DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “wherein the at least one recess(es) accommodated in the wall of the damping element is (are) completely surrounded by the material of the wall,” as recited in claim 12, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because it does not end with a period. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding independent claim 9, the phrases “preferably connected to a contact partner of a plug” and “at least one recess preferably running parallel” are indefinite because the use of “preferably” renders it unclear whether or not these phrases are required element of the claim. For purposes of examination, the use of the word “preferably” will be interpreted as being an optional element, and not positively required.
Regarding independent claim 9, the phrase “so that, by way of the at least one recess, the damping element is ensured that the compression forces are not too high when the tolerances are maximal, yet the damping element is nevertheless compressed when the tolerances are minimal” is indefinite because it is unclear which compression forces are considered to be “too high,” unclear when “tolerances are maximal,” and further unclear when “tolerances are minimal.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 9-11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vaccaro et al. (US 2015/0047147).
Regarding claim 9, Vaccaro discloses a damping element (see FIGS. 8A-10B), consisting of just one component (50), wherein the damping element is arranged on an outer sheathing of a cable (22), inside which there is arranged at least one electrical conductor (see ¶ 0003), which is preferably connected to a contact partner of a plug connector, wherein the damping element has, in its wall, at least one recess (60, 62, 64, 65) preferably running parallel to the longitudinal axis of the damping element, so that, by way of the at least one recess, the damping element is ensured that the compression forces are not too high when the tolerances are maximal, yet the damping element is nevertheless compressed when the tolerances are minimal (see ¶ 0042).
Regarding claim 10, Vaccaro discloses that the at least one recess(es) accommodated in the wall of the damping element is (are) arranged symmetrically in the wall (see FIGS. 8A-8C).
Regarding claim 11, Vaccaro discloses that the at least one recess(es) accommodated in the wall of the damping element is (are) arranged asymmetrically in the wall (see FIGS. 10A, 10B).
Regarding claim 13, Vaccaro discloses that the at least one recess(es) accommodated in the wall of the damping element is (are) partially or completely open (see FIGS. 9A-9C).
Claims 9 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamada et al. (US 6,297,457).
Regarding claim 9, Yamada discloses a damping element (see FIG. 2), consisting of just one component (1), wherein the damping element is arranged on an outer sheathing of a cable (20), inside which there is arranged at least one electrical conductor (see col. 3, lines 24-31), which is preferably connected to a contact partner of a plug connector, wherein the damping element has, in its wall, at least one recess (15) preferably running parallel to the longitudinal axis of the damping element, so that, by way of the at least one recess, the damping element is ensured that the compression forces are not too high when the tolerances are maximal, yet the damping element is nevertheless compressed when the tolerances are minimal (see col. 2, lines 3-15; grommet is made of flexible material thereby allowing damping and compression).
Regarding claim 12, Yamada discloses that the at least one recess(es) accommodated in the wall of the damping element is (are) completely surrounded by the material of the wall (see FIG. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vaccaro et al. (US 2015/0047147), as applied to claim 5, above, and further in view of Gallion (US 11,466,797).
Regarding claim 14, Vaccaro does not disclose that the damping element has at least one circumferential web and/or at least one circumferential depression on its circumferential surface.
Gallion teaches a grommet (see Abstract, FIGS. 20-26) comprising at least one circumferential web (610) and/or at least one circumferential depression on its circumferential surface (see FIGS. 20-26).
It would have been obvious to combine the circumferential webs and the circumferential depressions of Gallion with the device of Vacarro to provide a grommet that is capable of being securely attached to a plurality of wall thicknesses (see e.g. Gallion, col. 1, lines 19-21).
Regarding claim 15, Gallion teaches that the at least one circumferential web is arranged set back relative to one end of the damping element (see FIG. 22). It would have been obvious to set back the at least one circumferential web relative to an end to provide an end stop for the grommet, thereby preventing the grommet from being pushed through a securing hole.
Regarding claim 16, Gallion teaches that the damping element has, on its circumferential surface, four circumferential webs having circumferential depressions arranged between or next to them (see FIG. 22).
Conclusion
/NICHOLAS J LANE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616
September 23, 2026