establish a basis for distinguishing the claimed plasma activated water from the ozonated water of Caracciolo formed as indicated above. Nonetheless—to promote compact prosecution—the alternative rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 presented below establish the obviousness of the independent claim with reference which more explicitly teach the use of plasma activated water generated by techniques more closely aligned with those disclosed in the instant specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 8-11, 13-14, 21-22, 29-30, and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Caracciolo (US 4,874,435) in view of Pemen et al. (US 2018/0327283).
Regarding claim 1, Caracciolo teaches a process for sterilizing containers, including wooden vessels, by subjecting interior surfaces of the container to a high-power spray of ozonated water (abstract). Caracciolo discusses the use of wooden cooperage (i.e., barrels and casks) in the wine making industry (column 1, lines 15-23) and the known challenge of wooden containers absorbing bacterial and chemical contamination due to the porosity of the wood material, leading to spoilage of wine or food products stored in wooden vessels (column 1, lines 24-30). The process of Caracciolo comprises generating ozonated water according to any known method (ozone required for the invention may be generated in any of the conventional ways—column 2, lines 3-14) and directing the ozonated water toward the interior surfaces of a wooden vessel as a high impact stream (column 2, lines 15-49). Caracciolo also suggests rinsing the container in a bath of ozonated water (column 2, lines 7-11) after treatment and filling the containers with ozonated water (column 3, lines 11-12) after the spray treatment.
Accordingly, Caracciolo teaches a treatment method using ozonated water for treating auxiliary forest materials for wine preservation (wooden cooperage/vessels used to store wine—see column 1, lines 15-30) for the disinfection and/or decontamination of said materials (sterilizing wooden cooperage—column 1, lines 8-9, 50-58; entire surface of vessel treated to ensure complete microbiological sterility—column 2, lines 29-30; cleaning and sterilizing a wooden container—claim 1), which comprises
Contacting the material to be disinfected and/or decontaminated (wooden cooperage/vessel) with the ozonated water (ozonated water stream sprayed at surfaces of wooden vessel—see column 1, lines 7-12, 54-58, column 2, lines 29-41, and claim 1; immerse the container in a bath of ozonated water—column 3, lines 7-11; rinsing the container with ozonated water—claim 2; containers filled with ozonated water—column 3, lines 11-12).
Caracciolo does not directly indicate that the ozonated water is plasma-activated water (PAW) (As indicated in the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102 above, Caracciolo does disclose that the ozonated water is generated by contacting water a plasma treated gas, which fairly defines a plasma activated water. However, the rejections under 103 presented herein assume a distinction between ozonated water and plasma-activated water in anticipation of expected arguments in order to promote compact prosecution). Thus, the difference between the claimed method and the method of Caracciolo differ is that the claimed method substitutes plasma activated water in place of ozonated water.
However, it is initially emphasized that the ozonated water of Caracciolo serves the function of oxidizing and destroying bacteria and microorganisms on the surface of a wood vessel (column 2, lines 25-28 and 40-41).
Furthermore, in the analogous art of plasma activated water (title), Pemen teaches a plasma activated water production system ([0028]) comprising a reactor housing having distinct electrode arrangements for generating a thermal plasma and a non-thermal plasma in a gas volume above a water level within the reactor housing ([0031], Fig. 2A). The reactive gas produced by the plasma and the water are mixed so that reactive species are dissolved in the water, and the resulting activated water can be directly applied after activation at the point of use to allow for use of the short-term strong disinfecting and oxidizing properties of the plasma activated water ([0029]). Pemen further indicates that plasma activated water can advantageously be generated using exclusively air, electricity, and water, with no added chemicals ([0041]), that plasma activated water (PAW) is suitable for the disinfection of surfaces (disinfection of surfaces within medical applications—[0042]; disinfection of agricultural products—[0043]), that PAW has strong short term disinfecting properties and mild long term disinfecting properties ([0051]), and that the combination of reactive species in PAQ and the acidic pH of PAW have a synergistic effect against bacteria, biofilms, yeasts, and other microorganisms ([0002]).
Thus, from the disclosure of Pemen, it is evident that plasma activated water is a known aqueous solution suitable for the function of destroying bacteria and other microorganisms on a surface through a strong oxidizing effect.
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to substitute the ozonated water within the method of Caracciolo with plasma activated water generated on site—as taught by Pemen—for the predictable result of destroying bacteria and other microorganisms on the surface of the wood vessel by a strong oxidizing effect (see Pemen at [0002], [0029], [0042], and [0051]; also consider Caracciolo at column 2, lines 25-28 and 40-41). Selection of Plasma activated water would be expected to provide the further advantage of improved safety for humans ([0042] indicates that applying PAW on human skin can thoroughly clean and disinfect the skin to kill microorganisms thereon without affecting the skin and healthy tissue—[0042]—implying that PAW does not pose a serious hazard to human skin). See MPEP 2143(B.) regarding the obviousness of the simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
Regarding claim 2, Caracciolo in view of Pemen teaches the method according to claim 1. Caracciolo fairly teaches a step of contacting the material to disinfecting and/or decontaminated with the disinfecting solution (ozonated water) is performed continuously (immerse containers in a bath of ozonated water….containers may be filled with ozonated water—column 3, lines 7-12; immersion or filling of the container would yield continuous contact between the wood surfaces of the container and the ozonated water; spray head rifles cleaning liquid in concentrated high-impact stream sprays and rotated so as to clean the entire surface of the container every seven minutes—column 2, lines 58-62—which fairly defines seven minutes of continuous wood and ozonated water contact). As modified in view of Pemen with respect to claim 1 above, the disinfection solution of Caracciolo is selected to be plasma activated water (i.e., the ozonated water of Caracciolo is substituted for plasma activated water, see rejection of claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 8, Caracciolo in view of Pemen teaches the method according to claim 1. Caracciolo teaches at least three steps in which ozonated water is contacted with a surface of a wood vessel, including a high pressure spraying step (column 2, liners 31-41), a rinsing step (after spray treatment, it may be desirable to immerse the containers in a bath of ozonated water—column 3, lines 7-10), and a filling step (containers may be stored after treatment by filling them with ozonated water—column 3, lines 11-12). As discussed with respect to claim 1 above, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to replace the ozonated water used in each step of Caracciolo with the plasma activated water of Pemen (see rejection of claim 1 above). Accordingly, Caracciolo fairly teaches a prior step of cleaning the material to be disinfected and/or decontaminated by means of pressurized water, which is PAW (high pressure spraying step—see Caracciolo at column 2, liens 31-41—with the ozonated water replaced by plasma activated water), immediately before the step of continuously contacting with PAW (rinsing and/or filling step of Caracciolo —see column 3, lines 7-12—with the ozonated water replaced by plasma activated water).
Regarding claim 9, Caracciolo in view of Pemen teaches the method according to claim 8. As indicated with respect to claim 8 above, Caracciolo and Pemen suggest performing the claimed cleaning step wherein the pressurized water used int eh step of cleaning is PAW (see rejection of claim 8 above).
Regarding claim 10, Caracciolo teaches the method according to claim 30 (see below). Claim 10 indicates that a Brettanomyces reduction is obtained in the wooden containers subjected to decontamination with PAW. Thus, claim 10 recites an effect of performing the method of claim 30 on wooden containers, but does not clearly set forth the particular conditions required to yield such a result (e.g., plasma generation conditions, the particular technique for activating the water with the plasma, the concentration of reactive species in the plasma activated water, how long after generation the plasma activated water is used, or how long the plasma activated water is in contact with the wooden container) or otherwise recite a further limitation on the actual manipulative steps of the method. Accordingly, the recited effect of obtaining a Brettanomyces reduction is presumed to be an inherent result contacting a wooden container with plasma activated water. Accordingly, since the method of Caracciolo as modified in view of Pemen comprises contacting a wooden container with plasma activated water, the modified method of the prior art is presumed to achieve the effect of obtaining a Brettanomyces reduction in the wooden container. See MPEP 2112 regarding the presumption of inherency.
Regarding claim 11, Caracciolo in view of Pemen teaches the method according to claim 10. Following similar reasoning as laid out with respect to claim 10 above, the modified method of Caracciolo is presumed to have the claimed effect of obtaining a Brettanomyces reduction of at least 1 log with respect to the wooden container before treatment.
Regarding claim 13, Caracciolo in view of Pemen teaches the method according to claim 10. Caracciolo in view of Pemen further teaches the Paw is applied to wooden barrels (Caracciolo is directed toward sterilizing wooden vessels used in winemaking, referred to as wooden cooperages—see column 1, lines 15-30, 54-58—wherein a “wooden cooperage” is essentially synonymous or otherwise clearly encompassing of a “wooden barrel” within the context of Caracciolo; also, as modified in view of Pemen, the method of Caracciolo contacts the wooden barrel with plasma activated water for sterilization).
Regarding claim 14, Caracciolo in view of Pemen teaches the method according to claim 13. As previously indicated, one of the contacting steps disclosed by Caracciolo comprises filling a container with ozonated water (column 3, lines 11-12), wherein the container is a wooden barrel (cooperage—column 1, lines 15-30 and 54-58), and wherein it would be obvious to substate the ozonated water with the plasma activated water of Pemen (see rejection of claim 1 above). Thus, Caracciolo in view of Pemen fairly teaches the step of continuously contacting the wooden barrel with PAW is performed by filling the entire volume of the barrel with PAW.
Regarding claim 21, Caracciolo in view of Pemen teaches the method according to claim 1. As modified with respect to claim 1, the method of Caracciolo incorporates the PAW taught by Pemen. Pemen teaches that the PAW can be formed by a system having independent control of both a thermal plasma source and a non-thermal plasma source, which allows for control and turning of the PAW composition to achieve desired values for the concentration of reactive oxygen species (ROS) products, the concentration of reactive nitrogen species (RNS) products, pH, ORP, and EC ([0028]; also see [0037], [0047], [0049]). Furthermore, Pemen indicates that embodiments of the generated PAW have compositions with a pH ranging from 0 to 7 and an ORP value ranging from 200 mV to 800 mV ([0047]), with Figs. 6A-6D showing that pH values of less than 4.5 are regularly achieved, and with paragraph ([0002]) suggesting that low pH has synergistic antimicrobial effects with the components of PAW.
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill, when performing the method of modified Caracciolo using the PAW of Pemen, to select PAW having a pH within the overlapping portion of the range of Pemen (0 to 7) and the claimed range (less than 4.5) for the benefit of achieving low pH conditions which achieve a synergistic effect against microorganisms ([0002]). Additionally, it would be obvious to select PAW having an ORP within the overlapping portion of the claimed range (> 350 mV) and the range of Pemen (200-800 mV) for the benefit of providing a PAW having an oxidative potential tuned for the application of wooden barrel disinfection (Pemen suggests optimization of the PAW for an intended application—see [0037]—and tuning of PAW properties including ORP values—see [0028], [0047]).
With respect to the claimed EC value of more than 50 µS/cm, Caracciolo and Pemen do not disclose an explicit range for electrical conductivity (EC). However, Pemen does indicate the system can be operated to achieve a desired EC value in the generated activated water (control over…EC values of the PAW. Controlling these variables allows for optimization of…the various PAW components. This allows full control over the composition of the PAW and tuning of the PAW—[0028]; obtain a desired…EC value—[0049]). Also, Figs. 6A-C of Pemen show embodiments wherein the activated water achieves acidic pH values (<7) and comprises ionic species including NO3- and NO2-, wherein the presence of such ions would be expected in increase the electrical conductivity of the water. Therefore, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further modify the method of Caracciolo such that the plasma activated water has an electrical conductivity of more than 50 µS/cm for the benefit of yielding a solution with effective concentrations of ionic disinfectant species (consider [0028] suggesting optimization of an EC value of the PAW, alongside the concertation of ROS and RNS products).
Regarding claim 22, Caracciolo in view of Pemen teaches the method according to claim 1. As modified with respect to claim 1, the method of Caracciolo incorporates the PAW taught by Pemen. Fig. 6A of Pemen shows the PAW achieving NO3- concentrations of up to 1500 mg/L, and Fig. 6B shows NO2- concentrations of up to 0.3 g/L. Pemen further suggests obtaining a desired concentration of any PAW component ([0028], [0049]; control production rates of nitrate nitrite, and other ROS and RNS—[0047]). Therefore, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further modify the method of Caracciolo by selecting an activated water composition of Pemen including NO3- at a concentration of more than 3 mg/L and NO2- at a concentration of more than 0.5 mg/L for the benefit of achieving a plasma activated water composition suitable for an intended application, such as disinfection (Pemen suggest tuning generated PAW for intended application—see [0007], [0037], [0040], [0049]–such as disinfection—see [0042]-[0044]).
Regarding claim 29, Caracciolo in view of Pemen teaches the method according to claim 2. As discussed with respect to claim 14 above, Caracciolo and Pemen teach a contacting step wherein a wooden container is filled with plasma activated water for storage (Caracciolo: containers may be stored by filling them with ozonated water—column 3, lines 11-12; see rejection of claim 1 regarding obviousness of substituting PAW of Pemen in place of the ozonated water of Caracciolo). Filling a wooden vessel with PAW and storing the filled wooden vessel would reasonably yield embodiments wherein the step of contacting the material to be disinfected and/or decontaminated with PAW is performed continuously for at least 3 hours (i.e., it would be obvious to arrive at the claimed method whenever a storage time exceeding 3 hours is desired).
Regarding claim 30, Caracciolo in view of Pemen teaches the method according to claim 1. Caracciolo further teaches the material which is subjected to disinfection and/or decontamination are wooden containers (sterilizing wooden cooperage/vessels/container—see column 1, lines 7-9, 54-56; column 2, lines 31-41; column 3, lines 14-15; column 4, lines 9-10).
Regarding claim 32, Caracciolo in view of Pemen teaches the method according to claim 11. As similarly set forth with respect to claims 10 and 11 above, the step of contacting a wooden container with plasma activated water suggested by Caracciolo and Pemen is presumed to inherently yield the result of obtaining a Brettanomyces reduction of at least 3 log with respect to the wooden container before treatment (in view of the absence of claim limitations clearly setting forth the particular manipulative steps, compositions, and/or structures which yield the recited result; see rejection of claims 10-11 above).
Claims 1-5, 23, 30-31 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schaetzlein (EP 0279206 B1) in view of Liu et al. (US 2022/0265879 A1, filed 13 January, 2022).
Regarding claim 1, Schaetzlein teaches a treatment method using ozonated water for treating auxiliary forest material for wine preservation (cork stoppers for wine) for the disinfection and/or decontamination of said materials, which comprises contacting the material to be disinfected and/or decontaminated ozonated water (Claim 1/abstract: method for sterilization of cork-stoppers for wine by treating the stoppers with a sterilized liquid…the sterilization carried out by ozonated water; preferably, the bottle corks are dipped into the ozonated water—[0005]; an exposure time of only about 3 minutes for the ozonated liquid on the corks is sufficient—[0007]; ozonated water are circulated while the bottle corks are immersed and stationary [so] the ozone penetrate even better into the pores of the bottle cork…which further improves the sterilization effect—[0009]; bottle corks to be sterilized are immersed in ozonated water and moved around in it—[0011]).
The ozonated water of Schaetzlein does not clearly constitute plasma-activated water. Thus, the difference between the claimed method and the method of Schaetzlein amounts to the substitution of the ozonated water of Schaetzlein with the claimed plasma-activated water.
However, in the analogous art of disinfection with plasma activated material (title, abstract), Liu teaches a discharge plasma disinfection device (Figs. 4-6, [0134]-[0135]) comprising first (2) ([0136]-[0141]) and second (10) ([0143]-[0149]) plasma sources configured to generate a first plasma gas comprising nitrogen oxide as a leading product ([0142]) and a second plasma gas comprising ozone as a leading product ([0149]), respectively. The first plasma gas and second plasma gas are mixed within a chamber (20) of a gas mixing unit (18) to form a mixed reactive gas having a desired ratio of nitrogen oxides and ozone ([0150]-[0153]), and the mixed reactive gas is introduced into an activated water preparation chamber (21) ([0155]) in order to treat an aqueous solution within the chamber to obtain plasma-activated water ([0174]). The aqueous solution may comprise tap water, or ultrapure or deionized water, and the activated water can be used for sterilization or disinfection by washing, spraying, or soaking ([0176]; tap water, ultrapure water, deionized water, normal saline, or diluted hydrogen peroxide solution—[0260]; also see [0153], [0189], [0232], [0251], [0257]; prepared plasma activated water can be used to achieve disinfection on various occasions—[0192], [0259]). Liu finds that the combination of nitrogen oxide species and ozone within the plasma activated water yielded a stronger sterilization effect than a nitrogen oxide mode or ozone mode, alone (Fig. 3: [0092], [0101], [0128], [0259]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Schaetzlein such that the ozonated water of Schaetzlein is replaced with the plasma activated water of Liu for the expected benefit of yielding a stronger sterilization effect (the plasma activated water of Liu is indicated to be suitable for disinfecting in various circumstances—[0192], [0259]—including soaking based disinfection methods –[0093], [0129], [0176], [0189], [0251], [0257]—and the preferred embodiment of the activated water of Schaetzlein is formed by treating water with a reactive gas mixture comprising high concentrations of both nitrogen oxides and ozone formed by two distinct plasma sources, said embodiment demonstrating an improved sterilization effect over a solution formed by treating water with a reactive gas mainly comprising ozone without a high concentration of nitrogen oxides—Fig. 3, [0128]; Liu also discusses how the mixture of nitrogen oxide and ozone reactive gasses generates species strongly able to inactivate microorganisms and overcome issues of low solubility with minimal side effects for human tissues or the environment—see [0009], [0011]).
Regarding claim 2, Schaetzlein in view of Liu teaches the method according to claim 1. Schaetzlein and Liu further teach the step of contacting the material to be disinfected and/or decontaminated with PAW is performed continuously (Schaetzlein: bottle corks immersed in ozonated water—[0009], [0011]; bottle corks to be submerged—[0010]. Immersing the cork in ozonated water yields continuous contact therebetween for the duration of the immersion, and as modified in view of Liu the ozonated water of Schaetzlein is substituted with the PAW of Liu).
Regarding claim 3, Schaetzlein in view of Liu teaches the method according to claim 30. Claim 3 further indicates that an anisole reduction is obtained in the wine bottle corks subjected to decontamination with PAW. Claim 3 does not clearly set forth the particular further manipulative steps, nor any further compositional or structural limitations, which yield the recited result of obtaining an anisole reduction. As the combined teachings of Schaetzlein and Liu teach a method in accordance with instant claim 30, the modified method of Schaetzlein is presumed to inherently obtain an anisole reduction in the wine bottle corks subjected to decontamination with PAW. See MPEP 2112 regarding the presumption of inherency.
Regarding claim 4, Schaetzlein in view of Liu teaches the method according to claim 3. For similar reasons as indicated with respect to claim 3 above, the method of modified Schaetzlein is presumed to obtain a TCA (2,4,6- trichloroanisole) reduction.
Regarding claim 5, Schaetzlein in view of Liu teaches the method according to claim 4. For similar reasons as indicated with respect to claims 3-4 above, the method of modified Schaetzlein is presumed to obtain a TCA reduction of at least 50%.
Regarding claim 23, Schaetzlein in view of Liu teaches the method according to claim 1. Schaetzlein and Liu do not directly indicate that the PAW used comprises an OH* (hydroxy radical) concentration of more than 8 µg/L. However, Liu indicates that the activation of water with a plasma treated gaseous discharge is known to generate reactive species including OH, which are known to have a good killing effect on many microorganisms even at low dosages ([0004]). Therefore, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further modify the method of Caracciolo by optimizing the PAW of the modified method to include hydroxy radicals at a concentration of more than 8 µg/L for the benefit of enhancing a killing effect on bacteria and circuses (see Liu at [0004]).
Regarding claim 30, Schaetzlein in view of Liu teaches the method according to claim 1. Schaetzlein further teaches the material which is subjected to disinfection and/or decontamination by means of contact with liquid disinfectant are bottle corks (sterilizing bottle corks---[0001]; bottle corks immersed in ozonated water—see [0009], [0011]), and as modified in view of Liu with respect to claim 1 the liquid disinfectant comprises PAW (see rejection of claim 1 regarding obviousness of substituting ozonated water of Schaetzlein with plasma activated water of Liu).
Regarding claim 31, Schaetzlein in view of Liu teaches the method according to claim 5. For similar reasons as indicated with respect to claims 3-5 above, the method of modified Schaetzlein is presumed to obtain a TCA reduction of at least 75%.
Regarding claim 33, Schaetzlein in view of Liu teaches the method according to claim 23. On a similar basis as set forth with respect to claim 23 above, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further modify the method of Caracciolo by optimizing the PAW of the modified method to include hydroxy radicals at a concentration of more than 23 µg/1 L for the benefit of enhancing a killing effect on bacteria and circuses (see Liu at [0004]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 15 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 15, Caracciolo (US 4,874,435) in view of Pemen et al. (US 2018/0327283) teaches the method according to claim 13. Caracciolo and Pemen do not teach the step of continuously contacting the wooden barrel with PAW is performed by introducing a minimum volume of PAW in the barrel and rotating the barrel continuously such that the PAW comes into contact with the entire inner surface thereof.
Remirez Miguel et al. (US 2021/0121589 A1) teaches a disinfection system for wood barrels which includes means for causing a barrel to rotate to ensure uniform application of disinfecting radiation thereto ([0025]). Remirez Miguel does not teach the rotating means are combined with having a minimum volume of a disinfecting liquid within the barrel for disinfection of the interior surfaces thereof.
No prior art was found which clearly teaches toward including a minimum volume of PAW in a wooden barrel and rotating the barrel continuously such that the PAW comes into contact with the entire inner surface thereof. Accordingly, the subject matter of claim 15 is novel and non-obvious over the prior art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Buske et al. (US Patent No. 12,604,390 B2) has an earliest priority date (14 July 2022) intervening with the foreign priority date and PCT filing date of the instant application. Buske discloses methods for producing a plasma activated liquid (title) wherein the plasma activated liquid can be formed either by directly exposing a liquid to a working gas emerging from a plasma source that is still at least partially in a plasma state, or, alternatively, by exposing the liquid to a working gas emerging from a plasma source after the working gas is no longer in the plasma state (column 3, lines 28-37). Buske indicates that even when the working gas is no longer in a plasma state on contact with water, the working gas still contains reactive species suitable for forming reactive species in water, including hydroxy radicals, hydrogen peroxide, nitric acid, and nitrous acid (column 3, lines 37-42). Buske thus fairly indicates that in the state of the art, the term “plasma activated water” includes water which is indirectly contacted with a plasma via contact with a reactive gas which was treated with plasma.
Deo (US 20130104742 A1) teaches an apparatus comprising a sanitizing system (100) integrated within a dispensing system (121), the sanitizing system (100) comprising a processing unit (115) having a discharge cell (203) configured to initiate a cold plasma discharge in an air flow, and a tank (205) configured to receive the air flow from the discharge cell (203) of the processing unit in order to expose water in the tank to the air flow for a time sufficient to form ozone-containing water (abstract, lines 10-15; Fig. 3 and [0027]-[0029] air being exposed to a cold plasma in discharge cell 203 before being bubbled through water 205 within tank 206 so that ozone and other ions and chemical radicals dissolve into the water 205 and water with antimicrobial and cleaning properties is obtained). The generated ozone-containing water is released from the tank (115/205) and directed toward inner surfaces of components of the dispensing system ([0005]) to sanitize said inner surfaces (disinfect or sanitize an inner surface of components of a dispensing system—[0013], [0015], [0018]; Figs. 1 and [0023]-[0026] describe how the water processed by processing unit 115 is delivered to interior surfaces of components of the dispensing system) tank 205 of processing unit 115 receiving ionized air exposed to a cold plasma in discharge cell 203). It is emphasized that the ozone containing water of Deo is saturated with ozone as well as other ions and chemical radicals produced by the cold plasma generator ([0015], [0016], [0018]-[0019], [0028]), and that the ozone containing water of Deo reasonably constitutes a type of plasma activated water.
Gray et al. (US 2014/0100277 A1) teaches methods of making solutions to kill or deactivate microorganisms (title) including an embodiment comprising a step of exposing water to a plasma gas to activate the water (abstract). Particularly, Gray teaches an embodiment wherein a system (100) includes a container (115) equipped with a pair of electrodes (108, 110) and dielectric barriers (108A, 110A) and connected to a high voltage source (106) which are configured to generate a plasma gas (112) between the electrodes ([0026]). Water, or another fluid ([0024]), is transferred from a fluid source (101) by a pump (102) and injected into the container (115) by a nozzle (104) so that the fluid output (114) by the nozzle ([0025]) passes through the plasma gas (112) as a stream, mist or mist ([0026]). The fluid is activated by the plasma and collects in the bottom of the container (115) ([0026]), and the activated fluid is ultimately pumped out of a nozzle (142) toward an object to kill or inactivate microorganisms thereupon ([0029]). In most embodiments, prior to being sprayed from the nozzle (142), the activated water is transferred to a mixing container (122) and acetic acid (123) is added to the fluid ([0027]). The claims do not clearly prohibit the use of plasma activated water within a solution comprising additional components, such that Gray fairly teaches a step of contacting a material with plasma activated water for disinfection of the material ([0029]).
Van Erp (US 2021/0205856 A1) teaches a food processing system (1) with a plasma activated water cleaning device (3) (title, abstract), the cleaning device (3) configured to produce plasma activated water by contacting water with a plasma ([0044]-[0046], [0053]). The plasma activated water (cleaning fluid) from the cleaning device (3) is transferred via fluid distribution means (6) to a food/feed processing device (2), the distribution means (6) being arranged to deliver the plasma activated water to surfaces (5) of the processing device (2) which come into contact with a food product ([0041]). Van Erp envisions the invention being adapted for any type of food processing device which requires regular cleaning ([0043]). Van Erp indicates that the plasma activated water is suitable for both cleaning and rinsing steps, and is non-toxic, which can simplify cleaning operations ([0047]).
Nunnally et al. (US 2016/0102025 A1) teaches a system for providing plasma activated water (plasma-catalytic enhanced water) comprising a power supply which drives electrodes located within a reactor to generate a plasma discharge within a gaseous composition such as air, and a water source feeds water into the plasma discharge ([0048]). The reaction of the water and air with the plasma generates chemical components that yield activated water (plasma-catalytic enhanced water), which is collected in a reservoir and subsequently discharged toward an object for treatment. Nunnally further discusses a particular plasma most suitable for generating nitrogen oxide species ([0060]), and the mechanisms for ozone and hydroxyl production from corona discharges ([0062[). Nunnally further discloses the composition of certain species in the plasma activated water when a gliding arc plasma discharge was used ([0085]-[0095]).
Sabate et al. (US 4,693,757) teaches a method for treating cork plugs comprising a step of washing the cork in a peroxide solution (abstract; third step of rapid dipping of article in a peroxide solution at a concentration of 20 to 400 grams per liter—column 2, lines 17-24; column 3, lines 14-21).
Zucchini et al. (US 5,098,447) teaches a process for sterilizing cork articles (title) by treatment with a solution of hydrogen peroxide (abstract; column 1, lines 42-48; column 2, lines 49-53; particular techniques for contacting the cork with the solution are discussed at column 3, lines 32, through column 4, line 7; cork stopper enclosed in stainless steel basket and immersed in aqueous hydrogen peroxide solution for 1 hour while solutions was continuously stirred—column 4, lines 53-59; column 6, lines 2-10).
Paskalov et al. (US 2004/0069618 A1) teaches an activated water generator (1) wherein a stream of water (52) enters a vessel (10) and flows through an inner space (12) of the vessel and past a plasma generator (30) so that the water is subjected to energy from the plasma ([0015]-[0016]). The treated water can achieve pH values useful for achieving antimicrobial effects on surfaces based on the selecting operating conditions of the plasma generator ([0027]-[0028]).
WO 2007/048806 A1 teaches a process for preparation of biocidal aqueous solution by positioning a pair of electrodes within a chamber and subjecting an aqueous solution to a glow discharge plasma generated by the electrodes within the chamber (abstract), suggests the use of the activated solution wherever disinfecting, sanitizing, cleaning, or bleaching/preservative activity is required.
/BRADY C PILSBURY/Examiner, Art Unit 1799
/JENNIFER WECKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1797