DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed on 12/11/2024 has been considered and placed of record in the file.
Oath/Declaration
The Oath or Declaration is being considered by examiner and complies with PTO requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8-11, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon et al. US 2021/0337564 in view of Chen et al. US 2021/0367886 in view of Sakamoto et al. US 2019/0182893.
Consider claim 1, Kwon discloses A method comprising:
receiving, by a first station (STA) from a second STA, a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) (see FIG. 1, and ¶ [0052], wherein second STA receives first PPDU transmitted from first STA); and
decoding, by the first STA, PPDU, and obtaining a medium access control protocol data unit (MPDU) based on the data field (see FIG. 5C, ¶ [0125], wherein 1st PPDU is decoded and the A-MPDU is obtained based on the payload).
However Kwon does not explicitly disclose PPDU including a first at least one field and a second at least one field, wherein the first at least one field includes at least one non-legacy signal (SIG) field, and the second at least one field includes a data field; and wherein a guard interval for the second at least one field is predefined as a single value.
Chen teaches PPDU including a first at least one field and a second at least one field (see FIG. 6 and ¶ [0066-0067], wherein first at least one field i.e. U-SIG 616, and a second at least one field i.e. data field 626), wherein the first at least one field includes at least one non-legacy signal (SIG) field (see FIG. 6 and ¶ [0066-0067], wherein the second portion 604 may be formatted as non-legacy including universal signal field U-SIG 616), and the second at least one field includes a data field (see FIG. 6 and ¶ [0066], data field 626). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of Kwon, and to include PPDU including a first at least one field and a second at least one field, wherein the first at least one field includes at least one non-legacy signal (SIG) field, and the second at least one field includes a data field, as taught by Chen for the purpose of further disclosing detailed structure of the PPDU as disclosed in Kwon using the same effective technique as the PPDU as disclosed in Chen.
However, Kwon and Chen do not explicitly disclose wherein a guard interval for the second at least one field is predefined as a single value. Sakamoto teaches wherein a guard interval for the second at least one field is predefined as a single value (see FIG. 9 and ¶ [0165], wherein the guard interval GI of the data field 907 includes NGI symbols i.e. single value). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of Kwon and Chen, and to include wherein a guard interval for the second at least one field is predefined as a single value, as taught by Sakamoto for the purpose of further disclosing detailed structure of the data field as disclosed in Chen using the same effective technique as the data field as disclosed in Sakamoto.
Consider claim 11, Kwon discloses A first station (STA) device (see FIG. 1, STA1a) comprising:
at least one transceiver (see FIG. 1 and ¶ [0045], wherein each STA includes at least one transceiver); and
at least one processor connected to the at least one transceiver (see FIG. 1 and ¶ [0045], wherein each STA 104 includes at least one controller implemented within a processor),
wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
receiving, by a first station (STA) from a second STA, a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) (see FIG. 1, and ¶ [0052], wherein second STA receives first PPDU transmitted from first STA); and
decoding, by the first STA, PPDU, and obtaining a medium access control protocol data unit (MPDU) based on the data field (see FIG. 5C, ¶ [0125], wherein 1st PPDU is decoded and the A-MPDU is obtained based on the payload).
However Kwon does not explicitly disclose PPDU including a first at least one field and a second at least one field, wherein the first at least one field includes at least one non-legacy signal (SIG) field, and the second at least one field includes a data field; and wherein a guard interval for the second at least one field is predefined as a single value.
Chen teaches PPDU including a first at least one field and a second at least one field (see FIG. 6 and ¶ [0066-0067], wherein first at least one field i.e. U-SIG 616, and a second at least one field i.e. data field 626), wherein the first at least one field includes at least one non-legacy signal (SIG) field (see FIG. 6 and ¶ [0066-0067], wherein the second portion 604 may be formatted as non-legacy including universal signal field U-SIG 616), and the second at least one field includes a data field (see FIG. 6 and ¶ [0066], data field 626). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of Kwon, and to include PPDU including a first at least one field and a second at least one field, wherein the first at least one field includes at least one non-legacy signal (SIG) field, and the second at least one field includes a data field, as taught by Chen for the purpose of further disclosing detailed structure of the PPDU as disclosed in Kwon using the same effective technique as the PPDU as disclosed in Chen.
However, Kwon and Chen do not explicitly disclose wherein a guard interval for the second at least one field is predefined as a single value. Sakamoto teaches wherein a guard interval for the second at least one field is predefined as a single value (see FIG. 9 and ¶ [0165], wherein the guard interval GI of the data field 907 includes NGI symbols i.e. single value). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of Kwon and Chen, and to include wherein a guard interval for the second at least one field is predefined as a single value, as taught by Sakamoto for the purpose of further disclosing detailed structure of the data field as disclosed in Chen using the same effective technique as the data field as disclosed in Sakamoto.
Claim 13 is rejected on the same ground as for claim 11 because of similar scope.
Consider claim 8, Chen discloses wherein: the second at least one field further includes at least one of a non-legacy short training field (STF) field, or a non-legacy long training field (LTF) field (see FIG. 6, EHT-STF 622 or EHT-LTFs 624).
Consider claim 9, Chen discloses wherein: the first at least one field further includes universal-SIG (U-SIG) field (see FIG. 6, U-SIG 616).
Consider claim 10, Sakamoto discloses wherein: an operating band where the PPDU is transmitted or received is a millimeter wave (mmWave) band or a 60GHz band (see ¶ [0002]).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon et al. US 2021/0337564 in view of Chen et al. US 2021/0367886 in view of Sakamoto et al. US 2019/0182893 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kottkamp et al. US 2013/0208647.
Consider claim 3, Kwon in view of Chen in view of Sakamoto discloses every claimed limitation in claim 1.
However Kwon in view of Chen in view of Sakamoto does not explicitly disclose wherein: the single value of the guard interval is 0.1 microseconds (μs). Kottkamp teaches wherein: the single value of the guard interval is 0.1 microseconds (μs) (see ¶ [0035]). Kottkamp further discloses transmitting entire random access preamble (see ¶ [0035]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of Kwon in view of Chen in view of Sakamoto, and to include wherein: the single value of the guard interval is 0.1 microseconds (μs), as taught by Kottkamp for the purpose of transmitting entire random access preamble.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 4-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JANICE N TIEU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2633