DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Soh et al., WO 2021/241255.
Regarding claims 1-3, Soh discloses a polyfunctional vinyl resin represented by general formula (1)
wherein R1 independently represents a hydrocarbon group having 1 to 8 carbon atoms [which includes methyl]; R2 is independently a hydrogen atom; X represents a hydrogen atom or a vinyl-group containing aromatic group represented by formula (1a); an Ar represents an aromatic ring selected from the group of a benzene ring, a naphthalene ring, and a biphenyl ring; group, i is an integer of 0 to 2; and each of n and p1 represents the number of repetitions and an average value thereof is a number of 0 to 5 [reference claim 1 and 0011].
Regarding claim 4, paragraphs 0033-0034 disclose that the polyfunctional vinyl resin can be obtained by reacting a polyvalent hydroxy resin with a halomethylstyrene wherein the polyvalent hydroxy resin has a structure represented by formula (3) as defined in paragraph 0033-0034.
Regarding claims 5-6, paragraph 0038 discloses that the polyfunctional vinyl resin is combined with a radical polymerization initiator wherein the radical polymerization initiator can be cured the polyfunctional vinyl resin to form a cured product.
Regarding claim 7, paragraph 0048 discloses a cured product used as a laminate. Paragraph 0050 discloses a prepreg including a base material wherein the base material can include glass cloths, woven or nonwoven fabrics.
Regarding claim 8, paragraph 0056 discloses a laminate composed of a layer of the prepreg and a layer of a metal foil [support film]. Applicant’s claim 8 is not specific to the support film.
Regarding claim 9, paragraph 0061 discloses a multilayer circuit board.
Regarding claims 10-12, paragraphs 0033-0034 disclose that the polyfunctional vinyl resin can be obtained by reacting a polyvalent hydroxy resin with a halomethylstyrene which is represented by Applicant’s formula 10.
chloromethylstyrene
wherein the polyfunctional vinyl resin can include R1 is a hydrocarbon group having 1 to 8 carbon atoms which includes a methyl group.
Conclusion
/CAMIE S THOMPSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786