DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the application filed 12/11/2024. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by McQuade et al. (US Pat. 5,509,466).
Regarding claim 1, McQuade discloses a condenser of a heating, ventilation, air conditioning, and refrigeration (HVAC&R) system, comprising: a shell (21) configured to receive vapor heat transfer fluid (via inlet 22); a condensing section (30) comprising a first plurality of heat exchange tubes extending within the shell, wherein the first plurality of heat exchange tubes is configured to place the vapor heat transfer fluid in a heat exchange relationship with cooling fluid directed through the first plurality of heat exchange tubes to produce liquid heat transfer fluid from the vapor heat transfer fluid (column 3, lines 1-6); a subcooling section (40) comprising a second plurality of heat exchange tubes (50) extending within the shell, wherein the second plurality of heat exchange tubes is configured to place the liquid heat transfer fluid in a heat exchange relationship with cooling fluid directed through the second plurality of heat exchange tubes to subcool the liquid heat transfer fluid (column 3, lines 16-22); and a pre-subcooler (drainage member 60 that collects condensed heat transfer fluid in reservoir 55 and would pre-cool the fluid before entering subcooling section 40) disposed in the condensing section, wherein the pre-subcooler comprises a trough (61, 55) configured to collect a portion of the liquid heat transfer fluid and direct the portion of the liquid heat transfer fluid to the subcooling section (column 3, lines 40-60).
Regarding claim 2, McQuade discloses the condenser of claim 1, wherein the first plurality of heat exchange tubes comprises a first tube bundle (30) and a second tube bundle (50) vertically offset from the first tube bundle (Fig. 2), wherein the trough (61) is disposed vertically between the first tube bundle and the second tube bundle (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 3, McQuade discloses the condenser of claim 2, wherein the condenser is configured to direct a first flow of cooling fluid from a first cooling fluid section (cooling fluid entering via 27) into and through a first pass of heat exchange tubes (50), wherein the first pass of heat exchange tubes comprises the second plurality of heat exchange tubes and the second tube bundle (50).
Regarding claim 4, McQuade discloses the condenser of claim 3, wherein the condenser is configured to direct the first flow of cooling fluid from the first pass of heat exchange tubes to a second pass of heat exchange tubes (via header 29, Fig. 2), wherein the second pass of heat exchange tubes comprises the first tube bundle (30).
Regarding claim 5, McQuade discloses the condenser of claim 4, wherein the pre-subcooler comprises pre-subcooler heat exchange tubes extending within a basin of the trough (portion of tubes passing basin 55), and the condenser is configured to direct a second flow of cooling fluid from the first cooling fluid section to the pre-subcooler heat exchange tubes (section 40 shown with plurality of tubes 50 that would direct a second flow of cooling fluid from the first cooling fluid section to the pre-subcooler heat exchange tubes; Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 6¸ McQuade discloses the condenser of claim 5, wherein the condenser is configured to direct the second flow of cooling fluid from the pre-subcooler heat exchange tubes to the second pass of heat exchange tubes (via header 29, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 7, McQuade discloses the condenser of claim 1, wherein the first plurality of heat exchange tubes comprises a first tube bundle (30) and a second tube bundle (50), the trough (61) is disposed between the first tube bundle and the second tube bundle (Fig. 2), and the trough is configured to direct the portion of the liquid heat transfer fluid toward longitudinal ends of the second tube bundle (direct toward 55) and to block flow of the portion of the liquid heat transfer fluid toward a central portion of the second tube bundle (column 3, lines 50-60).
Regarding claim 8, McQuade discloses the condenser of claim 1, wherein the second plurality of heat exchange tubes comprises a first subcooler pass (portion of tubes 50 in reservoir 55) and a second subcooler pass (portion of tubes 50 in 40), the condenser comprises a separation plate (62) disposed between the first subcooler pass and the second subcooler pass (Fig. 2), the first plurality of heat exchange tubes (30) is configured to direct the liquid heat transfer fluid to the first subcooler pass (Fig. 2), and the separation plate (62) is configured to direct the liquid heat transfer fluid from the first subcooler pass to the second subcooler pass (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 9, McQuade discloses the condenser of claim 8, wherein the trough (61, 55) is configured to direct the portion of the liquid heat transfer fluid toward longitudinal ends of the first subcooler pass (end with reservoir 55, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 10, McQuade discloses the condenser of claim 8, wherein the separation plate (62) is a solid piece of material that does not include apertures formed therein (column 4, lines 14-20).
Regarding claim 11, McQuade discloses a method, comprising: directing vapor heat transfer fluid across a first plurality of heat exchange tubes (30) of a condensing section of a condenser to place the vapor heat transfer fluid in a heat exchange relationship with cooling fluid directed through the first plurality of heat exchange tubes (Fig. 2), wherein the first plurality of heat exchange tubes is configured to condense the vapor heat transfer fluid to produce liquid heat transfer fluid (column 3, lines 1-6); directing the liquid heat transfer fluid across a second plurality of heat exchange tubes (50) of a subcooling section (40) of the condenser to place the liquid heat transfer fluid in a heat exchange relationship with cooling fluid directed through the second plurality of heat exchange tubes, wherein the second plurality of heat exchange tubes is configured to subcool the liquid heat transfer fluid (column 3, lines 16-22); collecting, via a pre-subcooler disposed in the condensing section (drainage member 60 that collects condensed heat transfer fluid in reservoir 55 and would pre-cool the fluid before entering subcooling section 40), a portion of the liquid heat transfer fluid condensed by a first tube bundle of the first plurality of heat exchange tubes (Fig. 2); and directing the portion of the liquid heat transfer fluid from the pre-subcooler toward longitudinal ends of a second tube bundle (second tube bundle of 30 separated by partitions in headers 26, 29) of the first plurality of heat exchange tubes (30).
Regarding claim 12, McQuade discloses the method of claim 11, comprising blocking, via the pre-subcooler (61, 55), flow of the portion of the liquid heat transfer fluid condensed by the first tube bundle of the first plurality of heat exchange tubes onto a central portion of the second tube bundle of the first plurality of heat exchange tubes (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 13, McQuade discloses the method of claim 11, comprising: subcooling, via pre-subcooler tubes of the pre-subcooler, the portion of the liquid heat transfer fluid condensed by the first tube bundle of the first plurality of heat exchange tubes to produce subcooled liquid heat transfer fluid (drainage member 60 that collects condensed heat transfer fluid in reservoir 55 and would pre-cool the fluid before entering subcooling section 40); and directing the subcooled liquid heat transfer fluid toward the subcooling section (40, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 14, McQuade discloses the method of claim 11, comprising: directing, from a first cooling fluid section (26) to a second cooling fluid section (29), a flow of cooling fluid via the second plurality of heat exchange tubes (50) and the second tube bundle of the first plurality of heat exchange tubes (lower portion of 30 separated by partitions in 26 and 29), wherein the second tube bundle comprises a group of heat exchange tubes of the first plurality of heat exchange tubes positioned vertically beneath the pre-subcooler, with respect to a direction of gravity (Fig. 2); and directing the flow of cooling fluid from the second cooling fluid section into and through the first tube bundle of the first plurality of heat exchange tubes (via header 29), wherein the first tube bundle comprises an additional group of heat exchange tubes of the first plurality of heat exchange tubes positioned vertically above the pre-subcooler, with respect to the direction of gravity (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 15, McQuade discloses the method of claim 14, comprising: directing, from the first cooling fluid section (26), an additional flow of cooling fluid through pre-subcooler tubes of the pre-subcooler (portion of tubes 50 in trough 55) and into the second cooling fluid section (29) to mix the flow of cooling fluid and the additional flow of cooling fluid (Fig. 2); and directing, from the second cooling fluid section, the flow of cooling fluid and the additional flow of cooling fluid into and through the first tube bundle (30) of the first plurality of heat exchange tubes (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 16, McQuade discloses a condenser of a heating, ventilation, air conditioning, and refrigeration (HVAC&R) system, comprising: a shell (21) configured to receive vapor heat transfer fluid (via 22); a condensing section comprising a first tube bundle (portion of 30 above partitions in 26, 29) and a second tube bundle extending within the shell (portion of 30 below partitions in 26, 29), wherein the first tube bundle and the second tube bundle are configured to place the vapor heat transfer fluid in a heat exchange relationship with cooling fluid to produce liquid heat transfer fluid from the vapor heat transfer fluid (column 3, lines 1-6); a pre-subcooler disposed between the first tube bundle and the second tube bundle (drainage member 60 that collects condensed heat transfer fluid in reservoir 55 and would pre-cool the fluid before entering subcooling section 40), wherein the pre-subcooler comprises a trough (61, 55) configured to collect a portion of the liquid heat transfer fluid produced by the first tube bundle (30); and a subcooling section (40) comprising a plurality of heat exchange tubes (50) extending within the shell, wherein the pre-subcooler is configured to direct the portion of the liquid heat transfer fluid to the subcooling section (via 45), and wherein the plurality of heat exchange tubes is configured to place the portion of the liquid heat transfer fluid in a heat exchange relationship with cooling fluid (via 27) directed through the plurality of heat exchange tubes to subcool the portion of the liquid heat transfer fluid (column 3, lines 16-22).
Regarding claim 17, McQuade discloses the condenser of claim 16, wherein the pre-subcooler (61, 55) is configured to direct the portion of the liquid heat transfer fluid onto longitudinal ends of second tube bundle (via 65) and to block flow of the portion of the liquid heat transfer fluid from the first tube bundle onto a central portion of the second tube bundle (second tube bundle of 30 separated by partitions in headers 26, 29).
Regarding claim 18, McQuade discloses the condenser of claim 16, wherein the pre-subcooler comprises a basin (55) and pre-subcooler heat exchange tubes extending within the basin (portion of 50 within 55), wherein the condenser is configured to direct cooling fluid through the pre-subcooler heat exchange tubes to pre-subcool the portion of the liquid heat transfer fluid (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 19, McQuade discloses the condenser of claim 16, wherein the pre-subcooler comprises a trough (61, 55) configured to collect the portion of the liquid heat transfer fluid, wherein the trough comprises a sheet (61) and lateral segments (62, 65) extending cross-wise from the sheet to form a basin of the trough, wherein the sheet is a solid piece of material that does not include apertures formed therein (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 20, McQuade discloses the condenser of claim 16, wherein the pre-subcooler comprises a first trough (61) configured to collect the portion of the liquid heat transfer fluid, wherein the pre-subcooler comprises a second trough (55) configured to collect an additional portion of the liquid heat transfer fluid and to direct the additional portion of the liquid heat transfer fluid to the subcooling section (40), and the first trough and the second trough are aligned with one another along a lateral axis of the condenser (Fig. 2).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Arnou et al. (WO 2022/150774) shell and tube condenser with subcooling section; Schreiber et al. (US 2017/0176066) condenser with plurality of tube bundles with lower subcooling section; Sheaffer (US 2019/0203987) condenser with subcooler for a vapor compression system.
/JOSEPH F TRPISOVSKY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763