DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 26 recites the limitation "the feedback information”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Appropriate correction required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-11, 14, 18-20, 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wu et al. “Wu” US 2025/0071628.
Regarding claim 1, Wu teaches an electronic apparatus for wireless communications, comprising:
at least one processor; and at least one memory including computer program code, where the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured, with the at least one processor (608 and 602 of Figure 6 show a processor and memory), to cause the electronic apparatus to:
determine, based on received first information, a first user equipment (UE) (Target relay UE 502 of Figure 5) to be a relay device between a base station (BS 503 of Figure 5) and a second UE (remote UE 501), wherein the first UE is capable of establishing a Uu connection with the base station and is capable of establishing a PC5 connection with the second UE (Paragraph 148 and step 515 teaches a PC5 connection between the remote UE and target relay and Paragraph 150 and step 516 teaches the target relay UE establishing a UU connection with the base station), and wherein a switch is to occur between a UU communication between a third UE and the base station and a PC5 communication between the third UE and the second UE (Paragraph 147 teaches a path switch which includes the information of the target relay is sent to the remote UE. Paragraph 148 teaches the switch is to occur from the source relay UE to the target relay UE. Thus the switch would occur between the UU and PC5 link shown in Figure 1 with the new UU/PC5 shown in figure 5 due to a new relay being selected).; and
provide, to the base station or the second UE, context information of the communication before the switch and information of QoS mapping relationship from the communication before the switch to the communication after the switch, wherein, the communication before the switch is one of the Uu communication and the PC5 communication, and the communication after the switch is the other one of the Uu communication and the PC5 communication (Figure 1 shows a UU/PC5 communication before the switch and Figure 5 shown a PC5/UU communication after the switch (See also paragraphs 147-150). Paragraphs 139-145 teach information being exchanged between the remote UE and the base station which includes channel quality (i.e. claims QoS mapping) between devices in the network). This quality information pertains to the channel before and after the potential switch to the target relay UE).
Regarding claim 2, Wu teaches in case the Uu is switched to PC5, the apparatus receives the first information from the base station and the first information comprises an identifier of the second UE (upon a change of connection with UU and PC5, the base station sends the ID of the target relay to the remote UE; Paragraph 147. As the information is being sent to the remote UE (i.e. claimed second UE), the ID of the remote UE must be included).
Regarding claim 3, Wu teaches the first information further includes an ID of the first UE (upon a change of connection with UU and PC5, the base station sends the ID of the target relay (i.e. claimed first UE) to the remote UE; Paragraph 147).
Regarding claim 4, Wu teaches receiving the first information from the second UE which includes intention indicating to search for a relay device or requirements on the relay device (step 513 shows the remote UE (i.e. second UE) sends information to the base station with respect to the candidate (i.e. target) relay UE; Paragraph 145. This is viewed as the intent to search or requirements on the searched relay device).
Regarding claim 5, Wu teaches sending feedback to the second UE including ID of the first UE (Paragraph 147 and step 514 shows the base station sending target relay UE ID information (i.e. first UE ID)).
Regarding claim 6, Wu teaches in a case the first UE and second UE are not in a PC5 connected state, establish, in response to the first information, the PC5 between the first UE and second UE (Paragraph 148 and step 515 teaches establishing aPC5 connection between the remote UE (i.e. claimed 2nd UE) and the target relay UE (i.e. claimed first UE). As a connection is being established, this infers the PC5 connection is not connected prior).
Regarding claim 8, Wu teaches an electronic apparatus for wireless communications, comprising:
at least one processor; and at least one memory including computer program code, where the at least one memory (608 and 602 of Figure 6 show a processor and memory) and the computer program code are configured, with the at least one processor, to cause the electronic apparatus to:
determine a relay UE in response to a switch request of a first UE serving as a communication counterpart of a first communication device, wherein the switch request indicates that the first UE is to switch a first communication between the first UE and the first communication device to a second communication between the first UE and a second communication device (Paragraph 147 teaches a path switch command is sent to the remote UE which includes the information of the target relay is sent to the remote UE. Paragraph 148 teaches the switch is to occur from the source relay UE to the target relay UE. The switch would be between the remote UE talking to a current relay UE to a target relay UE as shown in Figure 5); and
provide context information of the first communication and information of QoS mapping relationship from the first communication to the second communication to the second communication device via the relay UE (Figure 1 shows a UU/PC5 communication before the switch and Figure 5 shown a PC5/UU communication after the switch (See also paragraphs 147-150). Paragraphs 139-145 teach information being exchanged between the remote UE and the base station which includes channel quality (i.e. claims QoS mapping) between devices in the network). This quality information pertains to the channel before and after the potential switch to the target relay UE),
wherein the first communication device is one of a base station and a second UE, and the second communication device is the other one of the base station and the second UE (Figure 5 shows the communications between a remote UE (501), a BS (503) and a target relay UE (502). There is also an initial relay UE (103 of Figure 1). Thus one can see the first/second devices are a UE and base station).
Regarding claim 9, Wu teaches the first device is the base station (503 Figure 5) and the first communication is Uu and the second communication device is the second UE and a PC5 connection (Paragraph 148 and step 515 teaches a PC5 connection between the remote UE and target relay and Paragraph 150 and step 516 teaches the target relay UE establishing a UU connection with the base station) and
Determing a third UE is within a coverage range of the base station which is capable of Uu and PC5 connections with the second UE as the relay UE (Paragraph 147 teaches a path switch which includes the information of the target relay is sent to the remote UE. Paragraph 148 teaches the switch is to occur from the source relay UE to the target relay UE. Thus the switch would occur between the UU and PC5 link shown in Figure 1 with the new UU/PC5 shown in figure 5 due to a new relay being selected. The claim states the third UE is capable of a Uu and PC5 connection. Any UE in the system of Wu is capable of those connections. Being capable, doesn’t mean the connection is actually formed).
Regarding claim 10, Wu teaches in case no PC5 connection is established between the third and second UE, instruct the third UE to establish the PC5 connection with the second UE and to receive a feedback related to the connection (Paragraph 148 and step 515 teaches establishing a PC5 connection between the remote UE (i.e. claimed 2nd UE) and the target relay UE (i.e. claimed first UE). As a connection is being established, this infers the PC5 connection is not connected prior. Paragraph 147 and step 514 shows the base station sending target relay UE ID information (i.e. first UE ID)).
Regarding claim 11, Wu teaches the broadcast/multicast information includes the ID of the third UE (this limitation further limits an optional element of claim 10 which was not rejected. Therefore this claim carries no patentable weight. Further, Wu teaches that upon a change of connection with UU and PC5, the base station sends the ID of the target relay to the remote UE; Paragraph 147).
Regarding claim 14, Wu teaches the first device is the second UE and the first communication is PC5 and the second communication device is the base station and a Uu connection (Paragraph 148 and step 515 teaches a PC5 connection between the remote UE and target relay and Paragraph 150 and step 516 teaches the target relay UE establishing a UU connection with the base station) and
Determine a third UE is within a coverage range of the second UE which is capable of Uu and PC5 connections with the second UE as the relay UE (Paragraph 147 teaches a path switch which includes the information of the target relay is sent to the remote UE. Paragraph 148 teaches the switch is to occur from the source relay UE to the target relay UE. Thus the switch would occur between the UU and PC5 link shown in Figure 1 with the new UU/PC5 shown in figure 5 due to a new relay being selected. The claim states the third UE is capable of a Uu and PC5 connection. Any UE in the system of Wu is capable of those connections. Being capable, doesn’t mean the connection is actually formed).
Regarding claim 18, Wu teaches an electronic apparatus for wireless communications, comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory including computer program code, where the at least one memory (608 and 602 of Figure 6 show a processor and memory)and the computer program code are configured, with the at least one processor, to cause the electronic apparatus to:
in a case that a first UE is to switch from a current first communication between the first UE and a first communication device to a second communication between the first UE and a second communication device, establish a connection between the first UE and the second communication device (Paragraphs 147-148 teach a remote UE receiving a path switch command such that the remote UE then establishes a connection with the target relay UE; Figure 5)3; and
disconnect a connection of the first communication after establishment of the connection is completed and the second communication can be performed (Paragraph 147 states a switch is made form a source relay UE to a target relay UE. This implies that the UE would disconnect from the source UE after the switch occurs),
wherein the first communication device is one of a base station and a second UE, and the second communication device is the other one of the base station and the second UE (Figure 5 shows UEs and a base station).
Regarding claim 19, Wu teaches the first device is the base station (503 Figure 5) and the first communication is Uu and the second communication device is the second UE and a PC5 connection (Paragraph 148 and step 515 teaches a PC5 connection between the remote UE and target relay and Paragraph 150 and step 516 teaches the target relay UE establishing a UU connection with the base station) and
Establishing the PC5 with the second UE is done while keeping a Uu connection between the first UE and base station to achieve dual connectivity (Paragraph 147 teaches a path switch which includes the information of the target relay is sent to the remote UE. Paragraph 148 teaches the switch is to occur from the source relay UE to the target relay UE. Thus the switch would occur between the UU and PC5 link shown in Figure 1 with the new UU/PC5 shown in figure 5 due to a new relay being selected. The claim states the third UE is capable of a Uu and PC5 connection. Any UE in the system of Wu is capable of those connections. Being capable, doesn’t mean the connection is actually formed. Paragraphs 144 and 146 disclose dual connectivity. Figure 1 shows how a relay UE has both a PC5 and Uu connection simultaneously).
Regarding claim 20, Wu teaches sending context information of the first communication and QoS mapping relationship from the first communication to the second communication to the second UE through the PC5 connection (Figure 1 shows a UU/PC5 communication before the switch and Figure 5 shown a PC5/UU communication after the switch (See also paragraphs 147-150). Paragraphs 139-145 teach information being exchanged between the remote UE and the base station which includes channel quality (i.e. claims QoS mapping) between devices in the network). This quality information pertains to the channel before and after the potential switch to the target relay UE).
Regarding claim 26, Wu teaches no relay UE exists between the first communication device and the second communication device (Figure 5 shows the remote UE (501) communicating directly with BS (503), thus no relay UE exists between them); and
The relay UE is searched by the first device and the apparatus determines, based on feedback information from the first device, no relay exists between the first device and second device (step 513 shows the remote UE (i.e. second UE) sends information to the base station with respect to the candidate (i.e. target) relay UE; Paragraph 145. This is viewed as searching for the relay UE. Further, this information being sent to the base station directly would allow the base station to determine no relay UE exists between the first and second device as claimed).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Seo et al. “Seo” US 2017/0244469.
Regarding claim 15, Wu teaches sending information within the coverage range of the second UE and the information comprises information of the intention to search for a relay device or requirements on the relay device (step 513 shows the remote UE (i.e. second UE) sends information to the base station with respect to the candidate (i.e. target) relay UE; Paragraph 145. This is viewed as the intent to search or requirements on the searched relay device. Paragraphs 144-147 disclose various cell groups. These are viewed as coverage areas based on the devices that are within range to communicate with the base stations).
Wu does not expressly disclose the base station multicast/broadcast information; however, Seo teaches an eNB broadcasted the target UE ID; Paragraph 119.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Wu to include broadcasting the target UE ID as taught by Seo.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the relay UEs can properly communicate with each other as taught by Seo; Paragraph 119.
Regarding claim 16, Regarding claim 6, Wu teaches in a case the first UE and second UE are not in a PC5 connected state, establish, in response to the first information, the PC5 between the first UE and second UE (Paragraph 148 and step 515 teaches establishing aPC5 connection between the remote UE (i.e. claimed 2nd UE) and the target relay UE (i.e. claimed first UE). As a connection is being established, this infers the PC5 connection is not connected prior).
Wu does not expressly disclose the base station multicast/broadcast information; however, Seo teaches an eNB broadcasted the target UE ID; Paragraph 119.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Wu to include broadcasting the target UE ID as taught by Seo.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the relay UEs can properly communicate with each other as taught by Seo; Paragraph 119.
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Paladugu et al. “Paladugu” US 2021/0289391.
Regarding claim 22, Wu teaches the first communication device is the second UE and the first communication is PC5, the second communication device is the base station and the second communication is a Uu (See Figure 1 which shows a Uu/PC5 connection for UEs and a base station, see also paragraphs 146-148). Wu does not teach establishing a Uu by trigger a PDU session or acqruiring context information from the core network; however, Paladugu teaches a connection between a remote UE and a 5BC (core) network. The relay connection may include a PDU session as well between the relay U Eand 5GC via a Uu interface which includes QoS configuration information; Paragraphs 126 and 197. As information would be received from the core network, when combined with Wu, the context information would be received from the core network as claimed).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Wu to include establishing a Uu session by triggering a PDU session and receiving context information from the core network as taught by Paladugu.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that QoS configuration information can be used for relaying information from the network to a UE as taught by Paladugu; Paragraph 197.
Claim(s) 23, 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Uchiyama et al. “Uchiyama” US 2019/0320361.
Regarding claim 23, Wu teaches sending context information of the first communication and QoS mapping relationship from the first communication to the second communication to the second UE through the PC5 connection (Figure 1 shows a UU/PC5 communication before the switch and Figure 5 shown a PC5/UU communication after the switch (See also paragraphs 147-150). Wu does not teach or suggest broadcasting a switch request on a sidelink including a type and network connection state of the second UE to be switched to. Uchiyama teaches a remote terminal sends a handover request to a target relay and source relay via SL; Paragraph 230. Paragraphs 189-190 disclose that information with respect to the handover includes RRC connection states (connected or IDLE) thus this information would be included in the switching request as claimed. Any information can be viewed as “type” information as “Type” is not defined in the claim language to be anything).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Wu to include broadcasting a switch request on the sidelink as taught by Uchiyama.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the remote UE can be handed off from one relay to another as taught by Uchiyama; Paragraph 230.
Regarding claim 25, Wu teaches receiving feedback from the second UE which indicates the second UE has been ready for the switch and determining that the connection is established and the second communication can be performed (Paragraphs 145-146 and step 513 shows a UE sending information to the base station with respect to the target relay UE which it wants to switch to and the base station sends a handover command in step 514. Thus one can see the determination is then made with respect to the connection establishment).
Conclusion
/BRANDON M RENNER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411