DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments to Claims 4, 6, 8, 12, 15, 17, 19, 21, 25, 30-31 in the preliminary amendment filed 12/12/2024 are acknowledged and accepted.
The cancellation of Claims 5, 14, 16, 18, 20, 23-24, 26-29 in the preliminary amendment filed 12/12/2024 is acknowledged and accepted.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (e).
Drawings
The originally filed drawings were received on 12/12/2024. These drawings are acceptable.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. In the instant case, all of the structural limitations of dependent Claim 9 are already present in parent Claim 8, and hence Claim 9 fails to further limit the subject matter of Claim 8. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang (CN 106454025 A), of record.
Wang discloses an apparatus (See for example Abstract; Figures 1-4) for shielding an adjacent lens (See for example 4 in Figure 1; 3 in Figure 4; See also Paragraph 0008, camera assembly arranged within shell), the apparatus comprising a housing assembly (See for example 1, 2 in Figures 1-2) comprising a first component (See for example 2 in Figures 1-2) and a second component (See for example 1 in Figures 1-2) configured for selective attachment to the first component, the first component having a first annular portion (See for example 2 in Figures 1-2) and the second component having a second annular portion (See for example 1 in Figures 1-2) opposite the first annular portion, the first and second annular portions collectively defining a central opening (See for example opening where element 4 is attached in Figures 1-2) of the housing assembly, the central opening defining a longitudinal axis (In the instant case, a longitudinal axis can be defined perpendicular to surface of element 4 and traversing the length of elements 1/2 in Figure 1) of the housing assembly; and a fan assembly (See for example 5, 6, 7, 8, 11 in Figures 1-4) comprising a fan (See for example 7 in Figures 1-2) having an airflow opening (See for example connection between 7, 8 in Figure 1) and a fan housing (See for example 7 in Figures 1-2), wherein the second component (See for example 1 in Figures 1-2) has a curved portion (See for example portion of 1 that extends over element 4 and includes element 11 in Figures 1, 3-4) extending from the second annular portion and along the longitudinal axis, the curved portion has an opening (See for example 11 in Figures 3-4) formed therethrough, the opening defining at least one airflow passage extending from an exterior surface of the curved portion to an interior surface of the curved portion (See for example Paragraph 0023), and the fan (See for example 7 in Figures 1-2) is mounted adjacent the exterior surface of the curved portion, such that airflow from the airflow opening of the fan is directed through the at least one airflow passage of the curved portion (See for example 7, 8, 5, 6, 11 in Figures 1-4). Wang further discloses the central opening (See for example opening where element 4 is attached in Figures 1-2) of the housing assembly defines a plane perpendicular to the longitudinal axis (In the instant case, a longitudinal axis can be defined perpendicular to surface of element 4 and traversing the length of elements 1/2 in Figure 1) of the housing assembly.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 22, 25, 30-31 are allowed.
Claims 2-4, 6-8, 10, 12-13, 15, 17, 19 and 21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 9 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 2 is allowable over the cited art of record for at least the reason that the cited art of record fails to teach or reasonably suggest an apparatus as generally set forth in Claims 1-2, the apparatus including, in combination with the features recited in Claims 1-2, the interior surface of the curved portion has a parabolic profile. Claim 3 is dependent on Claim 2, and hence is allowable for at least the same reasons Claim 2 is allowable.
Claim 4 is allowable over the cited art of record for at least the reason that the cited art of record fails to teach or reasonably suggest an apparatus as generally set forth in Claims 1, 4, the apparatus including, in combination with the features recited in Claims 1, 4, the at least one airflow passage contains two distinct sub-passages, wherein each of the two distinct sub-passages has a decreasing area cross-section extending from the exterior surface to the interior surface of the curved portion. Claim 6 is dependent on Claim 4, and hence is allowable for at least the same reasons Claim 4 is allowable.
Claim 7 is allowable over the cited art of record for at least the reason that the cited art of record fails to teach or reasonably suggest an apparatus as generally set forth in Claims 1, 7, the apparatus including, in combination with the features recited in Claims 1, 7, the at least one airflow passage has a decreasing area cross-section extending from the exterior surface to the interior surface of the curved portion.
Claim 8 is allowable over the cited art of record for at least the reason that the cited art of record fails to teach or reasonably suggest an apparatus as generally set forth in Claims 1, 8, the apparatus including, in combination with the features recited in Claims 1, 8, a longitudinal axis of the at least one airflow passage is offset at an acute angle relative to the longitudinal axis of the housing assembly, wherein the acute angle is in a range of 55 to 72 degrees. Claim 9-10 are dependent on Claim 8, and hence are allowable for at least the same reasons Claim 8 is allowable.
Claim 12 is allowable over the cited art of record for at least the reason that the cited art of record fails to teach or reasonably suggest an apparatus as generally set forth in Claims 1, 12, the apparatus including, in combination with the features recited in Claims 1, 12, a longitudinal axis of the at least one airflow passage is offset at an acute angle relative to the plane defined by the central opening. Claim 13 is dependent on Claim 12, and hence is allowable for at least the same reasons Claim 12 is allowable.
Claim 15 is allowable over the cited art of record for at least the reason that the cited art of record fails to teach or reasonably suggest an apparatus as generally set forth in Claims 1, 15, the apparatus including, in combination with the features recited in Claims 1, 15, the fan assembly is offset at an acute angle relative to the longitudinal axis of the housing assembly, wherein the acute angle is in a range of 55 to 72 degrees.
Claim 17 is allowable over the cited art of record for at least the reason that the cited art of record fails to teach or reasonably suggest an apparatus as generally set forth in Claims 1, 17, the apparatus including, in combination with the features recited in Claims 1, 17, the fan assembly is offset at an acute angle relative to a plane perpendicular to the longitudinal axis of the housing assembly, the plane being defined by the central opening of the housing assembly, wherein the acute angle is in a range of 18 to 35 degrees.
Claim 19 is allowable over the cited art of record for at least the reason that the cited art of record fails to teach or reasonably suggest an apparatus as generally set forth in Claims 1, 19, the apparatus including, in combination with the features recited in Claims 1, 19, the fan assembly further comprises at least one of a base portion and a shield portion, the base and shield portions being selectively attachable to opposing sides of the fan housing, wherein the base portion has an open recess sized to receive and retain a fan filter therein.
Claim 21 is allowable over the cited art of record for at least the reason that the cited art of record fails to teach or reasonably suggest an apparatus as generally set forth in Claims 1, 21, the apparatus including, in combination with the features recited in Claims 1, 21, the first and second annular portions contain threads configured to retain the first and second annular portions relative to a portion of the adjacent lens.
Claim 22 is allowable over the cited art of record for at least the reason that the cited art of record fails to teach or reasonably suggest a shielded lens assembly as generally set forth in Claim 22, the assembly including, in combination with the features recited in Claim 22, a sensor comprising a shaft having a lens mounted at one end thereof, the lens defining a plane aligned with a surface of the lens and having a defined view profile; a housing assembly comprising a first component and a second component configured for selective attachment to the first component, the first component having a first annular portion and the second component having a second annular portion opposite the first annular portion, the first and second annular portions collectively defining a central opening of the housing assembly sized to receive and secure a portion of the shaft. Claims 25, 30 are dependent on Claim 22, and hence are allowable for at least the same reasons Claim 22 is allowable.
Claim 31 is allowable over the cited art of record for at least the reason that the cited art of record fails to teach or reasonably suggest a method as generally set forth in Claim 31, the method including, in combination with the features recited in Claim 31, the optical sensor assembly comprises a shaft having the lens mounted at one end thereof, the lens defining a plane aligned with a surface of the lens and having a defined view profile, wherein the apparatus comprises a housing assembly comprising a first component and a second component configured for selective attachment to the first component, the first component having a first annular portion and the second component having a second annular portion opposite the first annular portion, the first and second annular portions collectively defining a central opening of the housing assembly sized to receive and secure a portion of the shaft; and orienting the fan assembly of the apparatus for shielding the optical sensor assembly at an angle that is offset from a central axis defined by the shaft of the sensor assembly such that debris does not collect on the lens.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent Application Publication US 2023/0135748 A1 to Robertson, Jr. et al.- Sensor assembly for use on a vehicle and including a blower to blow air horizontally across a sensor lens.
U.S. Patent Application Publication US 2019/0302449 A1 to Bombini et al.- Lens cleaning device and method including a fan and chamber configured to move airflow from a fan to the lens.
ARNEL C. LAVARIAS
Primary Examiner
Group Art Unit 2872
9/11/2026
/ARNEL C LAVARIAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872