Detailed Action
This Office Action is in response to the Applicant’s reply received 12/12/24. Claims 1-20 are pending and considered on the merits.
Claim Interpretation
This method contains the following intended result “for use to improve the enterocyte health and consequently wellness of the livestock or pets”. Initially the phrase “for use” reads as a contingent clause similar to “adapted for”, “wherein”, and “whereby”. MPEP 2111.04 I state such a clause “ in a method claim is not given weight when it simply expresses the intended result of a process step positively recited.’" Since this intended result is caused by the active steps of the method, art teaching administering the same composition to the same animals will also read on this intended result.
The term “incapsulated” is an alternative spelling of “encapsulated” as supported by Merriam-Webster. So while not incorrect, it is suggested the Applicant amend the Specification and Claims to use the more common “encapsulated” spelling.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6, 7, 9, 12, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al. (CN 114586888 A, published 2022). Since Li et al. is in Chinese, an English translation is provided. All citations in this action are to that translation.
Li et al. teach administering chickens a feed additive comprising Enterococcus faecium and sodium butyrate (Li, pg. 2, middle).
Therefore the invention as a whole is anticipated by the reference.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-10, 12-14, 16-18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (CN 114586888 A, published 2022, in IDS 12/12/24) in view of Ubbink et al. (EP 1344458, 2002). Since Li et al. is in Chinese, an English translation is provided. All citations in this action are to that translation.
Li et al. teach administering chickens (e.g. livestock) a feed additive comprising Enterococcus faecium and sodium butyrate (Li, pg. 2, middle).
Li et al. does not teach Enterococcus faecium NCIMB10415. However this would be obvious in view of Ubbink et al. who teach Enterococcus faecium NCIMB 10415 formulated into pellets (Ubbink, Example 2) for treating livestock and pets (Ubbink 0029). The pets include cats and dog (Ubbink, 0029). Specifically Ubbink et la. teach using Enterococcus faecium NCIMB10415 in its commercially available form of LBC-ME10 which is microencapsulated (Ubbink, 0011, 0125). Ubbink et al. teach LBC-ME10 has good stability.
It would be obvious to use microencapsulated Enterococcus faecium NCIMB10415 LBC-ME10 formulation in the invention of Li et al. since Ubbink et al. teach it is a suitable probiotic formulation with good stability to administer to both livestock, dogs, and cats. One of ordinary skill would recognize this as simply substituting one Enterococcus faecium for another, when both are taught as probiotics for livestock and other animals.
Therefore the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (CN 114586888 A, published 2022, in IDS 12/12/24), Ubbink et al. (EP 1344458, 2002) as applied to claims 1-4, 6-10, 12-14, 16-18, and 20 in further view of Wood et al. (WO 2019/178309). Since Li et al. is in Chinese, an English translation is provided. All citations in this action are to that translation.
Li et al. and Ubbink et al. teach a combination of microencapsulated Enterococcus faecium NCIMB 10415 and sodium butyrate into a pellet. However they do not teach encapsulated butyrate, but this is obvious in view of Wood et al. who teach probiotic compositions to treat livestock and pets (Wood, 0032, 0101) including Enterococcus faecium NCIMB 10415 (Wood, pg. 11, top line). These probiotic compositions can be dried and encapsulated to promote stability and viability (Wood, 0032).
Therefore it would be obvious to dry Enterococcus faecium NCIMB 10415 and sodium butyrate, then encapsulate this composition to promote stability and viability. One of ordinary skill would recognize this as simply use a known technique to improve the probiotic composition by making it more stable and viable (MPEP 2141 III (C-D)).
Therefore the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Double Patenting
Claim 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of copending Application No. 18865311. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims disclose methods of administering a composition comprising Enterococcus faecium NCIMB 10415 and sodium butyrate to treat the intestinal submucosa.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
In response to this office action the applicant should specifically point out the support for any amendments made to the disclosure, including the claims (MPEP 714.02 and 2163.06).
CONTACT INFORMATION
/THANE UNDERDAHL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1699