DETAILED ACTION
2. This action is in response to application filed on December 11, 2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 3/13/2025, 3/19/2026, and 5/27/2026 have been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
4. The drawings were received on December 11, 2024. These drawings are accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claims 10, 14, 20, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Behrens et al (US 2007/0247808).
Regarding claim 10, Behrens et al discloses a thermal management system for a power device (i.e. circuit of Figure 1) comprising:
a printed circuit board (Fig. 1, circuit board 22) having a first surface (Fig. 1, surface of circuit board 22) (See ¶[0024]);
at least one electronic component (Fig. 1, electronic components 12) of the printed circuit board (Fig. 1, circuit board 22), each of the at least one electronic component (Fig. 1, electronic components 12) having an outward surface (Figs. 1 and 2A, outward surface of electronic components 12); and
a cooling jacket (Fig. 1, housing 14 and foam member 18) having
a main portion (Fig. 1, portion of housing 14 and foam member 18 converting the outward surface of electronic components 12) covering the outward surface (Figs. 1 and 2A, outward surface of electronic components 12) of the at least one electronic component (Fig. 1, electronic components 12),
an injection inlet (Fig. 1, inlet port 16) formed in the main portion (Fig. 1, portion of housing 14 and foam member 18 converting the outward surface of electronic components 12), the injection inlet (Fig. 1, inlet port 16) configured to receive a coolant fluid (Fig. 1, coolant in inlet duct 26) into the cooling jacket (Fig. 1, housing 14 and foam member 18) and to direct a jet of the coolant fluid (Fig. 1, coolant in inlet duct 26) toward the outward surface (Figs. 1 and 2A, outward surface of electronic components 12) of the at least one electronic component (Fig. 1, electronic components 12) (i.e. the coolant flows through the inlet duct 26 and penetrates the housing 14 via the inlet port 16. The coolant flows through the foam member 18 as shown by arrows 28 in Figure 2A over substantially all of the top and upper sides of the case 20. See ¶[0028]), and
an overhang portion (Fig. 2A, exit port 24) overhanging a side surface of the at least one electronic component (Fig. 1, electronic components 12), the overhang portion (Fig. 2A, exit port 24) including an opening between the cooling jacket (Fig. 1, housing 14 and foam member 18) and the first surface (Fig. 1, surface of circuit board 22) of the printed circuit board (Fig. 1, circuit board 22) that provides an exit out of the cooling jacket (Fig. 1, housing 14 and foam member 18) for the coolant fluid (Fig. 1, coolant in inlet duct 26) directed toward the outward surface (Figs. 1 and 2A, outward surface of electronic components 12).
Regarding claim 14, Behrens et al further discloses wherein the at least one electronic component (Fig. 1, electronic components 12) includes a single electronic component (Fig. 1, electronic components 12) and the cooling jacket (Fig. 1, housing 14 and foam member 18) covers the single electronic component (Fig. 1, electronic components 12).
Regarding claim 20, Behrens et al discloses a method of managing thermal energy, the method comprising:
receiving a coolant fluid (Fig. 1, coolant in inlet duct 26) at an inlet (Fig. 1, inlet port 16) formed in a main portion (Fig. 1, portion of housing 14 and foam member 18 converting the outward surface of electronic components 12) of cooling jacket (Fig. 1, housing 14 and foam member 18), the main portion (Fig. 1, portion of housing 14 and foam member 18 converting the outward surface of electronic components 12) covering an outward surface (Figs. 1 and 2A, outward surface of electronic components 12) of an electronic component (Fig. 1, electronic components 12) on a first surface (Fig. 1, surface of circuit board 22) of a printed circuit board (Fig. 1, circuit board 22);
directing, by a channel coupled to the inlet (Fig. 1, inlet port 16), a jet of the coolant fluid (Fig. 1, coolant in inlet duct 26) toward the outward surface (Figs. 1 and 2A, outward surface of electronic components 12) of the electronic component (Fig. 1, electronic components 12); and
expelling the coolant fluid (Fig. 1, coolant in inlet duct 26) out of the cooling jacket (Fig. 1, housing 14 and foam member 18) via an opening in an overhang portion (Fig. 2A, exit port 24) of the cooling jacket (Fig. 1, housing 14 and foam member 18), the opening being between the cooling jacket (Fig. 1, housing 14 and foam member 18) and the first surface (Fig. 1, surface of circuit board 22) of the printed circuit board (Fig. 1, circuit board 22).
Regarding claim 22, Behrens et al further discloses wherein the electronic component (Fig. 1, electronic components 12) is a field effect transistor (Fig. 1, electronic components 12 as field-effect transistors) (i.e. electronic components 12 can be commercial off-the-shelf (COTS) electronic components including transistors and power transistors. See ¶[0024]) , and wherein the jet of coolant fluid (Fig. 1, coolant in inlet duct 26) directed by the channel impinges a surface of the field effect transistor (Fig. 1, electronic components 12 as field-effect transistors).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 1 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Behrens et al (US 2007/0247808) in view of Langari et al (US 6,848,500).
Regarding claim 1, Behrens et al discloses a thermal management system for a power converter (i.e. circuit of Figure 1) comprising:
a printed circuit board (Fig. 1, circuit board 22) having a first surface (Fig. 1, surface of circuit board 22) (See ¶[0024]);
a plurality of electronic components (Fig. 1, electronic components 12) of the printed circuit board (Fig. 1, circuit board 22), each having an outward surface (Figs. 1 and 2A, outward surface of electronic components 12) (See ¶[0024]), the first surface (Fig. 1, surface of circuit board 22) and outward surfaces (Figs. 1 and 2A, outward surface of electronic components 12) of the plurality of electronic components (Fig. 1, electronic components 12) forming a board surface profile (Fig. 1, collective of the surface of circuit board 22 and outward surface of electronic components 12) (See ¶[0024]);
a cooling jacket (Fig. 1, housing 14 and foam member 18) coupled to the printed circuit board (Fig. 1, circuit board 22), the cooling jacket (Fig. 1, housing 14 and foam member 18) having an inner surface (Fig. 1, inner surface of housing 14 and foam member 18); and
a coolant fluid pathway volume (Fig. 1, coolant in inlet duct 26) defined by the board surface profile (Fig. 1, collective of the surface of circuit board 22 and outward surface of electronic components 12) and the inner surface (Fig. 1, inner surface of housing 14 and foam member 18) of the cooling jacket (Fig. 1, housing 14 and foam member 18).
Behrens et al fails to disclose a cooling jacket having an inner surface having a surface profile that mimics the board surface profile.
However, Langari et al discloses a cooling jacket (Fig. 10, case 1013) having an inner surface (Fig. 10, inner surface of case 1013) having a surface profile that mimics a board surface profile (Fig. 10, substrate 1005) (See Fig. 10m column 2, lines 34-36).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the circuit of Behrens et al, by including a cooling jacket having an inner surface, as taught by Langari et al, in order to obtain a circuit with improved reliability.
Regarding claim 17, Behrens et al discloses a method of managing thermal energy, the method comprising:
receiving a coolant fluid (Fig. 1, coolant in inlet duct 26) at an inlet of a coolant fluid pathway volume (Fig. 1, coolant in inlet duct 26) defined by an inner surface (Fig. 1, inner surface of housing 14 and foam member 18) of a cooling jacket (Fig. 1, housing 14 and foam member 18) and a board surface profile (Fig. 1, collective of the surface of circuit board 22 and outward surface of electronic components 12), the board surface profile (Fig. 1, collective of the surface of circuit board 22 and outward surface of electronic components 12) formed by a first surface (Fig. 1, surface of circuit board 22) of a printed circuit board (Fig. 1, circuit board 22) and outward surfaces of a plurality of electronic components (Fig. 1, electronic components 12) of the printed circuit board (Fig. 1, circuit board 22);
cooling a plurality of electronic components (Fig. 1, electronic components 12) via the coolant fluid (Fig. 1, coolant in inlet duct 26) traveling through the coolant fluid pathway volume (Fig. 1, coolant in inlet duct 26); and
outputting the coolant fluid (Fig. 1, coolant in inlet duct 26) from an outlet of the coolant fluid pathway volume (Fig. 1, coolant in inlet duct 26).
Behrens et al fails to disclose a cooling jacket having an inner surface having a surface profile that mimics the board surface profile.
However, Langari et al discloses a cooling jacket (Fig. 10, case 1013) having an inner surface (Fig. 10, inner surface of case 1013) having a surface profile that mimics a board surface profile (Fig. 10, substrate 1005) (See Fig. 10m column 2, lines 34-36).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method of Behrens et al, by including a cooling jacket having an inner surface, as taught by Langari et al, in order to obtain a circuit with improved reliability.
Allowable Subject Matter
9. Claims 2-9, 11-13, 15-16, 18-19, and 21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
10. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 2, the prior art fails to disclose or suggest the emboldened and italicized features below:
A thermal management system,
wherein the plurality of electronic components includes at least one electronic component mounted on the first surface of the printed circuit board via a mounting surface that is opposite the outward surface.
Regarding claims 3-5, the prior art fails to disclose or suggest the emboldened and italicized features below:
A thermal management system,
wherein the plurality of electronic components includes at least one integrated electronic component that is integrated into the printed circuit board, the integrated electronic component occupying a first component area of the printed circuit board corresponding to a portion of the first surface of the printed circuit board,
wherein the cooling jacket covers the portion of the first surface such that coolant fluid received at an inlet of the coolant fluid pathway volume passes over the integrated electronic component before being output at an outlet.
Regarding claim 6, the prior art fails to disclose or suggest the emboldened and italicized features below:
A thermal management system,
further comprising a heat sink coupled to the outward surfaces of at least two electronic components of the plurality of electronic components, the heat sink forming a portion of the board surface profile such that coolant fluid received at an inlet passes over the heat sink before being output at an outlet.
Regarding claim 7, the prior art fails to disclose or suggest the emboldened and italicized features below:
A thermal management system,
wherein the inner surface of the cooling jacket includes a clearance with respect to the outward surfaces of the plurality of electronic components of between 0.2 millimeters and 1.0 millimeters.
Regarding claims 8-9, the prior art fails to disclose or suggest the emboldened and italicized features below:
A thermal management system,
wherein the coolant fluid pathway volume includes an inlet at a first end of the cooling jacket and an outlet at a second end of the cooling jacket such that coolant fluid received at the inlet passes over the plurality of electronic components before being output at the outlet.
Regarding claim 11, the prior art fails to disclose or suggest the emboldened and italicized features below:
A thermal management system,
wherein at least one of the at least one electronic component has a mounting surface opposite the outward surface and is mounted on the first surface of the printed circuit board via the mounting surface.
Regarding claims 12-13, the prior art fails to disclose or suggest the emboldened and italicized features below:
A thermal management system,
wherein at least one of the at least one electronic component is an integrated electronic component that is integrated into the printed circuit board, the integrated electronic component occupying a first component area of the printed circuit board including a portion of the first surface of the printed circuit board.
Regarding claim 15, the prior art fails to disclose or suggest the emboldened and italicized features below:
A thermal management system,
wherein the at least one electronic component includes a first electronic component and a second electronic component, wherein the injection inlet is a first injection inlet to direct the jet of the coolant fluid toward the outward surface of the first electronic component, and wherein the main portion further comprises a second injection inlet configured to receive further coolant fluid into the cooling jacket and to direct a second jet of the further coolant fluid toward the outward surface of the second electronic component.
Regarding claim 16, the prior art fails to disclose or suggest the emboldened and italicized features below:
A thermal management system,
wherein the injection inlet has channel through which the coolant fluid passes to form the jet of the coolant fluid, wherein the channel has a cross-sectional area through which the coolant fluid flows that is smaller than a cross-sectional area of a supply tube that provides the coolant fluid to the inlet.
Regarding claim 18, the prior art fails to disclose or suggest the emboldened and italicized features below:
A method of managing heat,
wherein the board surface profile is further formed by an outward surface of heat sink that is coupled to a further electronic component of the printed circuit board.
Regarding claim 19, the prior art fails to disclose or suggest the emboldened and italicized features below:
A method of managing heat, further comprising:
determining, by a controller, a temperature of the plurality of electronic components based on a sensor output; and
controlling, by the controller, a coolant pump that controls a flow of the coolant fluid through the coolant fluid pathway volume based on the temperature.
Regarding claim 21, the prior art fails to disclose or suggest the emboldened and italicized features below:
A method of managing heat,
wherein a heat sink is coupled to the outward surface of the electronic component, and wherein the jet of coolant fluid directed by the channel impinges a surface of the heat sink.
Conclusion
/GARY A NASH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838