DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 12 (line 1) “the inner” should recite –an outer--.
In claim 12 (line 2) “the outer” should recite –an inner--.
For the purpose of examining the application, it is assumed that appropriate correction has been made.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Basnett (US 4,783,897).
As to claim 1, Basnett discloses a method for connecting a metal housing and a cover, comprising:
providing the metal housing 8 is provided,
providing a metal ring 1 having a shoulder 7 extending at least in part in a peripheral direction, the metal ring is at least partly overmolded with a material to form the cover 5,
axially pushing the cover and the metal ring into the metal housing so that the metal ring is located on at least part of a periphery of the metal housing,
plastically deforming the metal housing so that the metal housing penetrates a recess formed by the shoulder on the metal ring (Figures 1-5).
Basnett fails to disclose that the cover comprises a plastic material. Basnett does not disclose any structural or functional significance as to the specific material of the cover.
Applicant is reminded that the selection of a known material based upon its suitability for the intended use, wherein there is no structural or functional significance disclosed as to the specific material of an element, is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the method disclosed by Basnett wherein the cover comprises a plastic material, as Basnett does not disclose any structural or functional significance as to the specific material of the cover, and as such selection of material is a design consideration within the skill of the art which would yield expected and predictable results.
As to claim 2, Basnett discloses a method wherein the metal housing 8 and the cover 5 are connected by caulking the metal housing and the metal ring 1 (Figures 1-5).
As to claim 3, Basnett discloses a method wherein the at least partially peripheral shoulder 7 on the metal ring 1 is formed by deforming the metal ring (Figures 1-5).
As to claim 4, Basnett as modified discloses a method wherein the shoulder 7 is formed as an elevation on an inner peripheral surface of the metal ring 1 and is completely overmolded with plastic material (Figures 1-5).
As to claim 5, Basnett discloses a method wherein the metal housing 8 is pressed in at least in sections in a radial direction on an outer peripheral surface in order to penetrate at least partially radially into the recess formed by the shoulder 7 on the metal ring 1 (Figures 1-5).
As to claim 6, Basnett discloses a method wherein the cover 5 is pushed axially into the metal housing 8 up to a shoulder formed in the metal housing (Figures 1-5).
As to claim 7, Basnett discloses a metal housing assembly, comprising:
a metal housing 8,
a cover 5 fixed to the metal housing,
a metal ring 1 arranged at least partially between the metal housing and the cover, the metal ring having a shoulder 7 extending at least in part peripherally, the shoulder forming a recess for receiving an at least partially plastically deformed region of the metal housing (Figures 1-5).
Basnett fails to disclose that the cover comprises a plastic material. Basnett does not disclose any structural or functional significance as to the specific material of the cover.
Applicant is reminded that the selection of a known material based upon its suitability for the intended use, wherein there is no structural or functional significance disclosed as to the specific material of an element, is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the assembly disclosed by Basnett wherein the cover comprises a plastic material, as Basnett does not disclose any structural or functional significance as to the specific material of the cover, and as such selection of material is a design consideration within the skill of the art which would yield expected and predictable results.
As to claim 8, Basnett discloses a metal housing assembly wherein at least one of the metal housing 8 or the metal ring 1 is formed from a steel alloy (Figures 1-5; C2 L14-15).
As to claim 9, Basnett discloses a metal housing assembly wherein the metal housing 8 is plastically deformed at least in sections on an outer peripheral surface of the metal housing in a region of the shoulder 7 on the metal ring 1 (Figures 1-5).
As to claim 10, Basnett discloses an electric machine (vehicle) having a metal housing 8 (the vehicle inherently comprises electric components; Figures 1-5).
As to claim 11, Basnett discloses a method wherein the recess formed by the shoulder 7 of the metal ring 1 is free of plastic material (Figures 1-5).
As to claim 12, Basnett discloses a method wherein an outer peripheral surface of the metal ring 1 and an inner peripheral surface of the metal housing 8 are cylindrical (Figures 1-5).
As to claim 13, Basnett discloses a method wherein when the cover 5 is pushed axially into the metal housing 1 up to the shoulder, an outer circumferential surface of the cover and an inner circumferential surface of the metal housing form one of either a transition fit, a clearance fit, or an interference fit (Figures 1-5).
As to claim 14, Basnett discloses a housing assembly wherein the recess formed by the shoulder 7 of the metal ring 1 is free of plastic material (Figures 1-5).
As to claim 15, Basnett discloses a housing assembly, comprising:
a metal housing 8,
a cover 5 fixed to the metal housing,
a metal sleeve 1 arranged radially between the metal housing and the cover, the metal sleeve:
having a circumferentially extending shoulder 7 forming a recess with the metal housing, the circumferentially extending shoulder overmolded with material of the cover, and
fixedly attached to the metal housing via radially inward elevations that penetrate into the recess to form a force-fitting connection, the radially inward elevations formed via plastic deformation of the metal housing after axial insertion of the cover within the metal housing (Figures 1-5).
Basnett fails to disclose that the cover comprises a plastic material. Basnett does not disclose any structural or functional significance as to the specific material of the cover.
Applicant is reminded that the selection of a known material based upon its suitability for the intended use, wherein there is no structural or functional significance disclosed as to the specific material of an element, is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the assembly disclosed by Basnett wherein the cover comprises a plastic material, as Basnett does not disclose any structural or functional significance as to the specific material of the cover, and as such selection of material is a design consideration within the skill of the art which would yield expected and predictable results.
As to claim 16, Basnett discloses a housing assembly wherein the recess is open on one side before insertion of the cover 5 within the metal housing 8 (Figures 1-5).
As to claim 17, Basnett discloses a housing assembly wherein the circumferentially extending shoulder 7 is integrally formed with the metal sleeve 1 via a metal forming process (Figures 1-5).
As to claim 18, Basnett discloses a housing assembly wherein an outer circumferential surface of the metal sleeve 1 is free of the plastic material of the cover 5 (Figures 1-5).
As to claim 19, Basnett discloses a housing assembly wherein the cover 5 is axially inserted within the metal housing 8 until an end of the cover engages a shoulder of the metal housing 1, the shoulder forming an axial stop for the cover (Figures 1-5).
As to claim 20, Basnett discloses a housing assembly wherein the metal housing 8, cover 5 and metal sleeve 1 are cylindrical in shape (Figures 1-5).
Conclusion
08/18/26
/MICHAEL P FERGUSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619