DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This action is in response to the initial filing filed on December 13, 2024.
Claims 9, 11, 16, 19-20, and 23-24 are amended.
Claims 17-18 and 21-22 are cancelled.
Claim 1-16, 19-20, and 23-24 have been examined this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 12/11/2024 and 12/16/2025 has been acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 9-12, 16, 19-20, and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liberg et al (WO 2021/133239 A1) in view of Siomina et al (US 2012/0252487 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Liberg teaches a global navigation satellite system (GNSS) positioning measurement method, performed by a terminal, comprising [page 3, lines 10-20 for using a GNSS receiver which allows a wireless device to estimate position]:
receiving first indication information sent by a network device [page 6, lines 1-10 for network node does not schedule the wireless device to at least one of receive and transmit via a cellular radio interface during the at least one GNSS measurement gap];
and performing the positioning measurement according to the first indication information [page 3, lines 20-25 and page 5, lines 5-10 for indicate the GNSS measurement gap configuration to the wireless device].
Liberg fails to explicitly teach wherein the first indication information is configured to indicate whether the terminal performs wireless communication interaction with the network device when performing positioning measurement.
Siomina has positioning measurements e.g., inter-frequency OTDOA measurements (abstract) and teaches wherein the first indication information is configured to indicate whether the terminal performs wireless communication interaction with the network device when performing positioning measurement [0074, and 0092-0093 with upon receiving the indication determines if the indication has information for the measured cell relative to a given cell].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the satellite position techniques, as disclosed by Liberg, further including the indication calculations as taught by Siomina for the purpose to configure the measurement gaps (Siomina, 0074).
Regarding Claim 10, Liberg teaches global navigation satellite system (GNSS) positioning measurement method, performed by a network device, comprising [page 3, lines 10-20 for using a GNSS receiver which allows a wireless device to estimate position]:
sending first indication information to a terminal [page 3, lines 20-25 and page 5, lines 5-10 for indicate the GNSS measurement gap configuration to the wireless device].
Liberg fails to explicitly teach wherein the first indication information is configured to indicate whether the terminal performs wireless communication interaction with the network device when performing positioning measurement.
Siomina has positioning measurements e.g., inter-frequency OTDOA measurements (abstract) and teaches wherein the first indication information is configured to indicate whether the terminal performs wireless communication interaction with the network device when performing positioning measurement [0074, and 0092-0093 with upon receiving the indication determines if the indication has information for the measured cell relative to a given cell].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the satellite position techniques, as disclosed by Liberg, further including the indication calculations as taught by Siomina for the purpose to configure the measurement gaps (Siomina, 0074).
Regarding Claim 2, Liberg fails to explicitly teach the first indication information is configured to indicate that the terminal performs the wireless communication interaction with the network device when performing the positioning measurement, and the method further comprises: monitoring a control signaling sent by the network device.
Siomina has positioning measurements e.g., inter-frequency OTDOA measurements (abstract) and teaches the first indication information is configured to indicate that the terminal performs the wireless communication interaction with the network device when performing the positioning measurement [0075 for the indication 232 may be received either from the UE via RRC],
and the method further comprises: monitoring a control signaling sent by the network device [0027 for gap configuration is signaled to the UE over RRC protocol as part of the measurement configuration].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the satellite position techniques, as disclosed by Liberg, further including the indication calculations as taught by Siomina for the purpose to configure the measurement gaps (Siomina, 0074).
Regarding Claim 3, Liberg teaches the first indication information is configured to indicate that the terminal does not perform the wireless communication interaction with the network device when performing the positioning measurement, and the method further comprises [page 31, lines 10-20 for RRC Connected with GNSS measurement gaps shared with non-GNSS RRM measurements]:
stopping monitoring a control signaling sent by the network device [page 31, lines 15-25 for perform GNSS measurements during these gaps and may not be required to monitor the cellular radio interface also page 44, claim 23].
Regarding Claim 4 and 11, Liberg teaches receiving first positioning measurement configuration information sent by the network device, wherein the first positioning measurement configuration information comprises at least one of [page 3, lines 20-30 for GNSS capability but without pre-compensation of timing and frequency offset capabilities]:
a time domain position at which the positioning measurement is performed; a time length during which the positioning measurement is performed; or a trigger condition for performing the positioning measurement [page 5, lines 10-20 for at least one GNSS measurement gap is associated with at least one of a trigger, gap length, periodicity a with page 43, claim 4].
Regarding Claim 5 and 12, Liberg teaches sending auxiliary information to the network device, wherein the auxiliary information comprises at least one of time information required by the terminal to perform the positioning measurement or movement speed information of the terminal [page 29, lines 25-35 for different capability levels are the support for GNSS measurements in radio resource control RRC].
Regarding Claim 9 and 16, Liberg teaches sending second indication information to the network device, wherein the second indication information comprises a terminal capability [page 5-15 for different capability levels is GNSS time to fix, i.e., the time that may be required by the wireless device],
and the terminal capability comprises a capability of the terminal to perform the wireless communication interaction with the network device when performing the positioning measurement [page 30, lines 1-10 for different capability levels is GNSS time to fix, i.e., the time that may be required by the wireless device].
Regarding Claim 19, Liberg teaches communication apparatus, comprising [page 13, lines 25-35 for using instructions for change configurations]:
a processor, and a memory for storing computer programs, when the computer programs stored in the memory are executed by the processor [page 13, lines 25-35 for a means to configure a wireless device],
the processor is configured to: receive first indication information sent by a network device, wherein the first indication information is configured to indicate whether the terminal performs wireless communication interaction with the network device when performing positioning measurement [page 12, lines 10-20 for performing positing in the radio network with a wireless device and RRU];
and perform the positioning measurement according to the first indication information [page 3, lines 20-25 and page 5, lines 5-10 for indicate the GNSS measurement gap configuration to the wireless device].
Regarding Claim 20, Liberg teaches communication apparatus, comprising: a processor, and a memory for storing computer programs, when the computer programs stored in the memory are executed by the processor, the communication apparatus is caused to perform the method [page 3, lines 20-30 for integration of the GNSS chip in a 3GPP cellular modem].
Regarding Claim 23, Liberg teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium for storing instructions, wherein when the instructions are executed, the method is implemented [page 3, lines 20-30 for integration of the GNSS chip in a 3GPP cellular modem].
Regarding Claim 24, Liberg teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium for storing instructions, wherein when the instructions are executed, the method is implemented [page 3, lines 20-30 for integration of the GNSS chip in a 3GPP cellular modem].
Claims 6-8 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liberg et al (WO 2021/133239 A1) in view of Siomina et al (US 2012/0252487 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 10 above, and further in view of Sun (US 2022/0022074 A1).
Regarding Claim 6, and 13, Liberg fails to explicitly teach receiving a plurality of pieces of candidate positioning measurement configuration information sent by the network device, wherein the plurality of pieces of candidate positioning measurement configuration information comprise the first positioning measurement configuration information; and determining the first positioning measurement configuration information from the plurality of pieces of candidate positioning measurement configuration information.
Sun has a measurement configuration method includes: receiving connected state measurement configuration information (abstract) and teaches receiving a plurality of pieces of candidate positioning measurement configuration information sent by the network device [0034 for network side performs evaluation and makes a decision],
wherein the plurality of pieces of candidate positioning measurement configuration information comprise the first positioning measurement configuration information [0036 for one frequency and priority information of the frequency, and S is a positive integer];
and determining the first positioning measurement configuration information from the plurality of pieces of candidate positioning measurement configuration information [0042 for determine, according to the configuration information, a cell that needs to be measured].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the satellite position techniques, as disclosed by Liberg, further including the measurements configuration calculations as taught by Sun for the purpose to simplify an RRM measurement operation of the terminal (Sun, 0042).
Regarding Claim 7, and 14, Liberg fails to explicitly teach determining the first positioning measurement configuration information from the plurality of pieces of candidate positioning measurement configuration information comprises: determining the first positioning measurement configuration information from the plurality of pieces of candidate positioning measurement configuration information according to a correspondence between terminal status information and candidate positioning measurement configuration information; wherein the plurality of pieces of candidate positioning measurement configuration information comprise the terminal status information.
Sun has a measurement configuration method includes: receiving connected state measurement configuration information (abstract) and teaches determining the first positioning measurement configuration information from the plurality of pieces of candidate positioning measurement configuration information comprises [0060-0064 for terminal determines a frequency whose priority is less than or equal to n in the target configuration]:
determining the first positioning measurement configuration information from the plurality of pieces of candidate positioning measurement configuration information according to a correspondence between terminal status information and candidate positioning measurement configuration information [0061-0063 for terminal determines the finally selected measurement frequency based on the measurement status value corresponding to the measurement status and a priority];
wherein the plurality of pieces of candidate positioning measurement configuration information comprise the terminal status information [0061-0063, with 0088-0100 for priority of a measurement status value of the terminal is n, a frequency whose priority is less than or equal to n is used as the measurement frequency].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the satellite position techniques, as disclosed by Liberg, further including the measurements configuration calculations as taught by Sun for the purpose to ensure RRM performance (Sun, 0091).
Regarding Claim 8, and 15, Liberg fails to explicitly teach determining the first positioning measurement configuration information from the plurality of pieces of candidate positioning measurement configuration information comprises: receiving a control signaling sent by the network device; and determining the first positioning measurement configuration information from the plurality of pieces of candidate positioning measurement configuration information according to the control signaling.
Sun has a measurement configuration method includes: receiving connected state measurement configuration information (abstract) and determining the first positioning measurement configuration information from the plurality of pieces of candidate positioning measurement configuration information comprises [0057 for second indication information may be a medium access control-control element and claim 9]:
receiving a control signaling sent by the network device [0090 for a time point at which a MAC-layer data packet corresponding to a MAC CE is successfully];
and determining the first positioning measurement configuration information from the plurality of pieces of candidate positioning measurement configuration information according to the control signaling [0091 for measure whether the terminal can switch to a corresponding status].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the satellite position techniques, as disclosed by Liberg, further including the measurements configuration calculations as taught by Sun for the purpose to ensure RRM performance (Sun, 0091).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Murray et al (US 2005/0096807 A1) has an image processing type aligner enables proper set-up of one of two adjustment elements used to align an adaptive cruise control sensor.
/SAMARINA MAKHDOOM/
Examiner, Art Unit 3648