DETAILED ACTION
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because of its improper use of reference characters in parenthesis. Correction is required. See MPEP 608.01(b).
The abstract of the disclosure does not commence on a separate sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.52(b)(4) and 1.72(b). A new abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text.
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: In line 3, after the phrase “about the axis”, delete “,” and enter --.--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the second pivot arm" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakasako (International Patent Application WO 2009110066A1) in view of Peppel (United States Patent US 6,974,020 B1).
Regarding Claim 1, Nakasako discloses An indexing system for a multi-station apparatus for processing work products, the indexing system comprising:(Page 1, lines 9-11: "The present invention relates to an article conveying apparatus suitable for use in an article sorting facility for sorting, sorting and packaging articles such as fruits and vegetables placed on a conveying pan while conveying them.")a multi-position indexing platform having a plurality of stations arranged along an arcuate path about an axis, the stations comprising:(Figure 1: Conveyor system having a plurality of stations)a receiving station for receiving work products for processing,(Figure 1: Carry in conveyor line 2)at least two processing stations where work products are processed, a first processing station positioned on the arcuate path extending clockwise from the receiving station toward the discharge station, and a second processing station positioned on the arcuate path extending counterclockwise from the receiving station toward the discharge station; and(Figure 1: Discrimination conveyors 7 dependent on the clockwise or counterclockwise spinning of distribution means 6)a discharge station from which work products that have been processed are removed from the platform, the discharge station located on the arcuate path downstream from the processing stations; and(Figure 1: Conveyor line 3).
However, Nakasako does not disclose a pivot arm assembly rotatable about the axis to move the work products from the receiving station in a clockwise direction to the first processing station and in a counterclockwise direction to the second processing station.
Peppel discloses a similar indexing system comprising a pivot arm assembly rotatable about the axis to move the work products from the receiving station in a clockwise direction to the first processing station and in a counterclockwise direction to the second processing station.(Figure 1A: Flipper assembly 60).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nakasako to include the pivot arm as taught by Peppel. The motivation for the modification would have been to allow for a diverter assembly capable of operating at higher speeds, while minimizing the impact with the diverter and damage to the articles. (Column 1, lines 48-51).
Regarding Claim 2, Nakasako in view of Peppel discloses the indexing system of claim 1, as seen above. Nakasako further discloses wherein the pivot arm assembly when rotating about the axis to move the work products from the receiving station to a processing station, also moving processed work products from the processing station to the discharge station.(Figure 1: Shows that as products are moved to conveyor lines 4, they eventually move from the lines 4 to the common conveyor line 3)
Regarding Claim 3, Nakasako in view of Peppel discloses the indexing system of claim 1, as seen above. Peppel further discloses wherein the pivot arm assembly comprises a first pivot arm rotatable about the axis in clockwise and counterclockwise directions to move work products from the receiving station to the processing stations and from the processing stations to the discharge station.(Column 4, lines 32-39: "Turning now to FIGS. 2 and 3, illustrated is a partial diagramic top view of the flipper arm assembly 60 in the two alternate positions 60a and 60b. As previously explained, the endless belt 230 moves in a clockwise direction when the flipper arm assembly 60 is in one position 60a, and the endless belt 230 moves in a counter-clockwise direction when the flipper arm assembly 60 is in the alternate position 60b.")
Regarding Claim 4, Nakasako in view of Peppel discloses the indexing system of claim 3, as seen above. Peppel further discloses wherein the first pivot arm is rotatable about the central axis in the clockwise direction to push work products from the receiving station to the first processing station and is rotatable about the central axis in the counterclockwise direction to push work products from the receiving station to the second processing station.(Column 4, lines 32-39: "Turning now to FIGS. 2 and 3, illustrated is a partial diagramic top view of the flipper arm assembly 60 in the two alternate positions 60a and 60b. As previously explained, the endless belt 230 moves in a clockwise direction when the flipper arm assembly 60 is in one position 60a, and the endless belt 230 moves in a counter-clockwise direction when the flipper arm assembly 60 is in the alternate position 60b.")
Regarding Claim 5, Nakasako in view of Peppel discloses the indexing system of claim 4, as seen above. Peppel further discloses wherein when the first pivot arm is rotated about the axis in the clockwise direction to move work products from the receiving station to the first processing station, the first pivot arm is in position without further movement, to rotate about the central axis in the counterclockwise direction to move work products from the receiving station to the second processing station.(Column 4, lines 32-39: "Turning now to FIGS. 2 and 3, illustrated is a partial diagramic top view of the flipper arm assembly 60 in the two alternate positions 60a and 60b. As previously explained, the endless belt 230 moves in a clockwise direction when the flipper arm assembly 60 is in one position 60a, and the endless belt 230 moves in a counter-clockwise direction when the flipper arm assembly 60 is in the alternate position 60b.")
Regarding Claim 6, Nakasako in view of Peppel discloses the indexing system of claim 3, as seen above. Peppel further discloses wherein the first pivot arm has portions defining a contact surface for bearing against the work products when pushing the work products from the receiving station to the first and second processing stations.(Figure 1B: Endless belt 230 which contacts articles 15a)
Regarding Claim 7, Nakasako in view of Peppel discloses the indexing system of claim 6, as seen above. Peppel further discloses wherein the contact surface is shaped to correspond to the shape of the work product.(Column 5, lines 12-22: "The endless belt 230 defines an unsupported belt span 30 for contacting the article on the one conveying surface 20 and transferring the contacted article to the another conveying surface 40, 50 (conveying surfaces illustrated in FIG. 1). The endless belt 230 preferably comprises at least two unsupported belt spans 30 to contact the article on the one conveying surface 20 and transfer the contacted article to the another convey surface 40 or 50. Preferably, the unsupported belt span 30 is mounted on spaced apart pulleys 190 and 200, to deflect upon contact with the article and thereby absorb shock upon impact with the article.", wherein the belt span 30 can deflect to the shape of the article upon contact)
Regarding Claim 8, Nakasako in view of Peppel discloses the indexing system of claim 3, as seen above. Peppel further discloses wherein the pivot arm assembly comprises a second pivot arm extending laterally from the first pivot arm and rotatable about the axis in the clockwise and counterclockwise directions to retain the work products against the first pivot arm as the work products move from the receiving station to the first and second processing stations.(Column 5, lines 30-37: "In the illustrated embodiment, endless belt 230 is a single belt, but other surfaces are possible, such as driven or non-driven rollers, or the like. The endless belt 230 can also comprise a plurality of separate vee belts. The plurality of separate vee belts provide a power face belt that advantageously absorbs and deflects the shock of articles in a direction transverse to the direction of the one conveying surface 20.")
Regarding Claim 12, Nakasako in view of Peppel discloses the indexing system of claim 1, as seen above. Nakasako further discloses wherein the path along which the plurality of stations are arranged is a circular path about the axis,(Figure 1: The article conveying apparatus completes a substantially circular circuit about the stations)
Regarding Claim 13, Nakasako discloses A method of presenting work products to be processed to a multi- station processing apparatus and removing the processed work products from the processing apparatus, comprising:(Page 1, lines 9-11: "The present invention relates to an article conveying apparatus suitable for use in an article sorting facility for sorting, sorting and packaging articles such as fruits and vegetables placed on a conveying pan while conveying them.")receiving work products to be processed at a receiving station from a stream of work products to be processed;(Figure 1: Carry in conveyor line 2)moving the work products after being processed along the arcuate path from the first processing station to the discharge station and from the second processing station to the discharge station.(Figure 1: Conveyor line 3).
However, Nakasako does not disclose moving work products to be processed from the receiving station along an arcuate path in a clockwise direction to a first processing station and in a counterclockwise direction to a second processing station.
Peppel discloses a similar method comprising moving work products to be processed from the receiving station along an arcuate path in a clockwise direction to a first processing station and in a counterclockwise direction to a second processing station; and(Figure 1A: Flipper assembly 60).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nakasako to include the pivot arm as taught by Peppel. The motivation for the modification would have been to allow for a diverter assembly capable of operating at higher speeds, while minimizing the impact with the diverter and damage to the articles. (Column 1, lines 48-51).
Regarding Claim 14, Nakasako in view of Peppel discloses the method of claim 13, as seen above. Nakasako further discloses wherein the arcuate path along which the work products to be processed are moved from the receiving station to the first and second processing stations and are moved from the first and second processing stations to the discharge station is a circular path.(Figure 1: The article conveying apparatus completes a substantially circular circuit about the stations)
Regarding Claim 15, Nakasako in view of Peppel discloses the method of claim 14, as seen above. Nakasako further discloses wherein the receiving station and discharge station are positioned at diametrically opposite locations on the circular path.(Figure 1: Conveyor line 4 and conveyor line 3 opposite one another)
Regarding Claim 16, Nakasako in view of Peppel discloses the method of claim 13, as seen above. Peppel further discloses wherein the work products are moved from the receiving station to the first and second processing stations along the arcuate path by a swing arm assembly rotatable about an axis.(Column 4, lines 32-39: "Turning now to FIGS. 2 and 3, illustrated is a partial diagramic top view of the flipper arm assembly 60 in the two alternate positions 60a and 60b. As previously explained, the endless belt 230 moves in a clockwise direction when the flipper arm assembly 60 is in one position 60a, and the endless belt 230 moves in a counter-clockwise direction when the flipper arm assembly 60 is in the alternate position 60b.")
Regarding Claim 17, Nakasako in view of Peppel discloses the method of claim 16, as seen above. Peppel further discloses wherein the swing arm assembly rotates in a first direction about the axis to move work products from the receiving station to the first processing station and rotates about the axis in a second direction to move work products from the receiving station to the second processing station.(Column 4, lines 32-39: "Turning now to FIGS. 2 and 3, illustrated is a partial diagramic top view of the flipper arm assembly 60 in the two alternate positions 60a and 60b. As previously explained, the endless belt 230 moves in a clockwise direction when the flipper arm assembly 60 is in one position 60a, and the endless belt 230 moves in a counter-clockwise direction when the flipper arm assembly 60 is in the alternate position 60b.")
Regarding Claim 18, Nakasako in view of Peppel discloses the method of claim 16, as seen above. Peppel further discloses wherein when the swing arm assembly has rotated in a first direction about the axis to move work products from the receiving station to the first processing station, the swing arm requires no further rotation about the axis to be in position to rotate about the axis in a second direction to move work products from the receiving station to the second processing station.(Column 4, lines 32-39: "Turning now to FIGS. 2 and 3, illustrated is a partial diagramic top view of the flipper arm assembly 60 in the two alternate positions 60a and 60b. As previously explained, the endless belt 230 moves in a clockwise direction when the flipper arm assembly 60 is in one position 60a, and the endless belt 230 moves in a counter-clockwise direction when the flipper arm assembly 60 is in the alternate position 60b.")
Regarding Claim 19, Nakasako in view of Peppel discloses the method of claim 16, as seen above. Peppel further discloses further comprising retaining the work products to the swing arm assembly as the swing arm assembly moves the work products from the receiving station to the first and second processing stations.(Column 5, lines 12-22: "The endless belt 230 defines an unsupported belt span 30 for contacting the article on the one conveying surface 20 and transferring the contacted article to the another conveying surface 40, 50 (conveying surfaces illustrated in FIG. 1). The endless belt 230 preferably comprises at least two unsupported belt spans 30 to contact the article on the one conveying surface 20 and transfer the contacted article to the another convey surface 40 or 50. Preferably, the unsupported belt span 30 is mounted on spaced apart pulleys 190 and 200, to deflect upon contact with the article and thereby absorb shock upon impact with the article.")
Regarding Claim 20, Nakasako discloses An indexing system for a multi-head seamer apparatus for sealing the tops of containers with covers,(Page 1, lines 9-11: "The present invention relates to an article conveying apparatus suitable for use in an article sorting facility for sorting, sorting and packaging articles such as fruits and vegetables placed on a conveying pan while conveying them.") the indexing system comprising: a multi-position indexing platform having a plurality of stations arranged along an arcuate path about an axis, (Figure 1: Conveyor system having a plurality of stations)the stations comprising: a receiving station for receiving containers to which covers are to be sealed, and a discharge station from which containers with covers sealed thereto are removed from the platform, the receiving station and discharge station located on the arcuate path diametrically opposite to each other relative to the axis; (Figure 1: Carry in conveyor line 2 and conveyor line 3)and at least two sealing stations where at covers are sealed to the containers, a first sealing station positioned on the arcuate path extending clockwise from the receiving station toward the discharge station, and a second sealing station positioned on the arcuate path extending counterclockwise from the receiving station toward the discharge station; (Figure 1: Discrimination conveyors 7 dependent on the clockwise or counterclockwise spinning of distribution means 6).
However, Nakasako does not disclose a pivot arm assembly to rotatably toggle about the pivot axis to move the containers from the receiving station in a clockwise direction to the first sealing station and in a counterclockwise direction to the second sealing station.
Peppel discloses a similar indexing system comprising a pivot arm assembly to rotatably toggle about the pivot axis to move the containers from the receiving station in a clockwise direction to the first sealing station and in a counterclockwise direction to the second sealing station.(Figure 1A: Flipper assembly 60).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nakasako to include the pivot arm as taught by Peppel. The motivation for the modification would have been to allow for a diverter assembly capable of operating at higher speeds, while minimizing the impact with the diverter and damage to the articles. (Column 1, lines 48-51).
Allowable Subject Matter
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Claims 9-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 9, there is no prior art alone or in combination that included the combination of recited limitations in Claims 1, 3 and 9. The art alone or in combination did not disclose wherein a second pivot arm moves the work product from the first and second processing stations to the discharge station as the first pivot arm moves the work products from the receiving station to the first and second processing stations. The closest prior arts of record Nakasako (International Patent Application WO 2009110066A1) and Peppel (United States Patent US 6,974,020 B1) disclose a similar indexing system for a multi-station apparatus for processing work products comprising a receiving station, at least two processing stations, a discharge station and a pivot arm assembly rotatable about the axis to move work products from the receiving station to the first and second processing station, but both fail to teach wherein a second pivot arm moves the work product from the first and second processing stations to the discharge station as the first pivot arm moves the work products from the receiving station to the first and second processing stations. Additionally, no other references, or reasonable combination thereof, could be found which disclose or suggest these features in combination with other limitations in the claims.
Regarding Claim 10, there is no prior art alone or in combination that included the combination of recited limitations in Claims 1, 3, 8 and 10. The art alone or in combination did not disclose wherein the second pivot arm is extendable relative to the first pivot arm to be disposed relative to the first pivot arm in a rotationally leading position as the first pivot arm rotates in the clockwise or counterclockwise directions. The closest prior arts of record Nakasako (International Patent Application WO 2009110066A1) and Peppel (United States Patent US 6,974,020 B1) disclose a similar indexing system for a multi-station apparatus for processing work products comprising a receiving station, at least two processing stations, a discharge station, a pivot arm assembly rotatable about the axis to move work products from the receiving station to the first and second processing station and wherein the pivot arm assembly can contain multiple pivot arm components, but both fail to teach wherein the second pivot arm is extendable relative to the first pivot arm to be disposed relative to the first pivot arm in a rotationally leading position as the first pivot arm rotates in the clockwise or counterclockwise directions. Additionally, no other references, or reasonable combination thereof, could be found which disclose or suggest these features in combination with other limitations in the claims.
Regarding Claim 11, there is no prior art alone or in combination that included the combination of recited limitations in Claims 1, 3, 8 and 11. The art alone or in combination did not disclose wherein the distance that the second pivot arm extends relative to the first pivot arm is adjustable to correspond to the direction of rotation of the first pivot arm. The closest prior arts of record Nakasako (International Patent Application WO 2009110066A1) and Peppel (United States Patent US 6,974,020 B1) disclose a similar indexing system for a multi-station apparatus for processing work products comprising a receiving station, at least two processing stations, a discharge station, a pivot arm assembly rotatable about the axis to move work products from the receiving station to the first and second processing station and wherein the pivot arm assembly can contain multiple pivot arm components, but both fail to teach wherein the distance that the second pivot arm extends relative to the first pivot arm is adjustable to correspond to the direction of rotation of the first pivot arm. Additionally, no other references, or reasonable combination thereof, could be found which disclose or suggest these features in combination with other limitations in the claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
United States Patent US 7,124,876 B2 (Wolf, Stephen): Wolf teaches a similar paddle diverter assembly comprising an arm, an actuator for actuating the arm and a plurality of conveying stations as seen in Figure 26.
United States Patent US 3,837,467 A (Farfaglia, Silvio): Farfaglia teaches a similar means for positioning articles on a conveyor comprising a transfer station, a positioning element pivotably mounted to contact articles, and conveying stations as seen in Figure 2.
/ABBY A JORGENSEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3651