Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7 and 9-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Duesmann et al. (DE 19841124 A1) hereinafter Duesmann.
Regarding Claim 1 Duesmann teaches A magnetic actuating device (Fig 1) comprising a housing (O, S) , a piston rod (13) that is movable between two end positions along a longitudinal axis of the housing (O, S) and has at least one piston ( 6, 16, 4) that extends radially from the piston rod (13) and is made of a ferromagnetic material (magnetizable material since it is affected by magnetic poles 12) or at least partially encompasses such a material (Fig 1), with at least one magnetic system (9, 10) fixed to the housing (O, S), wherein the piston ( 6, 16, 4) and the magnetic system (9, 10) form at least one fluid gap system (7, 17) with axially variable fluid gaps (7, 17) , into which in each case at least one fluid supply (7.1) leads for the addition of actuating fluid, so that the piston rod (13) can be moved into its end positions at least by the addition of actuating fluid between the piston ( 6, 16, 4) and the magnet system (12) (Fig 2-3).
Regarding Claim 2 Duesmann teaches wherein the piston rod (13) has two pistons (6, 16) which are arranged at a distance from one another, extend radially from the piston rod (5), and are made of a ferromagnetic material or at least comprise this material in some regions (Fig 2-3).
Regarding Claim 3 Duesmann teaches wherein the magnet system (9, 10) is arranged between the pistons in a manner fixed to the housing (O, S) (Fig 1).
Regarding Claim 4 Duesmann teaches wherein the actuating device comprises two magnet systems (9, 10) fixed to the housing (O, S), between which the piston ( 6, 16, 4) can be moved and which each define an end position of the piston ( 6, 16, 4) (Fig 1).
Regarding Claim 5 Duesmann teaches wherein the magnet system (9, 10) is designed to be rotationally symmetrical (Fig 1).
Regarding Claim 7 Duesmann teaches wherein the magnet system (9, 10) comprises a coil (since they are electromagnets), which is associated with the magnet system (9, 10) and can be connected to a power source (19) (Fig 1).
Regarding Claim 9 Duesmann teaches wherein the magnet system (9, 10) has radially inner and/or radially outer pole pieces (12) made from a magnetic-flux-conducting material (Fig 1).
Regarding Claim 10 Duesmann teaches wherein the magnet system (9, 10) is part of the housing (O, S) (Fig 1).
Regarding Claim 11 Duesmann teaches wherein the piston rod (13) forms a receptacle for an actuator (11) passing through the piston rod (13) along the longitudinal axis (since armature 11 has thicknes it extends both longitudinally and axially within rod 13)(Fig 1).
Regarding Claim 12 Duesmann teaches wherein a spring (9) (gas springs See Abstract) acts directly or indirectly on the piston rod (13) (Fig 1).
Regarding Claim 13 Duesmann teaches, wherein at least one guide means (9) is provided for axially guiding at least one piston ( 6, 16, 4) along the longitudinal axis (Fig 1).
Regarding Claim 14 Duesmann teaches wherein the housing (O, S) is of a multi-part design (Fig 1).
Regarding Claim 15 Duesmann teaches wherein the piston rod (13) comprises a rotary feedthrough (7.2, 17.2) for the passage of one or more fluid channels (The valves 7.2, 17.2 are three way valves and has rotating fluid outlet positions See specification and Fig 1).
Regarding Claim 16 Duesmann teaches, wherein the fluid supply (7.1) is also designed as a fluid outlet (Fig 1).
Regarding Claim 17 Duesmann teaches wherein in addition to the fluid supply (16), there is in each case at least one fluid outlet (20) in the fluid gaps (15) (Fig 1).
Claims 1 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Joerg et al. (DE 10003116 A1 hereinafter Joerg.
Regarding Claim 1 Joerg teaches A magnetic actuating device (Fig 1) comprising a housing (2) , a piston rod (Fig 1) that is movable between two end positions along a longitudinal axis of the housing (2) and has at least one piston ( 13) that extends radially from the piston rod (Fig 1) and is made of a ferromagnetic material (Fig 1) or at least partially encompasses such a material (Fig 1), with at least one magnetic system (7, 8) fixed to the housing (2), wherein the piston ( 13) and the magnetic system (7, 8) form at least one fluid gap system (3,4) with axially variable fluid gaps (3, 4) , into which in each case at least one fluid supply (Fig 1) leads for the addition of actuating fluid, so that the piston rod (Fig 1) can be moved into its end positions at least by the addition of actuating fluid between the piston ( 13) and the magnet system (7, 8) (Fig 1).
Regarding Claim 6 Joerg teaches wherein the magnet system (7, 8) has an annular arrangement of one or more permanent magnets polarized in the same direction radially (Fig 1).
Claims 1 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wolff et al. (DE102013102400) hereinafter Wolf.
Regarding Claim 1 Wolf teaches A magnetic actuating device (Fig 1) comprising a housing (3), a piston rod (6) that is movable between two end positions along a longitudinal axis of the housing (2) and has at least one piston ( 7, 8) that extends radially from the piston rod (Fig 1) and is made of a ferromagnetic material (Fig 1) or at least partially encompasses such a material (Fig 1), with at least one magnetic system (12-14) fixed to the housing (3), wherein the piston (7, 8) and the magnetic system (12-14) form at least one fluid gap system (L1, L2) with axially variable fluid gaps (L1, L2) , into which in each case at least one fluid supply (Fig 1) leads for the addition of actuating fluid (Fig 1), so that the piston rod (6) can be moved into its end positions at least by the addition of actuating fluid between the piston ( 7, 8) and the magnet system (12-14) (Fig 1).
Regarding Claim 7 Wolf teaches wherein the magnet system (12-14) comprises a coil (12), which is associated with the magnet system (12-14) and can be connected to a power source (Fig 1).
Regarding Claim 8 Wolf teaches wherein the coil (12) is of ring-shaped design and is flanked on both sides by permanent magnets (13, 14) (Fig 1).
Conclusion
/ABIY TEKA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745