DETAILED ACTION
Any rejections made in a previous Office action and not repeated below are hereby withdrawn.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 60-73 and 75-80 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dejneka et al. (US 2015/0064474).
Regarding claim 60, Dejneka discloses a glass composition including in mole %: SiO2 in the range from about 45 to about 75; Al2O3 in the range from about 4 to about 25; MgO in the range from about 0 to about 8, Li2O in the range from about 0 to about 12, Na2O in the range from about 4 to about 20 and/or K2O in the range from about 0 to about 2, see abstract and [0010]. Additionally, the composition can contain gold in an amount ranging from 0.005 mol % to about 0.1 mol % [0056]. The reference further discloses the glass composition exhibits a liquidus viscosity of about 10 kilopoise (kP) or greater (e.g., 20 kP or greater, 50 kP or greater or 100 kP or greater) and a liquidus temperature of less than about 1400°C [0083 and 0086]. Note that the ranges disclosed for the composition, liquidus viscosity and liquidus temperature overlap the claimed ranges; see MPEP 2144.05 I: in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
Regarding claim 61, the reference discloses MgO in the range from about 0 to about 8 mol % and Li2O in the range from about 0 to about 12 mol %, which renders obvious the claimed sum, see abstract and [0010].
Regarding claim 62, the reference discloses the composition can contain gold in an amount ranging from 0.005 mol % to about 0.1 mol %, which overlaps the claimed range [0056]; see MPEP 2144.05 I.
Regarding claim 63, the reference discloses the composition contains SiO2 in the range from about 45 to about 75 mol %, which overlaps the claimed range, see abstract; see also MPEP 2144.05 I.
Regarding claim 64, the reference discloses the composition contains Al2O3 in the range from about 4 to about 25 mol %, which overlaps the claimed range, see abstract; see also MPEP 2144.05 I.
Regarding claim 65, the reference discloses the composition contains B2O3 in the range from about 0 to about 12 mol %, which overlaps the claimed range, see abstract; see also MPEP 2144.05 I.
Regarding claim 66, the reference discloses the composition contains Li2O in the range from about 0 to about 12 mol %, which overlaps the claimed range [0010]; see also MPEP 2144.05 I.
Regarding claim 67, the reference discloses the composition contains Na2O in the range from about 4 to about 20 mol %, which overlaps the claimed range [0010]; see also MPEP 2144.05 I.
Regarding claim 68, the reference discloses the composition contains K2O in the range from about 0 to about 2 mol %, which overlaps the claimed range [0010]; see also MPEP 2144.05 I.
Regarding claim 69, the reference discloses the composition contains MgO in the range from about 0 to about 8 mol %, which overlaps the claimed range, see abstract; see also MPEP 2144.05 I.
Regarding claim 70, the reference discloses examples of compositions with zero CaO or with the amount of CaO within the claimed range, see Table I.
Regarding claim 71, the reference discloses the composition contains ZnO in the range from about 0 to about 8 mol %, which overlaps the claimed range, see abstract; see also MPEP 2144.05 I.
Regarding claims 72, 73 and 75, the reference discloses the glass the does not contain Fe2O3, MnO2 and Bi2O3- as well as examples of compositions with zero Fe2O3, MnO2 and Bi2O3, see entire document and Table I.
Regarding claims 76 and 77, the reference discloses the composition can contain silver and platinum in an amount ranging from 0.005 mol % to about 0.1 mol %, which overlaps the claimed range [0056]; see MPEP 2144.05 I.
Regarding claim 78, the reference discloses the composition contains from about 0 to 40 mol % alkali oxides R2O, which overlaps the claimed range [0047]; see MPEP 2144.05 I.
Regarding claim 79, the reference discloses the composition contains less than 8 mol % MgO and ZnO, which overlaps the claimed range, and examples with less than 8% R’O, see Table 1 and [0057]; see MPEP 2144.05 I.
Regarding claim 80, the reference discloses the composition exhibits the following compositional criteria: the difference (R2O - Al2O3) may be, in mol %, in the range from about -4 to about 4 [0053].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 60-73 and 75-80 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/LAURA A AUER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1783