DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 have been presented for examination and are rejected.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 12/12/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55 and of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy was filed on 12/12/2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 11 and 13 are rejected Under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (2) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (WO 2022098529 hereinafter Wang).
With respect to claims 1 and 11, Wang teaches a method for reporting assistance information, comprising:
determining, by a user equipment (UE), an assistance information based on an application (Wang, see paragraphs [0051-0052] At block 602, a user equipment determines to use scheduling assistance information (SAI) to affect application performance. For example, a user equipment (e.g., the UE 110) or an application at an application layer (e.g., the application layer 320) determines that scheduling assistance information can be used to adapt an application layer behavior, such as optimizing a streaming video frame rate or a buffer size based on the scheduling assistance information),
wherein the assistance information comprises jitter information (Wang, see paragraph [0045] to obtain aspects of the scheduling assistance information, such as DL queueing delay and/or jitter information, the forwarded request directs the UPF to provide scheduling assistance information for the UE 110);
transmitting, by the UE, the assistance information to a network node (Wang, see paragraph [0052] at block 604, based on the determination to use the scheduling assistance information, the UE transmits a request for the SAI to a network entity. The UE 110 transmits an Radio Resource Control (RRC) message requesting scheduling assistance information to a base station (e.g., the base station 120) or via the base station 120 to a core network (e.g., the core network 150) function, such as a User Plane Function, Session Management Function, or an Access and Mobility Function); and
receiving, by the UE, a configuration based on the assistance information from the network node (Wang, see paragraph [0041] the base station 121 (i.e., equivalent to network node) configures the scheduling assistance information for transmission to the UE 110. The UE 110 can request the scheduling assistance information by transmitting an RRC message to the base station 121. After the base station 121 grants the request from the UE 110 for the scheduling assistance information, the base station 121 periodically transmits the scheduling assistance information to the UE 110).
With respect to claims 3 and 13, Wang teaches the method, wherein the assistance information further comprises application types, stream types, a traffic period, a traffic offset, a traffic size, a traffic pattern, a data rate, or a combination thereof (Wang, see paragraph [0048] streaming media, video calling, online gaming, etc., paragraphs [0036, 0047] traffic patterns, data rates).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 4, 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (WO 2022098529 hereinafter Wang) in view of Jiang et al (US 20240244457 hereinafter Jiang).
With respect to claims 2 and 12, Wang teaches the method, yet fails to explicitly disclose wherein the application comprises an extended reality (XR) application, and the assistance information is associated with the XR application.
However, Jiang discloses wherein the application comprises an extended reality (XR) application, and the assistance information is associated with the XR application (Jiang, see paragraph [0046] an assistance information reporting method provided in embodiments of this application, the terminal can report, to the network side device, assistance information related to the XR service, so that the network side device performs service configuration matched with the XR related assistance information).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine the teaching of Wang with the teaching of Jiang to provide a method for having an application comprise an Extended Reality (XR) application with associated assistance information provides contextual, real-time guidance. It eliminates the need to look away from a task to read manuals, allowing users to safely interact with their physical and digital environments through hands-free, spatially aware instructions.
With respect to claims 4 and 14, Wang teaches the method, yet fails to explicitly disclose wherein the application types comprise virtual reality (VR), cloud gaming (CG) and augmented reality (AR).
However, Jiang discloses wherein the application types comprise virtual reality (VR), cloud gaming (CG) and augmented reality (AR) (Jiang, see paragraph [0003] Extended reality (XR) refers to all reality and virtuality combined environments and human-computer interactions generated by a computer technology and a wearable device. Extended reality includes representative forms such as augmented reality (AR), mixed reality (MR), and virtual reality (VR)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine the teaching of Wang with the teaching of Jiang to provide the methods for application types such as virtual reality (VR), cloud gaming (CG), and augmented reality (AR) vary, and their primary advantages are complete digital immersion, hardware-free streaming accessibility, and real-world contextual enhancement.
Claims 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (WO 2022098529 hereinafter Wang) in view of Ahsan et al. (US 20230214009 hereinafter Ahsan).
With respect to claims 5 and 15, Wang teaches the method, wherein the stream types comprise video streams, audio streams(Wang, see paragraph [0048] streaming media, video calling, online gaming, etc.) and control (Wang, see paragraph [0043] FIG. 5 illustrates example data and control transactions between the UE 110) and
Wang yet fails to explicitly disclose pose streams.
However, Ahsan discloses pose streams (Ahsan, see paragraph [0023] during an AR session, the validity of the pose stream from a device may change).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine the teaching of Wang with the teaching of Ahsan to provide the methods for application types using pose streams commonly used in multi-modal action recognition, computer vision, and motion capture include: noise reduction, structural focus, and low bandwidth. Also, pose streams isolate skeletal joint coordinates, allowing algorithms to ignore irrelevant visual clutter, complex backgrounds, and changing ambient lighting.
Claims 6-7 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (WO 2022098529 hereinafter Wang) in view of Eng et al. (US 20200252618 hereinafter Eng).
With respect to claims 6 and 16, Wang teaches the method, yet fails to explicitly disclose wherein the traffic size comprises intra-coded frame (I-frame) size and predicted frame.
However, Eng discloses wherein the traffic size comprises intra-coded frame (I-frame) size and predicted frame (P-frame) size (Eng, see paragraph [0054] an encoding parameter may comprise a comparison of an inter-coded frame to an intra-coded frame. For example, the encoding module 130 may compare the size (e.g., data storage size) of the intra-coded frame to the size of an inter-coded frame. An I-frame may be compared to one or more P-frames and/or B-frames. The size of the I-frame may be compared to the size of one or more P-frames and/or B-frames).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine the teaching of Wang with the teaching of Eng to provide the methods for the traffic size combining I-frame and P-frame sizes in network traffic creates a balanced mix of high compression, strong error recovery, and fast random access.
With respect to claims 7 and 17, Wang teaches the method, yet fails to explicitly disclose wherein the traffic pattern comprises a ratio of I-frames to P- frames in a group of pictures.
However, Eng discloses wherein the traffic pattern comprises a ratio of I-frames to P- frames in a group of pictures (Eng, see paragraph [0020] since the file management unit 16 could obtain frame sizes of an intra-frame (I-frame) and a plurality of predicted-frames (P-frame) in each GOP (Group of Pictures) of each image file according to header information of image packets in each image file transmitted from the image capturing unit 12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine the teaching of Wang with the teaching of Eng to provide the methods for a specific ratio of I-frames to P-frames in a Group of Pictures (GOP) is balancing file size compression against decoding performance and error resilience. Having more P-frames relative to I-frames increases compression efficiency, while more I-frames improve seeking and error recovery.
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (WO 2022098529 hereinafter Wang) in view of Muraoka (US 20080175115 hereinafter Muraoka).
With respect to claims 8 and 18, Wang teaches the method, yet fails to explicitly disclose wherein the jitter information comprises a minimum jitter value, a maximum jitter value and a jitter range between the minimum jitter value and the maximum jitter value.
However, Muraoka discloses wherein the jitter information comprises a minimum jitter value, a maximum jitter value and a jitter range between the minimum jitter value and the maximum jitter value (Muraoka, see paragraph [0094] since the jitter value is detected as needed every time the detrack value is changed stepwise within the predetermined range of numeric values including the reference value of the detrack value, to set the optimum detrack value based on the difference value between the maximum jitter value and the minimum jitter value of the detected jitter values, the optimum detrack value is set in the disc apparatus).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine the teaching of Wang with the teaching of Muraoka to provide the methods for the jitter information combining a minimum jitter value, a maximum jitter value, and a jitter range is that it provides a complete statistical picture of network timing variability, enabling systems to dynamically optimize buffer sizes, prevent packet loss, and maintain stable real-time communication.
Claims 9-10 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (WO 2022098529 hereinafter Wang) in view of Muraoka (US 20080175115 hereinafter Muraoka) further in view of Wang et al. (US 20250056504 hereinafter Wang).
With respect to claims 9 and 19, Wang-Muraoka teaches the method, yet fails to explicitly disclose further comprising:
receiving, by the UE, a configured grant (CG) resource based on the jitter information from the network node.
However, Wang discloses further comprising: receiving, by the UE, a configured grant (CG) resource based on the jitter information from the network node (Wang, see paragraphs [0088, 0100] as shown in FIG. 4A, packets 401 may arrive at the end of a range of jitter 431 and packets 402 may arrive at the beginning of a range of jitter 432. Based on a configuration of a time window from the network device 120, the terminal device 110 may determine time windows 411 and 412 periodically repeated. Paragraph [0152-0153] further discloses the uplink transmission may comprise at least one of a SR, a BSR, or a configured grant UL transmission… the terminal device 110 may receive, from the network device 120, a second configuration indicating the time window, and determine the time window based on the second configuration).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine the teaching of Wang-Muraoka with the teaching of Wang to provide the methods for receiving a configured grant (CG) resource based on traffic jitter information allows the UE to optimize resource utilization, minimize packet waiting times, and prevent scheduling collisions.
With respect to claims 10 and 20, Wang-Muraoka-Wang teaches the method, further comprising: using, by the UE, the CG resource for a transmission directly if uplink (UL) data arrives after the jitter range (Wang, see paragraphs [0088, 0100] As shown in FIG. 4A, packets 401 may arrive at the end of a range of jitter 431 and packets 402 may arrive at the beginning of a range of jitter 432. Based on a configuration of a time window from the network device 120, the terminal device 110 may determine time windows 411 and 412 periodically repeated).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. This includes:
PG. Pub. US 20210067299 Method for transmitting configuration information to user terminal, involves receiving sending assistance information to network side device, and configuration information for in-device coexistence interference elimination sent by device.
PG. Pub. US 20180247023 System for providing information regarding healthcare procedure and system performance in real-time, generates overlay data of feedback information for projection on display over current view of physical area of healthcare facility.
PG. Pub. US 20220322415 Method for performing wireless data communication by e.g. user equipment, involves performing uplink transmission based on information of scheduling, where downlink control information includes information for scheduling.
07/23/2026
/ELIZABETH KASSA/Examiner, Art Unit 2457
/ARIO ETIENNE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2457