Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because claim 13 is directed towards a storage medium comprising computer-executable instructions. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claimed invention is directed towards a storage medium, which includes a transitory medium (page 17, paragraph 121, The computer-readable medium described above in the present disclosure may be a computer-readable signal medium, a computer-readable storage medium, or any combination thereof). See MPEP 2106.01.
The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim drawn to a computer readable medium (also called machine readable medium and other such variations) typically covers forms of non-transitory tangible media and transitory propagating signals per se in view of the ordinary and customary meaning of computer readable media, particularly when the specification is silent.
“A transitory, propagating signal … is not a “process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter.” Those four categories define the explicit scope and reach of subject matter patentable under 35 U.S.C. § 101; thus, such a signal cannot be patentable subject matter.” (In re Nuijten, 84 USPQ2d 1495 (Fed. Cir. 2007)).
Because the full scope of the claim as properly read in light of the disclosure appears to encompass non-statutory subject matter (i.e., because the specification defines/exemplifies a computer readable medium as a non-statutory signal, carrier waver, etc.) the claim as a whole is non-statutory. (See 1351 OG 212).
A claim drawn to such a computer readable medium that covers both transitory and non-transitory embodiments may be amended to narrow the claim to cover only statutory embodiments to avoid a rejection under 35 US.C. § 101 by adding the limitation "non-transitory" to the claim.
Any amendment to the claim should be commensurate with its corresponding disclosure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu (U.S. PGPUB 20160180600).
With respect to claim 1, Liu discloses a method of generating a transition effect image, comprising:
determining 3-dimensional (3D) transformation information corresponding to a transition model at a current time instant (paragraph 87, FIG. 2 illustrates an example process of a video image undergoing a sequence of 3-D manipulations, specifically, resizing, followed by y-rotation, followed by z-rotation, paragraph 135, The perspective transform engine in the DVE device performs the manipulation of the source image 104 to obtain target image 110 as follows. For each target pixel coordinate (xt,yt), the target coordinate values xt, and yt are input into the perspective transform engine, which computes the corresponding source pixel coordinate (xs,ys) of the source image. The source pixel coordinate (xs,ys) corresponding to the target pixel coordinate (xt,yt) is a function of the manipulation being applied (i.e. the specific effect), and is controlled by transformation parameters);
transforming the transition model based on the 3D transformation information to obtain a transformed transition model (paragraph 143, The effect applied to the source image is 3-D in the sense that the target image can appear in 3-D space even though the screen is 2-D);
sampling a pixel value from a set image based on the transformed transition model (paragraph 88, Conversely, the top boundary edge of the fourth target block 113 in the target image 114 is mapped onto a top boundary edge in the source image 112. This is inverse mapping. In the embodiments described with reference to the figures below, inverse mapping is used); and
generating a 3D transition effect image corresponding to the transition model based on the pixel value (paragraph 88, Specifically, each coordinate of a transformed video image is mapped to a corresponding coordinate in the source video image. For example, the transformed video image may be built on a pixel-by-pixel basis by having a counter start at one pixel coordinate (e.g. (x,y)=(0,0)) and count up to another pixel coordinate ((e.g. (x,y)=(m,n)), and for each pixel coordinate compute, based on the transformation, the corresponding pixel coordinate in the source video image, which is used to derive a pixel value for the pixel coordinate).
With respect to claim 2, Liu discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein determining the 3D transformation information corresponding to the transition model at the current time instant comprises:
obtaining model transformation information (paragraph 135, Equation (5), Equation (6), Equations (5) and (6) are based on mapping of a target pixel coordinate to a corresponding source pixel coordinate using the following inverse mapping function (geometric transformation): Equation (7)) and camera transformation information corresponding to the current time instant and perspective information (paragraph 136, where M−1 is a homogeneous matrix, inverse to a forward mapping M, where a 4×4 homogeneous matrix represents a geometrical transformation. The value f represents a focus distance between the viewer and the target screen, thus the value f is associated with camera transformation information), wherein the model transformation information is transformation information of the transition model (paragraph 137, In this example, Ta, Tb, Tc, Td, Te, Tf, Tg, Th, Pa, Pb, Pc, Pd, and f are parameters set based on the specific effect being applied to the source image); and
determining the 3D transformation information of the transition model based on the perspective information, the camera transformation information, and the model transformation information (paragraph 141, paragraph 142, paragraph 143, The effect applied to the source image is 3-D in the sense that the target image can appear in 3-D space even though the screen is 2-D).
With respect to claim 12, Liu discloses an electronic device (paragraph 343, An example of such a computational device (e.g. a computer) is illustrated in FIG. 47), comprising:
one or more processors; and
a storage apparatus, configured to store one or more programs (paragraph 343, computational device 1802 includes a memory 1804, and a processor 1806. The computational device 1802 may include other components, such as a user interface, data buses, etc.), wherein the one or more programs, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to execute the method of claim 1; see rationale for rejection of claim 1.
With respect to claim 13, Liu discloses a storage medium comprising computer-executable instructions (paragraph 145, A perspective transform engine may be implemented, for example, by dedicated computational circuitry or by a general processor (general circuitry) that executes instructions stored in a memory to perform the perspective transform), wherein the computer-executable instructions, when executed by a computer processor execute the method of claim 1; see rationale for rejection of claim 1.
With respect to claim 14, Liu discloses the electronic device according to claim 12, wherein the one or more programs, when causing the one or more processors to determine the 3D transformation information corresponding to the transition model at the current time instant, cause the one or more processor to execute the method of claim 2; see rationale for rejection of claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (U.S. PGPUB 20160180600) in view of Tang (U.S. PGPUB 20210327123).
With respect to claim 3, Liu discloses the method according to claim 2, obtaining the perspective information comprises: obtaining virtual camera information (paragraph 136, The value f represents a focus distance between the viewer and the target screen); and generating the perspective information based on the virtual camera information (paragraph 138, Also, the focus f is determined based on the effect. Then, Equations (5) and (6) above may be computed for each target pixel coordinate (xt,yt)). However, Liu does not expressly disclose the virtual camera information comprises viewing angle information, near plane information, far plane information, and screen ratio information.
Tang, who also deals with rendering an image, disclose a method wherein the virtual camera information comprises viewing angle information, near plane information, far plane information, and screen ratio information (paragraph 80, Generally, a viewing frustum may be described by parameters such as a field-of-view angle, an aspect ratio, and distances from the near plane and the far plane to the virtual camera, paragraph 81, The viewpoint parameters of this embodiment of this disclosure may include a viewpoint position, a line-of-sight direction, a viewing angle, and other parameters of the virtual camera (or a virtual image acquisition device such as the virtual video camera) of the current frame of image. The viewpoint parameters may be determined based on a viewing frustum for drawing the current frame of image).
Liu and Tang are in the same field of endeavor, namely computer graphics.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to apply the method wherein the virtual camera information comprises viewing angle information, near plane information, far plane information, and screen ratio information, as taught by Tang, to the Liu system, because this would incorporate commonly known parameters used to describe a viewable object in 3D space.
With respect to claim 15, Liu as modified by Tang disclose the electronic device according to claim 14, wherein the one or more programs, when causing the one or more processors to obtain the perspective information, cause the one or more processor to execute the method of claim 3; see rationale for rejection of claim 3.
Claim(s) 4-5 and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (U.S. PGPUB 20160180600) in view of Moriwake et al. (U.S. PGPUB 20010020953).
With respect to claim 4, Liu discloses the method according to claim 2. However, Liu does not expressly disclose obtaining the model transformation information and the camera transformation information corresponding to the current time instant comprises: obtaining a transition progress corresponding to the current time instant, wherein the transition progress is a ratio of a duration between the current time instant and a transition start time instant to a total transition duration; and determining the model transformation information and the camera transformation information corresponding to the current time instant based on the transition progress.
Moriwake et al., who also deal with rendering an image, disclose a method wherein obtaining the model transformation information and the camera transformation information corresponding to the current time instant comprises:
obtaining a transition progress corresponding to the current time instant, wherein the transition progress is a ratio of a duration between the current time instant and a transition start time instant to a total transition duration (paragraph 195, Then, a point of which parameter is changed is decided and the setting value is decided with viewing the content specified on the time line window 41. The position corresponding to the decided point and the setting value is clicked on the parameter setting window 42 consisting the vertical axis being the parameter value and the horizontal axis being time. Thereby, the parameter value and the parameter changing point corresponding to the clicked position are registered automatically in the clip database CDB); and
determining the model transformation information and the camera transformation information corresponding to the current time instant based on the transition progress (paragraph 197, In addition, also in this case, the section between the points specified by an operator are interpolated successively and the values such that the video image is continuously rotated are automatically set. In connection, it can be arbitrarily decided by setting that the section is interpolated linearly or interpolated with a spline curve. In this example, the rotation processing is set to be interpolated with a spline curve, so that the values are set in accordance with a spline curve between the points specified by the operator).
Liu and Moriwake et al. are in the same field of endeavor, namely computer graphics.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to apply the method wherein obtaining the model transformation information and the camera transformation information corresponding to the current time instant comprises: obtaining a transition progress corresponding to the current time instant, wherein the transition progress is a ratio of a duration between the current time instant and a transition start time instant to a total transition duration; and determining the model transformation information and the camera transformation information corresponding to the current time instant based on the transition progress, as taught by Moriwake et al., to the Liu system, because an operator looks the display and can visually understand at a glance the values, the parameters, and the timings which have been set (paragraph 198 of Moriwake et al.).
With respect to claim 5, Liu as modified by Moriwake et al. disclose the method according to claim 4, wherein determining the model transformation information corresponding to the current time instant based on the transition progress comprises:
determining model translation information, model scaling information, and model rotation information of the current time instant based on the transition progress (Liu: paragraph 87, A digital video effect is a visual effect which provides comprehensive video image manipulations in 3-D space, primarily dealing with resizing, rotation, translation or distortion of a source visual image); and
determining the model transformation information based on the model translation information, the model scaling information, and the model rotation information (Liu: paragraph 137, if it was desired to rotate the source image by 15 degrees and shrink the image to half its size, then the corresponding values of the parameters Ta, Tb, Tc, Td, Te, Tf, Tg, Th, Pa, Pb, Pc, Pd, and f would be computed, paragraph 138, A matrix M=Mt×My×Mz is computed).
With respect to claim 16, Liu as modified by Moriwake et al. disclose the electronic device according to claim 14, wherein the one or more programs, when causing the one or more processors to obtain the model transformation information and the camera transformation information corresponding to the current time instant, cause the one or more processor to execute the method of claim 4; see rationale for rejection of claim 4.
With respect to claim 17, Liu as modified by Moriwake et al. disclose the electronic device according to claim 16, wherein the one or more programs, when causing the one or more processors to determine the model transformation information corresponding to the current time instant based on the transition progress, cause the one or more processor to execute the method of claim 5; see rationale for rejection of claim 5.
Claim(s) 6 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (U.S. PGPUB 20160180600) in view of Moriwake et al. (U.S. PGPUB 20010020953) and further in view of Piemonte et al. (U.S. PGPUB 20130322702).
With respect to claim 6, Liu as modified by Moriwake et al. disclose the method according to claim 4, wherein determining the camera transformation information corresponding to the current time instant based on the transition progress comprises: determining set component transformation information of the current time instant based on the transition progress (Moriwake et al.: paragraph 196, Similarly, in the case where the position in the Z-axis direction is gradually moved from the editing point EP2 to the plus direction, the desired values are successively clicked so as to register the values automatically); and determining the camera transformation information based on the set component transformation information (paragraph 195, Here, to actually set the parameters of the three-dimensional transform, a desired item is first clicked among from the items of parameters displayed at the left corner of the parameter setting window 42 to specify the item that parameter is set next. Then, a point of which parameter is changed is decided and the setting value is decided with viewing the content specified on the time line window 41). However, Liu as modified by Moriwake et al. do not expressly disclose determining the camera transformation information corresponding to the current time instant based on the transition progress comprises:
determining camera translation information, camera rotation information; and determining the camera transformation information based on the camera translation information, and the camera rotation information.
Piemonte et al., who also deal with rendering an image, disclose a method wherein determining the camera transformation information corresponding to the current time instant based on the transition progress comprises:
determining camera translation information, camera rotation information; and determining the camera transformation information based on the camera translation information, and the camera rotation information (paragraph 697, the virtual camera may perform a combination of translation, zoom, and rotation operations… Over these stages, the second virtual camera rotates into its eventual location behind the navigation location indicator (i.e., the puck), as shown in the sixth stage 10430).
Liu, Moriwake et al., and Piemonte et al. are in the same field of endeavor, namely computer graphics.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to apply the method wherein determining the camera transformation information corresponding to the current time instant based on the transition progress comprises: determining camera translation information, camera rotation information; and determining the camera transformation information based on the camera translation information, and the camera rotation information, as taught by Piemonte et al., to the Liu as modified by Moriwake et al. system, because this would use a cinematic transition from the 2D (or 3D) non-immersive map view into the 3D immersive map view (paragraph 697 of Piemonte et al.).
With respect to claim 18, Liu as modified by Moriwake et al. and Piemonte et al. disclose the electronic device according to claim 16, wherein the one or more programs, when causing the one or more processors to determine the camera transformation information corresponding to the current time instant based on the transition progress, cause the one or more processor to execute the method of claim 6; see rationale for rejection of claim 6.
Claim(s) 7 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (U.S. PGPUB 20160180600) in view of Jingu (U.S. PGPUB 20220078390).
With respect to claim 7, Liu discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein the model transformation information is represented by a model transformation matrix (paragraph 136, where M-1 is a homogenous matrix). However, Liu does not expressly disclose the perspective information is represented by a perspective matrix, the camera transformation information is represented by a camera transformation matrix, and determining the 3D transformation information of the transition model based on the perspective information, the camera transformation information, and the model transformation information comprises: performing dot multiplication on the perspective matrix, the camera transformation matrix, and the model transformation matrix to obtain a 3D transformation matrix, and determining the 3D transformation matrix as the 3D transformation information.
Jingu, who also deals with rendering an image, disclose a method wherein the perspective information is represented by a perspective matrix (paragraph 72), the camera transformation information is represented by a camera transformation matrix (paragraph 71), and determining the 3D transformation information of the transition model based on the perspective information, the camera transformation information, and the model transformation information comprises: performing dot multiplication on the perspective matrix, the camera transformation matrix, and the model transformation matrix to obtain a 3D transformation matrix, and determining the 3D transformation matrix as the 3D transformation information (paragraph 69, The coordinate transformation processing portion 115 of the display control portion 114 executes the coordinate transformation by multiplying these matrixes with the coordinate data of each vertex 202).
Liu and Jingu are in the same field of endeavor, namely computer graphics.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to apply the method wherein the perspective information is represented by a perspective matrix, the camera transformation information is represented by a camera transformation matrix, and determining the 3D transformation information of the transition model based on the perspective information, the camera transformation information, and the model transformation information comprises: performing dot multiplication on the perspective matrix, the camera transformation matrix, and the model transformation matrix to obtain a 3D transformation matrix, and determining the 3D transformation matrix as the 3D transformation information, as taught by Jingu, to the Liu system, because this would apply common matrix multiplication operations in 3D computer graphics to render an image.
With respect to claim 19, Liu as modified by Jingu disclose the electronic device according to claim 14, wherein the perspective information is represented by a perspective matrix, the camera transformation information is represented by a camera transformation matrix, and the model transformation information is represented by a model transformation matrix; and the one or more programs, when causing the one or more processors to determine the 3D transformation information of the transition model based on the perspective information, the camera transformation information, and the model transformation information, cause the one or more processor to execute the method of claim 7; see rationale for rejection of claim 7.
Claim(s) 8 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (U.S. PGPUB 20160180600) in view of Zhang et al. (U.S. PGPUB 20210090608).
With respect to claim 8, Liu discloses the method according to claim 1. However, Liu does not expressly disclose the transition model comprises a set number of model vertices; and transforming the transition model based on the 3D transformation information to obtain a transformed transition model, comprises: transforming the set number of model vertices based on the 3D transformation information to obtain transformed model vertices, wherein the transformed model vertices form the transformed transition model.
Zhang et al., who also deal with rendering an image, disclose a method wherein the transition model comprises a set number of model vertices (paragraph 305, An image frame is mapped onto a three-dimensional model as a texture map, and the vertexes of the three-dimensional model correspond to the UV coordinates of the image, which contains pixel information in the image); and transforming the transition model based on the 3D transformation information to obtain a transformed transition model, comprises:
transforming the set number of model vertices based on the 3D transformation information to obtain transformed model vertices, wherein the transformed model vertices form the transformed transition model (paragraph 305, The vertex coordinates of the three-dimensional model are transformed to realize the three-dimensional transformation effect of the image frame, for example, transformation in a depth direction, flipping in three-dimensional space, etc., paragraph 306, As shown in FIG. 15, the figure shows a three-dimensional effect image in which transformation is made in the depth direction. The vertex coordinates in the depth direction of the three-dimensional model are changed, and the image can follow the transformation in the depth direction of the three-dimensional model).
Liu and Zhang et al. are in the same field of endeavor, namely computer graphics.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to apply the method wherein the transition model comprises a set number of model vertices; and transforming the transition model based on the 3D transformation information to obtain a transformed transition model, comprises: transforming the set number of model vertices based on the 3D transformation information to obtain transformed model vertices, wherein the transformed model vertices form the transformed transition model, as taught by Zhang et al., to the Liu system, because by adding this effect, the visual senses of the viewer can be enriched (paragraph 306 of Zhang et al.).
With respect to claim 20, Liu as modified by Zhang et al. disclose the electronic device according to claim 12, wherein the transition model comprises a set number of model vertices; and the one or more programs, when causing the one or more processors to transform the transition model based on the 3D transformation information to obtain a transformed transition model, cause the one or more processor to execute the method of claim 8; see rationale for rejection of claim 8.
Claim(s) 9-10 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (U.S. PGPUB 20160180600) in view of Moriwake et al. (U.S. PGPUB 20010020953) and further in view of Li et al. (U.S. PGPUB 20190318538).
With respect to claim 9, Liu as modified by Moriwake et al. disclose the method according to claim 4, wherein sampling the pixel value from the set image based on the transformed transition model comprises:
obtaining mapping coordinate information of the transformed transition model (Liu: paragraph 88, One way to perform a digital video effect is to apply a geometric transformation (or mapping) of each digital image of the digital video. Such geometric transformations are also referred to as geometrical coordinates mapping); and
sampling the pixel value from the set image based on the mapping coordinate information (Liu: paragraph 88, Conversely, the top boundary edge of the fourth target block 113 in the target image 114 is mapped onto a top boundary edge in the source image 112. This is inverse mapping. In the embodiments described with reference to the figures below, inverse mapping is used),
wherein generating the 3D transition effect image corresponding to the transition model based on the pixel value comprises:
rendering the transition model based on the pixel value to obtain the 3D transition effect image (Liu: paragraph 88, the transformed video image may be built on a pixel-by-pixel basis by having a counter start at one pixel coordinate (e.g. (x,y)=(0,0)) and count up to another pixel coordinate ((e.g. (x,y)=(m,n)), and for each pixel coordinate compute, based on the transformation, the corresponding pixel coordinate in the source video image, which is used to derive a pixel value for the pixel coordinate). However, Liu does not expressly disclose determining the set image based on the transition progress, wherein the set image comprises a transition forward image or a transition backward image.
Li et al., who also deal with rendering an image, disclose a method for determining the set image based on the transition progress, wherein the set image comprises a transition forward image or a transition backward image (paragraph 21, FIG. 2A illustrates an example image 250a that may correspond to a portion of the panorama image 210B of FIG. 1B, such as if a view direction from the location of that panorama image is currently being viewed in direction 110B of FIG. 1B, paragraph 25, FIG. 2E further illustrates information with transition sequence markers 225e that correspond to the second part of the image transition sequence during a second period of time. As previously noted, the beginning of the second part of the transition sequence may include a zoomed out version of the end image 250a).
Liu, Moriwake et al., and Li et al. are in the same field of endeavor, namely computer graphics.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to apply the method of determining the set image based on the transition progress, wherein the set image comprises a transition forward image or a transition backward image, as taught by Li et al., to the Liu as modified by Moriwake et al. system, because for the center-zoom transition discussed with respect to FIGS. 2B-2E, the transition turns to the departure angle direction, and zooms to and blends in the end image in a precise scale (paragraph 28 of Li et al.).
With respect to claim 10, Liu as modified by Moriwake et al. and Li et al. disclose the method according to claim 9, wherein determining the set image based on the transition progress comprises:
determining the transition forward image as the set image in response to the transition progress being less than a set threshold (Li et al.: paragraph 21, FIG. 2A illustrates an example image 250a that may correspond to a portion of the panorama image 210B of FIG. 1B, such as if a view direction from the location of that panorama image is currently being viewed in direction 110B of FIG. 1B);
determining the transition backward image as the set image in response to the transition progress being greater than or equal to the set threshold (Li et al.: paragraph 25, FIG. 2E further illustrates information with transition sequence markers 225e that correspond to the second part of the image transition sequence during a second period of time. As previously noted, the beginning of the second part of the transition sequence may include a zoomed out version of the end image 250a). Image 250a in Fig. 2A corresponds to the forward image and Image 250a in Fig. 2E corresponds to the backward image.
With respect to claim 21, Liu as modified by Moriwake et al. and Li et al. disclose the electronic device according to claim 16, wherein the one or more programs, when causing the one or more processors to sample the pixel value from the set image based on the transformed transition model, cause the one or more processor to execute the method of claim 9; see rationale for rejection of claim 9.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. PGPUB 20200202597 to Stokking et al. for a method of sampling pixels from a transition image.
/ANDREW G YANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2614
7/10/26