DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 29-33, 36, 37, 40 and 46, in the reply filed on January 26, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 50-55 and 63-66 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected product and method, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on January 26, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 29-33, 36, 37 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Borelli et al. (US 2017/0355636).
Regarding claim 29, Borelli discloses a specific example of a glass composition comprising, in terms of mol %: 60-70% SiO2; 6-14% Al2O3; 0-20% Na2O; 0-10% K2O; and 0-5% ZrO-2 [0081]. Note that the disclosed ranges overlap the claimed ranges and that a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”; see MPEP 2144.05 I. The reference further discloses the glass composition may include gold, silver and mixtures thereof in an amount from greater than 0 mol % to about 5 mol % [0050 & 0059]. Note that given both gold and silver may be included in an amount greater than zero up to a total amount of about 5 mol %, the reference is considered to render obvious the claimed ranges for each of gold and silver; see MPEP 2144.05 I.
Regarding claims 30 and 31, given the reference discloses that both gold and silver may be included in an amount greater than zero up to a total amount of about 5 mol %, the reference is considered to render obvious the claimed ranges for each of gold and silver, see above discussion.
Regarding claim 32, the reference discloses the composition includes 0-15 mol % B2O3, which overlaps the claimed range [0081]; see MPEP 2144.05 I.
Regarding claim 33, the reference discloses the compositions include, in terms of mol %: 0-20% Na2O; 0-10% K2O; and 0-15% Li2O, all of which overlap the claimed ranges [0081]; see MPEP 2144.05 I.
Regarding claim 36, the reference discloses the composition includes 6-14 mol % Al2O3, which overlaps the claimed range [0081]; see MPEP 2144.05 I.
Regarding claim 37, the reference discloses the composition includes 0-8 mol % MgO, which overlaps the claimed range [0081]; see MPEP 2144.05 I.
Regarding claim 40, the reference discloses the composition includes 0-10 mol % CaO, which overlaps the claimed range [0081]; see MPEP 2144.05 I.
Claim 46 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Borelli et al. (US 2017/0355636) as applied to claim 29 above, and further in view of Yamamoto et al. (US 2014/0099501).
Borelli discloses the glass composition of claim 29, see above discussion. The reference, however, fails to disclose the claimed amount of TiO2.
Yamamoto discloses a glass composition comprising TiO2 as a color correcting component, see abstract and [0047]. The reference further discloses TiO2 is a component that improves weather resistance, is a color correcting component adjusting the color tone of the glass, and is not essential but can be contained as necessary [0086]. When TiO2 is contained, it is possible that a significant effect cannot be obtained regarding improvement of weather resistance if its content is less than 0.005% [0086]. It is also possible that the color correcting effect cannot be obtained sufficiently, and that exhibition of, for example, bluish black or brownish black color tone in a black base color glass cannot be prevented sufficiently [0086]. Preferably, its content is 0.01% or more, typically 0.1% or more [0086]. When the content of TiO2 is more than 1%, it is possible that the glass becomes unstable and devitrification occurs [0086]. Preferably, its content is 0.8% or less, typically 0.6% or less [0086]. Note that the values are expressed in mole percentage [0050].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include 0.01 to 0.8 mol % of TiO2 in the glass composition of Borelli in order to improve weather resistant and provide a color correcting effect without making the glass unstable.
Conclusion
/LAURA A AUER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1783