DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claim 30 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 1/15/2026. Claims 29,31-50 will be examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 29,31-34,37-41,44-45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by US Patent 3210553 to Cummings.
As to claim 29, Cummings discloses A fluid turbine-generator comprising: a pressure housing (Fig 4,6); a turbine (94) comprising a fluid inlet (inlet to 94) and a fluid outlet (outlet bottom of 94 alt. 108 as fluid passes into chamber 92 and out 108), the fluid inlet being connected to the turbine (in to 94 Fig 3,5) and being arranged to extend into the pressure housing, and the fluid outlet (outlet from 94 Fig 3,5) being connected to the turbine and being arranged to extend out of the pressure housing (Fig 4,6); an electric generator (92); and a shaft which is configured to mechanically connect the turbine and the electric generator (100); wherein, the turbine and the electric generator are each arranged inside the pressure housing (Fig 4,6), and the shaft is arranged completely inside the pressure housing (Fig 4,6).
As to claim 31, Cummings discloses the shaft is provided as a common shaft, and the turbine and the electric generator are longitudinally spaced along the common shaft (100, Fig 6).
As to claim 32, Cummings discloses the pressure housing comprises a generator compartment which is configured to be filled with a fluid, the fluid inlet is configured to supply a fluid to the turbine, and the fluid the generator compartment is configured to be filled with is the same as the fluid which is as supplied to the turbine via the fluid inlet (Fig 3,4,5,6, 108, 92, 94).
As to claim 33, Cummings discloses the pressure housing has an interior volume and further comprises a division (A, below) arranged therein, and the division is configured to separate the interior volume of the pressure housing into a turbine compartment and the generator compartment.
As to claim 34, Cummings discloses the division comprises a seal (61 equivalent to 21; Col 1, line 62-65; Fig 4 embodiment); which is arranged towards the shaft 100).
As to claim 37, Cummings discloses a cooling medium outlet (108) which is arranged to extend out of the interior volume via the fluid outlet (Fig 6; in this interpretation Turbine outlet and cooling outlet 108 are the same).
As to claim 38, Cummings discloses a cooling medium outlet which is arranged to extend through the pressure housing and out of the interior volume (Fig 3-6; 108).
As to claim 39, Cummings discloses the cooling medium outlet is further arranged to extend from the generator compartment of the pressure housing (Fig 3-6; 108).
As to claim 40, Cummings discloses A power plant comprising: a fluid turbine-generator (Fig 3-6) comprising, a pressure housing (Fig 4,6), a turbine (94) comprising a fluid inlet (inlet to 94) and a fluid outlet (outlet bottom of 94 alt. 108 as fluid passes into chamber 92 and out 108), the fluid inlet being connected to the turbine and being arranged to extend into the pressure housing, and the fluid outlet being connected to the turbine and being arranged to extend out of the pressure housing (Fig 3-6), and an electric generator (92), wherein, the turbine and the electric generator are each arranged inside the pressure housing (Fig 3-6); and a flow loop which is operatively connected to the fluid inlet and to the fluid outlet, the flow loop comprising, a first heat exchanger which is configured to heat a working fluid circulating in the flow loop (Fig 3-6; 93), a pump (108a), and a second heat exchanger which is configured to cool the working fluid circulating in the flow loop (95).
As to claim 41, Cummings discloses the working fluid is water, and the power plant is configured to evaporate the water in the first heat exchanger and to condense the water in the second heat exchanger (Col 4, Line 70-75, Col 6, Line 70-75).
As to claim 44, Cummings discloses a cooling and/or lubrication medium pipe; and a cooling medium inlet and/or a lubrication fluid inlet which is/are configured to provide a cooling medium to the pressure housing, wherein, the cooling and/or lubrication medium pipe is arranged to extend from the flow loop downstream of the pump and into the pressure housing via the cooling medium inlet and/or via the lubrication fluid inlet (110, alt pipe 98 to 99).
As to claim 45, Cummings discloses the pressure housing is configured to discharge the cooling medium out of the pressure housing and into the flow loop via the fluid outlet together with the working fluid (Fig 6; in this interpretation Turbine outlet and cooling outlet 108 are the same).
Claims 29,31-33,35-40,44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by US Patent 9083215 to Tsuboi.
As to claim 29, Tsuboi discloses A fluid turbine-generator comprising: a pressure housing (1); a turbine (8) comprising a fluid inlet (9d) and a fluid outlet (9e), the fluid inlet being connected to the turbine and being arranged to extend into the pressure housing (Fig 1), and the fluid outlet being connected to the turbine and being arranged to extend out of the pressure housing (Fig 1); an electric generator (5); and a shaft which is configured to mechanically connect the turbine and the electric generator (10a); wherein, the turbine and the electric generator are each arranged inside the pressure housing (1), and the shaft is arranged completely inside the pressure housing (Fig 1).
As to claim 31, Tsuboi discloses the shaft is provided as a common shaft, and the turbine and the electric generator are longitudinally spaced along the common shaft (Fig 1).
As to claim 32, Tsuboi discloses wherein, the pressure housing comprises a generator compartment (S1) which is configured to be filled with a fluid (via 12c), the fluid inlet (9d) is configured to supply a fluid to the turbine (8), and the fluid the generator compartment is configured to be filled with is the same as the fluid which is as supplied to the turbine via the fluid inlet (R1 to R2 to R3).
As to claim 33, Tsuboi discloses the pressure housing has an interior volume and further comprises a division arranged therein (wall at 9b), and the division is configured to separate the interior volume of the pressure housing into a turbine compartment and the generator compartment (Fig 1).
As to claim 35, Tsuboi discloses a cooling medium inlet (12c) which is arranged to extend through the pressure housing and into the interior volume (Fig 1).
As to claim 36, Tsuboi discloses the cooling medium inlet is further arranged to extend into the generator compartment of the pressure housing (12c to S1).
As to claim 37, Tsuboi discloses a cooling medium outlet which is arranged to extend out of the interior volume via the fluid outlet (9f to 9e).
As to claim 38, Tsuboi discloses a cooling medium outlet which is arranged to extend through the pressure housing and out of the interior volume (9f to 9e).
As to claim 39, Tsuboi discloses the cooling medium outlet is further arranged to extend from the generator compartment of the pressure housing (9f to 9e).
As to claim 40, Tsuboi discloses A power plant comprising: a fluid turbine-generator comprising, a pressure housing (1), a turbine (8) comprising a fluid inlet (9d) and a fluid outlet (9e), the fluid inlet being connected to the turbine and being arranged to extend into the pressure housing, and the fluid outlet being connected to the turbine and being arranged to extend out of the pressure housing (Fig 1), and an electric generator (5), wherein, the turbine and the electric generator are each arranged inside the pressure housing (Fig 1); and a flow loop which is operatively connected to the fluid inlet and to the fluid outlet (R1,2,3), the flow loop comprising, a first heat exchanger which is configured to heat a working fluid circulating in the flow loop (3), a pump (2), and a second heat exchanger which is configured to cool the working fluid circulating in the flow loop (6).
As to claim 44, Tsuboi discloses a cooling and/or lubrication medium pipe (R1,R2,R3); and a cooling medium inlet and/or a lubrication fluid inlet which is/are configured to provide a cooling medium to the pressure housing (12c), wherein, the cooling and/or lubrication medium pipe is arranged to extend from the flow loop downstream of the pump (2 to R3) and into the pressure housing via the cooling medium inlet and/or via the lubrication fluid inlet (12c).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 42-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 9083215 to Tsuboi as applied to claim 40, 29 above in view of US Patent 9752462 to Fletcher.
As to claim 42, Tsuboi discloses the second heat exchanger (Tsuboi:6) comprises a cooling loop for cooling the working fluid but does not expressly disclose how this comprises a sea water loop.
Fletcher discloses how it is commonly known to use a sea water loop (Col 1, Line 40-50) to cool coolers in Heat Recovery systems.
At the time of invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Tsuboi to include how the cooling loop through the second heat exchanger is a sea water loop using the teachings of Fletcher as this was a well known cooling medium for heat exchangers in the art at the time and would be readily available and provide virtually endless water supply for such cooling of the system.
As to claim 43, Tsuboi does not expressly disclose wherein the working fluid is CO2.
Fletcher discloses how a heat recovery working fluid can be CO2 (Col 3, line 15-29).
At the time of invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Tsuboi to include how heat recovery working fluid can be CO2 using the teachings of Fletcher as this would have been a readily available stable working fluid known in the art capable of high expansion yield for high level energy production with predictable results.
Claims 46-50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 9083215 to Tsuboi as applied to claim 40, 29 above in view of US Patent 5832712 to Ronning.
As to claim 46, Tsuboi discloses a heat source (3) where the system of Tsuboi is a heat recovery generator, but does not expressly disclose the heat source this is drawn from. As such Tsuboi does not expressly disclose a deposit line; a deposit pump; and a flue gas outlet line which, downstream of the first heat exchanger, is connected to the deposit line and to the deposit pump.
Ronning discloses a power plant (2) with a heat recovery location (4) and further discloses a deposit line (21); a deposit pump (pump on Rich Solvent line); and a flue gas outlet line (11) which, downstream of the first heat exchanger (4), is connected to the deposit line and to the deposit pump (via rich solvent line and exit 21).
At the time of invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the system of Tsuboi as the heat recovery power generator of Ronning such that the power plant includes a deposit line; a deposit pump; and a flue gas outlet line which, downstream of the first heat exchanger, is connected to the deposit line and to the deposit pump using the teachings of Ronning, so as to utilize waste heat effectively for power generation as disclosed in Tsuboi while eliminating harmful CO2 emissions as taught in Ronning (Abs) improving overall emissions.
As to claim 47, Tsuboi discloses the deposit line is fluidly connected to an underground formation which is downstream of the deposit pump (Col 6, Line 20-25).
As to claim 48, Tsuboi discloses a reactor (Ronning 2); a flue gas cooler (Ronning cooler Fig 1, 14 Fig 2) which is arranged downstream of the first heat exchanger (Ronning 4); and a recycle line which is configured to recycle flue gas from downstream of the flue gas cooler to the reactor (Ronning: at 11, Col 4, Line 53-61, Fig 1; 12, Fig 2).
As to claim 49, Tsuboi discloses the flue gas cooler is a seawater cooler (Ronning: Col 6, Line 50-55).
As to claim 50, Tsuboi discloses a heat source (3) where the system of Tsuboi is a heat recovery generator, but does not expressly disclose the heat source this is drawn from. As such Tsuboi does not expressly disclose a deposit line; a deposit pump; and a flue gas outlet line which, downstream of the first heat exchanger, is connected to the deposit line and to the deposit pump.
Ronning discloses providing the power plant on a sea floor or on an offshore platform (Col 3, line 32-43); operating the power plant on the sea floor or on the offshore platform (Col 3, line 32-43); receiving, at a fuel inlet, a carbonaceous fuel which has been extracted from an offshore hydrocarbon well (Col 2, line 28-33; Col 7, line 13-20); providing a reactant at a reactant inlet (oxygen: Col 3, line 32-43), the reactant being provided from a land-based location, from the offshore platform (supplied on site at platform or as recycled component at 12 on platform, Col 1, Line 16-29), or from a tank arranged on the sea floor; and pumping a flue gas from the reactor to an underground formation (21, Col 6, Line 20-25).
At the time of invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the system of Tsuboi as the heat recovery power generator of Ronning such that the power plant includes a deposit line; a deposit pump; and a flue gas outlet line which, downstream of the first heat exchanger, is connected to the deposit line and to the deposit pump using the teachings of Ronning, so as to utilize waste heat effectively for power generation as disclosed in Tsuboi while eliminating harmful CO2 emissions as taught in Ronning (Abs) improving overall emissions.
Conclusion
/JESSE S BOGUE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746