DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 10-11 of the remarks, filed February 9, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-13 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Barbachano (US 2013/0093194), Soerensen (US 2025/0101947), and Delmerico (US 8,013,461).
Applicant argues that Barbachano and Sorensen does not disclose or suggest the features recited in claim 1 as amended. “Specifically, independent claim 1 as amended recites "wherein the central supply line includes a grid terminal that is connected to a power grid via a second rectifier and an inverter that are connected to a transformer that is connected to the power grid." Claim 1 as amended further recites "wherein the second rectifier and the inverter provide for a bidirectional operation, to feed grid power from the power grid to the central supply line by rectification, and to feed an inversion of the direct current of the central supply line to the power grid." Claim 1 as amended further recites "wherein the second rectifier and the inverter, by providing the bidirectional operation, independently control the voltage of the central DC network."”
The Examiner respectfully disagrees, because Barbachano teaches a central supply line connected to a power grid. A grid terminal is inherent and essential for any connection to a power grid. A transformer is inherent and required for all practical utility scale connections to the power grid to match voltage levels. However, Barbachano and Sorensen do not explicitly disclose a second rectifier and inverter (AC/AC power converter) that provide for a bidirectional operation. Delmerico discloses these limitations.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s).
“an inverter” of claim 1
“a second power generator” of claim 7
“a second power generator,” “a water power plant generator,” “a third rectifier having a third DC voltage output” of claim 8
“a third rectifier” of claim 9
“the inverter,” “an insulated gate bipolar transistor (IGBT),” and “an integrated gate-commuted thyristor (UGCT)” of claim 14
No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 6, and 9 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, “to which a rectifier having a DC voltage output is connected” should be changed to “to which a rectifier having the DC voltage output is connected”
Claim 6, “wherein the wind turbine has a generator” should be changed to “wherein the wind turbine has the generator”
Claim 9, “wherein the power supply source is formed by a power grid” should be changed to “wherein the power supply source is formed by the power grid”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“wherein the DC network and the electrolysis systems are connected by means of the central supply line” in claim 1.
“wherein an electrolysis system is connected to the central supply line by means of a respective connecting line” in claim 2.
“a DC voltage output, by means of which a specified high voltage for the central supply line can be provided” in claim 10.
“direct current is fed…into the central supply line by means of a DC voltage output” in claim 11.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-8, 10, 11, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barbachano (US 2013/0093194), in view of Soerensen (US 2025/0101947) and Delmerico (US 8,013,461).
Regarding claim 1, Barbachano discloses a system combination, comprising
at least two electrolysis systems (5 of Figure 1, 9),
a power supply source (1 of Figure 1, 9) having a DC voltage output (implied, electrolysis systems require direct current (DC) to function effectively; they cannot use alternating current (AC)), and
a central supply line (see Figure 1, 9; Para. 0020),
wherein the central supply line is connected to the DC voltage output of the power supply source, so that a direct current can be fed into the central supply line, and a central DC network designed for high voltage is provided,
wherein the DC network and the electrolysis systems are connected by means of the central supply line (see Figure 1, 9; Para. 0020),
wherein the power supply source has, as a power generator (1 of Figure 1, 9, it is well known in the art that wind turbines comprise a power generator; Para. 0003), an on-shore wind turbine (1 of Figure 1, 9), to which a rectifier (implied, electrolysis systems require direct current (DC) to function effectively; they cannot use alternating current (AC)) having a DC voltage output is connected, the DC voltage output being designed for the high voltage, and
wherein one electrolysis system is connected there directly to the central supply line (see Figure 1, 9),
wherein the central supply line includes a grid terminal (inherent, essential for any connection) that is connected to a power grid (3 of Figure 1,2, 7, 9) via a transformer (inherent, required to match voltage levels) that is connected to the power grid.
Barbachano does not explicitly disclose wherein one electrolysis system is disposed at a base of a tower of the wind turbine;
a second rectifier and an inverter, and
wherein the second rectifier and the inverter provide for a bidirectional operation, to feed grid power from the power grid to the central supply line by rectification, and to feed an inversion of the direct current of the central supply line to the power grid, and
wherein the second rectifier and the inverter, by providing the bidirectional operation, independently control the voltage of the central DC network.
Soerensen discloses wherein one electrolysis system (32, 33, 34 of Figure 1) is disposed at a base (105 of Figure 1) of a tower (103 of Figure 1; Para. 0010) of the wind turbine (100 of Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing of the claimed invention to locate the electrolysis system of Barbachano at the base of the wind turbine tower, as taught by Soerensen, for the advantage of a smaller nacelle housing which poses less resistance to the wind and further decreasing the weight of the nacelle [Soerensen: Para. 0012, 0014]. It has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Delmerico discloses a second rectifier (52 of Figure 2) and an inverter (56 of Figure 2), and
wherein the second rectifier and the inverter provide for a bidirectional operation, to feed grid power from the power grid to the central supply line by rectification, and to feed an inversion of the direct current of the central supply line to the power grid (Col. 4:23-36), and
wherein the second rectifier and the inverter, by providing the bidirectional operation, independently control the voltage of the central DC network (Col. 4:23-36).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing of the claimed invention to include a bi-directional AC/AC converter in the system of Barbachano, as taught by Delmerico, to benefit from grid stability and support, energy management and efficiency, and operational versatility.
Regarding claim 2, Barbachano discloses wherein the electrolysis systems (5 of Figure 1, 9) are connected to each other relative to the central supply line, wherein an electrolysis system is connected to the central supply line by means of a respective connecting line (see Figure 1, 9; Para. 0020).
Barbachano does not explicitly disclose the electrolysis systems are connected in parallel to each other.
Soerensen discloses the electrolysis systems are connected in parallel to each other (Para. 0030).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing of the claimed invention to have the electrolysis system of Barbachano connected to each other in parallel, as taught by Soerensen, for high-voltage supply levels [Soerensen: Para. 0030].
Regarding claim 3, Barbachano discloses an input voltage of which corresponds to the high voltage (from the Wind Turbine) in the central DC network and the output voltage of which is designed for a respective operating voltage of the electrolysis system (see Figure 1, 9; Para. 0020).
Barbachano does not explicitly disclose a down converter is connected in the connecting line.
Soerensen discloses wherein a down converter (22 of Figure 1) is connected in the connecting line, an input voltage of which corresponds to the high voltage in the central DC network and the output voltage of which is designed for a respective operating voltage of the electrolysis system (Para. 0056).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing of the claimed invention to have a down converter in the connecting line of Barbachano, as taught by Soerensen, for adjusting the voltage level to the voltage level required by electrolyzer, which is generally a low-voltage level below 2000V [Soerensen: Para. 0056].
Regarding claim 6, Barbachano discloses wherein the wind turbine (1 of Figure 1, 9) is configured without a mechanical transmission (does not disclose a mechanical transmission) and is designed for operation with a variable rotor frequency, and wherein the wind turbine has a generator (It is well known in the art that wind turbines comprise a power generator; Para. 0003), an alternating current output of which is connected to an input of the rectifier (implied, electrolysis systems require direct current (DC) to function effectively; they cannot use alternating current (AC)).
Regarding claim 7, Barbachano discloses wherein the power supply source has, as a second power generator, a photovoltaic system, the DC voltage output of which is designed for the high voltage, wherein the DC voltage output is connected to the central supply line (Para. 0002-0003).
Regarding claim 8, Barbachano discloses wherein the power supply source has, as a second power generator, a water power plant including a water power plant generator (Para. 0002-0003), wherein a third rectifier having a third DC voltage output (implied, electrolysis systems require direct current (DC) to function effectively; they cannot use alternating current (AC)) designed for the high voltage is connected to the water power plant generator, and wherein the third DC voltage output is connected to the central supply line.
Regarding claim 10, Barbachano discloses wherein the power supply source (1 of Figure 1, 9) has the DC voltage output (implied, electrolysis systems require direct current (DC) to function effectively; they cannot use alternating current (AC)), by means of which a specified high voltage for the central supply line can be provided.
Barbachano does not explicitly disclose an up converter.
Soerensen discloses an up converter (22 of Figure 1; Para. 0072).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing of the claimed invention to have an up converter in the connecting line of Barbachano, as taught by Soerensen, for adjusting the voltage level to the voltage level required by electrolyzer [Soerensen: Para. 0056, 0072].
Regarding claim 11, Barbachano discloses a use of a DC network in a system combination according to claim 1, wherein the at least two electrolysis systems (5 of Figure 1, 9) are connected to the central supply line for direct current (see Figure 1, 9; Para. 0020),
wherein the direct current is fed by means of a DC voltage output (implied, electrolysis systems require direct current (DC) to function effectively; they cannot use alternating current (AC)) at a specified high voltage, into the central supply line.
Barbachano does not explicitly disclose down converters connected to the central supply line.
Soerensen discloses down converters (22 of Figure 1) connected to the central supply line (Para. 0056).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing of the claimed invention to have a down converter in the connecting line of Barbachano, as taught by Soerensen, for adjusting the voltage level to the voltage level required by electrolyzer, which is generally a low-voltage level below 2000V [Soerensen: Para. 0056].
Regarding claim 14, Barbachano discloses all of the elements of the current invention as mentioned above, however does not explicitly disclose wherein both the rectifier and the inverter comprise at least one of an insulated gate bipolar transistor (IGBT) and an integrated gate-commuted thyristor (IGCT).
Delmerico discloses wherein both the rectifier (52 of Figure 2) and the inverter (56 of Figure 2) comprise at least one of an insulated gate bipolar transistor (IGBT) and an integrated gate-commuted thyristor (IGCT) (Col. 4:23-36).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing of the claimed invention to include a bi-directional AC/AC converter in the system of Barbachano and comprise an insulated gate bipolar transistor (IGBT) and an integrated gate-commuted thyristor (IGCT), as taught by Delmerico, to benefit from grid stability and support, energy management and efficiency, and operational versatility.
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barbachano (US 2013/0093194), in view of Soerensen (US 2025/0101947) and Delmerico (US 8,013,461) as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Wagoner (US 2015/0123402).
Regarding claims 4, 5, Barbachano discloses all of the elements of the current invention as mentioned above, however does not explicitly disclose wherein the down converter is configured as a controllable buck converter, such that the supply of electrolysis current to the electrolysis system (5 of Figure 1, 9) is adjustable to a varying feed power of the power supply source (1 of Figure 1, 9) to the central supply line (see Figure 1, 9; Para. 0020) (claim 4);
wherein the down converter is configured as the controllable buck converter controlling the output voltage using a pulse width modulation method in continuous operation (claim 5).
Wagoner discloses wherein the down converter (230 of Figure 2) is configured as a controllable buck converter (Para. 0044) (claim 4);
wherein the down converter (230 of Figure 2) is configured as the controllable buck converter (Para. 0044) controlling the output voltage using a pulse width modulation method (Para. 0036-0037) in continuous operation (claim 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing of the claimed invention to have a down converter in the apparatus of Barbachano be configured as a buck controller using pulse width modulation, as taught by Wagoner, for the added benefit of high efficiency, precise control, and effective integration of renewable energy sources. The combination also allows for optimal power transfer from the wind turbine to a load or energy storage system.
Claims 9, 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barbachano (US 2013/0093194), in view of Soerensen (US 2025/0101947) and Delmerico (US 8,013,461) as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Brogan (US 2015/0263569).
Regarding claims 9, 12, 13, Barbachano discloses all of the elements of the current invention as mentioned above, however does not explicitly disclose wherein the power supply source is formed by a power grid, wherein a third rectifier is provided, the DC voltage output of which is designed for the high voltage of the central supply line (claim 9);
wherein the specified high voltage in the central supply line (see Figure 1, 9; Para. 0020) is above 1.5 kV (claim 12);
wherein the specified high voltage in the central supply line (see Figure 1, 9; Para. 0020) is between 10 kV to 110 kV (claim 13).
Brogan discloses wherein the power supply source is formed by a power grid (7 of Figure 1; Para. 0037), wherein a third rectifier (200 of Figure 1) is provided, the DC voltage output of which is designed for the high voltage of the central supply line (3 of Figure 1-4) (claim 9);
wherein the specified high voltage in the central supply line above 1.5 kV (Para. 0037) (claim 12);
wherein the specified high voltage in the central supply line (3 of Figure 1-4) is between 10 kV to 110 kV (Para. 0037) (claim 13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing of the claimed invention to have the power supply source of Barbachano be formed by a power grid, as taught by Brogan, to provide some auxiliary power to the wind turbines [Brogan: Para. 0037].
Soerensen discloses an up converter (22 of Figure 1; Para. 0072) (claim 12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing of the claimed invention to have an up converter in the connecting line of Barbachano, as taught by Soerensen, for adjusting the voltage level to the voltage level required by electrolyzer [Soerensen: Para. 0056, 0072].
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Scholte-Wassink (US 2010/0140939) disclose a central supply line includes a grid terminal, a power grid, a second rectifier and an inverter that provide for bidirectional operation, and a transformer.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Charles Reid Jr./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834