DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claims limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: acquisition unit, output control unit in claims
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Hoshina (JP2002135198A)(hereafter Hoshina) (see IDS).
Regarding claims 1 and 19, Hoshina discloses an information processing apparatus comprising:
an acquisition unit that acquires information of a geographical position (see, para [011], obtaining a position of the mobile terminal); and
an output control unit that outputs direction information indicating a direction in which radio field intensity increases in a case where wireless connection using a predetermined frequency band is performed at the geographical position (see, para [0017], the adaptive array control unit 202 adjusts the directivity so that the main beam of the adaptive array antenna is directed to the arrival direction of the desired wave when the mobile terminal is connected to the call of the normal base station, para [0020], FIG. 4 is a diagram showing an example of a screen display. By combining the radial reception level map centered on the mobile terminal measured in the present embodiment and the position information obtained by the location service, the reception level with respect to the position can be displayed three-dimensionally. Since the moving distance information of the mobile terminal can be acquired by combining the reception level measurement result and the position information, the reception level measurement result for each direction centered on the past mobile terminal is stored in the memory. By repeatedly displaying the saved measurement results on the screen according to the distance, it is possible to create a reception level variation map according to the distance in addition to the direction, [0021] In addition, by creating a reception level fluctuation map, it is effective for grasping the service area of the wireless system, evaluating the radio wave propagation environment, and evaluating various developments. In addition, the reception level state of the peripheral area of the mobile terminal can be displayed on the idle screen in the standby state and used as a screen saver. Furthermore, by adjusting the directivity so that the main beam of the adaptive array antenna is directed to the specific direction to be measured, it is possible to remove interference waves such as interference waves and improve communication quality).
Regarding claim 2, Hoshina further discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the output control unit outputs the direction information for each of a plurality of areas set on a basis of the geographical position ([0011] Also, in the mobile terminal according to the present invention, a GPS receiver for obtaining the position information of the mobile terminal is provided, and the display unit three-dimensionally changes the surrounding reception level with respect to the position information as the mobile terminal moves. It is characterized by displaying).
Regarding claim 16, Hoshina further discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the predetermined frequency band is a frequency band included in a millimeter wave band and a quasi-millimeter wave band (paragraphs [0009]-[0021], fig. 4) indicates that signals of the high frequency band transmitted from the base station are received by the mobile terminal. Configuring the signals of the high-frequency band to be signals of a "millimeter wave band and a quasi-millimeter wave band").
Regarding claims 17 and 20, Hoshina discloses an information processing apparatus comprising:
an acquisition unit that acquires information of a geographical position (see, para [011], obtaining a position of the mobile terminal);; and
a calculation unit that calculates direction information indicating a direction in which radio field intensity increases in a case where wireless connection using a predetermined frequency band is performed at the geographical position ((see, para [0017], the adaptive array control unit 202 adjusts the directivity so that the main beam of the adaptive array antenna is directed to the arrival direction of the desired wave when the mobile terminal is connected to the call of the normal base station, para [0020], FIG. 4 is a diagram showing an example of a screen display. By combining the radial reception level map centered on the mobile terminal measured in the present embodiment and the position information obtained by the location service, the reception level with respect to the position can be displayed three-dimensionally. Since the moving distance information of the mobile terminal can be acquired by combining the reception level measurement result and the position information, the reception level measurement result for each direction centered on the past mobile terminal is stored in the memory. By repeatedly displaying the saved measurement results on the screen according to the distance, it is possible to create a reception level variation map according to the distance in addition to the direction, [0021] In addition, by creating a reception level fluctuation map, it is effective for grasping the service area of the wireless system, evaluating the radio wave propagation environment, and evaluating various developments. In addition, the reception level state of the peripheral area of the mobile terminal can be displayed on the idle screen in the standby state and used as a screen saver. Furthermore, by adjusting the directivity so that the main beam of the adaptive array antenna is directed to the specific direction to be measured, it is possible to remove interference waves such as interference waves and improve communication quality).
wherein the direction information is information calculated on a basis of information regarding wireless connection collected from a plurality of terminal apparatuses in a predetermined area selected on a basis of the geographical position ([0011] Also, in the mobile terminal according to the present invention, a GPS receiver for obtaining the position information of the mobile terminal is provided, and the display unit three-dimensionally changes the surrounding reception level with respect to the position information as the mobile terminal moves. It is characterized by displaying). and
the information regarding the wireless connection includes at least information about radio field intensity and a terminal direction when each of the plurality of terminal apparatuses performs the wireless connection using the predetermined frequency band (((see, para [0017], the adaptive array control unit 202 adjusts the directivity so that the main beam of the adaptive array antenna is directed to the arrival direction of the desired wave when the mobile terminal is connected to the call of the normal base station, para [0020], FIG. 4 is a diagram showing an example of a screen display. By combining the radial reception level map centered on the mobile terminal measured in the present embodiment and the position information obtained by the location service, the reception level with respect to the position can be displayed three-dimensionally. Since the moving distance information of the mobile terminal can be acquired by combining the reception level measurement result and the position information, the reception level measurement result for each direction centered on the past mobile terminal is stored in the memory. By repeatedly displaying the saved measurement results on the screen according to the distance, it is possible to create a reception level variation map according to the distance in addition to the direction, [0021] In addition, by creating a reception level fluctuation map, it is effective for grasping the service area of the wireless system, evaluating the radio wave propagation environment, and evaluating various developments. In addition, the reception level state of the peripheral area of the mobile terminal can be displayed on the idle screen in the standby state and used as a screen saver. Furthermore, by adjusting the directivity so that the main beam of the adaptive array antenna is directed to the specific direction to be measured, it is possible to remove interference waves such as interference waves and improve communication quality).
Regarding claim 18, Hoshina further discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 17, wherein the calculation unit calculates the direction information by repeatedly executing processing of calculating a radio field intensity in a reference direction on a basis of the information regarding the wireless connection selected on a basis of the terminal direction while shifting the reference direction (paragraphs [0009]-[0021], fig. 4) indicates that the mobile terminal obtains a reception signal
for each direction ( corresponding to "repeatedly executes a process for calculating the radio wave intensity in the reference direction while shifting the reference direction" of the present application), measures the reception
level, and displays the reception level for each direction).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 , 5, 11, 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoshina in view of Koshima et a. (WO98/41048A1) (hereafter Koshima) (see IDS).
Regarding claim 3, Hoshina further discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the output control unit outputs area display of each of the plurality of areas on a map and adds a display indicating the direction information to each area display on the map (see, para [0019], [0020], describes, as an example of screen display, the feature of three dimensionally displaying a reception level with respect to a location by combining a measured radial reception level map centered on the mobile terminal and location information obtained by a location service by which the location of the mobile terminal on the map can be recognized ( corresponding to "adding a display indicating the direction information" "on the map" of the present application). As regards the output on the map, Hoshina does not describe the feature of performing "area display of each of the plurality of areas". However, Koshima (pages 4-6) indicates that: a mesh (a plurality of areas) of an arbitrary size is defined as a region required to create a radio wave propagation pattern, and an outer shape of a building is formed in a region in which the mesh is formed by referring to an electronic map; and an electric field intensity distribution of a base station is created by determining an electric field intensity distribution in each mesh). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Koshima with the Hoshina, as a whole so as to display the plurality of the areas, the motivation is to generate the field intensity distribution of the area map.
Regarding claim 5, Hoshina further disclose the information processing apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the information processing apparatus is a terminal apparatus capable of the wireless connection using the predetermined frequency band (see, para [0014]).
Regarding claim 11, the combined teachings further disclose the information processing apparatus, wherein the output control unit outputs the area display of each of a plurality of areas selected on a basis of a current terminal direction of the terminal apparatus on the map ( Koshima teaches p. pages 4-6 indicates that: a mesh (a plurality of areas) of an arbitrary size is defined as a region required to create a radio wave propagation pattern, and an outer shape of a building is formed in a region in which the mesh is formed by referring to an electronic map; and an electric field intensity distribution of a base station is created by determining an electric field intensity distribution in each mesh).
Regarding claim 13, Hoshina further discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the output control unit adds a 3D display stereoscopically indicating a direction in which the radio field intensity is high to the map (paragraphs [0009]-[0021]) indicates that the mobile terminal can obtain location information, and changes in the reception level of surroundings with respect to the location information are three dimensionally displayed (corresponding to the "3D display three-dimensionally displaying a direction having strong radio wave intensity" of the present application), and describes, as an example of screen display, the feature of three-dimensionally displaying a reception level with respect to a location by combining a measured radial reception level map centered on the mobile terminal and location information obtained by a location service by which the location of the mobile terminal on the map can be recognized.
Regarding claim 14, Hoshina further discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the output control unit outputs a display indicating a position of a base station estimated on a basis of transmission power information from the base station (paragraph [0019]) indicates that combination with the location information of the base station enables a location service by which the location of the mobile terminal on the map can be recognized. Additionally, the feature of specifying the location of a device on the basis of transmission power information is such a well-known feature that it is not necessary to provide any example thereof).
13. Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoshina and Koshima and further in view of Inomata (JP2020184686A) (hereafter Inomata) (see IDS).
Regarding claim 4, the combined teachings do not disclose the information processing apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the output control unit adds a display indicating the direction information and the radio field intensity to each area display on the map. However, Inomata teaches (paragraphs [0033], [0034], fig. 10) describes, as an example of a screen created on the basis of an average reception level map, the display of a region of a cell having a reception power of Wl or less, a region in which the reception power is greater than Wl and less than or equal to W2, a region in which the reception power is greater than W2 and less than or equal to W3 ( each region is a display indicating radio wave intensity), and a cross-shaped marker Tl (direction information) which is the estimated best antenna direction. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Inomata with the Hoshina and Koshima, as a whole, to add a display indicating the direction information and the radio field intensity to each area display on the map the motivation is estimating best antenna direction at a pluralities of measurement points on a plurality of the created reception level maps.
14. Claim(s) 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoshina and Koshima and further in view of Hirano (JP2003264494) (hereafter Hirano) (see IDS).
Regarding claim 6, the combined teachings do not disclose the information processing apparatus, wherein the output control unit superimposes and displays information indicating terminal directions and radio field intensities of other terminal apparatuses currently performing the wireless connection using the predetermined frequency band on the map.
However, in same field of endeavor, Hirano teaches (abstract, paragraphs [0040]-[0044], fig. 4-6) indicates that a map is displayed on a screen of a user terminal, and the map displays the current location, contour lines of radio wave intensity, and the location of the mobile terminal for recognizing the density of mobile terminals. The map of document 4 displays "contour lines of radio wave intensity" and the "locations of mobile terminals", and therefore, it can be said that the map shows the radio wave intensity of another mobile terminal present at a certain location.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to combine the teachings of Hirano with the Hoshina and Koshima, as a whole, so as to superimposes and displays information indicating terminal directions and radio field intensities of other terminal apparatuses currently performing the wireless connection using the predetermined frequency band on the map, the motivation is to generating a map of the radio wave strength , out-of-service and position information which are received for each terminal.
Regarding claim 7, the combined teachings further discloses the information processing apparatus, wherein the output control unit superimposes and displays information indicating terminal directions and radio field intensities of other terminal apparatuses that have performed the wireless connection using the predetermined frequency band on the map during a predetermined period in a past (Hirano teaches (abstract, paragraphs [0040]-[0044], fig. 4-6) indicates that a map is displayed on a screen of a user terminal, and the map displays the current location, contour lines of radio wave intensity, and the location of the mobile terminal for recognizing the density of mobile terminals. The map of document 4 displays "contour lines of radio wave intensity" and the "locations of mobile terminals", and therefore, it can be said that the map shows the radio wave intensity of another mobile terminal present at a certain location)).
15. Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoshina in view of Koshima and further in view of Matsumoto (JP2003-204296) (hereafter Matsumoto) (see IDS).
Regarding claim 8, the combined teachings do not disclose the information processing apparatus, wherein the output control unit superimposes and displays the direction information calculated for each weather on the map. In same field of endeavor, Matsumoto teaches, (paragraph [0030]) indicates that an electric field intensity distribution is calculated for each meteorological state. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Matsumoto in view of Hishona and Koshina, as a whole, so as to superimposes and displays the direction information calculated for each weather on the map, the motivation is to measure radio wave condition.
16. Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoshina in view of Koshima et a. (WO98/41048A1) (hereafter Koshima) and further inv view of Takeshima et al. (JP 2017-022557A) (see IDS).
Regarding claim 9, the combined teachings do not disclose the information processing apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the output control unit hides the area display of a predetermined radio field intensity on a basis of an operation of a user. However, in same field of endeavor, Takeshima teaches, (paragraphs [0120]-[0127], fig. 13) indicates that a value based on a signal noise ratio or a distribution of received signal intensities belonging to a region selected by an administrator is displayed. A value based on the signal noise ratio or the distribution of received signal intensities of a region that was not selected by an administrator is not displayed. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Takeshima with the Hoshina and Koshima, as a whole, so as to display the area of a predetermined radio field intensity on a basis of an operation of a user, the motivation is to provide radio state information which includes the signal strength measurement.
17. Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoshina and Koshima and further in view of Harada et al. (JP 2002-112303A ) (hereafter Harada) (see IDS).
Regarding claim 10, the combined teachings do not disclose the information processing apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the output control unit hides the area display of an inaccessible area. In same field of endeavor, Harada teaches (paragraphs [0019], [0020], fig. 2) indicates that: electric field intensity map information is displayed on a PHS screen; and a terminal user is on a road, and when walking thereon, there is the possibility of turning at an intersection. Fig. 2 of document 8 shows that the electric field intensity of the electric field intensity map information is only indicated on a road. Namely, Harada suggests that: a terminal user moves on a road; and an electric field intensity is indicated only on a road, and an area (non-entry area) that is not on the road is not displayed. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Harada with the Hoshina and Koshima, as a whole, so as to hides the area display of an inaccessible area, the motivation is to provide abnormality detection.
18. Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoshina and Koshima and further in view of Sasaki et al. (JP 2021-012084 A)(hereafter Sasaki) (See IDS).
Regarding claim 12, the combined teachings do not disclose the information processing apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the output control unit outputs a route display generated on a basis of information of radio field intensity of each of the plurality of areas. In same field of endeavor, Sasaki teaches (abstract, paragraph [0071], fig. 6) indicates that: on the basis of radio wave intensity map information indicating the distribution of radio wave intensities, a route in which the quality of communication can satisfy a prescribed criterion is acquired, and information relating to the acquired route is transmitted to the terminal; and when a "good communication quality" tab is selected on a route selection screen of the terminal, two upper-order routes in the order of good communication quality (route display generated on the basis of radio wave intensity information) are shown. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sasaki with the Hoshina and Koshima, as a whole, outputs a route display generated on a basis of information of radio field intensity of each of the plurality of areas, the motivation is to yield predictable results.
19. Claim(s) 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoshina in view of Hirano (JP 2003-264494 A) (see IDS).
Regarding claim 15, Hoshina further discloses the information processing apparatus, wherein the direction information is information calculated on a basis of information regarding wireless connection collected from a plurality of terminal apparatuses in a predetermined area selected on a basis of the geographical position, and the information regarding the wireless connection includes at least information about radio field intensity and a terminal direction when each of the plurality of terminal apparatuses performs the wireless connection using the predetermined frequency band. (Hoshina discloses (paragraphs [0009]-[0021], fig. 4) indicates that the mobile terminal obtains the reception signal for each direction, measures the reception level (the reception level in each direction corresponds to the "radio wave direction and terminal direction" of the present application), and displays the reception level for each direction. Hoshina does not explicitly disclose area display of each of the plurality of areas. In same field of endeavor, Hirano indicates that the map is created by collecting radio wave intensity or out-of-service range, location information, and time (information relating to wireless connections collected from a plurality of terminal devices) from a large number of mobile terminals). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hirano with the Hoshina, as a whole, determine information relating to wireless connections collected from a plurality of terminal devices, the motivation is to yield predictable results.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tang et al. (US 11805462) discloses Information Acquisition Method and Sending Method, And Terminal And First Network Device.
Taira (US 2023/0319777) discloses POSITIONING SYSTEM, POSITIONING NETWORK DEVICE, CONTROL CIRCUIT, STORAGE MEDIUM, AND POSITIONING METHOD.
Kumar et al. (US 2021/0321359) discloses NAVIGATION AND POSITIONING SYSTEM USING RADIO BEAM SUPPORT INFORMATION
Hubert et al. (US 2021/0314726) discloses METHOD AND SYSTEM FOR GEOLOCATING A TERMINAL IN RANGE OF A TRANSMITTING DEVICE OF INTEREST.
Tsuda et al. (US 10623982) discloses Information Processing Device For Displaying Information Of Base Stations Around Predictive Migration Path Of User.
/DHAVAL V PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2631