DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 18, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
At present, the prior art to Cornell et al. (WO 2021/016196 A1) remains commensurate to the scope of the claims as stated by the Applicant and as broadly interpreted by the Examiner [MPEP 2111], which is elucidated and expounded upon below.
In response to Applicant’s arguments concerning the newly amended limitation, “a protective member disposed below the light socket and connected to the light socket,” the language does not clarify how the protective member is “connected” to the light socket, whereby the term is broad and relative. Applicant’s arguments seem to imply that the protective member needs to be connected to the light socket in the sense of being attached or contacting, but that is not in the language. In this case, Cornell remains commensurate in teaching the protective member (22, 54, 74) disposed below the light socket [e.g., (40, 50), as broadly interpreted to hold the light source] and is connected to the light socket via the shape/opening of the protective member accommodating the socket therein. The protective member is also connected to the light socket via (30, 34), as well as, being in contact/connected to the light socket when it is in the collapsed/stored position as shown in Figures 1-4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 12-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cornell et al. (WO 2021/016196 A1).
With regards to Claim 12, Cornell discloses an omni-directional work light [Figures 1-8], including:
An elongated body (14) having a longitudinal axis (A);
A light head assembly (26) connected to a top end of the elongated body [note Figures 1-8], wherein the light head assembly includes a light source with a transparent cover [note (48) – LEDs and transparent cover] and a light socket [e.g., (40, 50), as broadly interpreted to hold the light source], wherein the light socket defines a radial plane perpendicular to the longitudinal axis [e.g., plane parallel to and defined by (32)];
A plurality of legs (78) pivotally connected to the elongated body and movable between a folded position in which the plurality of legs are folded against the elongated body and an unfolded position in which a respective distal end of the plurality of legs is unfolded away from the elongated body [note Figure 6]; and
A protective member (22, 54, 74) disposed below the light socket and connected to the light socket [e.g., shape/opening of the protective member accommodating the socket therein; also, contacting/connected to the light socket when it is in the collapsed/stored position as shown in Figures 1-4], wherein a projection of the transparent cover on the radial plane is within a projection range of the protective member on the radial plane [note Figures 1-8: a projection of the transparent cover (48) on the radial plane is within a projection range of the protective member].
With regards to Claim 13, Cornell discloses the protective member (22, 54, 74) is configured as a collar extending substantially parallel to the radial plane and wherein the collar has a periphery that is circular or polygonal [note Figure 5A].
With regards to Claim 14, Cornell discloses at least part of the periphery has a flange extending parallel to, or at an angle to, the longitudinal axis [note (22, 54, 74) extends upward].
With regards to Claim 15, Cornell discloses the protective member (22, 54, 74) being configured in a shape of a bowl [note Figure 5A], wherein the bowl extends radially outward from a center of a bottom of the bowl that is connected to the light socket and extends along the longitudinal axis towards the transparent cover, and wherein the bowl at least partially surrounds the light socket [note Figure 1].
With regards to Claim 16, Cornell discloses the protective member (22, 54, 74) including a plurality of first portions respectively corresponding to a position of the plurality of legs and a plurality of second portions each corresponding to a respective position between two adjacent legs, and wherein the plurality of first portions are successively spaced apart by the plurality of second portions [note Figures 1-8, first and second portions are arbitrary/relative].
With regards to Claim 17, Cornell discloses the protective member (22, 54, 74) including a central ring [adjacent (66) surrounding (34)] connector to a bottom of the light socket [note Figure 1], wherein a connecting rib [e.g., (64)] is disposed between the central ring and a first portion of the plurality of first portions, and wherein the connecting rib has at least one protrusion which supports the bottom of the light socket [note Figures 1-8].
With regards to Claim 18, Cornell discloses a projection of the plurality of first portions [e.g., (64)] on the radial plane has a first radial distance, wherein a first projection of the plurality of second portions [e.g., (54)] on the radial plane has a second radial distance, and wherein the first radial distance is less than the second radial distance [note Figure 5A].
With regards to Claim 19, Cornell discloses when the plurality of legs (78) are in the unfolded position, the transparent cover does not exceed a plane constituted by a radially outermost point of the plurality of second portion(s) and a respective distal end of two adjacent legs in a radial direction [note Figure 6].
With regards to Claim 20, Cornell discloses when the plurality of legs (78) are in the unfolded position, the transparent cover does not exceed a plane constituted by the respective distal end of the plurality of legs and two radially outermost points of the plurality of first portions in a radial direction [note Figure 6].
With regards to Claim 21, Cornell discloses the plurality of second portions are each configured as a handle that is graspable by a user [note Figures 1-8: second portions of (22, 54, 74) may be grasped].
With regards to Claim 22, Cornell discloses the protective member (22, 54, 74) is integrally formed [note Figures 1-8].
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Wednesday, February 4, 2026
/Jason M Han/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875