Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 13, 14-15, 138, 139, 141 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bodeen (3,974,827).
Regarding claim 1, Bodeen discloses a support member comprising: cushioning material providing a seat support surface F sized to support an occupant with a weakened region (col. 2, lines 60-56 teaches a U-shaped cut and fold line); and the weakened region providing a movable portion 4 translatable relative to the seat support surface from a local pressure effect imparted upon a rear surface of the movable portion from a local pressure device C provided on the rear surface of the cushioning material, which is spaced apart from the seat support surface.
Regarding claim 2, Bodeen discloses the weakened region (U-shaped cut and fold line) extends around a majority of a perimeter of the movable portion 4.
Regarding claim 3, Bodeen discloses the weakened region (U-shaped cut and fold line) extends around a perimeter of the movable portion 4.
Regarding claim 4, Bodeen discloses the weakened region is further defined as a recess (U-shaped cut and fold line) formed into the support member to partially separate the movable portion from the seat support surface.
Regarding claim 5, Bodeen discloses the recess (U-shaped cut and fold line) is formed through the support member.
Regarding claim 7, Bodeen discloses the weakened region is further defined as a plurality of recesses (U-shaped cut) formed in the support member to partially separate the movable portion 4 from a remainder of the support member.
Regarding claim 13, Bodeen discloses a local pressure assembly E, D, C comprising: a local pressure device C; and the support member according to claim 1.
Regarding claim 14, Bodeen discloses the local pressure device further comprises an inflatable air bladder C.
Regarding claim 15, Bodeen discloses a seat assembly (figures 1 and 2) comprising: a seat frame; the support member according to claim 1; local pressure device being provided on the seat frame H; and wherein the support member is installed upon the seat frame with the local pressure device aligned with the movable portion.
Regarding claim 138, Bodeen discloses the movable portion 4 comprises a portion of cushioning material that is translatable due to the weakened region being formed between the movable portion and a remainder of the cushioning material.
Regarding claim 139, Bodeen discloses the weakened region (the U-shaped cut) partially separates the movable portion relative to the remainder of the cushioning material allowing translation of the movable portion while maintaining a connection of the movable portion to the cushioning material.
Regarding claim 141, Bodeen discloses the weakened region comprises a plurality of slots (U-shaped cut) formed through the seat support surface and extending around a majority of a perimeter of the movable portion, and wherein the plurality of slots define a plurality of tethers between the movable portion and a remainder of the seat support surface.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 8, 9, 142 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bodeen in view of Mauffrey et al. (12,544,297).
Regarding claim 6, Mauffrey discloses the recess 11 is formed to a blind depth with a tether in the weakened region.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Mauffrey et al. and use the recess with blind depth for the fold line in the invention of Bodeen because it is simple, strong and cost effective.
Regarding claim 8, Mauffrey et al. disclose at least one tether (the recess 11 creates a tether) connecting the movable portion and the seat support surface.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Mauffrey et al. and use the recess with blind depth for the fold line in the invention of Bodeen because it is simple, strong and cost effective.
Regarding claim 9, Mauffrey et al. disclose the seat support surface has a first thickness, and the at least one tether has a second thickness that is less than the first thickness (see figures 3 and 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Mauffrey et al. and use the recess with blind depth for the fold line in the invention of Bodeen because it is simple, strong and cost effective.
Regarding claim 142, Mauffrey et al. disclose the weakened region comprises a plurality of recesses formed in the rear surface of the cushioning material, wherein each recess is formed to a blind depth so that an associated tether has a reduced thickness relative to the movable portion (see figures 3 and 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Mauffrey et al. and use the recess with blind depth for the fold line in the invention of Bodeen because it is simple, strong and cost effective.
Claim(s) 11, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bodeen in view of Palacio (US 2022/0378651).
Regarding claim 11, Palacio discloses the movable portion 115 is strengthened relative to the seat support surface to distribute the local pressure effect imparted upon the strengthened portion from the local pressure device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Palacio and use stronger material for the moveable portion in the invention of Bodeen in order to prevent any damages.
Regarding claim 12, Palacio discloses the support member 113 is formed with a first firmness and the movable portion 115 is formed with a second firmness that is greater than the first firmness.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Palacio and use stronger material for the moveable portion in the invention of Bodeen in order to prevent any damages.
Regarding claim 140, Palacio discloses the movable portion 115 is comprised of a material that is different from the cushioning material 113.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Palacio and use stronger material for the moveable portion in the invention of Bodeen in order to prevent any damages.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 10, Bodeen fails to disclose the at least one tether is sized to tear during initial operation to permit untethered translation of the movable portion. No other prior art references in the record whether taken alone or in combination can solve these dissimilarities.
Conclusion
/SYED A ISLAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636